Should DBS sack it's Angmo CEO for not consulting Unions before retrenchments?
This guy has made monkeys of union bosses of NTUC.
"I am so malu"
"Why you made a monkey out of me?"
"Even monkeys got pride, ok?"
============
LABOUR chief Lim Swee Say on Friday slammed DBS Bank for failing to consult its staff union on retrenching its workers or exploring other cost-cutting measures first.
'We are disappointed by the sudden decision,' he told The Straits Times when asked for his views on the DBS layoffs.
'There was no prior consultation with the DBS Staff Union. There was no exploration with the union on other cost reduction alternatives,' he said in an email reply on Friday.
Mr Lim, an advisor to the DBS staff union, said this lack of communication has weakened the trust between the bank's management and union.
Not mincing his words, he added: 'It is regretable because trust takes a long time to build but a short time to destroy.'
His criticism came on day 2 of DBS' retrenchment exercise, a move that has drawn flak from the public as being pre-emptive rather than reactive.
Mr Lim laid it on, saying: 'Perception on the ground is that DBS has decided on retrenchment as the first resort. Ground reaction is critical and highly negative.'
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_302299.html
please tell me what can UNIONS do in s'pore? i would love to know ![]()
wayang
most staff had placement with IR SANDs resort project already
salary cut by 50% still got job
Originally posted by de_middle:please tell me what can UNIONS do in s'pore? i would love to know
They do a lot of things like asking you to accept retrenchment and accept retraining to lower paying jobs.
Very important functions.
And then the head of the union will help the workers by "expressing disappointment" . ![]()
Originally posted by zaxis:wayang
most staff had placement with IR SANDs resort project already
salary cut by 50% still got job
u mean placed them into quick-sand? ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:They do a lot of things like asking you to accept retrenchment and accept retraining to lower paying jobs.
And then the head of the union will help the workers by "expressing disappointment" .
oh i see, so its counselling service lah ![]()
NTUC is angry because they were not called to wayang wayang ... when did we ever see the union go against management one .. always say win-win situation but actually still do what the management want to do ... then union will go round and explain to members . ... ... Lim Swee Sway got no chance to wayang .. so angry lor ....
If DBS chief gets sack, then I believe the power of NTUC
Otherwise, all credibility of NTUC is down the long-kang

see...........NTUC is not a monkey......got opposable thumb some more....

Shiit.......nobody from DBS told me anything.....I have to read it in the news.....
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:NTUC is angry because they were not called to wayang wayang ... when did we ever see the union go against management one .. always say win-win situation but actually still do what the management want to do ... then union will go round and explain to members . ... ... Lim Swee Sway got no chance to wayang .. so angry lor ....
No lah, NTUC is also GLU, DBS also GLC, how can Lim Swee Swee dunno wan, he long long knew already, now come out and wayang by saying disappointment mah. One statement settle all.
Very clever lor, very Swee.
GLU, government Link Unions
Originally posted by angel7030:
No lah, NTUC is also GLU, DBS also GLC, how can Lim Swee Swee dunno wan, he long long knew already, now come out and wayang by saying disappointment mah. One statement settle all.
Very clever lor, very Swee.
GLU, government Link Unions
at frist I thought GLU = Go Lick Under ..
In the first place NTUC itself is already a monkey.
Can I say a monkey made a monkey out of a monkey.
This is so nice to watch.....better then Channel 8 drama.
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:at frist I thought GLU = Go Lick Under ..
Wow!! u one level better than me hor..hehehe
Originally posted by angel7030:Wow!! u one level better than me hor..hehehe
this time only la . ... anyway, that Lim Swee Sway .... if he keep his mouth shut, maybe still not so bad ... but now say .. DBS never consult is a direct insult to the people ... you are right, as a minister how can he don't know ...
Originally posted by Zecyan88:In the first place NTUC itself is already a monkey.
Can I say a monkey made a monkey out of a monkey.
This is so nice to watch.....better then Channel 8 drama.
ya, next one retrenchment will be NOL, then POSB, then HDB, then Town Councils, then PSA, then keppel..then all Ah Swee can say is
disappointed, very disappointed, very very disappointed, very very very disappointed......
