Originally posted by novelltie:how did the MAS screwed up this time? the last time i've read, even the "smartest" investor would have recommended the Lehman Brother's minibonds as the safest investment one would have made.
MAS didn't expect it to be a piece of cr*p until the economic went down. let's put it this way, all the guys running the banks are smart "alex's" and seriously, they are the cream of the crops. if they find that the investments and the products they are selling are flawed and eventually will cause the company to lose lots of money, they won't sell.
who would? also, MAS adopted the "non control" policy in banking sectors. if they have to scrutinize every investment plan, then the banks will complain that MAS is trying to have control and monopoly over their bank's operations. they won't be happy too.
so truly, you can't please everyone.
Pray do not tell me you are one of those fucking RMs mis-selling in banks to hit personal quotas.
In terms of these structured products, banks don't lose, only consumers do. Truly smart alexs eh. How much do you understand these anyway before you comment here? Key here is mis-selling, not scrutiny of every investment product. Such structured products do not suit the unsavvy investor and risk profile of the average auntie or uncle.
Even the smartest investor would have recommended this product? Are you sure? Show me proof that anyone said so when the sub prime crisis was already brewing.
pls pple, dun be a dumb ass for spoilting ur vote! it's like choosing jumping off the mrt track when u have a CHOICE once in ur life time to KICK incapable MPs out! ur spoilt vote can only give pap win by DEFAULT!
by the way, a TICK is acceptable in election in case u pple do not know it. tis is becos government very 'understanding' those old pple who want to vote for them.
Originally posted by 798:pls pple, dun be a dumb ass for spoilting ur vote! it's like choosing jumping off the mrt track when u have a CHOICE once in ur life time to KICK incapable MPs out! ur spoilt vote can only give pap win by DEFAULT!
by the way, a TICK is acceptable in election in case u pple do not know it. tis is becos government very 'understanding' those old pple who want to vote for them.
oh, didn't know that....
than they come out with so much advertisment on marking the cross.
so government accepting ticks is a bad thing?
Tattoo "I'm a PAP bootlicker" on my arse.
aiya coming election got chance to vote then say la
Originally posted by skythewood:oh, didn't know that....
than they come out with so much advertisment on marking the cross.
so government accepting ticks is a bad thing?
ticking is consider as vote count too since ah peks n beginners do not know how to vote. as long as u dun write "i love pap!" "i heart pap!" beside the box.
actually the governments love spoilt votes becos it's like walkover for them to move closer to elections.
i term those who spoilt their votes a COWARD cos they know how to f their mp while ball-less to even take action to show their dismay on their leaders!
Originally posted by 798:
ticking is consider as vote count too since ah peks n beginners do not know how to vote. as long as u dun write "i love pap!" "i heart pap!" beside the box.actually the governments love spoilt votes becos it's like walkover for them to move closer to elections.
i term those who spoilt their votes a COWARD cos they know how to f their mp while ball-less to even take action to show their dismay on their leaders!
so they allow tick to count is because they are coward? they like spoilt votes still allow tick to count?
Originally posted by skythewood:so they allow tick to count is because they are coward? they like spoilt votes still allow tick to count?
ticks r consider as vote too. i respect pple who choose either A or B. but for pple who let god decide by doing stupid thing on the slip, i wonder what in the mind of these pple who cant even make decision?
if ur parents stop u from seeing a gal, it's either u choose ur parents or for love? only stupid pple choose to kill themselves.
Originally posted by 798:
ticks r consider as vote too. i respect pple who choose either A or B. but for pple who let god decide by doing stupid thing on the slip, i wonder what in the mind of these pple who cant even make decision?if ur parents stop u from seeing a gal, it's either u choose ur parents or for love? only stupid pple choose to kill themselves.
I may remember it wrongly, but it's specifically said in all those advertisement that they only recognised the cross symbol. Other symbol and blank ones are considered as spoilt.
