Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
You are still afraid of change.
Change.It's not just a word, it is the key to survival.
Americans know it, the world knows it.
But Singaporeans are still too frightened to embrace it and fight for it.
Why don't you enter politics den? Become our "Obama?"
Originally posted by Shotgun:Why don't you enter politics den? Become our "Obama?"
he can be oh-ahpa
Change, easy lah, from White house to Black house, what so difficult?![]()
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
You are still afraid of change.
Change.It's not just a word, it is the key to survival.
Americans know it, the world knows it.
But Singaporeans are still too frightened to embrace it and fight for it.
change is a key to survival only when you need to adapt to a new situation which requires a new set of skills. not any how change like underwear. americans only knew it after 2 terms of bush. and they have someone to actually vote for.
in singapore, opposition don't have enough respectable or capable candidates to go around. change at most means change for the worse. you give me 2 choices, both incompletent but one with less resources who you want us to choose? a slimeball with money or a clown that keeps going to jail?
if you really want change why not you try your theory on me?
you come up with the money and people then vote me in. also change right? i get mp pay, i do same things as previous mp but reduce most of the fees, straight away win win already better off under me liao. this type of change you want?![]()
Originally posted by redDUST:mmmmm.......profound.
to change, i didn't know we need to spend (b)illions of dollar. just to keep it factual, how many billions did mccain and obama spent? pls enlighten.
and i wonder how many billions corazon aquino or nelson mandela spent?
(observe, reflect, infer - not necessarily in that order)
As at August, Barack Obama raised $603,220,081, Hillary Clinton $247,793,590, John McCain $357,773,218 and Mike Huckabee $16,459,632 for their respective campaign.
Corazon Aquino had hundreds of thousands of people on the streets against the military of Marcos, anybody in Singapore can command that kind of calling? some sports organisers have done that, not politicians!
Nelson Mandela spent decades in jails, his calling for clear: end of apartheid. Singaporeans are waiting for a calling that can convince us. We don't have to vote for the PAP, but to whom do we vote? may be CSJ or Poh Ah Pak or AndrewYPYap or all three of them should go to jail first. But, Nelson Mandela did not win on sympathy.
How all of them made the change? observe, reflect, and infer....but there are some rules to note:
When nobody listen to what you say, the reflection is on you, not the audience.
When nobody follow where you are leading, then you fail to be the leader.
Is there free lunch in this world? I hope there is for some poor people, but certainly not for politicians.
IM is the POSS IS the BLE.
Singaporeans are people who don't dabble in politics. They just want to earn their money and enjoy life. Why bother about other people's lives? When was the last time you went to community event? We are working for ourselves, not anyone else. Who cares about politics if it doesn't concern our daily routine? Ergo, Singaporean's are conservatives that doesn't want things to break their daily rountine.
Its not that Singaporeans dont have the courage or are apathetic
Its hard to change anything when even the law is on the government's side.. Wait for SG's moment of change? Be prepared to wait forever.... Best is to just Vote with your feet like me
Originally posted by ulquiorra87:Its not that Singaporeans dont have the courage or are apathetic
Its hard to change anything when even the law is on the government's side.. Wait for SG's moment of change? Be prepared to wait forever.... Best is to just Vote with your feet like me
Oh, my Uncle Poh Ah PAK (aka PAP) dun use feet to vote, it show no respect for them, instead, for the better, my uncle use his ass to vote
Originally posted by angel7030:
Oh, my Uncle Poh Ah PAK (aka PAP) dun use feet to vote, it show no respect for them, instead, for the better, my uncle use his ass to vote
har use ass to vote?
serious?
Originally posted by NerdzRulz:Singaporeans are people who don't dabble in politics. They just want to earn their money and enjoy life. Why bother about other people's lives? When was the last time you went to community event? We are working for ourselves, not anyone else. Who cares about politics if it doesn't concern our daily routine? Ergo, Singaporean's are conservatives that doesn't want things to break their daily rountine.
Thats a serious problem with SG ... people not caring about politics.... and i partly blame the govt and the economy for that.
Govt bcos they have stifled competition to the pt where people dun have a choice.
Economy bcos the competitiveness of Singapore combined with the paltry wage of the lower income group creates an atmosphere where people care more about $ then western cultures. Those of you that studied degrees should remember Maslows hierachy of neeeds.... politics is placed with less priority cos the basic security of having enuf $ isnt there yet.
are u sure change will bring u a better life?
What change ?U just mean PAP step aside and the learned opposition
like Dr CSJ,Dr James Gomez etc rule Singapore.
Oh Come On.Just tell what are your targets.Dunt hide in the bushes.
ONLY Graduates of western uni can think:CHEE SOON JUAN
CSJ said in SDP site that students in USA uni can think.
Students (including U students .he always mean all other people )in SG
cannot think.He shall give us a lectuer on the causes
of this credit crunches.Those USA uni grad just think too much
to invent the bubbles!!
http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/1036-nus-officials-stop-democrats-from-distributing-flyers
Dr Chee,we can think.Thanks.We dunt join u dunt mean we cannot think.
Just becos we can think than we dunt join u!!
U must look for some one in u to create another SDP Part 2!!
Rememebr send Mr Chiam See Tong,Founder of SDP a Christmas card.
He msut be sad to see his baby winding Up!!
Thanks for your destruction---Termiantor of SDP!!
Too late.U shall look for sucession earlier if u want to commit
political suicide!!
Originally posted by NerdzRulz:Singaporeans are people who don't dabble in politics. They just want to earn their money and enjoy life. Why bother about other people's lives? When was the last time you went to community event? We are working for ourselves, not anyone else. Who cares about politics if it doesn't concern our daily routine? Ergo, Singaporean's are conservatives that doesn't want things to break their daily rountine.
Forummers who post on social issues are non APATHETIC. However, this forms a weak minority. the rest I wonder ever know such forums exist or are bothered to voice up on issues that affect them directly or indirectly.
the people must know they are responsible as citizens of democracy.