http://breaking.sg/story.php?title=law-minister-says-singaporeans-should-welcome-foreign-workers
Having foreign workers in Singapore is in the country's national interest, said Law Minister K Shanmugam on Sunday, in response to questions from some Singaporeans who felt that the country could do with fewer foreign workers.
shit this minister
has he identify any FT to replace his minister post,
Originally posted by xirtil:http://breaking.sg/story.php?title=law-minister-says-singaporeans-should-welcome-foreign-workers
Having foreign workers in Singapore is in the country's national interest, said Law Minister K Shanmugam on Sunday, in response to questions from some Singaporeans who felt that the country could do with fewer foreign workers.
No seriously... who is supposed to do all those road sweep, digging, building etc without foreign workers?
Foreign Talents different story...
Originally posted by Shotgun:No seriously... who is supposed to do all those road sweep, digging, building etc without foreign workers?
Foreign Talents different story...
Yes shotgun![]()
Singaporeans must learn to differentiate
between FW & FT
haha![]()
Foreign talent is very important to Singapore. I have written on one of the forums that there are some jobs Singaporeans will not do. Like construction etc. Expecially when comes together with low pay. If u dun wan foreign workers to work here than you take over their job?
Originally posted by skyJackson:
Foreign talent is very important to Singapore. I have written on one of the forums that there are some jobs Singaporeans will not do. Like construction etc. Expecially when comes together with low pay. If u dun wan foreign workers to work here than you take over their job?
Then first, you ask the foreigners to leave this country, do not allow MOM to issue any worker permit to them. With no foreigners here, construction towkays will start to look for Singaporeans and you will see a rise in salaries for Singapore's workers.
Let be honest, ask yourself "How can a singaporeans with family of 4 survive with S$500 paid per month."?? then " How come a foreigner can survive with S$500 per month and a Singaporean cannot"??
Originally posted by angel7030:
Then first, you ask the foreigners to leave this country, do not allow MOM to issue any worker permit to them. With no foreigners here, construction towkays will start to look for Singaporeans and you will see a rise in salaries for Singapore's workers.
Let be honest, ask yourself "How can a singaporeans with family of 4 survive with S$500 paid per month."?? then " How come a foreigner can survive with S$500 per month and a Singaporean cannot"??
Hmm, let's examine the issue shall we? If there is a rise in salaries for singapore's construction worker, doesn't that mean the construction cost will be higher as well?
Construction cost is higher, rental of office space, cost of a house is higher as well.
How the hell do you want to ensure the cost of living is going to be lower?
"How can a singaporeans with family of 4 survive with S$500 paid per month."?? then " How come a foreigner can survive with S$500 per month and a Singaporean cannot"??
Wait, let me get this straight, you are comparing a family of 4 against a single foreigner? And wait, if I remember things correctly, living quarters and other issues is being provided by the companies for those foreigners, while singaporeans have to buy or rent their own homes?
How the hell can you even compare the two groups of people in your scenario?
Originally posted by ray245:
Hmm, let's examine the issue shall we? If there is a rise in salaries for singapore's construction worker, doesn't that mean the construction cost will be higher as well?
Construction cost is higher, rental of office space, cost of a house is higher as well.
How the hell do you want to ensure the cost of living is going to be lower?
Wait, let me get this straight, you are comparing a family of 4 against a single foreigner? And wait, if I remember things correctly, living quarters and other issues is being provided by the companies for those foreigners, while singaporeans have to buy or rent their own homes?
How the hell can you even compare the two groups of people in your scenario?
Oh, the situation with or without the foreigners, the cost of living will still rocket up as it shown today, but with foreigners, the business peoples will earn more thru less cost of wages and govt can tax more from both corporate profit taxes and levies of foreigners, I still believe that without foreigners, we can built our own house, road and economy. But it will be a big lost to both the business peoples and the govt.
I comparing the 2 groups of a foreigner and singaporean is to tell you why singaporeans took up construction or shipyard jobs, because the pay cannot sustain a singaporean basic needs here, a high cost society.
Having a massive influx of foreigners mindlessless is a cop-out. It is the easy way out at the expense of the common man.
The reason why Singaporeans will not do certain jobs is because the pay is too low. The "low pay" is high for the foreigners because in their countries, the cost of living is very low (and worth their while to work here, save and send the savings home.)
The difficult but more honorable way is to either pay wages that will attract Singaporeans to do the work or lower the cost of living so that it is worth the while for Singaporeans to do the job at such "relatively low" wages.
With dishonorable despots in power looking after their own pockets, they will not consider the honorable alternatives and will insist on their way and then sell the propaganda.
I think most people including myself would try our best to prop up price... nobody like price of her asset to go down...
