"If all of us go into a power save mode, then the economy will really go into a recession! This is what economists called the Paradox of Thrift. If you have sufficient savings and can afford to spend, you should continue to spend on life's little pleasures
"Take your family to the movies, shop, dine out at restaurants and hawker centres, go for your regular foot massage, indulge yourself at a spa, take a taxi, donate to charity and so on. This way, we keep the economy going. In fact, I would say when times are a little slow, you could get the best bargain," the senior minister said.
I rem again we were told to save
now told us to spent
so wat is wat
just do opposite to whatever the old fuck said.
With their shameless salaries, they can say everything they can.
Every thing is sponsored by blood money from us truly.
Price keep increasing, Portion of food keep decreasing, pay stagnant to retain "competitveness".
So ,what can we spend with ?
If the two old foggies dun lead by examples and step down, no one will be spending.
Spend to keep the poodle-linked companies fat ?
Siao !
Originally posted by noahnoah:
"If all of us go into a power save mode, then the economy will really go into a recession! This is what economists called the Paradox of Thrift. If you have sufficient savings and can afford to spend, you should continue to spend on life's little pleasures
"Take your family to the movies, shop, dine out at restaurants and hawker centres, go for your regular foot massage, indulge yourself at a spa, take a taxi, donate to charity and so on. This way, we keep the economy going. In fact, I would say when times are a little slow, you could get the best bargain," the senior minister said.
I rem again we were told to save
now told us to spent
so wat is wat
Well spending isn't the problem ... i reckon its the buying power that is.
Cars and accommodation is expensive in Singapore. With those 2 tickets you probably have little left after paying the bank.
And with long queues for every job in the classified ads plus the retirement age in Sg ..... what does that instill in the working class.....omg i better save now before im given the golden handshake....omg so many people are fighting fer my job.... am i overpaid?
The wage difference between the lower caste and higher caste I feel is wider in Sg than say Aus. And that i feel is the main problem. The higher caste are not contributing/spending enuf $ to boost the economy cos they are like 1%(i made this up) where as the working class are like 60-70%. There needs to be a better distribution of wealth between the masses.... ie more tax for the high income and less on the low income.... voila.... more spending on retail
According to economic theory:
...The way in which the relative decline of investment in respect to savings results in economic crisis is not difficult to see.
In the modern economic community, the sum total of goods and services appearing in the market is at one and the same time the income of the community and the aggregate cost of producing the goods and services in question.
The sums expended by the entrepreneur on wages, rents, salaries, raw materials, interest, lawyers' fees, and so on, represent costs to him and income to those who receive them.
His own profits also enter the picture, since they are his income and the cost of persuading him to produce the wealth in question. The goods are offered for sale at a price which is equal to the sum of all costs (including profits). In the community as a whole, aggregate costs, aggregate incomes, and aggregate prices are the same, since they are merely opposite sides of the identical expenditures.
The purchasing power available in the community is equal to income minus savings. If there are any savings, the available purchasing power will be less than the aggregate prices being asked for the products for sale and by the amount of the savings.
Thus, all the goods and services produced cannot be sold as long as savings are held back. In order for all the goods to be sold, it is necessary for the savings to reappear in the market as purchasing power.
The usual way in which this is done is by investment. When savings are invested, they are expended into the community and appear as purchasing power. Since the capital good made by the process of investment is not offered for sale to the community, the expenditures made by its creation appear completely as purchasing power.
Thus, the disequilibrium between purchasing power and prices in which was created by the act of saving is restored completely by the act of investment, and all the goods can be sold at the prices asked.
But whenever investment is less than savings, the available supply of purchasing power is inadequate by the same amount to buy the goods being offered.
This margin by which purchasing power is inadequate because of an excess of savings over investment may be called the "deflationary gap." This '"deflationary gap" is the key to the twentieth century economic crisis and one of the three central cores of the whole tragedy of the century.
The deflationary gap arising from a failure of investment to reach the level of savings can he closed either by lowering the supply of goods to the level of the available purchasing power or by raising the supply of purchasing power to a level able to absorb the existing supply of goods, or by a combination of both.
The first solution will give a stabilized economy on a low level of economic activity; the second will give a stabilized economy on a high level of economic activity. Left to itself, the economic system under modern conditions would adopt the former procedure.
This would work roughly as follows: The existence of the deflationary gap (that is, available purchasing power less than aggregate prices of available goods and services) will result in falling prices, declining economic activity, and rising unemployment.
