what my dad told me is that NP and SP have a more proven track record u see...since they are the oldest 2 polys ard...hence better impression....Originally posted by anatasia:but then those of u whose results got As & Bs (not bad 1), may i know what polys r u from???
Is it true that local unis show preference to SP and NP?????
This judgement is erroneous. Not all courses are so easily to get an "A" or "B". Some are very subjective.Originally posted by anatasia:but then those of u whose results got As & Bs (not bad 1), may i know what polys r u from???
Is it true that local unis show preference to SP and NP?????
they were concerned with the reputation of the uni... it would have an uphill task competing with nus and ntu and initial batches may face discrimination from employers... just like ntu when it was first established...Originally posted by Eiizumi:PAP government gave us hope saying there's gonna be a fourth university for Poly students, now its gone...
Yeah, similarly, I have also come across many local university graduates(NUS and NTU) in my workplace who despite scoring tons of A's from secondary to uni, fails to solve simple everyday task assigned to them. A common excuse from them are: "we are'nt taught these in our uni"Originally posted by tripwire:it is sad.... when the many foreign undergrad i met during my uni life cant speak even proper english.... many i believe are not even as good as our local poly diploma holders... but then i am not in a position to question the university's practice.. which is also under the purview of someone higher up...![]()
yeah...and it seems to me that there is this group of uni grads who's pretty determined that local uni accepts only A level students. Cos they think that poly grad may taint the reputation of their uni.Originally posted by CX:i've always felt that in education, knowledge is over-rated. what matters is the mind-expanding experience and the process of thinking which u go through.
so basically, i think that poly and uni basically gives people different types of experience. it takes both types of people to get the world moving.
but it would seem to me, that poly grads love to hate uni grads, but also want to become them at the same time
sigh sigh... the ironies of life...
aiya please lah... local unis take in so many undeserving foreigners these days, i think most would prefer these places went to locals, 'A' levels or otherwise.Originally posted by rudyiskandar:yeah...and it seems to me that there is this group of uni grads who's pretty determined that local uni accepts only A level students. Cos they think that poly grad may taint the reputation of their uni.
Or shall I say that they are afraid to face up to the truth that a poly grad generally performs better than their A-level counterparts in the uni.
sigh sigh...the selfishness of mankind....![]()
Agree with wat CX had write. u are the one who selected the path can not complain abt other..Originally posted by CX:aiya please lah... local unis take in so many undeserving foreigners these days, i think most would prefer these places went to locals, 'A' levels or otherwise.
i frankly don't give a crap how undergrads got in a uni, be it poly or 'A' levels. the point is, the current system now is more in favour of 'A' level students so people who are seriously determined to get into uni should take 'A' levels.
why go to poly and then complain that the local uni won't accept them?
i think "we aren't taught this so we dunno" is a weak argument used by intellectually weak individuals. i've heard it said by a poly grad myselfOriginally posted by rudyiskandar:Yeah, similarly, I have also come across many local university graduates(NUS and NTU) in my workplace who despite scoring tons of A's from secondary to uni, fails to solve simple everyday task assigned to them. A common excuse from them are: "we are'nt taught these in our uni"
Actually this is standard practice what.Originally posted by gasband:Share with you all my experience with NTU and NUS.
I was from Ngee Ann last time. Weeks before I ORD, i called NUS and asked, i want to apply for NUS Arts to specialise in Psychology... they ask me many questions, then say ok will send me a package because Poly Grad diff from JC. I say ok.
So i waited, after ORD came the package. I happy fill in the forms, then suddenly realised that there are no ARTS options on the form! I immediately called them and their stopid response was oh, because I was in Business in NP, i must do Business in NUS, cannot do Arts becos they want to "HELP" us concentrate on one area of study. Bulls to them. So i said ok, is there anyway I can apply for ARTS. The lady say Yes, that i need to come down to NUS to get a special form. But then what she said next got me angry, she said" but i advise you not to bother because there will be more than enough JC students to take up all the places."
I was like shit, its as though we are not better than JC students, 2nd CLASS citizens ah we all poly cannot go NUS ah, stopid sia, so now i study in MIS do Curtin Uni Business, happier can dfinish in 1.5 yrs. better still, who cares for a NUS cert.
Yeah, and judging from your arguments, it seems that there are'nt any difference between a poly grad and a local uni grad. No wonder the newspaper are claiming that poly grad have a better chances of finding a job during this economy crisis compared to a local uni grad!Originally posted by CX:i think "we aren't taught this so we dunno" is a weak argument used by intellectually weak individuals. i've heard it said by a poly grad myselfso its not institution specific... weak people come out of BOTH uni and poly... no need to split hair on this point.
the thing is, does one consider oneself to be fully trained to execute upon graduation or does one consider oneself to be only trained to learn upon graduation? i consider myself to be the latter.
i'm not trained to tackle the millions of specific problems that could pop up in the industrial or commercial workpace... get real... no one is. that takes experience. who has rich and relevant experience immediately upon graduation?
i guess thats something employers have to bear in mind as well... schools don't teach us everything we need to know. the most important thing everyone, poly or uni has to learn, is adaptation and initiative. thats what'll get u thru life, not that pathetic piece of paper.
there is essentially no difference... u cut the 2 open, they both bleed red. unless u alien lah... then u bled funky blue, neon green or polka dots lor...Originally posted by rudyiskandar:Yeah, and judging from your arguments, it seems that there are'nt any difference between a poly grad and a local uni grad. No wonder the newspaper are claiming that poly grad have a better chances of finding a job during this economy crisis compared to a local uni grad!
Don't despair poly. Guys - my brother was also from NA ploy . later went Western Mchigan Uni. & now working @ a Fortune 200 company (which have abt 200 subsidiaries worldwide).Originally posted by foga:yeah rite, more poly students....
guess it's more of a "slightly more poly students with better results"
for most people, especially poly students, to be able to study locally means they could use cpf to pay hence one less burden to worry about.but seems like te gov got other ideas.
my suggestion, take a study loan from a bank, DBS or OCBC,study overseas.
cheers to us all diploma holders.
three cheers! at last! someone who knows what the real world is all about!Originally posted by ChicagoBlues:So the bottom line is tt a degree is just a basic ( be a local or foreign Uni degress) , what matters most is your attitude in life .