Aiya, our 80 plus MPs & 3 PMs (PM, SM & MM) all are taking millions $ salaries. And millions $ of bonus per years. What made them not contribute to higher tax, cost of living of Singaporeans.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Oh, the situation with or without the foreigners, the cost of living will still rocket up as it shown today, but with foreigners, the business peoples will earn more thru less cost of wages and govt can tax more from both corporate profit taxes and levies of foreigners, I still believe that without foreigners, we can built our own house, road and economy. But it will be a big lost to both the business peoples and the govt.
I comparing the 2 groups of a foreigner and singaporean is to tell you why singaporeans took up construction or shipyard jobs, because the pay cannot sustain a singaporean basic needs here, a high cost society.
It is your belief! Have u wondered even with low cost workers, our houses are still so expensive etc... Can u imagine how much more excuses they will have to charge us more for our houses?
I welcome FWs too... Really. No sarcasm here. They earn peanut so little, but contribute so much to singapore.... What we Singaporeans cannot take is Fts taking jobs easily filled up by us Singaporeans, t they come in and deflate our pay. Is that meritocracy?
Yes, sg has been using many foreign workers to build the HDB and roads, but does this mean singaporeans are not ok with this? I think most do not mind and welcome these workers to do these jobs as most are educated to do office types of jobs. So , for this aspect I fail to understand why would people feel that way.
The news said some singaporeans feel that sg could do with less foreign workers. First, we need to understand that foreign workers is a super set consisting of laborers and office type workers.
I think most singaporeans concerns are the office type workers.
compare these 2 same skilled and experienced resumes:
1. singaporean - asking price $2000 also but unfortunately need to cost in the HDB installment, electricity huge hike, ERP, children’s education (to study overseas must get 1st class honors else future how? so need save up for them) and medicals and insurance and eca costs, and ERP, Parking, Car installment, car is for family use to also fetch grandmother and father and mother and grandfather and uncles and aunties (asians very close to family), hikes of all types. Also, if they happen to be alloted changi flat, and work is at tuas, of course the no choice but to reject the work lor , for some. some still take up. some more got family, need to come home and take care baby and house.
2. 3rd world foreigner - asking price $2000. they go back retire lor. willing to accept all employer conditions. If work in Jurong, they rent flat there. If work in Changi, the ditto. distance no issue. Endless supply of young people usually singles. they come home to rented flat, no family to take care, can work longer.
so how? which would the boss whose bottomline is profit, choose?
is the sg’reans’ concerns unfounded?
I hope singaporeans and leaders come up with a REAL solution to meet this labor cost issue.
1st world citizens and 1st world cost of living that is going up and up vs 3rd world employees coming here for better life.
lets be clear, the concerns are real and not that some people want to have less foreign workers for no real and valid reasons. And I see nothing wrong that the citizens raise their concerns. This is so that the nation builders can come up a solution to address this long existing problem. I hope and expect them to try hard enough and resolve this issue. So, yes the people are concerned. This means a solution is required. Please give a solution.
suggestions:
1. jobs to be created for skills that singaporeans have. attract companies requires skills which singaporeans have. If more companies come in requiring skills sg'reans don't have, of course singaporeans cannot occupy the created-in-singapore job. Even if they re-train (and thus become greenhorn), companies would prefer foreigners already with the experience.
2. employers to get more tax rebates for each singaporean hired.
3. hire foreigners to help come up the required solutions.
4. cut waste and lower tax.
I know, talk is cheap. So, lets all be reminded.
just my 1 cent.
We have to be reminded that, should we give a high standard of education, just to ensure they are going to be a construction worker?
In the first place, are there even enough jobs to go around?
Originally posted by iveco:In the first place, are there even enough jobs to go around?
got... minister job lor LOL
Originally posted by Mostwanted5125:It is your belief! Have u wondered even with low cost workers, our houses are still so expensive etc... Can u imagine how much more excuses they will have to charge us more for our houses?..
Ahhhh... you see...low cost labor does not equals lower property sale price.
The pricing is not based on profit margin on actual cost.
It is based on market price. Market price = how much a buyer is willing to pay.
So when the cost of building goes down.. it just means the builder pockets more profit....because they are still selling at market price.
Therefore... there is really no good reason for any builder to hire more expensive local labor.
So you see ?.... property prices is based on demand and supply.
So if more foreigner comes to SG.. the demand for housing goes up...and housing tax goes up..
On the contrary.. if you want your property price to stay up.. you should kiss your next door foreign woker/FT neighbour.. for if they leave... your property price goes down.....so in that sense.. they are VERY important....
It is very important to find out how what kind of property that lawyer minster lives in.. and how many properties he owns.
I am sure we can find capable foreigners who can take over the top jobs at half their salaries.
then we can tell them its because locals are unwilling to do the job at a lower pay.
