Euthanasia is immoral
THE head of Singapore's Catholic Church yesterday publicly condemned euthanasia, a topic that has grabbed headlines in recent weeks as the Government considers changes to the laws that govern dying.
Aiya, pity LKY's wifey lah, she is suffering u know, please ask the Bishop to stop preventing people going to heaven .
Originally posted by angel7030:Aiya, pity LKY's wifey lah, she is suffering u know, please ask the Bishop to stop preventing people going to heaven .
The Bishop cannot do anything if the authority is to decide to go ahead with such policy what.
lol
I won't choose life or death for someone else, regardless of what the authority says.
Originally posted by yamizi:The Bishop cannot do anything if the authority is to decide to go ahead with such policy what.
lol
The authority wanted to open the heaven gate to those suffering with illness, but the Bishop oppose to it. As a bishop, he should be holy and pray for people to go happly into heaven. If the Bishop want to play smart, why not he stop the authority passing the laws on capital punishment.
ultimately, its ur own decision
if i'm very sick, i also wish to go asap *less suffering* ![]()
Originally posted by JerryYan:if i'm very sick, i also wish to go asap *less suffering*
no problem aunty, but first dun mind to sign yr change of beneficiary to Angel Lin S8923876D. I will make sure there will be no pain and full of smile when you go. And i can also arrange the funeral for you.
wonder why the givernment now seeks such an active role indiscussing the issue of euthanasia, when the western countries are no longer so interested in the issue. the issue of euthanasia is somewhat active 5 years ago, so we are 5 yrs behind the western country.
so excluding the possibility that "euthanasia" is the hot global discussion topic, is there any reason behind the gahmen's sudden interest in euthanasia?
The organ trading discussion starts only after the CK Tang kidney trading case.
so do you think that this "revived" interest in euthanasia has anything to do with Mrs MM Lee staying in a coma?
Originally posted by angel7030:
The authority wanted to open the heaven gate to those suffering with illness, but the Bishop oppose to it. As a bishop, he should be holy and pray for people to go happly into heaven. If the Bishop want to play smart, why not he stop the authority passing the laws on capital punishment.
We live in a secular society. The ideas from religious representatives cannot make any practical and pragmatic influence in the making of public policies.
I believe many religious representatives expressed their discouragement of the IR but it still went ahead.
There are many things for me to chose, eg which dog to guard my house.
But some things I cannot exercise choice.
I did not choose my own birth, so I will also not deliberately choose my death.
Originally posted by yamizi:We live in a secular society. The ideas from religious representatives cannot make any practical and pragmatic influence in the making of public policies.
I believe many religious representatives expressed their discouragement of the IR but it still went ahead.
In the pragmatic world, Religious leaders got nothing more to do than giving critics on this and that so that they stay popular and the so call done their jobs. But in actually facts, i hv seen monks, priest and others religious people patronising my pub and book ladies too.
There maybe some real good religious leader, but in here, i yet to seen one. God bless them, afterall, they are also human.
are there people such as "smart religious people"?
Read this slogan that "good boys are thieves who are not caught"
i guess that this also applies for religious leaders.
look at ming yi fa shi.
Originally posted by angel7030:In the pragmatic world, Religious leaders got nothing more to do than giving critics on this and that so that they stay popular and the so call done their jobs. But in actually facts, i hv seen monks, priest and others religious people patronising my pub and book ladies too.
There maybe some real good religious leader, but in here, i yet to seen one. God bless them, afterall, they are also human.
Wow you sound peeved.
I didn't say these religious representatives are not human. They are like each and everyone of us here. Just that they have a different role to play.
My point is simply that no matter what opinions they give, they cannot do anything to stop whatever they do discourage from if the authorities decide to go ahead with their policies.
Relax man.
Originally posted by deathmaster:are there people such as "smart religious people"?
Read this slogan that "good boys are thieves who are not caught"
i guess that this also applies for religious leaders.
look at ming yi fa shi.
I think we have diverted. The topic of this thread is
Originally posted by deathmaster:wonder why the givernment now seeks such an active role indiscussing the issue of euthanasia, when the western countries are no longer so interested in the issue. the issue of euthanasia is somewhat active 5 years ago, so we are 5 yrs behind the western country.
so excluding the possibility that "euthanasia" is the hot global discussion topic, is there any reason behind the gahmen's sudden interest in euthanasia?
The organ trading discussion starts only after the CK Tang kidney trading case.
If anybody has a link to recent statements from the government, please feel free to share.
There are several factors to consider. On a bigger scale, the most important factor I can think of is greying population in Singapore. In time to come, increasing the budget for medical, health and hospice home care is inevitable.
On a more personal scale, there is the question of human right (the right to live and the right to die, murderous or merciful). I’m for euthanasia by consent.
Originally posted by deathmaster:
so do you think that this "revived" interest in euthanasia has anything to do with Mrs MM Lee staying in a coma?
From my point of view, hardly a political move for the benefit of the Lees.
Originally posted by north face:Euthanasia is immoral
THE head of Singapore's Catholic Church yesterday publicly condemned euthanasia, a topic that has grabbed headlines in recent weeks as the Government considers changes to the laws that govern dying.
I wonder if ISD will open a file on him.
They are now floating this issue because somebody's wife cannot peacefully die and instead of repenting of his evil, he wants to promote her legal murder.
Originally posted by yamizi:
Wow you sound peeved.I didn't say these religious representatives are not human. They are like each and everyone of us here. Just that they have a different role to play.
My point is simply that no matter what opinions they give, they cannot do anything to stop whatever they do discourage from if the authorities decide to go ahead with their policies.
Relax man.
and no matter what opinions they give, there is very little facts to it, they are much richer than us, religious leaders drove jaguar and merc lor.
the govt policy are human policies, how can the divine challenge it, what the govt can do is to wears a pair of velvet gloves beneath a pair of evil hands. That is to say, a smart Dirty politician can alway use religion upfront to harmonise peoples but on the hindsight, he is sucking them dry.
Relax lah woman
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
They are now floating this issue because somebody's wife cannot peacefully die and instead of repenting of his evil, he wants to promote her legal murder.
as stated earlier in this thread, i am rite
"Aiya, pity LKY's wifey lah, she is suffering u know, please ask the Bishop to stop preventing people going to heaven"
Hmmm...getting close to uncle mind
euthanisia is debatable.
suicide is against religious decreed.
No lah, some people can sacrifice for the sake of religions. They commit suicided too.
Originally posted by angel7030:No lah, some people can sacrifice for the sake of religions. They commit suicided too.
suicide for a cause is ok. suicide without a cause is definitely not cool.
assisted suicide is also suicide, therefore it is not cool also.
I find it difficult to understand suicide for a "cause", unless you are using suicide to mean giving up your life voluntarily. Suicide, the way I understand it, is to kill myself so that I could escape from something.
Originally posted by skythewood:suicide for a cause is ok. suicide without a cause is definitely not cool.
assisted suicide is also suicide, therefore it is not cool also.
so for the sake of religion, it is all right to suicide for the cause of destroying the other religion which is deemed as evil hor..