Originally posted by JerryYan:
ya i like to eat plain biscuit with Milo *yummy*
made sure the biscuit got no melamine ya..
Originally posted by the Bear:Actually, we must learn to use proper grammar.
We must spend!
got money to earn, i dun care u use spend or spent, or the correct grammar or ah ma..
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Why don't decrease GST?
People will spent more Mr Goh.
Don't just smile smile talk cock on TV.
You not Lee Kuan Yew, you Lee Kuan Yew I will tell you to fuck off and die.
In front of Lee Kuan Yew of course I won't go and criticise him.
Must show respect also.
We should be gracious.![]()
Originally posted by noahnoah:
"If all of us go into a power save mode, then the economy will really go into a recession! This is what economists called the Paradox of Thrift. If you have sufficient savings and can afford to spend, you should continue to spend on life's little pleasures
"Take your family to the movies, shop, dine out at restaurants and hawker centres, go for your regular foot massage, indulge yourself at a spa, take a taxi, donate to charity and so on. This way, we keep the economy going. In fact, I would say when times are a little slow, you could get the best bargain," the senior minister said.
I rem again we were told to save
now told us to spent
so wat is wat
I would like to spent spent spent but cannot - no money ... this is one national service I cannot fulfill ... sigh . ,
if u believe what the dumb ass minister told u. you could be bankrupt earlier than you can imagine.
you better save more so that u had better prepare yourself for recession. do you think these dumbass minister going to bail you out if you run out of money? they rather bailout the casino then you.
Scenario 1
Ah Beng works as a supervisor in a computer parts factory in Tuas. He draws a salary of $1800/mth and has a store clerk wife with 2 daughters.
Each weekend, he will treat his family to a hawker stall dinner costing around $60 - lemon chicken, steam pomfret, crabs, prawns, etc, deliciously cooked.
But now, with this current financial crisis, he stops such meals, and save his money instead, eating at home, worrying daily if he will get retrenched.
Ah Seng owns that hawker stall. NOw, with his regular patron and many more others like him gone, he has a problem paying his rent, workers and overheads. He still has savings, and tries to stay afloat, swatting flies, hoping for a better day.
His son, John, an intelligent and hardworking teen, had been saving up to buy a high end computer to spice up and multi task his school projects for a better grade. But now, his father reduced his daily allowance, giving only for transport and had to take his meals either packed or eat at home.
2 mths later
The comp factory Ah Beng works in had to close down, because of poor sales. Ah Beng had to join 3000 others applying for only 500 supervisor jobs left in Spore.
Ah Seng's savings dried up, and due to his low education and old age, became an unemployed statistic.
John gave up his savings to help out his familly. That too was wiped out, and had to quit school and worked as a packer....
Scenario 2
Ah Beng, decides to cut down on his spending to save on a rainy day, but he does not intend to stop giving his family treats. He spends instead $35 on dinner treats and save the balance.
Ah Seng, realizing the economy is not so good, decides to cut prices and not increase charges, rationalize his expenditure to offer still good food to survive. He manages to retain his regular patrons. He did not make good profits, but he manages to keep his stall afloat till sanity returns to the market.
John got to buy a comp, not the high end one, but one equally good,
Ah Beng's factory did not have to close down, as there were still orders for computer parts.
This is only a fictional scenario, but a reality many can relate to and comprehend. Our society, thru its representatives the govt, had spoken. Save but spend what you can, and we will will get thru this difficult times together as one.
Who will save Singapore is - YOU, when you spend rationally, just as your forefathers did in our past difficult national history facing huge odds to survive as a nation.
It's the simple things that simple folks can do that can solve the problem. No need to get bankrupt over.
Heros are onlyl ordinary people who perform extraordinarily in difficult times. You are the hero, just as your forefather had been in our national history, for what we have today.
Originally posted by reyes:if u believe what the dumb ass minister told u. you could be bankrupt earlier than you can imagine.
you better save more so that u had better prepare yourself for recession. do you think these dumbass minister going to bail you out if you run out of money? they rather bailout the casino then you.
So, by the time the casino open, most of us maybe bankrupt liao,...not permit to go enter the casino liao.
xtreyier, your logic are simple textbook executions!
try to add the scene ah beng lost his job in your scenerios 2. And the end result is his family can go CDC sooner or bankrupt sooner.
So, by the time the casino open, most of us maybe bankrupt liao,...not permit to go enter the casino liao.
i think the possibility of casino bankrupt is higher than us!
Originally posted by noahnoah:
"If all of us go into a power save mode, then the economy will really go into a recession! This is what economists called the Paradox of Thrift. If you have sufficient savings and can afford to spend, you should continue to spend on life's little pleasures
"Take your family to the movies, shop, dine out at restaurants and hawker centres, go for your regular foot massage, indulge yourself at a spa, take a taxi, donate to charity and so on. This way, we keep the economy going. In fact, I would say when times are a little slow, you could get the best bargain," the senior minister said.
I rem again we were told to save
now told us to spent
so wat is wat
Most of us don't have that "peanut" salary his wife was referring to so where got money to spend!
oh ya .... peanuts .... forgotton about that already .. no wonder he asks us to spent ... hmmm . . .. . now where to find peanuts .. ? ? ?
to find peanuts , try to find the monkey. you know who the expensive monkey right?
Originally posted by reyes:to find peanuts , try to find the monkey. you know who the expensive monkey right?
Some already become full blown Gorillas, u notice their fat waist.
asking singaporeans to spent is very irrespsonsible comment made by a minister.
Our economy is not base on domestic consumption. thus asking average singaporeans to spurs the domestic economy is not going to help much but in fact could potentially hurt more family when they are hurt financially but lack the household reserve to pull thru the crisis.
Originally posted by reyes:asking singaporeans to spent is very irrespsonsible comment made by a minister.
Our economy is not base on domestic consumption. thus asking average singaporeans to spurs the domestic economy is not going to help much but in fact could potentially hurt more family when they are hurt financially but lack the household reserve to pull thru the crisis.
Does it matter to them if you die ?
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:
Does it matter to them if you die ?
it does matter alot if he dies, cos all funeral and cremation expenses come with Gst, there will also be alots of job created, many things to buy and those chang tok chang!!! troops to be call in...really become a vibrant economy
Originally posted by reyes:asking singaporeans to spent is very irrespsonsible comment made by a minister.
they have a vested interest... the despots' government and cronies own many of the businesses... the people can die as long as the money goes into their pockets..
Wow, the last two days see a lot of sale leh .. Courts, Harvey Norman , Best denki .... so tempted to buy buy and buy ....
...at the very least... they take 7% of what people spend in GST... so as far as they are concerned, Singaporeans can all end up dead spending money recklessly in a downturn as long as they can put more into their own pockets.
I am spent!
ask those millionaire ministers to spend some money on me first....
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
...at the very least... they take 7% of what people spend in GST... so as far as they are concerned, Singaporeans can all end up dead spending money recklessly in a downturn as long as they can put more into their own pockets.
you are not cursing me is it ? can request you change the color of font or not ... very hard to read leh ... the red is very bright ... .
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Who ask u to paid the 7%, come, spend at my joo chiat or geyland place, we absorb the 7%.
IMH bills also got 7%.
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:you are not cursing me is it ? can request you change the color of font or not ... very hard to read leh ... the red is very bright ... .
You lucky lor, me has been buying color ink until bankrupt liao. Sorry lah, his medicine run out liao, after taking he will change to black font again.
Apologise for the inconviences caused