Originally posted by sunnytv:Aiya, our 80 plus MPs & 3 PMs (PM, SM & MM) all are taking millions $ salaries. And millions $ of bonus per years. What made them not contribute to higher tax, cost of living of Singaporeans.
now, you have 6 tom foolery mps wasting tax payers monies forming a band and performing in order to `connect'.
this is a very dysfunctional government which dwelves into weird things just to keep in touch with the population.
hipper than obama? sometimes, when one tries too hard, it is perhaps the most uncool.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Ahhhh... you see...low cost labor does not equals lower property sale price.
The pricing is not based on profit margin on actual cost.
It is based on market price. Market price = how much a buyer is willing to pay.
So when the cost of building goes down.. it just means the builder pockets more profit....because they are still selling at market price.
Therefore... there is really no good reason for any builder to hire more expensive local labor.
So you see ?.... property prices is based on demand and supply.
So if more foreigner comes to SG.. the demand for housing goes up...and housing tax goes up..
On the contrary.. if you want your property price to stay up.. you should kiss your next door foreign woker/FT neighbour.. for if they leave... your property price goes down.....so in that sense.. they are VERY important....
It is very important to find out how what kind of property that lawyer minster lives in.. and how many properties he owns.
Pardon me if I am wrong.
I believe strongly that there is a correlation not an equality between low labour cost and housing price.
Because total cost price is lower when using cheap foriegn labours. Compared to the case of using local and more expensive labourers, the cost price is therefore higher.
Like developer X uses FW but developer Y uses more expensive local workers. Both are building on the same area and same type of housing. I.e assuming all factors are kept constant but the use of the type of workers. Both are also up to safety standard as well, I am sure Y will have a hard time competing with X.
The use of FW not only ensures a better profits, It also give an edge over those using a more expensive labour.
So the initial selling price would most probably be higher with cost of labour force as A factor.
I am not saying labour cost is THE factor, but rather a factor. There are many factors like locations, etc etc.....
Also, I never heard of any foreign labourer hiring HDB flats nor demand normal mainstream type of housing. So I dont think foreign labourers can affect the demand for normal housing much.
If u are saying it is the better off FTs, I would agree with u.
come on lah...no foreign workers in sg....we G_G ok.....how about u come to my house and work as my maid...i dun mind asking my maid to go back to her own country lol......or how about after graduating from uni...u go and sweep the roads......be real lah...if u got the substance...u dun need to fear foreign competition....dun understand why must push them all away...-_-
Originally posted by likedatosocan:Yes, sg has been using many foreign workers to build the HDB and roads, but does this mean singaporeans are not ok with this? I think most do not mind and welcome these workers to do these jobs as most are educated to do office types of jobs. So , for this aspect I fail to understand why would people feel that way.
The news said some singaporeans feel that sg could do with less foreign workers. First, we need to understand that foreign workers is a super set consisting of laborers and office type workers.
I think most singaporeans concerns are the office type workers.
compare these 2 same skilled and experienced resumes:
1. singaporean - asking price $2000 also but unfortunately need to cost in the HDB installment, electricity huge hike, ERP, children’s education (to study overseas must get 1st class honors else future how? so need save up for them) and medicals and insurance and eca costs, and ERP, Parking, Car installment, car is for family use to also fetch grandmother and father and mother and grandfather and uncles and aunties (asians very close to family), hikes of all types. Also, if they happen to be alloted changi flat, and work is at tuas, of course the no choice but to reject the work lor , for some. some still take up. some more got family, need to come home and take care baby and house.2. 3rd world foreigner - asking price $2000. they go back retire lor. willing to accept all employer conditions. If work in Jurong, they rent flat there. If work in Changi, the ditto. distance no issue. Endless supply of young people usually singles. they come home to rented flat, no family to take care, can work longer.
so how? which would the boss whose bottomline is profit, choose?
is the sg’reans’ concerns unfounded?
I hope singaporeans and leaders come up with a REAL solution to meet this labor cost issue.
1st world citizens and 1st world cost of living that is going up and up vs 3rd world employees coming here for better life.
lets be clear, the concerns are real and not that some people want to have less foreign workers for no real and valid reasons. And I see nothing wrong that the citizens raise their concerns. This is so that the nation builders can come up a solution to address this long existing problem. I hope and expect them to try hard enough and resolve this issue. So, yes the people are concerned. This means a solution is required. Please give a solution.
suggestions:
1. jobs to be created for skills that singaporeans have. attract companies requires skills which singaporeans have. If more companies come in requiring skills sg'reans don't have, of course singaporeans cannot occupy the created-in-singapore job. Even if they re-train (and thus become greenhorn), companies would prefer foreigners already with the experience.2. employers to get more tax rebates for each singaporean hired.
3. hire foreigners to help come up the required solutions.
4. cut waste and lower tax.
I know, talk is cheap. So, lets all be reminded.
just my 1 cent.
I agree with you.