On one side, he is telling Private companies to be ethical and consult the Unions before retrenchment, last time my Daddy retrenched some of his workers also get lectured by his stupid staffs. And now Govt Link Companies are retrenching without any consultation...and all he can said is disppointed. Wow!!! NTUC Fairprice...Fair meh??
ya, next one retrenchment will be NOL, then POSB, then HDB, then Town Councils, then PSA, then keppel..then all Ah Swee can say is
disappointed, very disappointed, very very disappointed, very very very disappointed......
On one side, he is telling Private companies to be ethical and consult the Unions before retrenchment, last time my Daddy retrenched some of his workers also get lectured by his stupid staffs. And now Govt Link Companies are retrenching without any consultation...and all he can said is disppointed. Wow!!! NTUC Fairprice...Fair meh??
POSB?
DBS?
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:
this time only la . ... anyway, that Lim Swee Sway .... if he keep his mouth shut, maybe still not so bad ... but now say .. DBS never consult is a direct insult to the people ... you are right, as a minister how can he don't know ...
Because my in-laws work in DBS mah, he said their salaries got a variable called MVC, Montly variable Component (set up by Unions and govt)..this serve 10% of their basic paid, in time of down turn, Company should reduce these component first before retrenchment...but now, never even do anything, retrenchment exercise start liao.
Before the retrenchment announce, they already hv wine and dinner together with PM, MM etc etc..all well planned, tomorrow i announce retrenchment, then you announce disappointment ok...Ah Swee hv to say Yes mah, ...all very swee swee planned one ok
Originally posted by skythewood:POSB?
DBS?
Why?? u dun hv POSB Atm card ar??
Because my in-laws work in DBS mah, he said their salaries got a variable called MVC, Montly variable Component (set up by Unions and govt)..this serve 10% of their basic paid, in time of down turn, Company should reduce these component first before retrenchment...but now, never even do anything, retrenchment exercise start liao.
Before the retrenchment announce, they already hv wine and dinner together with PM, MM etc etc..all well planned, tomorrow i announce retrenchment, then you announce disappointment ok...Ah Swee hv to say Yes mah, ...all very swee swee planned one ok
so Swee Sway have to sway sway Go Lick Under lor .... so you got in-law working in DBS, ah yes I remember now, you ever say my friend working la in DBS was having an affair !!! ... it's you !!!
Originally posted by charlize:They do a lot of things like asking you to accept retrenchment and accept retraining to lower paying jobs.
And then the head of the union will help the workers by "expressing disappointment" .
You took the words right out of me. ![]()
Come next year, Mr. Lim will be very busy expressing disappointment. ![]()
ya lor, union always succumb to company final decision..
got say maciam no say lor..
my company oso similar la..
when company changed commission scheme mths ago, union initially say wanna help staff to fight, in the end oso bcome diam gao(dog)..
Originally posted by Cool-gal:ya lor, union always succumb to company final decision..
got say maciam no say lor..
my company oso similar la..
when company changed commission scheme mths ago, union initially say wanna help staff to fight, in the end oso bcome diam gao(dog)..
a fat fat diam gao too...other countries' unions all thin thin, our unions all fat fat one leh...good life lor.
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:so Swee Sway have to sway sway Go Lick Under lor .... so you got in-law working in DBS, ah yes I remember now, you ever say my friend working la in DBS was having an affair !!! ... it's you !!!
Not me lah, i dun hv any affair with DBS, including lehman and all those Notes...i am only interested in Public and Home affair....
no la, I am not angry ... anyone can voice their own view ... no offence taken you know.. just that she is my best friend , help me alot .. her department nobody was retrenched .. now back to the forum ... it seem many banks is following DBS footstep, I will want to see how the GLU, Swee Sway will say then ....
Originally posted by maurizio13:
You took the words right out of me.
Come next year, Mr. Lim will be very busy expressing disappointment.
It's a very tiring job.
He may need other ministers to chip in to help express disappointment at the amount of layoffs and retrenchments that is coming next year. ![]()