President-elect Obama has an Indonesian half-sister.
This sister is married to a Malaysian Chinese, Konrad Ng.
Let's wait and see if Obama visits Malaysia and Indonesia first before transiting Singapore........Changi airport transit lounge only perhaps.....![]()
=====================
Extract from TheStar
Obama has links to Malaysia
By SOO EWE JIN
PETALING
JAYA: Dr Konrad Ng is amused that his Malaysian roots got noticed
halfway round the world, thanks to his link to Democrat candidate
Barack Obama.
An assistant professor at the University of Hawaii
in Manoa (UHM), Ng, whose family originally comes from Sabah, is
married to Obama’s half-sister Maya Soetoro.
Maya and Obama have the same mother.
In an e-mail interview with The Star, Ng, 34, said that his father, Howard, was born in Sandakan and his mother, Joan, in Kudat.
“I
have many relatives who live throughout Malaysia, especially in Kuala
Lumpur, Kota Kinabalu and the two towns where my parents came from,” he
said.
His parents subsequently settled in Canada and Ng was born there.
Maya
was born to Lolo Soetoro, an Indonesian businessman, and Ann Dunham, a
white American cultural anthropologist, who is also Obama’s mother.
Ng said his parents return to Malaysia once every one to two years.
“It
remains an important place of origin to them. In addition to a large,
extended family, they have many good friends in Malaysia. I try to visit Malaysia every few years; it is a special country and feels familiar to me,” said Ng.
Maya, who was born in Jakarta, also cherishes her Indonesian roots.
According
to Ng, she is active in the local Indonesian community and continues to
speak Indonesian when she can. She visits Indonesia every few years.
Ng described Obama as exceptionally brilliant.
“He has a thorough understanding of the challenges we face and sound judgment on how we should address these challenges.
“Barack
is a dedicated family man and cares deeply about transforming the world
into a better place so that all families will have the same
opportunities to do better.
“South-East Asia is a place of
connection for him and a region that he understands well. It gave him
numerous examples of alternative modes of communication and perspective.
“Maya, Barack and I have talked about the beauty of South-East Asia and our mutual desire to visit again,” he said.
Not
too long ago: Watching an Independence Day parade in the US four years
ago were (from left) Michelle Obama, her daughter Sasha, Obama, Malia,
Maya, Ng, and their daughter Suhalia. - AP
The
family tree: Dr Konrad Ng, Maya, Howard and Joan posing for a picture.
Maya, who is Obama’s half sister, is married to Ng whose parents
originally came from Sabah.
I think Singapore also got relative of Obama.
only now when he win then malaysia come say...so what even if he has a malaysian relative? im sure he wont put his half-sister bro-in-law above national interest...who knows maybe he also got some long lost brother/sister in sg...
maybe he also got 1 in iraq? lets say o_ama?
I wonder whether our President Nathan is related to Obama, both black.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I wonder whether our President Nathan is related to Obama, both black.
mabe..
when obama is young he eat natha prata grow up!
Last time, he got a africa grandmother, , now a malaysian half sister, next, he may be my long lost half Uncle..cos my grandma told me, long ago, great grandpa was a coolie, went to USA to work, he had an affair with an America black gal slave, she borned him a son who later got married and and the family tree goes on.
When my great granpa reach USA, he dunno how to speak english, and as a normal chinese, he always cursed loudly with words like "ni ma ma, ta ma te, wo ma ma". So, while working with a family of negro slaves, they give him with a name as "Chino Oh ma ma"..from there, his childrens ended with mama vowel, so, i think Obama may be my half uncle leh, cos in my joo chiat pub hor, customers use to call me "Angel, our little Mama san"
Now both USA and Singapore got black skin Presidents, I hope the relations will be more balanced.
Lee Kuan Yew also wake up his stupid eugenics idea.
Don't go and senile senile try to sell your eugenics drivel to Obama hor Lee Kuan Yew.

Both black skin.
Finally Singapore and USA, same colour Presidents.
We should approve, not disapprove.
We should support, not oppose.
We should praise, not criticise.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I wonder whether our President Nathan is related to Obama, both black.
And that is as far as your brain can function.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
Both black skin.
Finally Singapore and USA, same colour Presidents.
We should approve, not disapprove.
We should support, not oppose.
We should praise, not criticise.
depends, must see who longer mah
Malaysians are very happy because Obama can speak Bahasa......the National Language of Singapore. Obama was educated in Indonesia..
When he comes to Singapore, he may try to use his Bahasa with our "banana" world class leaders.
(Banana = yellow skin outside, white meat inside )
Can our leaders speak the National Language? Do they even know the National Language is Bahasa?
Very true.
Very true.
Yellow outside, white inside.
Originally posted by idwar:Malaysians are very happy because Obama can speak Bahasa......the National Language of Singapore. Obama was educated in Indonesia..
When he comes to Singapore, he may try to use his Bahasa with our "banana" world class leaders.
Can our leaders speak the National Language? Do they even know the National Language is Bahasa?
Can can, i alway see LKY and LHL speech in Bahasa Singapore, we can even sing Majulah singapore in malay
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Very true.
Very true.
Yellow outside, white inside.
I thot for men, no matter what skin color, inside also red and what come out also white mah, so no different lah
So?
Originally posted by idwar:
Aiyo, even now taiwan and china also got direct flights now. why obama visit malaysia and indonesia also must transit via Singapore..
may be his malaysian relatives will have to come to Singapore to meet him, in case Mahathir doesn't like the American.
May be his half sister also may choose to meet him in Singapore, some Indonesians may still want to bomb an american president to take revenge for their religious brothers in afganistan or iraq. White or black, he is still an american president.
But, if all of a sudden, the Malaysian and Indonesian all embrace American, this is a good thing for the world.
Eight years of hell are over
http://english.pravda.ru/world/amer
A change for the better
http://english.pravda.ru/opinion
World hopes for a 'less arrogant America'
http://wiredispatch.com/news/?id=4
I hope under Obama regime, USA will stop attacking countries and torturing people, overthrow governments, issue threats etc; and reform its foreign policy.
Ayio... hes not our president, why you all care so much..
ho sei liao lor
Originally posted by idwar:Malaysians are very happy because Obama can speak Bahasa......the National Language of Singapore. Obama was educated in Indonesia..
Get your facts right. - The National Language of Singapore is not Bahasa.
Originally posted by sand king:Ayio... hes not our president, why you all care so much..
yalor, he president or not, me still hv to work, study, paid electical bills, ERP, etc etc
Shares will be up tomorrow for the selling.
Originally posted by kenn3th:Get your facts right. - The National Language of Singapore is not Bahasa.
it is bahasa. national language-> bahasa.
official languages:
-> English
->Chinese
->Malay
-> Tamil
lingua franca-> English.
and LKY and LHL can speak bahasa fluently. think for LKY, he is more fluent in bahasa than chinese, considering that he only learn to speak chinese when he was middle age.