Originally posted by reyes:i am former civil servant who vote for Opposition every election. i dont feel i got prosecuted at all. this is just urban legends that the PAP will know who vote for opposition.
Do what u feel is right for you and the country. be it pro or anti PAP.
I'm a current civil servant. Unfortunately, true or not, many of my colleagues still has this fear that it may be possible to get "marked" for voting opposition. So while many of us are against the ways of the ruling party (though we too feel that the oppositions does have more room for improvement), many still end up voting for the PAP.
After all, we got this job to sustain our family, so we tend to be more risk-averse in this area.
Another thing is that the govt has already admitted to each voting slip being serialised when someone brought it up in the local paper forums. So while they may not actually "use" this advantage to see who vote for whom, they have the capabilities to. It's like the laws in this country; many laws exist, but are merely not enforced. If they decide to one day, they can. And they have.
I too would like to make a difference with my vote. I can't though, my area has been a walkover for over 20 years.
than what?
imprison people who vote for opposition? What strange ideas.
early or not, if given nation wide voting... PAP would lose even if there isn't any economic crisis cos their actions had woke up the younger generations and a lot of unhappiness had been arised through the realisation of the truth through the media that they could not control. THE INTERNET
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:
Strange.
Other countries in recession they kick out the incumbent party.
Singapore first in asia in recession vote for incumbent party.
They really know how to spin the propaganda PAP.
Anyway, recession, no recession, economy good, economy bad, I also will NEVER vote for PAP.
Want to brainwash me with propaganda, wait long long lah PAP.
Your propaganda can only work on those who are not politicised.
Politicised already, your propaganda will be completely worthless.
So FUCK OFF PAP.
For you, you are excused, cos we knew you only vote for PAP minister's dogs.
Damn, me still not eligble to vote...how come so fast.?? I think LHL wants to show off like Obama, making election like a fashion, a movie, a show starring himself.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Maybe to vote whether to take over the casino.... or they rather hold now than after property prices has dropped 80% and 50% of people retrenched. Damned despots are most dishonorable.
Dun worry, IMH patient not eligble, go on, take your porridge, sponsored by Temasek group
Originally posted by ChangeCanHappen:I'm a current civil servant. Unfortunately, true or not, many of my colleagues still has this fear that it may be possible to get "marked" for voting opposition. So while many of us are against the ways of the ruling party (though we too feel that the oppositions does have more room for improvement), many still end up voting for the PAP.
After all, we got this job to sustain our family, so we tend to be more risk-averse in this area.
Another thing is that the govt has already admitted to each voting slip being serialised when someone brought it up in the local paper forums. So while they may not actually "use" this advantage to see who vote for whom, they have the capabilities to. It's like the laws in this country; many laws exist, but are merely not enforced. If they decide to one day, they can. And they have.
I too would like to make a difference with my vote. I can't though, my area has been a walkover for over 20 years.
So, are u call up to be election official, if so, please ask them to provide package foods and drinks, thanks.
Originally posted by mancha:What is unconfirmed rumours?
Are there rumors or not?
This is funny :D
Originally posted by ChangeCanHappen:I'm a current civil servant. Unfortunately, true or not, many of my colleagues still has this fear that it may be possible to get "marked" for voting opposition. So while many of us are against the ways of the ruling party (though we too feel that the oppositions does have more room for improvement), many still end up voting for the PAP.
Don't they burn the voting slips (in the voting boxes) immediately after counting?
How then can they check then?
Any consipracy theories welcomed.
Originally posted by eagle:Don't they burn the voting slips (in the voting boxes) immediately after counting?
How then can they check then?
Any consipracy theories welcomed.
they burnt it during the chinese ghost festival, same with hell papers. Those who voted opposition will hve bad luck.
I'm a current civil servant. Unfortunately, true or not, many of my colleagues still has this fear that it may be possible to get "marked" for voting opposition. So while many of us are against the ways of the ruling party (though we too feel that the oppositions does have more room for improvement), many still end up voting for the PAP.
well, everyone has it own set if problems. Do what you think is right.
