Originally posted by mancha:I wonder why any other political party other than the PAP is called the "Opposition".
The term Opposition is correct only during the election hustings. The other party is The Opposition party in a contested ward. After the votes has been counted, any party in Parliament should be deemed to be FOR Singapore. Therefore the PAP, the SDA, and WP are for Singapore.
The majority party that has the right to govern, is the ruling party and any other party should be "The Other" party instead of the opposition party.
e.g. Prof. S Jayakumar is of the ruling PAP, while Mr Low Thia Kiang is with the other party, the WP.
Are they to oppose nilly willy, just oppose anything for the sake of opposing?
You are living in a delusion if you think that in this world there are clear cut "good" and "bad"; that something you do or someone does is clearly good or bad. There is always room for opposition to anything. You should try it, oppose yourself in everything you do and then come to a consensus, the consensus of "proponent" you with the "opposing" you.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:well, your link cannot go to the article that you want us to read.... so how could i have told a lie....?
so your purpose is to give us a link that does not link to your article???
ok loh....
"cannot go to the article that you want us to read..."
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:What a stuipid farker you are.... trying to cover the first lie with another lie. Is that what you teach your children? Tell lies and then cover the first lie with another lie? Is that what you mean when you say you pick and choose what in the bible you want to believe and being honest is something in the bible that you choose not to believe?
Well I don't know about you, but being a liar for most people is shameful.
Delusional, liar, fool, shameless.
What? Tell a series of lies and then go and hide in shame or did you go to church and confess your sins so that you can freely tell lies again after your "confession" after your "honour" is restored?
The church might consider your "honour" restored, with the confession, but for everyone else (except maybe your fellow delusionals), your confession does nothing and you continue, in reality to be a shameless cad.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
You are living in a delusion if you think that in this world there are clear cut "good" and "bad"; that something you do or someone does is clearly good or bad. There is always room for opposition to anything. You should try it, oppose yourself in everything you do and then come to a consensus, the consensus of "proponent" you with the "opposing" you.
True, but there has to be reason to oppose it. I think what he was trying to say was, unreasonable opposition of issues doesn't gain the opposition parties any points with Singaporean voters also. If the oppositions appear to be hindering the decision process for no good reason, they will lose electoral support.
Originally posted by Shotgun:True, but there has to be reason to oppose it. I think what he was trying to say was, unreasonable opposition of issues doesn't gain the opposition parties any points with Singaporean voters also. If the oppositions appear to be hindering the decision process for no good reason, they will lose electoral support.
That is because, silliporeans have been sold and have taken at face value, the PAP lie that only they know best and everything they do is best.
First Asian country in recession, rememeber?
One Malaysian aunty was laughing at the massive lay-offs here while there are none to speak of in KL.
You see, people like me that looks further than what is in front of their noses saw it coming, but it is hard to tell people that a storm is coming when the sun is still shinning.
...and PAP through their propaganda keeps reminding people that the sun is shinning... even though the storm is just across the border, until even their propaganda cannot hide the reality.
Don't you think that for the DBS retrenched employees, it came as a shock and some of them could have recently bought properties, cars and made other major commitments...
...unless of course they came to sgforums and read about how serious it was going to be and believed me.
That is because, silliporeans have been sold and have taken at face value, the PAP lie that only they know best and everything they do is best.
First Asian country in recession, rememeber?
One Malaysian aunty was laughing at the massive lay-offs here while there are none to speak of in KL.
You see, people like me that looks further than what is in front of their noses saw it coming, but it is hard to tell people that a storm is coming when the sun is still shinning.
Malaysia is forecast 3.5% growth in 2009 i think.
In a sense, why we did poorer when compared to M'sia would be slow down of export to the US, as well as general slow down of re-exports to US. I think US foreign investments into Singapore will also reduce cos they are gonna be experiencing 0 or negative growth in 2009 as well.
If the US moves into recession, we will follow behind rather quickly... a bit helplessly i admit.
I'm not an economist, but given Singaporean' kiasu nature, if the government were to tell us a storm is coming, everybody will tighten spending even more. And if the real economists are to be believed, that will be more destructive than constructive to our economy.
Hopefully, Obama's policies would also serve to excite the US economy by giving the middle class more leeway to spend, and drive up demand again. If so, we might be able to benefit from it.
Originally posted by Shotgun:
Its normal terminology in politics here due to PAP's dominance. The rest of the opposition parties can't even win anything through coalition if they tried.
I hope your reference to "PAP's dominance" is not made as if it is due to their popularity, as almost half of the Singapore population did not vote, and of the half that actually voted - only 66.6% of the valid votes went to the PAP.
This 66.6% that was supposed to have voted for the PAP represent about 35% of the Singapore Eligible Voting Population.
