I'm pretty sure it's foreign workers who do that.
Look, we only need foreign workers for industries where locals do not want to work in, not industries where people are struggling to get in.
come here, build the IR, fuck off
local road local build
remember Ng Kim pieo, he is local, body still below nico highway, not retrive yet
to proof local road local build
Someone thinks there should be a road.
Someone studies the need.
Someone give the decision.
Someone draws up the plan.
Someone calls the contract.
Someone starts the work.
Someone supervise the work.
The foreigners provide the labour.
Then Someone comes up and says he built the road.
Originally posted by Agenda:I'm pretty sure it's foreign workers who do that.
Look, we only need foreign workers for industries where locals do not want to work in, not industries where people are struggling to get in.
...another mee siam mai hum, GST increase to help the poor character.... people ask him about reducing the number of foreigners in Singapore and he asked stupid questions like "who built our roads?" like it takes a million foreigners to build roads... why dont he ask "who fark our men, if China gers are chased away from Geylang?"
"By Valarie Tan, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 02 November 2008 1925 hrs
SINGAPORE: ....in response to questions from some Singaporeans who felt that the country could do with fewer foreign workers.
The concerns were raised amidst a worsening economy, with greater competition expected for fewer jobs.
Mr K Shanmugam...
The law minister said: "Who builds our HDB flats? Where do we live? Who builds our roads? Can we really even have our basic infrastructure to continue to be upgraded, without foreign workers?"
u want to build our roads? it's not easy i can tell u ... i did some similar work before.....
shud ask the ministers.....
"who freaking give you your salary?"
Originally posted by sinicker:shud ask the ministers.....
part of it from foreigners
Always enjoy window seat. Road contains lots of wisdom in it.
Especially, Singapore road.
Originally posted by zaxis:local road local build
remember Heng Yeow Peow, he is local, body still below nico highway, not retrive yet
because need to spend money mah, so they rather let his body lie down there
k. shanmugam's latent threat is another clear example of veil threat to fellow singaporeans. a man of his intelligence has to stoop to that level.
does he mean that if there are no foreigner, there will be no roads, hdb flats to be built? will the elected government then not think of other viable solutions to overcome it?
in the first place, no singaporean ever said a `zero tolerance' of foreigners in singapore. we need them, a fact that cannot be disputed.
the issue at hand, that is still not addressed, is what section of industry that we need foreign workers, what is the wage level that singaporeans needs to be at in order to be able to live with some tinge of pride as singaporeans and how to adequately address and balance short and long term needs of singaporeans without causing stress of everyday living of the population.
making such sweeping statement is ducking the issue.
That is why, all the while, my Uncle Andrew was rite, why dun all of you follow his doctrine, look at PAP Minister speech in public, so lame...asspot, despot
ok...all together now...asspot..damn..asspot...damn...!!!
Die liao!!!!, me behaving like Uncle liao...quick go take my medicine first..!!
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:because need to spend money mah, so they rather let his body lie down there
somemore hor, the workmencompensation from MOM only paid his wife chicken feet money, she objected and went to civil suit and get much much more lor. Smrt Wife
My adopted old folks home at Bedok got those very old red scarf ladies with no one taking care of them, only me. And they told me they are the ones who build singapore roads. But now who care about them. Damn despot
Shanmugam should just keep his mouth shut.What is this?The problem is not about foreign workers on our soil,but instead the sudden surge of both FT and FW.That's more than enough.
Originally posted by ClaT:Shanmugam should just keep his mouth shut.What is this?The problem is not about foreign workers on our soil,but instead the sudden surge of both FT and FW.That's more than enough.
thing is no one willing to test ground and ask in parliament. if you ask why got FW, minister can answer easily, both can back off, one save face one become hero. if you go and ask why sudden surge in FW right after asking why got FW would be a direct challenge liao.
Amazing how he answered the question as though Singaporeans didn't want foreign workers.![]()
Originally posted by zaxis:local road local build
remember Ng Kim pieo, he is local, body still below nico highway, not retrive yet
Erm... he's involved in the mrt tunnel...![]()
shud ask the ministers.....
that a good question i bet the SPH reporters would only dare to dream.
My adopted old folks home at Bedok got those very old red scarf ladies with no one taking care of them, only me. And they told me they are the ones who build singapore roads. But now who care about them. Damn despot
well said!
cheers!!
Who freaking give the FW jobs in Singapore to build roads when they could not find any jobs in their country?
k. shanmugam's latent threat is another clear example of veil threat to fellow singaporeans. a man of his intelligence has to stoop to that level.
does he mean that if there are no foreigner, there will be no roads, hdb flats to be built? will the elected government then not think of other viable solutions to overcome it?
in the first place, no singaporean ever said a `zero tolerance' of foreigners in singapore. we need them, a fact that cannot be disputed.
the issue at hand, that is still not addressed, is what section of industry that we need foreign workers, what is the wage level that singaporeans needs to be at in order to be able to live with some tinge of pride as singaporeans and how to adequately address and balance short and long term needs of singaporeans without causing stress of everyday living of the population.
making such sweeping statement is ducking the issue.
that the way PAP always engage. evading question or issueing threat to silence the crowd.
you are right, no one say, we dont need foreign workers, but we need to keep a cap.
If u pay the aussie kind of salary, i bet there are many volunteers to build the road for you. If he ask, are we willing to pay for that thru higher taxes. i would challenge" arent we paying high enough road, tax, ERP , and where has all the money goes to"?
such meet the ppl session which is not interactive enough are not of any use. As usual, they are taking us for a ride!!
Originally posted by reyes:If u pay the aussie kind of salary, i bet there are many volunteers to build the road for you. If he ask, are we willing to pay for that thru higher taxes. i would challenge" arent we paying high enough road, tax, ERP , and where has all the money goes to"?
just curious cos i'm not in construction business, is it possible to pay aussie wages without crippling the industry in spore?
Hmm....
More people -> more vehicle-> more road -> need more people to build -> more vehicle -> more road....
i doubt most pple have problems with the FWs that comes in to build roads and infrastructure.
I even doubt many have problems with real foreign TALENTS that come in to either lead or lend expertise or "create jobs". It's the average or rather not really talented ones that pple have problems with.