All this will result in a fall in national income, and this in turn will result in an even more rapid decline in the volume of savings. This decline continues until the volume of savings reaches the level of investment, at which point the fall is arrested and the economy becomes stabilized at a low level...
we must improve our english!
Originally posted by FireIce:we must improve our english!
agree..![]()
ya hor! lets go learn some english lesson!
spent!!!!
We should improve mother tongue and improve dialect.
I got idea! Give 1st world salary I guarantee spend like 1st world citizen. I conform ah! i no bluff wan ah.
it's like that one lah... they always give excuses for the bosses to cut our salary while trying to tell the staff to multitask... but those who are in business would know that with pay cut and such, retail would definitely go down and the manufacturers would be affected and in terms affects all the non retail by pulling down the needs of transaction between such coy...
Butterfly effect which the gahmen do not care about. They only interested in their salary and thus, increase everything and impose stupid tax while saying the country is in recession. Recession my ass...
Since 1997, we are in the second recession,
and yet the employer's CPF contribution rate has not been raised back to pre 97 levels of 20%
that means more money for employees?
Does this mean the SWF and TC also spend spend in this time?
TC not a SWF right? Can disclose of nots? disclose disclose good good leh, we can congratulantion with you leh. good news must all hear and enjoy, celebrate and spend spend on massage, champaigne and par golf leh. good good for economics leh.
I no idea. I really really the no idea what is the soever of the ever.
Why don't decrease GST?
People will spent more Mr Goh.
Don't just smile smile talk cock on TV.
You not Lee Kuan Yew, you Lee Kuan Yew I will tell you to fuck off and die.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:Does this mean the SWF and TC also spend spend in this time?
TC not a SWF right? Can disclose of nots? disclose disclose good good leh, we can congratulantion with you leh. good news must all hear and enjoy, celebrate and spend spend on massage, champaigne and par golf leh. good good for economics leh.
I no idea. I really really the no idea what is the soever of the ever.
No need lah... we all know the Ho jinx has got a hand of midas... every stocks she touch will change direction sharply... Really the best there is in singapore...
I am afraid if they show u their balance sheet you will cannot take it and die as a result.
anyway if they are going to disclose it in a half fucked way, might as well dun.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Why don't decrease GST?
People will spent more Mr Goh.
Don't just smile smile talk cock on TV.
You not Lee Kuan Yew, you Lee Kuan Yew I will tell you to fuck off and die.
u talk only, in front of Lee Kuan Yew, u quiet quiet and bow your head.
If u dun spend, how the economy move, the govt is acting as a good guy, but on the hindsight, they wish you spend until bankrupt.
Anyway, if got money, spend it, if not sooner or later, govt will find way to prick it out of you.
Originally posted by angel7030:If u dun spend, how the economy move, the govt is acting as a good guy, but on the hindsight, they wish you spend until bankrupt.
Anyway, if got money, spend it, if not sooner or later, govt will find way to prick it out of you.
spent where
in your pub har?
Originally posted by angel7030:Anyway, if got money, spend it, if not sooner or later, govt will find way to prick it out of you.
Must still reserve abit lah, the govt red letter are very powerful. It give warning like calling lawyer to sue you until you go to jail leh if you don't pay up.
Originally posted by noahnoah:
spent wherein your pub har?
No, Unker, u can spent on studying, further education, longlife learning, then maybe you can meet a gal of your liking (old liao no choice), also you can spend on travelling, electronic gadgets, fashion and grooming, it light up your confidence and enjoy life better.
U can also buy vietnam gals or if you like, can buy from me PRC gals. By cash hor.
Originally posted by sunnytv:Must still reserve abit lah, the govt red letter are very powerful. It give warning like calling lawyer to sue you until you go to jail leh if you don't pay up.
sure lah, if not raining how, but let be frank, our life is short, play hard, if affordable, spend it and dun be like those thrifty millionaires uncles and aunties that still eat so tar biscuit with Milo, oh my gosh, rich for what??? at least me take starbuck's cake and coffee for a break.
Originally posted by angel7030:
sure lah, if not raining how, but let be frank, our life is short, play hard, if affordable, spend it and dun be like those thrifty millionaires uncles and aunties that still eat so tar biscuit with Milo, oh my gosh, rich for what??? at least me take starbuck's cake and coffee for a break.
ya i like to eat plain biscuit with Milo *yummy* ![]()
Actually, we must learn to use proper grammar.
We must spend!