In Japan, a similar situation developed under the so called Zaibatsu.
China is probably the only great economic power today where the influence of corporate and financial powers over government is relatively weak, since private economic activities were only allowed under Deng Xiao Peng's reforms and always under the watch of the state.
When Obama is inundated with congratulatory messages from around the world, it is definite that he would be selective. In fact it would be the new team that selects for him. Who are in the new team?
So, what's the big deal?
Any scorn, if at all, should be directed at the USA.
I cannot force people to like me. I can only earn people's respect.
Unfortunately, respect is given as a mere courtesy and not one from admiration.
The respect accorded by the Communities of the World to the remarkable achievement of Barack Obama amounted to admiration.
Barack Obama's calls to the few leaders seems to show the courtesy accorded to these countries that are seen as important partners to the USA - with political system that is parallel to that of the USA.
Originally posted by ArtBoon:I cannot force people to like me. I can only earn people's respect.
so that means sg or the gahmen doesn't earn the respect of obama?
Originally posted by lotus999:so that means sg or the gahmen doesn't earn the respect of obama?
I think so.
Originally posted by jay_rocks:obama, pls become a citizen of singapore.
I don't even mind if he takes over the running of Singapore
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Why should we even be bothered if Obama called us or not? with shits up to his ears everybody will be watching what would be his first move to solve the financial problem brought about by his stupid predecessor.
If anybody should have reason to be offended just because Obama didn’t call him, then Saudi has good reason to be pissed because Obama called Israel but not Saudi, or any of the other middle east countries; Spain, Italy should also be annoyed because Obama is not treating all EU countries the same; Russia should be angry with America and probably would attack Georgia again; Brasil should feel neglected because Obama only treats Mexico and Canada as neighbors and not the other South American countries; and obviously this give China much reasons to be hostile to America because america still see them no up.
And to think that Japan is a country “with political system that is parallel to that of the USA” is simply ignorant.
It is courteous of him to call on anybody, but if anybody should feel neglected just because Obama didn’t call him, he is simply childish.
Yes, it can be simply courteous for Obama to call on 'anybody', but for him to call on those 9 leaders as his first "call of courtesy" is due to the values accorded to these leaders whom he see as worthy of his respect to respond to their congratulory messages made.
I am surprised that you did not cite the congratulatory message from Iranian President Ahmadinejad - as an example amongst the other countries that you have mentioned.
Seriously, if you believe that Brazil, Mexico, South American countries, Saudi Arabia or any other Middle-eastern Countries as equal in stature to these 9 countries - you must be ignorant of the history and political values shared.
Is the political system in Japan not an electoral system as in the USA - even though they may differ in form based on shared OPEN democratic principles ?
Yes, it is childish only to interprete that it is neglect for Obama not to call, as it takes political awareness to discern between being politically ignored and simple neglect.
Looks like you still have not learnt to watch where the wind blow before you spit.
I'm sure someone with a deep understanding and apreciation of human rights (not to mention the phonyness of the Singapore system) like obama will be scornful of totalitarian states like SG. I'm not surprised.. The two idealogies are worlds apart
you know what....???
even if Obama called Singapore, many will say why Obama didn't called Singapore FIRST.
in the grand scale of things.... call or don't call, does it make any difference?
What happens if Obama calls angel7030 instead of our world class ministars?
Originally posted by Chin Eng:you know what....???
even if Obama called Singapore, many will say why Obama didn't called Singapore FIRST.
in the grand scale of things.... call or don't call, does it make any difference?
i think it is one of those things that if it doesn't happen, you kinda shrug it off, but you quietly hope that he will call.
there is a lot of hype about this man now, so i will not be surprised if the media here will hype it up if that were to happen.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:I really cannot tahan why Obama didn’t call Singapore first so I called him, guess what, he gave me 3 reasons why he didn’t call us.
1. He thought he got rid of the president of the US whose father was an ex president, but then he realises that the father of the prime minister of singapore is also an ex PM, and damn, the son is still in power.
2. He thought he was the first black president in a country that is not predominantly black, but damn, Singapore had a black president, of Indian origin, way before him. He thought he made history, but only in the US, not the world.
3. He doesn’t like people who go round spitting, so he didn’t call China and Singapore. Damn, this you are wrong, Mr. president elect, in Singapore only Atobe go round spitting.
Kudos for your story telling efforts, except that:
1. Was Obama's call to serve - all about the Father and the Son, or was it about the Ghost that haunt the Economics affecting the Future for the USA ?
