Originally posted by eagle:Ya, more for pple who have more trips.
For me, just taking a train to work, and back home immediately, cost about $3 a day. This is without changing of bus or train network. This is only for a 15 mins train ride because I stay near my workplace. This is excluding going out to shop or work, or travelling elsewhere before going home.
And you have to take into account price of transport vs average salary ratio. You don't compare things just like that. E.g. a $1 bread means less to someone earning $10000 a month as compared to someone earning $1000 a month.
again please state whic country u are reffering to pls...if else i cannot reply..
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:again please state whic country u are reffering to pls...if else i cannot reply..
Singapore
$3 per day to and fro and u still complain?
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:$3 per day to and fro and u still complain?
And that's already because I saved money by walking around 15~20 mins to the train station every morning and back in the evening.
And that's already because I stayed very near my workplace.
And that's because I have a direct train service.
There are many many others who don't enjoy the same priviledge. For them, easily $5 or more a day.
And you are telling me you can cover food and transport with $10 a day.
You spend $5 a day on meals only? Maybe you eat very very little or only eat 2 or less meals a day.
Originally posted by eagle:And that's already because I saved money by walking around 15~20 mins to the train station every morning and back in the evening.
And that's already because I stayed very near my workplace.
And that's because I have a direct train service.
There are many many others who don't enjoy the same priviledge. For them, easily $5 or more a day.
And you are telling me you can cover food and transport with $10 a day.
You spend $5 a day on meals only? Maybe you eat very very little or only eat 2 or less meals a day.
Heard the authorities are thinking of implementing some kind of bicycle service for commuters to cycle to and from bus/MRT stations.
Woohoo.
Another layer of transport fees. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Heard the authorities are thinking of implementing some kind of bicycle service for commuters to cycle to and from bus/MRT stations.
Woohoo.
Another layer of transport fees.
if they make Sg much more bicycle friendly and safe, I might even cycle to work.
Afterall, it's about ~5 MRT stations away (including Woodleigh), should take roughly 1 hour of cycling
That idea was proposed by Mr Brown more than 3 months ago.. he also has the study and the photo of the bicycle system overseas.. they took his idea without giving him credit
Btw.. a bowl of noodle in the open air market cost around $3 - $3.50 now. This exchange reminds me of the last election when none of the PAP MP can tell the papers how much it will cost to take the public transport from their home to Orchard.. some every ridiculous say it would not cost more than $1..
Split Second.. are you a working adult or student??
Singapore is too hot and humid for cycling.
You end up perspiring like shit if you cycle even for 5 minutes. ![]()
when in singapore i don't drive cause of
1) petrol price
2) traffic congestion on major expressways
3) ERP trap (scary)
4) fellow drivers' attitude (there still good ones)
5) great public transport (excluding taxi)
6) too expansive to own a car (less then 11 mths loss $15K in value)
7) parking
But i don't drive in aus
1) own a 3.8l car so only drive for if i can be sure of minimum traffic congestion
2) traffic congestion in city area
3) Busway (dedicated bus expressway)
There are also reasons for me to drive in aus
1) if your car is ABN registed, mileage can be tax deductable
2) more places to visit (going to longan and mango farm this weekend)
3) minimum toll way
4) free parking almost everywhere
Not forgetting that we only pay road tax (rego) <$350 annually to access >800 000 km of roads.
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:when in singapore i don't drive cause of
1) petrol price
2) traffic congestion on major expressways
3) ERP trap (scary)
4) fellow drivers' attitude (there still good ones)
5) great public transport (excluding taxi)
6) too expansive to own a car (less then 11 mths loss $15K in value)
7) parking
But i don't drive in aus
1) own a 3.8l car so only drive for if i can be sure of minimum traffic congestion
2) traffic congestion in city area
3) Busway (dedicated bus expressway)
There are also reasons for me to drive in aus
1) if your car is ABN registed, mileage can be tax deductable
2) more places to visit (going to longan and mango farm this weekend)
3) minimum toll way
4) free parking almost everywhere
Not forgetting that we only pay road tax (rego) <$350 annually to access >800 000 km of roads.
sounds to me like Aus is a greener pasture compared to Singapore.
Originally posted by anonymous_dickhead:Btw.. a bowl of noodle in the open air market cost around $3 - $3.50 now.
$2.50 still got
Some noodles with a dash of minced meat and 3~4 fish balls. Add on some deep-fried pig fats. So heavily laden processed food.
Really, I think TS eats only such stuff or just white rice.
