and they have healthcare benefits, welfare and stuff?
so that will supplement their medical bills?
Oz is one of the most higly taxed countries. U claim they earn more? But think again, is it pretax or post tax?
500K - 700K AUD for a landed property in OZ sounds like a good deal but think about the amenities. They suck and u have to travel to get yr groceries. Public transport sucks and a car is your staple. Again petrol prices will kill u. and also note that interest is a standard 9% in oz for housing.
back in singapore, u dont get taxed often but the model of taxation is based on services. basically u put down your bucks for something u have to pay for the "profit margin" attached to it. But again, if u are smart in singapore, cost can be cut ...
Many silly singporean complain about the high cost of cars but do u really need a car when there is such a fantastic transport system?
At best i know s'porean are bunch of people who live in a well , read "advertising" on the internet about greener pastures and get cheated.
Originally posted by RaTtY8l:i agree with TS, i grew up here, so i shall stay here. Singapore is not bad except it can b rather sian with not much places to go.
beleive me in other countres there are even less places to go and even if there is such nice places are far away and travelling will kill u. I fu feel bored , then go for some vacaion overseas like Lankawi, bangkok ect...
And 24/7 cities overseas may have a similar level of entertainment if u are willing to put up with mobs and gangs who pull out a .45 colt just for fun's sake.
In singapore 24/7 nightlife, outing are safe . Look at the balance of value and tradeoff.
Originally posted by skythewood:and they have healthcare benefits, welfare and stuff?
so that will supplement their medical bills?
There is medical insurance but i dont think it covers all costs. Again singapore offers more value for the quality of medical services than oz.
SG have too many People who tells you to work very very hard to help them idle.
Then again, it happens in other countries too. Only thing is that you pay for what you want to get ? Or you make others pay to get what you want?
PPL come here to get rich quick ? Or where else do you see your own retirement?
Is retirement good? Or are you already making arrangements to do what you want to do after your retirement from the mainstream workforce?
How do you make your home home?
Originally posted by OH-FF:SG have too many People who tells you to work very very hard to help them idle.
Then again, it happens in other countries too. Only thing is that you pay for what you want to get ? Or you make others pay to get what you want?
PPL come here to get rich quick ? Or where else do you see your own retirement?
Is retirement good? Or are you already making arrangements to do what you want to do after your retirement from the mainstream workforce?
How do you make your home home?
which country u referring to?
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:beleive me in other countres there are even less places to go and even if there is such nice places are far away and travelling will kill u. I fu feel bored , then go for some vacaion overseas like Lankawi, bangkok ect...
And 24/7 cities overseas may have a similar level of entertainment if u are willing to put up with mobs and gangs who pull out a .45 colt just for fun's sake.
In singapore 24/7 nightlife, outing are safe . Look at the balance of value and tradeoff.
I presume you are a man and has served your NS in Singapore. If you are living in a democratic country, you can also buy a gun for self defense. That's fair.
In Australia, there's alot of time to kill. So, distance is not an issue. Can slow down, stop and smell the roses.
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:which country u referring to?
Making home home .
"if you cannot make your current home good to live in, what make you think you have a better chance elsewhere?"
Are the chances here good at all?
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:Oz is one of the most higly taxed countries. U claim they earn more? But think again, is it pretax or post tax?
500K - 700K AUD for a landed property in OZ sounds like a good deal but think about the amenities. They suck and u have to travel to get yr groceries. Public transport sucks and a car is your staple. Again petrol prices will kill u. and also note that interest is a standard 9% in oz for housing.
back in singapore, u dont get taxed often but the model of taxation is based on services. basically u put down your bucks for something u have to pay for the "profit margin" attached to it. But again, if u are smart in singapore, cost can be cut ...
Many silly singporean complain about the high cost of cars but do u really need a car when there is such a fantastic transport system?
At best i know s'porean are bunch of people who live in a well , read "advertising" on the internet about greener pastures and get cheated.
don't generalize and make unsubstantiated claims...
1. housing interest rates for standard variable rate today is 7.65%, down from 9%
2. ave median home price for sydney is A$230k. that was july 07. with the current situation, it is not unthinkable that the same house will cost less.
3. unleaded petrol prices averages under A$1.30 per litre in Australia
4. 1 year old used camry can be had for about A$22k.
5. public transport both sucks in singapore and australia. ok, ok, i rate singapore's public transport 2.5 vs 2.0 for a city like sydney.
and maurizio13 has posted ad nauseum the comparable living standard on what the aussie $ can buy compare to the sing$. i won't go there.
so, pleez, pleez, do your homework before rattle off like an unleashed poodle.
Other pastures will always look greener to the many frogs who have not left their well that is S'pore.