2. Is Obama black enough for the US African-American community to consider him to be a black - especially when his mother is White and his father an African.
3. Spitting in Singapore ?
You must have missed LKY's sponsored campaign of banning public spitting - as Obama would probably be in our part of the world to have known of all the campaigns created for Singaporeans that out-performed the North Korean Father and Son pair.
Your storyline would have been more authentic except for the fog that you attempt to create, and then try to clear with the spray from your spittle.
If only you are able to discern the direction of the wind before you do what you must.
Originally posted by Atobe:
Kudos for your story telling efforts, except that:
1. Was Obama's call to serve - all about the Father and the Son, or was it about the Ghost that haunt the Economics affecting the Future for the USA ?
2. Is Obama black enough for the US African-American community to consider him to be a black - especially when his mother is White and his father an African.
3. Spitting in Singapore ?
You must have missed LKY's sponsored campaign of banning public spitting - as Obama would probably be in our part of the world to have known of all the campaigns created for Singaporeans that out-performed the North Korean Father and Son pair.
Your storyline would have been more authentic except for the fog that you attempt to create, and then try to clear with the spray from your spittle.
If only you are able to discern the direction of the wind before you do what you must.
He said he called the President Elect of the USA, Obama. Delusional. His family should call IMH if his delusions get any worse, or maybe he is already a patient there.
Originally posted by redDUST:
i think it is one of those things that if it doesn't happen, you kinda shrug it off, but you quietly hope that he will call.there is a lot of hype about this man now, so i will not be surprised if the media here will hype it up if that were to happen.
personally, I don't care whether he calls or not.... oh yeah, I am sure our press will put it on the front page when obama calls.
but at the end of the day, why should we be bothered he called or not?
1. he never got around to it.
2. Singapore (for that matter ASEAN matters) are not in his radar (i am sure it isn't in his radar)
3. calls may be politically motivated. note that the first series of calls were mainly to the G8 (or the extended G8 countries).
4. he doesn't give a shit about Singapore.
5. he doesn't have LKY or LHL's mobile number.
6. all of the above.
whether he calls or not has nothing to do with our political claims.
whether our political claims are true or not has also nothing to do with obama.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:He said he called the President Elect of the USA, Obama. Delusional. His family should call IMH if his delusions get any worse, or maybe he is already a patient there.
good for you, angke andrew, your medicine works, you know that IMH is for people who are delusional.
but you must get some sleep, early early still play on the computer no good for you leh, why IMH got no lights out one huh.
actually, think about it..
extraordinary times require extraordinary lea-duhs..
in singapore, we live in ordinary times... do we really need extraordinary lea-duhs.. and when there are, we won't know because there aren't any horrendifyingly critical and crucial issues at hand..
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
good for you, angke andrew, your medicine works, you know that IMH is for people who are delusional.but you must get some sleep, early early still play on the computer no good for you leh, why IMH got no lights out one huh.
..the Obama you talked to, was he a fellow patient of yours at IMH?
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
good for you, angke andrew, your medicine works, you know that IMH is for people who are delusional.but you must get some sleep, early early still play on the computer no good for you leh, why IMH got no lights out one huh.
Why is APKY not in insolation cell?
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
personally, I don't care whether he calls or not.... oh yeah, I am sure our press will put it on the front page when obama calls.but at the end of the day, why should we be bothered he called or not?
1. he never got around to it.
2. Singapore (for that matter ASEAN matters) are not in his radar (i am sure it isn't in his radar)
3. calls may be politically motivated. note that the first series of calls were mainly to the G8 (or the extended G8 countries).
4. he doesn't give a shit about Singapore.
5. he doesn't have LKY or LHL's mobile number.
6. all of the above.
whether he calls or not has nothing to do with our political claims.
whether our political claims are true or not has also nothing to do with obama.
I guess it's simply that the policitcal climate that the US leader and our leaders are different.
US leader has to work for the bigger picture you see.
Originally posted by yamizi:I guess it's simply that the policitcal climate that the US leader and our leaders are different.
US leader has to work for the bigger picture you see.
and also, the US leader has a lot to repair.. basically the damage done by the outgoing commander-in-thief...
actually, we do have some world-crass lea-duhs... world class idiocy, world class disgrace, world class incompetence, world class backstabbing.. all the MIW horror pales in comparison to his achievements ![]()
We are just a red dot on the world map.
I wonder where do Singaporeans get their ego from ?
Originally posted by Go:We are just a red dot on the world map.
I wonder where do Singaporeans get their ego from ?
maybe that's where it came from =)