Originally posted by DigitalArt90:let's be honest, like it or not, there are apathetic and/or passive people, who only care about themselves. What would happen if voting were not compulsory? seriously, some people would rather do something else on a saturday.
In order for mass propaganda to work, they need the masses to vote.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
In order for mass propaganda to work, they need the masses to vote.
simply by saying that $50 of progressive package will be given on the day of voting at all voting outlets...i think all chiong liao
Originally posted by angel7030:
simply by saying that $50 of progressive package will be given on the day of voting at all voting outlets...i think all chiong liao
lol
Right, take the money and vote the public money grabbing despots out.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Right, take the money and vote the public money grabbing despots out.
Serious Uncle, with all these bad news and lack of confidence economy, i think the next election, we will see a lower percentage of PAP votes, if that is the case, it prove that propaganda is not the key to topple the ruling party, it should be when people pockets are hurt and confidence are lowered.
I think people heck care about what Dr Chee said or do, Singaporeans are people who care about themselves, individualism, not masses, once individualism goal is unable to attain and get hurt or abused, the tide on the ruling party change. And again, as i said many time as a siao mei mei, now is the best moment for a capable, righteous and upright opposition to move in. But sad to say, we got none.
Originally posted by yamizi:How sure? That's only your assumption.
There are so many people who wanted to vote but their constituencies have been 'walkover' so many times.
You're a Singaporean (whether you like it or not), exercise your right to elect as a citizen. But then it seems like you're not even 21 yet.
I'm not yet, but will turn 21 in Jan 2011..... and I'm sure now.... I'm not gonna vote
Originally posted by DigitalArt90:
I'm not yet, but will turn 21 in Jan 2011..... and I'm sure now.... I'm not gonna vote
Good for you if you can make up your mind. Remember you are not entitled to complain/feedback/whine if ruling party's policies will affect you in any negative way because you have failed to exercise your right as a citizen to elect.
Originally posted by yamizi:Good for you if you can make up your mind. Remember you are not entitled to complain/feedback/whine if ruling party's policies will affect you in any negative way because you have failed to exercise your right as a citizen to elect.
I don't intend to, don't forget, Isaid I don't like any of the options.
how hard is it to make a decision... remember, there is poll dancing there... i heard is nice...
I don't intend to, don't forget, Isaid I don't like any of the options.
what option will u hv when it will be a walk over??
Well, I'm just sayin' this cos ppl are like, trying to start some sort of revolution here......
If that happens and it goes for the better, well, good. Not like I can be discriminated for not voting.
If it turns out opposition sucks just as bad (which from what I see, that's what I think), Oh well, I can take comfort in the fact that it is in no way my fault.
who dare to become next candidate? do you?
without candidate how do pple choose? Must have comparison b4 can choose right? If not where got so many walkover cases?
any suggestions?
Originally posted by Arkansaw:Well, for me, I actually approached a certain party and urged them to contest in my area, that is my response to the issue of walkovers
if you sponsor the deposit and the campaign money, i am sure they will run
It is not up to us to decide if we make voting non compulsory. It is up to the ruling party, they call the shots. Election dept is under incapable pm.
Originally posted by skythewood:if you sponsor the deposit and the campaign money, i am sure they will run
you r right.. paying lip service or moral support is not enuff.... need huge financial backing also.
Originally posted by mancha:If you do not present yourself to the polling station, (how you vote after that is your own business) what can happen?
You will not be eligible to vote in the next election. If you want to vote, then pay a fee ($5 ?) to reinstate your name.
Otherwise nothing will happen to you.
I will hope that Singapore Government can adopt early voting, instead of have to vote on the actual date.
But that seem to be impossible becos ruling party always declare election just after one month from actual voting date, so that ruling party can secure more seats by take opposition unprepared. Haiz!!!
Originally posted by Chunseah:I will hope that Singapore Government can adopt early voting, instead of have to vote on the actual date.
But that seem to be impossible becos ruling party always declare election just after one month from actual voting date, so that ruling party can secure more seats by take opposition unprepared. Haiz!!!
u salah lah... the date not the main issue here.... the main issue is whether we have enough candidates or parties to run for the GENERAL ERECTION anot....
Originally posted by yamizi:Good for you if you can make up your mind. Remember you are not entitled to complain/feedback/whine if ruling party's policies will affect you in any negative way because you have failed to exercise your right as a citizen to elect.
Or alternatively, if you voted, then you have absolutely no right to complaint if shit happens because you have consented to the rule of the government. If you vote, then you're giving legitimacy to the winner of the elections. You're signalling confidence in a system that centralises and abuses power regardless whether the party you supported wins. Because they constantly bend the rules to suit themselves, as well as denying the freedom of information etc, the PAP has consolidated their power to an absurd extent. The most powerful show of no-confidence to the government is, therefore, an electoral boycott of major proporations.