membership income= side income on top of the world class pay the ministers are drawing.
Originally posted by charlize:I think creating cleaning jobs is not hard. If they want to create 1000 jobs, they just look for places to clean.
Every building needs a cleaner.
But sad that these are the only low paying jobs that they can create.
low paying jobs but the titles given are very big,
Cleaners become..public hygience officer
Jaga guards become Estate Security Officer
Gardeners become Horticulture Specialist
Pest controller become Enviromental Inspectors
etc etc
Originally posted by angel7030:
low paying jobs but the titles given are very big,
Cleaners become..public hygience officer
Jaga guards become Estate Security Officer
Gardeners become Horticulture Specialist
Pest controller become Enviromental Inspectors
etc etc
When joo chiat will start to have retrenchment?''
then china mei mei become what?
Mei ren yao ...
Originally posted by angel7030:
next will be Bangalas celebrating National Day 2009 instead of Singaporeans
I thought we will be celebrating Tiong-Gah-Por day nxt year? O.O
All the Tiong PRCs~~
Then all of us will be singing "we are TIONG-GAH-POR"
Actually I think if the minister did not say anything, the DBS staff retrenched would not have felt any worse.
But to come out publicly to chastise the bank, it was like rubbing salt to the wound.
I think it was a very bad move. ![]()
Originally posted by noahnoah:When joo chiat will start to have retrenchment?''
then china mei mei become what?
China mei mei industry is one of the oldest industrial since ancient times, so far no retrenchment.
bad but wise move mah... if not how to show justification at year end bonus?
like my place, under the fly-over, everyday got some 20 cars parking ... in the past the traffic will come and summon once in a month. For those people parking there, still cheap, some more got good shape ... now, the police come everyday ... wow .. one guy got four summons in a week !!! They are really out to collect money now ....
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:like my place, under the fly-over, everyday got some 20 cars parking ... in the past the traffic will come and summon once in a month. For those people parking there, still cheap, some more got good shape ... now, the police come everyday ... wow .. one guy got four summons in a week !!! They are really out to collect money now ....
probably next they will permit more "chickens" from overseas to serve the men here to get more $.
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:like my place, under the fly-over, everyday got some 20 cars parking ... in the past the traffic will come and summon once in a month. For those people parking there, still cheap, some more got good shape ... now, the police come everyday ... wow .. one guy got four summons in a week !!! They are really out to collect money now ....
got illegal parking, got people complaint, than got people go enforce the law...
what's wrong with people enforcing the law?
must propose to ghamen. start a new type of tax call windows tax. How many windows you have then paid how much tax. And not enough have doors tax. Then again not enough come out with tables and chairs tax loh. Guarantee plus chop the treasury will be full until it is over flowing. People cant afford to pay nebermind. Sell their daughters or their ass in the ghament redlight biz to raise funds. There you go. Problems solved. Cased closed.
this is not medieval times anymore
it will be when the ghamens is at its end of ideas liao.
Originally posted by skythewood:got illegal parking, got people complaint, than got people go enforce the law...
what's wrong with people enforcing the law?
not that I am complaining, I was trying to draw a comparision, they used to come once a month, now is everyday ... which is good because the place is now pratically empty and make driving through a breeze ..
they can just start cutting back on study grants, bursary, scholarships, medical grants, town council money, baby bonus, HDB grant...
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:not that I am complaining, I was trying to draw a comparision, they used to come once a month, now is everyday ... which is good because the place is now pratically empty and make driving through a breeze ..
last time is do it once to show the boss got do work.
now is got people complain, so no choice have to keep going there...
Originally posted by skythewood:they can just start cutting back on study grants, bursary, scholarships, medical grants, town council money, baby bonus, HDB grant...
why don't you suggest they cut down on their obscene super high pay and get ordinary ministers' pay? In chinese, mei you na mo da de tou jiu bu yao dai na mo da de mao zhi - literally translate to English: If the heads are not big, don't wear big hats.
Originally posted by Fantagf:why don't you suggest they cut down on their obscene super high pay and get ordinary ministers' pay? In chinese, mei you na mo da de tou jiu bu yao dai na mo da de mao zhi - literally translate to English: If the heads are not big, don't wear big hats.
cut loh, you go ask.
cut throat you mean...![]()
While the recent decision to reduce our staff levels may have given the perception that this was a rash cost-cutting initiative of first resort, the fact is we discussed and debated various options at length.
A hiring freeze was already in place and we considered temporary measures, including tiered pay reductions across the organisation. However the anticipated decrease in bonuses this year is already a form of pay cut, and further reduction in salaries would hurt our junior employees most. Our streamlining was deepest at the top, with 16 per cent of senior management affected versus 3.5 per cent of junior staff. Of the approximately 450 staff affected in Singapore, 45 were ordinary union members.
DBS today is much more international than before. With nearly half of our staff based outside Singapore, it was not fair for Singapore-based staff to bear the brunt of the pay cuts. Although not apparent, staff reductions were also carried out in our regional markets, not just Singapore and Hong Kong.
But the most important consideration of all is that the changes in the financial landscape are drastic and permanent - they are not cyclical. For example, the merger of credit and market risks into one function led to jobs lost that will not come back. It is essential that we come to terms with this harsh reality. Across the globe, and in Asia, financial institutions are restructuring their labour force.
It was sad and difficult to part with colleagues and friends. We made every effort to ensure a smooth transition and provided professional counsellors and outplacement services for all affected staff.
This exercise was not merely for cost reduction. Streamlining and optimising staff resources to match the realities of the new environment are just one part of an overall programme to position DBS for the future and take advantage of opportunities arising from this crisis. This includes improving our technology platform and reorganising for greater teamwork.
The easier thing to do was to avoid making this tough and unpopular decision.
However, we are intent on positioning DBS for strength and growth. We believe this is prudent and necessary for the bank in the long run, and that we are doing what is right for the vast majority of our staff, customers and shareholders.
Karen Ngui (Ms)
Managing Director & Head
Group Strategic Marketing & Communications
DBS Bank
source: Straits Time Forum 21 Nov
cut that crap.........
profit not meet only cut staff liao. not that totally loss for the year or what. sure got reserves profit from past years also. just that greedy bizmen wan more profits only. Once cannot meet their expectation then bo pian liao. someone must die. and the wayang NTUC only said express disappointment...hahahaha.... wad an international joke.
Oh forget by cutting staff like tat and announcing it is like setting the benchmark for other companies. Cut nevermind. NTUC only express disappointment only coz they are the subsidiary of NATO.
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:cut that crap.........
profit not meet only cut staff liao. not that totally loss for the year or what. sure got reserves profit from past years also. just that greedy bizmen wan more profits only. Once cannot meet their expectation then bo pian liao. someone must die. and the wayang NTUC only said express disappointment...hahahaha.... wad an international joke.
Oh forget by cutting staff like tat and announcing it is like setting the benchmark for other companies. Cut nevermind. NTUC only express disappointment only coz they are the subsidiary of NATO.
what to do, they love wayang wayang.
why not ask them all go hollywood and wayang there? or mayb wayang in other countries not popular coz their wayang sucks?