Originally posted by yamizi:
I may remember it wrongly, but it's specifically said in all those advertisement that they only recognised the cross symbol. Other symbol and blank ones are considered as spoilt.
i read the chinese newspaper two years ago dat said tick is also considered acceptable from now onward. even a tiny cross (as long as it is inside the box) also count as a vote for.
long gone were the traditional wif a cross from one corner to another within the box.
Hello, fyi, the next election will be going on IT structured hor...so stop dreaming about ticking here and there ya... as far as i know from my gal frens who are attending the training. They will use finger scaning, There will be scan machine in each ballot station, if you like PAP, just touch PAP logo and a sound will said Thank You for Voting
Originally posted by angel7030:Hello, fyi, the next election will be going on IT structured hor...so stop dreaming about ticking here and there ya... as far as i know from my gal frens who are attending the training. They will use finger scaning, There will be scan machine in each ballot station, if you like PAP, just touch PAP logo and a sound will said Thank You for Voting
http://www.eff.org/issues/e-voting
E-Voting Rights
Many states are hastily implementing flawed electronic voting machines and related election procedures. EFF is protecting your right to vote in the courts while working with legislators and election officials across the country to ensure fair, transparent elections.
Twenty-three states still do not require a paper record of all votes, despite the demonstrated technical failures of e-voting machines in the 2004 presidential election -- including the complete loss of thousands of votes. In turn, voters cannot verify that the e-voting machines are recording their votes as intended, and election officials cannot conduct recounts. Most of these machines use "black box" software that hasn't been publicly reviewed for security. Indeed, when security researchers have inspected the devices, they've found serious vulnerabilities all too often.
But poorly-designed machines are not the only problem. Most election workers remain woefully under-trained regarding potential e-voting problems. Vendor technicians frequently have unsupervised access to voting equipment. Local election officials routinely deny attempts to examine e-voting audit data.
EFF provides leadership on several fronts -- litigation, legislation, regulation, independent analysis, advocacy -- to help ensure that your vote counts. Learn more below,
Originally posted by SPLIT SECOND:http://www.eff.org/issues/e-voting
E-Voting Rights
Many states are hastily implementing flawed electronic voting machines and related election procedures. EFF is protecting your right to vote in the courts while working with legislators and election officials across the country to ensure fair, transparent elections.
Twenty-three states still do not require a paper record of all votes, despite the demonstrated technical failures of e-voting machines in the 2004 presidential election -- including the complete loss of thousands of votes. In turn, voters cannot verify that the e-voting machines are recording their votes as intended, and election officials cannot conduct recounts. Most of these machines use "black box" software that hasn't been publicly reviewed for security. Indeed, when security researchers have inspected the devices, they've found serious vulnerabilities all too often.
But poorly-designed machines are not the only problem. Most election workers remain woefully under-trained regarding potential e-voting problems. Vendor technicians frequently have unsupervised access to voting equipment. Local election officials routinely deny attempts to examine e-voting audit data.
EFF provides leadership on several fronts -- litigation, legislation, regulation, independent analysis, advocacy -- to help ensure that your vote counts. Learn more below,
Aiya, last time my Daddy overseas also use internet to vote at Singapore embassy, so it is not new, it will be implement soon.
Please bear in mind that what countries do in term of cheating and corruption, we do not follow, we are clean and wherever a person press the SDP or PAP, a computer hardcopy ticket will be issued without names and identity, he/she will then drop into the box.
So for those opposition, kindly start branding your logos now, cos older folks see nice logos they vote...where is my Uncle Andrew ar??
Originally posted by angel7030:
Aiya, last time my Daddy overseas also use internet to vote at Singapore embassy, so it is not new, it will be implement soon.
Please bear in mind that what countries do in term of cheating and corruption, we do not follow, we are clean and wherever a person press the SDP or PAP, a computer hardcopy ticket will be issued without names and identity, he/she will then drop into the box.