Can't people think and compare properly when they compare prices of food? Junk processed carbs-laden foods looks valuable to them I guess.
let me ask u a qn, u complain about singapore, but do u get the same kind of facilities in OZ?
In OZ, u pay tax but the buildings , and roads look like run down sh^t made in the 1960s....talk about the trains , they look like super large coke and pepsi cans put together with seats inside them. And their Unis, hell looks like some cottage brick house and some garden
Can u all tell me u paid taxes in OZ for what? DO u all know that what u are paying for just goes to those unemployed lazy people?
And who told u education is free in Aus? U have to pay back their Uni fees thru taxes after u graduate if u are a citizen
Compare to singapore, the govt builds for u facilities and nice looking environments, conducive place to work , study and live.
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:let me ask u a qn, u complain about singapore, but do u get the same kind of facilities in OZ?
In OZ, u pay tax but the buildings , and roads look like run down sh^t made in the 1960s....talk about the trains , they look like super large coke and pepsi cans put together with seats inside them.
Can u all tell me u paid taxes in OZ for what? DO u all know that what u are paying for just goes to those unemployed lazy people?
And who told u education is free in Aus? U have to pay back their Uni fees thru taxes after u graduate if u are a citizen
err...
singapore have to pay taxes too... and the edu is not free
Originally posted by skythewood:err...
singapore have to pay taxes too... and the edu is not free
really laughing at his logic
Compare to singapore, the govt builds for u facilities and nice looking environments, conducive place to work , study and live.
Maybe he thinks that Singaporeans do not need to pay through taxes for "facilities and nice looking environments, conducive place to work , study and live"
Maybe he also thinks that our taxes should not go to "unemployed lazy people", but should go to the world highest paid ministers
Correct me if I am wrong.
I thought TS is studying in aussie land?
Why is he bad mouthing the country he is studying in? ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Correct me if I am wrong.
I thought TS is studying in aussie land?
Why is he bad mouthing the country he is studying in?
He made a stupid decision and now regreting big time? I know of so many that studied there and stayed. I guess he was heart broken by an aussie chick...
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:let me ask u a qn, u complain about singapore, but do u get the same kind of facilities in OZ?
In OZ, u pay tax but the buildings , and roads look like run down sh^t made in the 1960s....talk about the trains , they look like super large coke and pepsi cans put together with seats inside them. And their Unis, hell looks like some cottage brick house and some garden
huh it is better that the taxes go to dishonorable despots and used for bailing out foreign banks and losing billions in the process?
Originally posted by eagle:if they make Sg much more bicycle friendly and safe, I might even cycle to work.
Afterall, it's about ~5 MRT stations away (including Woodleigh), should take roughly 1 hour of cycling
bro, you dun need 1 hr to cover 5 mrt stations lah, lol.
15-20mins max.
Originally posted by redDUST:
bro, you dun need 1 hr to cover 5 mrt stations lah, lol.15-20mins max.
5 mrt station, roughly about 3-4 minutes per station.
don't think that is very possible, unless it is the super close stations in town area.
Originally posted by redDUST:
bro, you dun need 1 hr to cover 5 mrt stations lah, lol.15-20mins max.
cycling leh
i think there are ways to cycle in short distances if u know the routes.
like eg. from AMK tech park u can exit to Bishann a straight line, continue through the park to reach bishan station
Don't tell me you all won't perspire in sg's hot and humid weather when you cycle the distance of 5 MRT stations. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Don't tell me you all won't perspire in sg's hot and humid weather when you cycle the distance of 5 MRT stations.
company got bathing place mah ![]()
And it's the northeast line I'm taking... All the way straight, no shortcuts...
While 2 migrate to AUSTRALIA,one leave
Again,it is about perception,reality and figures.
I am not saying Oz is no good.
But is it fair when u say it is damn good in Oz,
why dunt u tell the reality?
But i suspect how many people know
While 2 migrate to AUSTRALIA,one leave.
Among those leave,half were born in Australia!!
below--while 2 join Oz.But another one leave.
5.1 PERMANENT ARRIVALS AND PERMANENT DEPARTURES, Australia
below---among those leave,half born in Oz!!
5.3 PERMANENT DEPARTURES, Australia - Country of birth
http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/[email protected]/Latestproducts/3412.0Feature%20Article22006-07?opendocument&tabname=Summary&prodno=3412.0&issue=2006-07&num=&view=
My point----
if oz is so damn good,why 60,000 leave in a year?