Originally posted by maxsee:come on lah...no foreign workers in sg....we G_G ok.....how about u come to my house and work as my maid...i dun mind asking my maid to go back to her own country lol......or how about after graduating from uni...u go and sweep the roads......be real lah...if u got the substance...u dun need to fear foreign competition....dun understand why must push them all away...-_-
FW is ok. But too much FT a bit not too good. U got substance, they also might have substance. They demand less than u cos they no need pay for expensive houses, and with currency rates, 1000 sing dollars can perhaps feed their parents for 2-3 months but we cant really do it here.
It is not that competition is not good. But too much FTs upset the balance and the competitions become unfair with the disadvantages we have and their advantages.
My 2 cents
hi MostWanted
glad to see you active again :D
Originally posted by eagle:hi MostWanted
glad to see you active again :D
Oh hi...quite busy recently....
me too... O levels students busy, I also busy (in Homework Forum as well)... Heh
Originally posted by eagle:me too... O levels students busy, I also busy (in Homework Forum as well)... Heh
Haha....they are lucky to have u, a responsible and intelligent forumnite to help them.
All the best to them...and to you as well!
Ok I gtg now....see you around!
Oh, the situation with or without the foreigners, the cost of living will still rocket up as it shown today, but with foreigners, the business peoples will earn more thru less cost of wages and govt can tax more from both corporate profit taxes and levies of foreigners, I still believe that without foreigners, we can built our own house, road and economy. But it will be a big lost to both the business peoples and the govt.
haha well said.
if govt can start paying $40/hr for building the roads, i believe there are more singaporeans willing to take up these jobs.
the stigma of certain jobs is closely related to the salary paid.
skills labourers such as car mechanics, plumber are kinda sought after and and deem as prestigous. why, coz they are kinda higher paid. while here we do not, thus no singaporeans want to do.
FW is ok. But too much FT a bit not too good. U got substance, they also might have substance. They demand less than u cos they no need pay for expensive houses, and with currency rates, 1000 sing dollars can perhaps feed their parents for 2-3 months but we cant really do it here.
exactly, no one ever say we dont need FW, but whenever such a question on FW are put to the govt, they always deem we want them out 100%!
Originally posted by reyes:haha well said.
if govt can start paying $40/hr for building the roads, i believe there are more singaporeans willing to take up these jobs.
skills labourers such as car mechanics, plumber are kinda sought after and and deem as prestigous. why, coz they are kinda higher paid. while here we do not, thus no singaporeans want to do.
Hard to say leh...
I think the stigma of the jobs is more closely related to the amount of analytical brainpower and the amount of self-sacrifice required.
For example, a researcher is better compensated than a road builder because he has to possess and use much more analytical power.
Or, a person painting/doing makeup for the dead so that they go into the coffins looking better, does not use much more analytical skills as compared to the road builder, but is paid much more because it is something that most people do not want to do, and the painter might be at risk of diseases.
By pay, I meant amount per hour.
Is it not clear that for same skill and experience for the same kind of job, europeans and americans which are 1st worlds are paid much higher even when u minus the tax? How come 1st worlds can provide this? Wow, their leaders so great and humble pie eater .
So, is this a 1st world too?
Cost of living is definitely 1st world now. $6-10 a bowl of noodle is not 3rd world cost of living dudes.
How about salary?
Either you can or you cannot.
by the way, where is mas selamat the terrorist lead? he is a pure singaporean right?
Originally posted by Hippoyoung:There should be a difference between FW and FT. We need FW but not FT. Singaporeans are now better educated, don’t think they will want to work as construction workers. Plus, our workforce is ageing, so who are going to do these manual jobs? With the current crisis, unemployment will be on the rise. Just worry who will they retrench if such situation arises, the local or the foreigner?
I disagree. Take a look at the world, Albert Einstein, Tesla and other pioneers and scientist were not born in the United States. Yet at the same time, their role and contribution has put the United states as a superpower.
Education does not mean you are more talented than people from other nations. Foreign talents is needed in singapore. However, we need to be more selective when hiring FT.
Originally posted by reyes:haha well said.
Ya, in states, very skill jobs are consider professional, however in here, ah neh, ah beng also can do, so the profession was badly tarnish. I still remember last time when i was younger, my dad got engaged contractor to renovate my house, Singapoean skill workers, they gave better qualities in their work and certainly more productive. Really delighted the customer like me Dad.
Recently we renovate our house front gate, the boss came with some bangalas and started work, once started, the boss is nowhere to be seen, the bangalas also blur blur, anyhow cement it with no skill at all, most of them concentrate on me and my indo maid rather than work. Damn, what a shody work!!
this shanmugam is not the first to say to talk about to welcome foreign workers. PAP's ministers are taking turns to say the same. Seems they are all parrots.
Looks like they are speaking from the same script. Over pay them by millions yet produce substandard performance. Like reading the same poem. Shame on you, PAP!