Then again, S'pore is a place where the young and old alike slog all day, while the clever (white) FTs and brilliant rulers enjoy the fruits of that labour. (tell me you didn't think those 2 upcoming resorts were meant for you, did you?)
Sillyporeans, please
Suck it up![]()
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:Many silly singporean complain about the high cost of cars but do u really need a car when there is such a fantastic transport system?
Another one of those who obviously didnt spend time on our first class fantastic transport system.........
And erm.....in Oz or US or canada......car is a staple....because the public transport system isnt up to scratch......
And if you want to compare sg public transport system and errr angmoh transport system.......you should also look at Malaysia & thailand bus transport systems.....
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
Another one of those who obviously didnt spend time on our first class fantastic transport system.........
...one time I took MRT and Bus to Tuas from Upper Serangoon, damnz it... you know how much it costs? You know how long it took? Believe me, with the amount of time you save and the amount you have to pay "going public"; driving my own car is better... (maybe if it were to town that might be different)... still, you cannot generalize and say that going public is always better.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:And erm.....in Oz or US or canada......car is a staple....because the public transport system isnt up to scratch......
And if you want to compare sg public transport system and errr angmoh transport system.......you should also look at Malaysia & thailand bus transport systems.....
Ermm paiseh to side track abit. From what i observed. The average Thais pple usually dun like and depend on public transport like us masses sillyporeans.
The average poorest poor until cannot poor type Thai pple have at least a old bike to get around. And the middle class Thais & above all owned a decent car. Beats me on how they do it. The very young Thais here most of them drive Accord,Vios & jazz. While our youngsters here are still taking the MRT and SBS buses. Lolz. I got a very good job here in Bangkok and im not even on par with them young Thais. Not even with my SGD dollars that i saved when living in spore.
And they still have the cash to party 1-2 times per week without fail in upmarket trendy clubs. Chase pretty Thai girls around.
The people who bo pian take the public transport are those pple who just arrived from other cities and are just beginning to establish their 'base' in the new city. Or in other words maybe they just lack the money. I duno. Lolz...
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:Here in OZ, prices have have been rising through the roof and many people are also struggling to put up with mortgage payments.
If u think singapore is th eonly place with rising cost of living, u are wrong. all over the world , there are rising costs due to the bankrupt Bush administration US dollar.
I always see silly people in singapore complaining how expensive medical is but here in OZ , dou know how much a doctor costs?
It costs About AUD $100- $300 and u have to buy yr own medicines.
i see.. you are a student studying in Oz.
$100-300? u dont have medicare?
u dont have to buy medicines in SG?
Oh man TS is so wrong.. The grass really is greener on the other side.. Dun need to talk about welfare benefits, transport and all that (it'll probably worsen your argument anyway) the quality of life for me outside singapore owns SG a million times
Originally posted by Advante_101:
Ermm paiseh to side track abit. From what i observed. The average Thais pple usually dun like and depend on public transport like us masses sillyporeans.The average poorest poor until cannot poor type Thai pple have at least a old bike to get around. And the middle class Thais & above all owned a decent car. Beats me on how they do it. The very young Thais here most of them drive Accord,Vios & jazz. While our youngsters here are still taking the MRT and SBS buses. Lolz. I got a very good job here in Bangkok and im not even on par with them young Thais. Not even with my SGD dollars that i saved when living in spore.
And they still have the cash to party 1-2 times per week without fail in upmarket trendy clubs. Chase pretty Thai girls around.
The people who bo pian take the public transport are those pple who just arrived from other cities and are just beginning to establish their 'base' in the new city. Or in other words maybe they just lack the money. I duno. Lolz...
bangkok traffic jams is terrible.... :(
Originally posted by fishbuff1:i see.. you are a student studying in Oz.
$100-300? u dont have medicare?
u dont have to buy medicines in SG?
what he meant is if you see doctor for diareaa, the total fee including medicine is inclusded.
for OZ is each sold seperately.
how true? i have no idea
Yes I thought of my family etc.You gain some you lose some.
Originally posted by Advante_101:
Ermm paiseh to side track abit. From what i observed. The average Thais pple usually dun like and depend on public transport like us masses sillyporeans.The average poorest poor until cannot poor type Thai pple have at least a old bike to get around. And the middle class Thais & above all owned a decent car. Beats me on how they do it. The very young Thais here most of them drive Accord,Vios & jazz. While our youngsters here are still taking the MRT and SBS buses. Lolz. I got a very good job here in Bangkok and im not even on par with them young Thais. Not even with my SGD dollars that i saved when living in spore.
You are still in Bangkok!!!
Sa Wa Dee Kap!!!!
Originally posted by redDUST:don't generalize and make unsubstantiated claims...
