What the heck. Its time Singapore govt make me the new prime minister or finance minister.
They have corked up on this investment again. Wake up your idea, PAP. Let me join you all to make reforms. I think I know how to handle money better, really.
good luck
Why cannot govt just be simple minded and invests in low yield investment, or just simply buy the US treasury bills.
I suspect seriously its is a case of smart alectism in PAP govt. Too complicated analysis lead to errors.
.......i believe investing in a learning company would be considered quite a low yield investment. How much lower can you go already ?
Buying US treasury bills is basically buying up debts, with no promises that it would be returned. And it has completely no backing at all. It's value is decided by the USA's carrier fleets.
You need to seriously read up more before you start declaring that the PAP is being smart alecs...
such a stupid name
It's for long term investment...
Oh wait, companies can go bust?
Omg. ![]()
see the company name and u will know already lor..
Originally posted by Stevenson101:.......i believe investing in a learning company would be considered quite a low yield investment. How much lower can you go already ?
Buying US treasury bills is basically buying up debts, with no promises that it would be returned. And it has completely no backing at all. It's value is decided by the USA's carrier fleets.
You need to seriously read up more before you start declaring that the PAP is being smart alecs...
?? Are you serious??
US Treasury Bills are the ONLY risk-free investments. The only government that defaulted on their bonds is the Russian government.
You need to read up more before making statements like that.
Originally posted by january:What the heck. Its time Singapore govt make me the new prime minister or finance minister.
They have corked up on this investment again. Wake up your idea, PAP. Let me join you all to make reforms. I think I know how to handle money better, really.
with you in it, i bet the fund would not last till february... ![]()
Originally posted by Stevenson101:.......i believe investing in a learning company would be considered quite a low yield investment. How much lower can you go already ?
But they ARE smart alecs what. They "know" a casino will "benefit" us so they didn't bother with asking or consulting the people whether it should be wise to have one in the first place. They knew it all along. Smart alecks ma.
US Treasury Bills are the ONLY risk-free investments. The only government that defaulted on their bonds is the Russian government.
.....You are only looking at its track record thus far. You do not realise how fragile this entire debt system is.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:.....You are only looking at its track record thus far. You do not realise how fragile this entire debt system is.
Sounds like the incumbent party. ![]()
Originally posted by january:What the heck. Its time Singapore govt make me the new prime minister or finance minister.
They ask someone with engineering BG to be head of Temasek holding. Of cos , cannot make it la..
no body made noise when they make profits..
but all kpkb once they lost
Well, i am PAP voter by the way. However, i am unsatisfied with some areas of their managment.
This mistake, 400 million, could be unforseeable and well contained problem. On the other hand, it could be a big problem because so much money is involved.
If i have 400 millions, i probably could have served singaporean better than what ABC 'kiam cai chay lo ti' learning company. My rate of return would probably be 100%.
I seriously suspect that this is a avoidable investment which thus save us our singaporean money. To add fairness to my argument, i know that few months ago, singapore got print say that annual rate of return is 4%, which means that there is indeed growth.
This , therefore, could be the proof that says that my complaint is wrong because even after accounting for all these recent recession and stock plunging, the rate of return is still positive.
On hindsight, I agree that we should look at the net current asset of singapore money. Not just point at single huge loss and complain this complain that.
We need to look at the current overall profits and losses and the net amount before we criticise. I am eager to look at the newest rate of return after accounting for all these losses.
Hence, i will retract my position and wait for more information about this ABC kiam chay char lo ti company, whether if there is another mis decision involved.
Ya, i know learning industry is a rather low risk, but there are still factors to consider and investigate. Did temasak investigate correctly and look at the right citeria before they sink in the money.
They should have done some background check on the CEO first. According to media reports he was a former milkman and live the high life.
If you have billions of money in your bank, what is a few million dollars to you ? Not forgetting it is OTHER PEOPLE MONEY.
If you dun even know how much is in your bank, how would you know the true amount ?
SHOW ME THE MONEY ! WHAT MONEY ?
If you employ paper scholar generals with zero experience in business and investment, what is the possibility of a profit ?
Cash Sucking Machine ! Does it Ring any Bells ???
If you can recover the loss through increasing the price and there is no one to stop you, would you do it ???
No more seats in the train service ?? Since when the train service have turn budget, how come the price stays the SAME ????
400 million Australian Dollars in 2007 can buy 300 freehold houses in Serangoon Gardens?
1. It will benefit the owners of Serangoon Gardens
2. It would generate the economy of Singapore
3. When property climbs up in a few years time, sell to new citizens......make money....
Instead, our silly Temasek throw away Singaporean money to Angmo in Australia.........
Traitors.....I spit on them....
don't even have the decency to apologise or resign........pui....i spit on them again
Chinese airlines seek govt aid to ease losses
http://www.reuters.com/article/rbssIndustryMaterialsUtilitiesNews/idUSSHA29255420081117
Temasek and SIA had sealed a $900-m deal for 24% in China Eastern, but thankfully for them the airline shareholders rejected the offer. The airline sector in China is not a good bet; wonder why Temasek was so keen on sinking money into it. Singaporeans can now breathe easy ![]()
http://www.rttnews.com/Content/QuickFacts.aspx?Node=B1&Id=765083%20&Category=Quick%20Facts
This is a smaller one; Temasek had put in only $25 m. Anyways, pharma is a longhaul bet. Maybe it will turn out to be profitable.
One more and this one's huge, probably even worse than ABC of Australia:
http://www.vccircle.com/500/news/religare-acquires-lotus-mutual-fund
Man, they are all tumbling out of the closet now. Wonder how people missed this one: it's a huuge loss suffered by Temasek. Read below for full story (1 crore=10 million):
http://www.business-standard.com/india/storypage.php?autono=339876
Amazing how much money is being lost everyday for the past one year.
I am really scared for sg's future.
Haiz. ![]()
imagine if you are the CEO of a big investment bank, and you have just lost alot of money investing in companies like Merrill, Citi, Barclays, Shin Corp ... the list goes on.
Do u think the board of directors would fire you?
Why isn't the same thing happening in sg?
indeed we are a country of 'firsts'.
Originally posted by maxtor:imagine if you are the CEO of a big investment bank, and you have just lost alot of money investing in companies like Merrill, Citi, Barclays, Shin Corp ... the list goes on.
Do u think the board of directors would fire you?
Why isn't the same thing happening in sg?
indeed we are a country of 'firsts'.
They want their salaries in line with "CEO of a big investment bank" but they want the job security of the Kims of North Korea and the pariah generals of Burma.