Usually foreign workers come from third world countries whereby the living costs is much lowers there. So they gain more by working here. With the currecy conversion they earn much more than their fellow citizens in their countries and so it benefit them. This is not the case in Singapore.
Hard to say leh...
I think the stigma of the jobs is more closely related to the amount of analytical brainpower and the amount of self-sacrifice required.
For example, a researcher is better compensated than a road builder because he has to possess and use much more analytical power.
Or, a person painting/doing makeup for the dead so that they go into the coffins looking better, does not use much more analytical skills as compared to the road builder, but is paid much more because it is something that most people do not want to do, and the painter might be at risk of diseases.
By pay, I meant amount per hour.
A plumber in aust could earn up to 50k/yr. thus no one would shy away to do these jobs. how much are we paying for a plumber $1600/mth?
a aussie lecturer is earning less than miner. thus not everycountry pay is related to brain capacity.
I disagree. Take a look at the world, Albert Einstein, Tesla and other pioneers and scientist were not born in the United States. Yet at the same time, their role and contribution has put the United states as a superpower.
Education does not mean you are more talented than people from other nations. Foreign talents is needed in singapore. However, we need to be more selective when hiring FT.
yeah, einstein are die as americans and so is others.
while the take up rate of citizens is pathetically low in singapore.
their presence has put a ceiling to singaporean salary.
finally you get the pt, we need to be selective when hiring FT, offer PR to ppl who can contribute and willing to stay.
by the way our govt define FT/FW, almost all qualify as PR, that include pdmm, geylang pros, bars lady!
Originally posted by reyes:
A plumber in aust could earn up to 50k/yr. thus no one would shy away to do these jobs. how much are we paying for a plumber $1600/mth?
a aussie lecturer is earning less than miner. thus not everycountry pay is related to brain capacity.
Remind me again, why should a plumber be paid with more money than a lecturer?
Personally, I find that kind of system to be flawed.
Originally posted by ray245:
basic demand and supply.
Originally posted by mrsmall:Yes shotgun
Singaporeans must learn to differentiate
between FW & FT
haha
no lah.. ask the PAP to know how to differentiate first lah.... need mi to list down those FT becoming FW case??
Lecturer teaches, so there are more lecturers to take his place. Plumber doesn't teach, so not afraid to lose his job.
A plumber will always be a plumber, but a lecturer will have to be a plumber if pipes in his house leak.
Want to be a plumber or a lecturer?
Originally posted by reyes:
Well, an engineer in Aussie earns 8k/mth excluding bonus
That's why I gave one more condition: self-sacrifice. The miner puts his life at risk to mine; explosions are quite common in mining.
I think I should redefine that for any occupation, there are many other factors that comes into play when you are talking about the 'stigma', and not just salaries alone.
After starting work, I find that plumbers (or any other such small service industry) can actually start their own plumbing company (clone of their current company) with ease, doing the same job they were doing all along, yet owning a company and earning more.
Whereas for a uni lecturer, or an engineer in an MNC, it's an herculean task to mimic their current workplace.
There are many places where the system is flawed... i.e. being a migrant/global country is good in attracting talent, but we locals have actually little homeground advantage when seeking employment (when competing with foreigners)... If you seek for employment, you will forever be at the mercy of employers who will prefer to employ cheaper, yet equally effective, labour in the form of foreigners...
Originally posted by angel7030:
Ya, in states, very skill jobs are consider professional, however in here, ah neh, ah beng also can do, so the profession was badly tarnish. I still remember last time when i was younger, my dad got engaged contractor to renovate my house, Singapoean skill workers, they gave better qualities in their work and certainly more productive. Really delighted the customer like me Dad.
Recently we renovate our house front gate, the boss came with some bangalas and started work, once started, the boss is nowhere to be seen, the bangalas also blur blur, anyhow cement it with no skill at all, most of them concentrate on me and my indo maid rather than work. Damn, what a shody work!!
Chinese got one saying, "One Cent money, One Cent products."
You all hor.... stop comparing ... stop asking why other countries like this ... why our country cannot like that ....
It's very very simple...
Other countries where workers are well paid and their welfare protected... they have strong WORKER UNIONS.
When they not happy with the welfare and benefits.. they go on STRIKE to negotiate better benefits from the employer.
The people in other countries.. they FIGHT/DEMAND for their own rights.
Singaporeans will bitch and moan.. HOPING it can change anything. DUH ~..
Wake up loh.......
Originally posted by jojobeach:You all hor.... stop comparing ... stop asking why other countries like this ... why our country cannot like that ....
It's very very simple...
Other countries where workers are well paid and their welfare protected... they have strong WORKER UNIONS.
When they not happy with the welfare and benefits.. they go on STRIKE to negotiate better benefits from the employer.
The people in other countries.. they FIGHT/DEMAND for their own rights.
Singaporeans will bitch and moan.. HOPING it can change anything. DUH ~..
Wake up loh.......
you trying to bluff who? we got union also! in fact i brought insurance from them when i was in ns!