The "PAP's dominance" can be traced to the political history of Singapore in which the PAP has consistently fenced in the "Opposition Parties" using unethical methods that no First World Countries will even try.
To describe a list of the unethical methods will simply derail this thread.
I think the job of the opposition is not really oppose for the sake of opposing. To oppose is to buy more time for deliberation in parliament, especially for very important decisions on policies. Speed is not always the best thing in decision making. Haste tends to make waste.
For once I can agree with your thoughts as expressed in this paragraph.
Just before the "one and only" Referendum was conducted in Singapore - (to have Singaporeans determine if Singapore should merge with Malaysia) - Dr Lee Siew Choh, Sec-Gen of the Barisan Sosialist Party, had insisted that more time should be given for all the issues to be clearly publicised and debated.
Dr Lee Siew Choh had made a major issue concerning the Ballot Paper - (in which three proposals were offered for Singaporeans to pick their choice) - was seen as a "no-brainer" - as picking anyone of the given choices will simply endorse the PAP a.k.a. LKY's intention to merge Singapore into Malaysia since the choice for a clear "NO" was non-existent.
With the entire process being rushed through, it resulted in a rushed marriage between Singapore and Malaysia that had to end up in separation after two years.
‘Singapore National Referendum 1962’
- Option A: All Singapore citizens would automatically become citizens of Malaysia, and Singapore would retain a degree of autonomy and state power, such as over labour and education. Singapore would also get to keep its language policies, such as to retain using all four major languages, English, Mandarin, Malay and Tamil.
- Option B: Singapore would become a federal state like that of the other eleven states, with no more autonomy than the other states would, thus ceding control over issues such as labour and education policies to the federal government in Kuala Lumpur. This also meant that there would be less multilingualism - only English and Malay would be used for official purposes, and possibly education. Only those born in Singapore or descended from the Singapore-born would become citizens of Malaysia. There would also be proportionate representation in Parliament from Singapore.
- Option C: Singapore would enter on terms no less favourable than the Borneo territories, Sabah and Sarawak, both whom were also discussing merger with Malaysia. This was to ensure that Malaysia would not discriminate along racial lines, as that would mean discriminating against Sabah and Sarawak, which were predominantly Bumiputra as well.
I am sure there are some opposition members here. Why is it that the opposition parties have not issued any documents, press releases?
Don't know what to write about economic subjects, they should send me an email and pay me to write for them.
Andrew, it is not that the Oppostion Parties do not know how to write on economic subjects - it is that the controlled broadcast and print media do not give publicity to any such plans from the Opposition Parties.
You could log into the Worker's Party website to read some of their comments and statements.
If you are interested in documents, you could read CSJ's books that he had written about SG economy being over-dependent on MNC that will always result in our wage being held to ransom by the need of lower costs for the MNCs. In his books he had also written about the economy, education, labor and a host of other subjects.
Is there anything wrong with the Opposition Parties, or is there something wrong with the Singaporean minds that have been dulled by 51 years of LKY's propaganda ?
Sometime in the 1960s' - he did say that "it is best for governments to fill the stomachs and dull the minds".
LKY has certainly achieved this goal and despite all the stomach pains and headaches that have been created, the minds are all too dull to react with any vigor.
With LKY's unorthodox politics in marrying Marxist Communist State Controls - without the benefits of Communist Socialism - to a modified Capitalist form that deny lazier fare to Singaporeans, he has managed to amass wealth into the State Treasury by sucking the Citizens dry.
With 51 years tinkering all the different instruments of State Powers - all consolidated into his hands - do you think that the Opposition Parties should be blamed for the present state of affairs ?
From 1819, the British Colonial Government had left Singapore with the framework of stable governmental institutions and handed over the reins for Self-government to LKY in 1957.
In fifty-one years, LKY dismantled all these institutions and has left Singapore totally dependent on a SINGLE political party that has total controls of the politics, finance, security, economy, and the people's future.
Can Singapore survive after the decline of the First Family ?
Will the future political landscape be chaotic and hopeless messy to unravel, when an Alternative Party is elected into Government as a result of the present incumbent party becoming mediocre or worst ?
Is Singapore ‘bigger than PAP’ and deserve institutions that will outlast the PAP ?
which party rules dun make difference. most important is to change those unfair policies in the current situation. Eg retirement age reduce. Minimum sum gota be capped at some point etc....... Then buying HDB is really buying and not 99 years return.....
some rules gota be rectified lah..... Be fair to our pple. And also hor it will be great if there is one one court that does not have australia jumping products.
What? Tell a series of lies and then go and hide in shame or did you go to church and confess your sins so that you can freely tell lies again after your "confession" after your "honour" is restored?