So for those opposition, kindly start branding your logos now, cos older folks see nice logos they vote...where is my Uncle Andrew ar??
Maybe your uncle kena the bad kamma or threefold return for all the curses he had done =)
Originally posted by yamizi:
Maybe your uncle kena the bad kamma or threefold return for all the curses he had done =)
Hope he knows how to vote, cos he very emotional one, scare that because of frustration, he may press the wrong key, the PAP button.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Hope he knows how to vote, cos he very emotional one, scare that because of frustration, he may press the wrong key, the PAP button.
when i vote i also very emo one
i will scare Jessica later call me
yo u got vote for us anot
dun forget ok if not later
i kena call up for coffee
Originally posted by noahnoah:
when i vote i also very emo onei will scare Jessica later call me
yo u got vote for us anot
dun forget ok if not later
i kena call up for coffee
Huh!!! Jessica Simpson?? give that man a tiger.
Originally posted by angel7030:Huh!!! Jessica Simpson?? give that man a tiger.
no not that simpson
leh
is a female one leh
she dun drink tiger
she drino orle juice
Originally posted by Rock^Star:
Pray do not tell me you are one of those fucking RMs mis-selling in banks to hit personal quotas.
In terms of these structured products, banks don't lose, only consumers do. Truly smart alexs eh. How much do you understand these anyway before you comment here? Key here is mis-selling, not scrutiny of every investment product. Such structured products do not suit the unsavvy investor and risk profile of the average auntie or uncle.
Even the smartest investor would have recommended this product? Are you sure? Show me proof that anyone said so when the sub prime crisis was already brewing.
sorry i took so long to reply. was away for work.
nope, i'm not working in a bank so i have no reason to defend them. i work in a totally different sector, I.T solution and retail.
i've never claimed that during sub prime crisis, people were saying that Lehman's minibonds were good. i only claimed that 2 years ago, people were saying that Lehman's minibonds were REAL good. (they said, not me)
i read an article on Straits Times on minibonds dated (if i'm not wrong) 26th September 2008, (i'm still trying to find that article to validate my claims) that indicated any reputable investment advisor would have recommended Lehman's minibonds as a safe investment 2 years ago.
you can also read on other forums that others (kamomo) claimed that 2 years ago, Lehman's minibonds were very much thought to be a safe investment. you can read: http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/viewtopic.php?p=2311235&sid=43b4884ac6a2e038f9469b9b679261ee
next; from newpaper online: http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/columnists/story/0,4136,179234,00.html
Should the Land Transport Authority have warned you? How about the Ministry of Environment? Someone must be responsible!
Of course, it is an unanticipated event. It was no one's fault, not even yours.
The same is true of Lehman's bankruptcy. It was one of the world's most established investment banks. Who could have guessed 15 months ago that Lehman would be the victim of a US financial crisis?
Page 1 of the Hi-5 brochure and pricing statement dated 29 Mar 2007 says Lehman debt is rated A+ by Standard and Poor's (S&P). That's high. The country of Malaysia only got an A- rating.
The same for Minibonds. Page 15 of its pricing statement dated 11 May 2007 says, 'Lehman Brothers Holdings Inc has a long-term debt rating of A+ by S&P.'
Does anyone really think the sales staff should have told investors: 'Please pay no attention to S&P's A+ rating of Lehman Brothers. My analysis shows Lehman Brothers will go broke.'
Even if the sales staff were so insightful, who would have believed them?
There is a good reason why investors were never warned of Lehman's bankruptcy. It is because the chances of it occurring were near zero when Mini and Hi-5 were sold in mid-2007. Back then, even experts like S&P thought Lehman was super-safe.
I daresay PAP aint got no vote if LKY dies before '11 ![]()
Originally posted by ceecookie:I daresay PAP aint got no vote if LKY dies before '11
want to bet? how about a million dollars?
if PAP vote count is zero, than i lose, ok?