The fear has been instill in my parents who warn me against voting the the PAP. But to me, the importance is to express myself freely and this lead me to overcame my fear.
they burnt it during the chinese ghost festival, same with hell papers. Those who voted opposition will hve bad luck.
arent the Lee and Goh christian and catholic? they practice burn incents and candlesstick too?
anyway, it is childish comment leh.
Originally posted by skythewood:than what?
imprison people who vote for opposition? What strange ideas.
Not say arrest la.. in a country like this? Imagine all the hullabaloo. But it'll be like some sort of veiled persecution.. like getting demoted in your civil-service job.. pay cut... retrench etc etc.. anything goes. they're in power. But they don't wanna be a DPRK.
Do not fear, just follow what your heart tells you to, tell this to your colleagues. I come across someone who is a regular in the navy who voted for the opposition in the last election. After the election, he was promoted. so no need to fear.
Originally posted by Pentaxdude90:Not say arrest la.. in a country like this? Imagine all the hullabaloo. But it'll be like some sort of veiled persecution.. like getting demoted in your civil-service job.. pay cut... retrench etc etc.. anything goes. they're in power. But they don't wanna be a DPRK.
than they will need to set up a department to identify people who vote for PAP, and the department will be made of... civil servents. and than the people will know that PAP did this.
Originally posted by reyes:arent the Lee and Goh christian and catholic? they practice burn incents and candlesstick too?
anyway, it is childish comment leh.
just for a laugh only lah, Oh no, my Fuhrer, Lees also go to Kong Meng mountain to get advise from the top monk there lor. They pray to all kind of gods, as long as they are in power, they want all the Gods blessing...
Originally posted by Fantagf:Do not fear, just follow what your heart tells you to, tell this to your colleagues. I come across someone who is a regular in the navy who voted for the opposition in the last election. After the election, he was promoted. so no need to fear.
If me get the voting paper, me will draw a funny face there, Spoil vote!!! PAP also no good, Opposition also half standard type, better spoil it, let God decides.
Originally posted by angel7030:
If me get the voting paper, me will draw a funny face there, Spoil vote!!! PAP also no good, Opposition also half standard type, better spoil it, let God decides.
Then you can consider to pray for an obama to appear in Singapore.
I was a civil servant once. When my MIL warned me against voting for the opposition, I brushed her off. Then during the actual voting (1st time), I realsied that they took my IC to check against a register and gave me a voting slip which corresponds to the register number the register. If they really do want to check, it's possible. Fear immediately overcame me but I would not make myself vote for, so I spoilt my vote which i live to regret. Today, I no longer hold that fear anymore and vote with my heart
Originally posted by skythewood:than they will need to set up a department to identify people who vote for PAP, and the department will be made of... civil servents. and than the people will know that PAP did this.
Civil servants??? Naw most likely they'll be Gurkhas, ISD agents or even the PM, SM, MM himself. Money talks..
Even if they paste a sticker on my front door with my name saying that I voted for opposition, I will also not vote for PAP.
Whether PAP knows, or PAP don't know, whether they can check or cannot check, want to play tricks or not, there is no fucking way that I will vote for PAP.
Originally posted by SevenEleven:I was a civil servant once. When my MIL warned me against voting for the opposition, I brushed her off. Then during the actual voting (1st time), I realsied that they took my IC to check against a register and gave me a voting slip which corresponds to the register number the register. If they really do want to check, it's possible. Fear immediately overcame me but I would not make myself vote for, so I spoilt my vote which i live to regret. Today, I no longer hold that fear anymore and vote with my heart
that is the punishment for not listening to MIL.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Then you can consider to pray for an obama to appear in Singapore.
No, i dun fancy Obama too, I pray for a continuity of peace and harmony in singapore forever, so that my pub and sleazily business can prosper.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Even if they paste a sticker on my front door with my name saying that I voted for opposition, I will also not vote for PAP.
Whether PAP knows, or PAP don't know, whether they can check or cannot check, want to play tricks or not, there is no fucking way that I will vote for PAP.
They already knew u vote for dog only, so, you are excused, go back to your guard station and stand STRaight!!!
If anyone thinks tat there is a figure for change that is as dynamic and promising as Obama here in Singapore, they must be dreaming, yes that includes those who claim that they are more hip than Obama.