The church might consider your "honour" restored, with the confession, but for everyone else (except maybe your fellow delusionals), your confession does nothing and you continue, in reality to be a shameless cad.
errr.... today still cannot see that article...
errr.... can anyone out there get that article???
first you get this: http://72.14.235.132/search?q=cache:HEl2L-KeiV0J:www.newsintercom.org/index.php%3Fitemid%3D442+property+prices+rise+at+our&hl=en&gl=sg&strip=1
then you click this: http://www.newsintercom.org/index.php?itemid=442
can someone share with me???
got same problem here... exceed bandwidth. Wonder wat's the prob.
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:which party rules dun make difference. most important is to change those unfair policies in the current situation. Eg retirement age reduce. Minimum sum gota be capped at some point etc....... Then buying HDB is really buying and not 99 years return.....
some rules gota be rectified lah..... Be fair to our pple. And also hor it will be great if there is one one court that does not have australia jumping products.
haha, you think the court is unfair ah..
neber said that........=P
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:got same problem here... exceed bandwidth. Wonder wat's the prob.
I did not give you that link. The shameless cad is trying to make a fool out of you. This is not the first time, he is a delusional lying shameless idiot, just remember that.
Originally posted by Atobe:Andrew, it is not that the Oppostion Parties do not know how to write on economic subjects - it is that the controlled broadcast and print media do not give publicity to any such plans from the Opposition Parties.
You could log into the Worker's Party website to read some of their comments and statements.
If you are interested in documents, you could read CSJ's books that he had written about SG economy being over-dependent on MNC that will always result in our wage being held to ransom by the need of lower costs for the MNCs. In his books he had also written about the economy, education, labor and a host of other subjects.
Is there anything wrong with the Opposition Parties, or is there something wrong with the Singaporean minds that have been dulled by 51 years of LKY's propaganda ?
Sometime in the 1960s' - he did say that "it is best for governments to fill the stomachs and dull the minds".
LKY has certainly achieved this goal and despite all the stomach pains and headaches that have been created, the minds are all too dull to react with any vigor.
With LKY's unorthodox politics in marrying Marxist Communist State Controls - without the benefits of Communist Socialism - to a modified Capitalist form that deny lazier fare to Singaporeans, he has managed to amass wealth into the State Treasury by sucking the Citizens dry.
With 51 years tinkering all the different instruments of State Powers - all consolidated into his hands - do you think that the Opposition Parties should be blamed for the present state of affairs ?
From 1819, the British Colonial Government had left Singapore with the framework of stable governmental institutions and handed over the reins for Self-government to LKY in 1957.
In fifty-one years, LKY dismantled all these institutions and has left Singapore totally dependent on a SINGLE political party that has total controls of the politics, finance, security, economy, and the people's future.
Can Singapore survive after the decline of the First Family ?
Will the future political landscape be chaotic and hopeless messy to unravel, when an Alternative Party is elected into Government as a result of the present incumbent party becoming mediocre or worst ?
Is Singapore ‘bigger than PAP’ and deserve institutions that will outlast the PAP ?
That is why what Dr Chee Soon Juan is doing, agitating for a fair playing field is correct. What is the point of being opposition when people have to dig up what you have to say to them when the despots get free advertisement every single day?
...and the only way to kick them out is when the despots destroy Singapore and people become disillusioned with them... but by then, Singapore is already destroyed... as it is, they have damaged the economy and now Singapore is dependant on massive numbers of foreigners in order to just survive as coolies to the first world countries.
In your severly delusional state, you fail to see that that is exactly the context of my post.
The Other parties in Parliament can also go along the same line as for the individual. They need not be slanted to only one aspect.
That is why what Dr Chee Soon Juan is doing, agitating for a fair playing field is correct. What is the point of being opposition when people have to dig up what you have to say to them when the despots get free advertisement every single day?
What exactly is CSJ doing that is correct?
What needs to be done is building credible opposition parties and candidates without getting sued.
Originally posted by mancha:
In your severly delusional state, you fail to see that that is exactly the context of my post.The Other parties in Parliament can also go along the same line as for the individual. They need not be slanted to only one aspect.
"exactly the context of my post" and yet you do not see the need for "opposition"?
"exactly the context of my post" would mean that you understand the need for opposition, since nothing is absolute. That "opposing" is a legitimate exercise and "opposition" is not a dirty word.
It would seems that the PAP has brained washed you into thinking that their decisions are the best and that there are no reasons to oppose them and that "opposition" is just a waste of time, making the word "opposition" a dirty word and so you want to change it.
Your post makes you look even more delusional. You say you understand but yet you want to change it, like you do not understand the need for opposition, like you do not understand that in this world there are no perfect decisions.
Originally posted by Shotgun:What exactly is CSJ doing that is correct?
What needs to be done is building credible opposition parties and candidates without getting sued.
How to build "credible opposition parties and candidates" when the opposition do not have access to the state media to publicise their, for example this topic, their economic strategies and plans and Singaporeans, which they have according to "atobe", but Singaporeans must go and search for it.
