Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:after playing the race cards for so long, i kinda feel if a minority race was choosen for pm by the pap and assuming the polls aren't rigged, things could turn out badly for them. they've always played it up that certain minority races cannot be trusted with sensitive positions. most of the people i know in my circle are actually quite biased against minority races, sometimes due to stereotyping other times through negative experiences.
we can already see all sorts of nonsense threads here regarding color and smell liao.
stereotyping that the
1. malay too lazy and simplistic
2. indian too conniving and typical nato? ![]()
i think singaporeans are generally not socially mature enuf yet. but singapore is a young nation. so, i agree in many ways that she has some ways to go.
however, think of it, when lhl so-called `retires', who in his chinese clans has what is takes to be pm?
maybe wong kang seng.
It is nothing about race or minority.
He better start doing his work and explain to the people:
- Mas Salamat Case ?
- Why the increase in the living cost during recession and inflation ?
- Why the town council cannot be transparent about the loss that they have sustained ?
Until the above issue is explained, who or what race will be the next or future PM is NOT important.
Is he just capable enough to address petty issue ?
TO be fair, you guys should be talking about sex/gender of PM rather than focusing on races n skin colors.
I believe our Ho Cheng will be the next PM, she is growing more and more powerful day by day..time for women to rule. Yeah!!!
i think singaporeans are generally not socially mature enuf yet.
I don't think any state is so called "socially mature". It doesn't exist.
http://exiledonline.com/fatwah-election
And also under PAP, there is no way that public can improve their political and social awareness.
For that will spell the doom of PAP rule.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I don't think any state is so called "socially mature". It doesn't exist.
http://exiledonline.com/fatwah-election
And also under PAP, there is no way that public can improve their political and social awareness.
For that will spell the doom of PAP rule.
circular argument,
under PAP ==> public cannot improve political and social awareness
public can improve political and social awareness ==> end of PAP
I don't understand.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I don't understand.
under cannot stand go see doctor
Man in White's system functions if:
- All the people are politically bo-chap and involved themselves in the rat race and focused on making money.
- All the people are living in assumption of fear or power and scared to be sued.
- Only the cream of the crop will manage the policy and no question will be entertained even if honest mistake are commited as they are never wrong. It is alway caused by the people.
If the people start to ask question and demand answer, the system will collapse as they have commited too many honest mistakes and no place to move on any more.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Man in White's system functions if:
- All the people are politically bo-chap and involved themselves in the rat race and focused on making money.
- All the people are living in assumption of fear or power and scared to be sued.
- Only the cream of the crop will manage the policy and no question will be entertained even if honest mistake are commited as they are never wrong. It is alway caused by the people.
If the people start to ask question and demand answer, the system will collapse as they have commited too many honest mistakes and no place to move on any more.
I always has the feeling they answered all questions.
Since when?
People start to mobilise themselves, start to organise to oppose PAP rule, their days in power will be numbered.
That is why they are so pissed with Tan Kin Lian and Chee Soon Juan.
They are afraid of people's power.
Another important factor is that PAP doesn't have popular following.
No one will really care if they are toppled.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:- All the people are living in assumption of fear or power and scared to be sued.
You know... you go outside talk with ppl... u talk abt PAP, they tell u shhhhhh later kena sued then die... See CSJ/JBJ sell paper, they also scared, "stay away frm him later kena caught"...
Why Singapore ppl got these sort of mentality? I dunno, do you?
I don't know also.
I only know old bastard.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Since when?
what questions didn't they answer?
Foreign reserves.
Temasek, GIC activities.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
People start to mobilise themselves, start to organise to oppose PAP rule, their days in power will be numbered.
That is why they are so pissed with Tan Kin Lian and Chee Soon Juan.
They are afraid of people's power.
maybe Tan Kin Lian and Chee Soon Juan are only actors for PAP.
The multi racial society gives PAP an upper hand to rule, i do applaud LKY brainchild, very smart. In most country, Diversity of race is the most difficult situation to rule but our LKY took full of advantage of it. He make it in a way that you are one people, one singapore, one nation, but not one group. A fragmentation society create individualism, so he instilled kiasee, kiasu and race protectism to separate people from getting/organise together to uprise against the ruling party. Unlike Japan, taiwan or korea, the population are homogenous, one kind of race, so when they uprise, the ruling govt will be gone for sure.
In his speech, he always said that is not easy to govt a multi cultural and racial society, but in fact, it is to his advantage. If Chinses uprise, he support malays, if Indian uprise, he support chinese and malay, if malays uprise, he support chinese and indian, the is the game he played. Therefore you hardly see we singaporeans get together in a full force.
Angel
Political Science Specialist
Pentagon
Vote for dog; vote for cat; vote for rat; I also won't vote for PAP.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Vote for dog; vote for cat; vote for rat; I also won't vote for PAP.
u animal mah, where got animal vote for PAP one.
Vote for a mutt lah.
A Singapore PM who is half Chinese, one quarter Malay and one quarter Indian is ideal.
What can he do about favouritism? How to decide? He's torn, fellows.![]()
LHL talking cock.
If right from the start, PAP can cultivate the mind frame of working silently behind the scene to change UMNO, to change partisan politic within Malaysia, to wait for its time of glory and not took an open front approach, we will still be part of Malaysia today.
Our PM would naturally be a Malay and our King would still be a bumiputra.
I know many Chinese here would not like what I say. But the truth is the truth. Whether we can now have minority PM or not, you all can debate. But for PAP to go round in circle is like Moses bringing his people round and round in the wilderness.
Originally posted by 4sg:LHL talking cock.
If right from the start, PAP can cultivate the mind frame of working silently behind the scene to change UMNO, to change partisan politic within Malaysia, to wait for its time of glory and not took an open front approach, we will still be part of Malaysia today.
I know many Chinese here would not like what I say. But the truth is the truth. Whether we can now have minority PM or not, you all can debate. But for PAP to go round in circle is like Moses bringing his people round and round in the wilderness.
so... PAP is like Moses?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Foreign reserves.
Temasek, GIC activities.
and why should they answer you on those?
Do all the countries around the world answer all questions on those?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I thought he was referring to political/economic ideology?
http://www.china-profile.com/history/indepth
I thought so too. Liberalization of economic policies... but the principle applies too.
To refine it a bit, its a matter of meritocracy. However, Singaporeans do not directly elect the Prime Minister, so I'm not sure what LHL was talking about.
As long as the party wins, the Party generally decides who will be the PM. If the party doesn't see the minority race candidate as suitable, they won't nominate. In Singapore's system, the President can veto the party's nominee for PM or even fire him IIRC, but he cannot directly nominate the PM.
My 6000th POST!
Originally posted by 4sg:LHL talking cock.
yeah but what would happen to all the non malays? being chinese myself i really don't think i want to be a malaysian looking at whats happening over there. i kinda see it as a mistake gone right. can't imagine what would happened to an over populated island full of chinks under malaysia if someone decided to work silently behind the scene.
mistake gone right?