1. housing interest rates for standard variable rate today is 7.65%, down from 9%
2. ave median home price for sydney is A$230k. that was july 07. with the current situation, it is not unthinkable that the same house will cost less.
3. unleaded petrol prices averages under A$1.30 per litre in Australia
4. 1 year old used camry can be had for about A$22k.
5. public transport both sucks in singapore and australia. ok, ok, i rate singapore's public transport 2.5 vs 2.0 for a city like sydney.
and maurizio13 has posted ad nauseum the comparable living standard on what the aussie $ can buy compare to the sing$. i won't go there.
so, pleez, pleez, do your homework before rattle off like an unleashed poodle.
1. Yes, so? It will rise again
2. 230 K will only land u a place in the middle of nowhere with no shops, shopping centres ect. Please do yr research carefully,the housing prices in uptown areas with amenities will cost significantly more.
3. wow $1.30? See here: http://motormouth.com.au/pricesearch.aspx?Region=Melbourne
4. yes car is cheaper but u are paying tax every month too..
5. public transport is a no brainer, it sucks
6. Eating out costs $6.50 for a pathetic small serving of rice, meat.
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:Its silly how many moutanin tortoise in singapore want to migrate and such.
let me tell u once u u are down there, u will start to miss your frens, relatives and family, unless u have the resources to move them all over to yr new destination.
Well, it is quite true that u cannot be rich in s'pore easily, but s'pore provides more value for the bucks than what overseas can provide. Safety, lively clean surroundings, ease of life and an efficient transport system.
The most important aspect is the culture and food and festivals that u have grown up with.
Are u willing to let all these go for some secluded lonely life in a foreign destination?
How many of u agree with me?
mountain tortoise must go back to the mountain rather than stay in the pot and get cooked slowly.
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:1. Yes, so? It will rise again
2. 230 K will only land u a place in the middle of nowhere with no shops, shopping centres ect. Please do yr research carefully,the housing prices in uptown areas with amenities will cost significantly more.
3. wow $1.30? See here: http://motormouth.com.au/pricesearch.aspx?Region=Melbourne
4. yes car is cheaper but u are paying tax every month too..
5. public transport is a no brainer, it sucks
6. Eating out costs $6.50 for a pathetic small serving of rice, meat.
1. rise than you talk again. if you are not in a position to raise or reduce interest rate, then STFU.
2. that's the average. in singapore, everyone lives in disti 10/11 issit? if you look around the suburbs in melbourne/sydney, it is not impossible to buy (nice) homes in the $3-400k bracket. this is way below your $5-700k bracket you claimed.
3. do you even drive? downtown melbourne's unleaded petrol is about A$1.25/litrel. Shell's unleaded price in sydney is A$1.29. you click on your own link and see for yourself.
4. cars are staple in many other countries. cost of ownership in australia win hands down. i don't even need to go there.
5. singapore today is only slightly better for p-transport.
6. do you eat out everyday? sorry, my lifestyle is diffirent than yours. if you compare city-to-city, eating out in singapore ain't cheap too.
as i said, substantiate your argument if you want to be credible. you generalize with inflated figures and you hope to get away with it?
Originally posted by redDUST:
1. rise than you talk again. if you are not in a position to raise or reduce interest rate, then STFU.2. that's the average. in singapore, everyone lives in disti 10/11 issit? if you look around the suburbs in melbourne/sydney, it is not impossible to buy (nice) homes in the $3-400k bracket. this is way below your $5-700k bracket you claimed.
3. do you even drive? downtown melbourne's unleaded petrol is about A$1.25/litrel. Shell's unleaded price in sydney is A$1.29. you click on your own link and see for yourself.
4. cars are staple in many other countries. cost of ownership in australia win hands down. i don't even need to go there.
5. singapore today is only slightly better for p-transport.
6. do you eat out everyday? sorry, my lifestyle is diffirent than yours. if you compare city-to-city, eating out in singapore ain't cheap too.
as i said, substantiate your argument if you want to be credible. you generalize with inflated figures and you hope to get away with it?
are u ther ein OZ inthe first place?
fucking hell, how much tax u paying?
I feel the amount of tax u paying , u r not getting the amenities for that price.
and also u working there?
I have worked for 3 long yrears and i can tell u the work culture is horrible in melbourne.With the dozens of PRC and Indian, expect lot of politics..
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:are u ther ein OZ inthe first place?
fucking hell, how much tax u paying?
I feel the amount of tax u paying , u r not getting the amenities for that price.
and also u working there?
I have worked for 3 long yrears and i can tell u the work culture is horrible in melbourne.With the dozens of PRC and Indian, expect lot of politics..
singapore has PRC and indians too