This in contrast to the PAP getting free publicity relentlessly.
So until we live in a free society, Dr Chee Soon Juan is right to agitate for that.
Originally posted by Shotgun:What exactly is CSJ doing that is correct?
The only way not to get sued is to stay silent, and be good obedient, docile members sitting on the opposite side of the government bench in Parliament.
JBJ was outspoken in speaking the truth of all that was wrong - and for that he was verbally abused in some of the most creative language that only LKY's legal mind is capable of, and was further financially cruxified in the meanest possible ways simply to prevent JBJ from gaining a national platform to embarass LKY and his government from executing plans to run Singaporeans to the ground.
Singapore is what it is today as a result of less JBJ around.
For more then 21 years, Chiam has been in Parliament - what has he achieved ?
Is Chiam's new political party any more credible than the SDP that he led and whose general membership even lost faith in his leadership - (and threw him out of the SDP even without CSJ instigation or involvement in the entire episode - even as some narcissist will intentionally and misleadingly propagate otherwise, simply to fulfill a "Drama Queen's whorish attention seeking wet dreams") ?
The WP - with Sylivia Lim and Low Thia Kiang pulling the strings - is walking a fine line by not being more forceful and pressing on issues that clearly outraged Singaporeans - as seen in their moderate response in the NKF and Mas Selamat scandals, when Ministerial responsibility was clearly and shamelessly being absolved by the Government.
All the achievements that Chiam and Low can claim are the housekeeping results in managing their respective constituencies.
What are their achievements on national issues beyond their success in representing the parochial interests of their respective constituents to the various Miinistries ?
They could not even get pass the HDB in planting their own trees on Tree Planting Day in their own Constituencies, let alone in being accorded the full rights and respect that are so quickly given to the PAP Members of Parliament by the various government institutions in the Opposition held Constituencies.
Both Chiam and Low could not even get the HDB to allow any MP's office in the void deck of HDB flats, so as to conduct their "meet-the-people" session - when PAP Members of Parliament have been allowed to build enclosed offices in the void decks.
Can both parties build any credibility under such circumstances, when they volunteer to moderate their own efforts to build their own public profile ?
running for oppositions anyone?
I did not give you that link. The shameless cad is trying to make a fool out of you. This is not the first time, he is a delusional lying shameless idiot, just remember that.
really ah? you did not give that link ah??? than what the hell is the link below???
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:..about the newspaper article.... you lied that it was a "letter to the press"; you are either stupid or lying and actually both because you are telling a stupid lie.
...anyway I am banned from writing for the papers ever since I became a columnist for the anti-PAP website and wrote using my real name:
Notice the date. Newspaper refused to publish it but I felt that it was too important not to publish it and as you can see... the reason why Singapore is suffering worse than necessary now is as stated in the article....
why your link and the one i give go to the same page??? this page got one more click to go.... which leads to the "bandwidth limit exceeded" page.....
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
errr.... today still cannot see that article...errr.... can anyone out there get that article???
first you get this:
then you click this: http://www.newsintercom.org/index.php?itemid=442
can someone share with me???
so andy... where's the article???? garmen ban you until even your own article cannot be shown hah?
"exactly the context of my post" and yet you do not see the need for "opposition"?
"exactly the context of my post" would mean that you understand the need for opposition, since nothing is absolute. That "opposing" is a legitimate exercise and "opposition" is not a dirty word.
It would seems that the PAP has brained washed you into thinking that their decisions are the best and that there are no reasons to oppose them and that "opposition" is just a waste of time, making the word "opposition" a dirty word and so you want to change it.
Your post makes you look even more delusional. You say you understand but yet you want to change it, like you do not understand the need for opposition, like you do not understand that in this world there are no perfect decisions.
It is no wonder that you wish to write for others, whom you perceive could not write for themselves. Your illusionary mind skews your reading ability, and also about yourself.
What I am saying is that the word "Opposition" is a misnomer in Parliament.
In the wards, who would be the "Opposition" to Mr Low Thia Khiang, and Mr Chiam See Tong?
Both the incumbent ruling party and the other parties should be working together towards the betterment of Singapore. That is something your delusional ego cannot accept.
You are stuck on the word "oppose".
So wtf is wrong with the opposition in Singapore?
Frankly, you, and the likes of you.
How to build "credible opposition parties and candidates" when the opposition do not have access to the state media to publicise their, for example this topic, their economic strategies and plans and Singaporeans, which they have according to "atobe", but Singaporeans must go and search for it.
This in contrast to the PAP getting free publicity relentlessly.
So until we live in a free society, Dr Chee Soon Juan is right to agitate for that.
this is off the topic, but just to let you know that red text is quite hard to read on a white background. hope u can post in black... save our eyes.. haha :)