Originally posted by charlize:Wei, what did I do to you?
Why mention my nick and where I live and drag me into this thread?
I didn't know there was only ONE charlize in sengkang. ![]()
Originally posted by maurizio13:
When you are the government, you don't need to be smart, you are a powerful monopoly.
here, it is the subject who is not smart, however you look at it. look at us, getting caged and some of the diehards are even grateful for it.
lucky i found the key to leave....
I didn't know there was only ONE charlize in sengkang.
charlize theron lives in sengkang? tomolo i go...
Originally posted by redDUST:
here, it is the subject who is not smart, however you look at it. look at us, getting caged and some of the diehards are even grateful for it.lucky i found the key to leave....
Some folks feel safer maintaining the status quo, they are not adaptable to change.
ah tiongs really very cunning, they will do anything that can benefit them!
Originally posted by Dead_Man_Inc:ah tiongs really very cunning, they will do anything that can benefit them!
came across ah tiong selling western food, on the menu it is stated olive as one of the ingredients. I asked him about it, he told me different story. OMG!
Originally posted by Dead_Man_Inc:ah tiongs really very cunning, they will do anything that can benefit them!
It's an inherent quality. ![]()
Oops.....should be inherent defect. ![]()
It's an inherent quality.
Oops.....should be inherent defect.
can't be cure ![]()
Originally posted by Fantagf:
came across ah tiong selling western food, on the menu it is stated olive as one of the ingredients. I asked him about it, he told me different story. OMG!
walau
at my side here, western food also cook by ah tiong, i always buy from them one leh ![]()
Originally posted by Dead_Man_Inc:can't be cure
Got cure!
Lobotomy! ![]()
Got cure!
Lobotomy!
ah tiong - cheena
you can more or less put it that way. ![]()
You're offering them free education with little terms and conditions, you don't expect them not to take full advantage of it right. People come to Singapore because of the terms it offers, quite unlike the States and Britain, which is for the prestige and academic excellence. Some like it here, and remain behind. Well as for others, they just bail when better opportunities beckon, you can't really blame them or the government when stories like this prop up, both the government who instituted this scheme and the scholars who partake of the scheme, did it out of need.
However, what episodes such as this show is that we can never totally count on the overseas scholars program for our source of 'talent', we have to invest on our own people as well.
Originally posted by Quincey:You're offering them free education with little terms and conditions, you don't expect them not to take full advantage of it right. People come to Singapore because of the terms it offers, quite unlike the States and Britain, which is for the prestige and academic excellence. Some like it here, and remain behind. Well as for others, they just bail when better opportunities beckon, you can't really blame them or the government when stories like this prop up, both the government who instituted this scheme and the scholars who partake of the scheme, did it out of need.
However, what episodes such as this show is that we can never totally count on the overseas scholars program for our source of 'talent', we have to invest on our own people as well.
" you can't really blame them or the government" ????!!!!!!
Another delusional alert!!!! Another delusional alert!!!! Another delusional alert!!!!
Sure you might find one of them that turns out to be exceptional, but at what cost? Pay a hundred million dollars for a hundred diamonds and you find one that is worth $1,000,000 while a couple of them is worth $100,000 and you have to discard the rest and " you can't really blame them or the government" ????!!!!!!
Another delusional alert!!!! Another delusional alert!!!! Another delusional alert!!!!
It is more like, there is no chance for the foreigners to be like Dr Chee Soon Juan and be a threat to their themselves and their political party. For dishonorable despots, self and party alwasy come into the equation instead of country first.
Originally posted by Quincey:You're offering them free education with little terms and conditions, you don't expect them not to take full advantage of it right. People come to Singapore because of the terms it offers, quite unlike the States and Britain, which is for the prestige and academic excellence. Some like it here, and remain behind. Well as for others, they just bail when better opportunities beckon, you can't really blame them or the government when stories like this prop up, both the government who instituted this scheme and the scholars who partake of the scheme, did it out of need.
I dunno what the rest is pissed of about, I dunno what AndrewPKYap is pissed off about. I know what I am pissed off about.
I'm pissed off that our dear gahmen takes money to throw at these ah tiongs, instead of throwing it at me to help me subsidise my school fees. A bit sad that as a citizen, I am less privileged than an ah tiong.
Originally posted by Shotgun:I dunno what the rest is pissed of about, I dunno what AndrewPKYap is pissed off about. I know what I am pissed off about.
I'm pissed off that our dear gahmen takes money to throw at these ah tiongs, instead of throwing it at me to help me subsidise my school fees. A bit sad that as a citizen, I am less privileged than an ah tiong.
One thing I know is that Poly students are damned pissed off that their JC contemporaries get transpot discounts but not them...
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
One thing I know is that Poly students are damned pissed off that their JC contemporaries get transpot discounts but not them...
interestingly.... i agree with you... i don't see the rationale for NOT giving poly students their bus privilege.
in that case, shouldn't uni students be given the bus priviledge too?
Originally posted by eagle:in that case, shouldn't uni students be given the bus priviledge too?
they are not ? ... ![]()
Originally posted by Bigcable22:im a noob -what is "ah tiong"
cheats?
boon TIONG kee chicken rice
Originally posted by Shotgun:I dunno what the rest is pissed of about, I dunno what AndrewPKYap is pissed off about. I know what I am pissed off about.
Ar. Uncle Andrew is always angry.. Im sure everyone here is used to it by now.
I understand where you are coming from. I sorta faced/may face the same situation as you did. That is why I said the government has to invest more on it's people! But we do need foreign scholars coming in, but at the same time we do not want these scholars just using as a stepping stone to other things, as such we have to beef up the liberal nature of the current policy, the anybody just come mentality just would not do. But that said, think abt it, most of these scholars who leave their country are ppl who aspire for greater things, right? So by that, every scholar we sponsor is a risk we take. But a risk we need to take, given our situation. I haven't been in singapore schools in a while, but what I hear from my friends, these china ppl are being outwardly ostracized in school, and made to be unwelcomed. I know I'll be shot by Uncle Andrew for saying this. But how we expect to keep the very best, when we don't even welcome them as one of our own. That is the struggle for our government, there can pour in millions into this, but if Singaporeans are not supportive of this influx, it just wouldnt work out. Which is why they need to do more for Singaporeans to make them feel that they are not being ignored at the expense of these foreign scholars. To this, I think the administration has not done well.
Originally posted by Fatum:they are not ? ...
not the same as JC
Only can buy bus pass and MRT pass. But if we count like that, poly students can also buy bus pass and MRT pass.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
boon TIONG kee chicken rice
it is boon tong kee, not tiong,...ah tiong means people living in Tiong Bahru, ,...if you live in woodland, u will be nicked as Ah Wood, Ang mio Kio will be Ah Ang, Jurong Will be Ah Juke, Orchard will be Ah Orc,..Geyland will be Ah Gay, Joo chiat will be Ah Joo....etc etc