Originally posted by TemplarKnight:noneed to start part2. it had been concluded liao. more than 50% post show sillypore sucks. if not where u get so many post? mainly of complains what...............
don't decide for TS, it is up to TS to want to post or not.
by all means TS.
Thanks Fantagf!
Dun see them as complains, more like disagreements. Also received a few agreements, but that's what makes having these forums great no?
Originally posted by Joachimchen:Thanks Fantagf!
Dun see them as complains, more like disagreements. Also received a few agreements, but that's what makes having these forums great no?
You are welcome. YOu are still new here, you will discover more as you continue to surf here. So where is your new thread? I am eager to read it.
Originally posted by Joachimchen:Thanks Fantagf!
please define "pretty good place" is in beautiful or...
Originally posted by Meat Pao:If you want to be rational, then you have to be brave. Brave to look at both sides.
Brave to see and think what are the possible pifalls of greater democracy, and brave to see and recognize what are the benefits that the present system has served for Singapore.
That isn't both sides! You forgot: Brave to see and think what are the possible benefits of greater democracy, and brave to see and recognize what are the pitfalls of the present system.
Let's combine them, for extra bravery:
Brave to see and think what are the possible benefits and pifalls of greater democracy, and brave to see and recognize what are the benefits and pitfalls of the present system.
No need to thank me, brave one.
the people who complain here probably are still not married, everything also want more
only know how to whine when things get bad
aiya joachim, some singaporeans are like that
gahmen did 10 years of good, they will not notice
gahmen did 1 second of bad, they all kpkb
i think sg will still be a third world country if LKY never do anything
Originally posted by gigabyte14:the people who complain here probably are still not married, everything also want more
only know how to whine when things get bad
aiya joachim, some singaporeans are like that
gahmen did 10 years of good, they will not notice
gahmen did 1 second of bad, they all kpkb
i think sg will still be a third world country if LKY never do anything
are you saying that "if its ain't broken, dont fix it"
Circumstances changes with Time, I would say that it will be too late too fix it when it's broken
Living here is stressful, too many rules and regulations to understand and is not a gracious place to live even among Singaporean
I agree that LKY did what he had to do at that time but that was 30 years ago
even communist china and russia have changed and yet we are still living in a superficial democracy front with marx's rule in the back
same as you are restricting your 43 years old kid with his family on what to do, but at least there is love but here the father takes all for his own pleasure and taking as many concubines as he wishes. - well this is how i feel
Originally posted by seyKai:are you saying that "if its ain't broken, dont fix it"
Circumstances changes with Time, I would say that it will be too late too fix it when it's broken
Living here is stressful, too many rules and regulations to understand and is not a gracious place to live even among Singaporean
I agree that LKY did what he had to do at that time but that was 30 years ago
even communist china and russia have changed and yet we are still living in a democracy front with marx's rule in the back
same as you are restricting your 30 years old kid with his family on what to do, but at least there is love but here the father takes all for his own pleasure and taking as many concubines as he wishes. - well this is how i feel
I have the feeling that stuff is changing alot, but people don't acknowledge it has
Should send this joke to 'laughter is the best medicine' (reader's Digest)
Originally posted by skythewood:I have the feeling that stuff is changing alot, but people don't acknowledge it has
I have to admit, even the newsapaper is starting to take stances against the government's decisions.
Was kinda surprised when euthanasia was brought up in Parliament the Strait Times put up a lot of articles opposing it.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:
I have to admit, even the newsapaper is starting to take stances against the government's decisions.Was kinda surprised when euthanasia was brought up in Parliament the Strait Times put up a lot of articles opposing it.
You want them to drop lower than their 140+ international ranking ah? ![]()
Originally posted by Stevenson101:
I have to admit, even the newsapaper is starting to take stances against the government's decisions.Was kinda surprised when euthanasia was brought up in Parliament the Strait Times put up a lot of articles opposing it.
stances against the ghamen decisions? sure anot...
better go and check out whether the person reporting still working there....
Okay lah, let's be fair. Singapore is a good place to stay because so far we are not affected by any natural calamities in big scale manner, but this is not the credit of our ruling party anyway.
Cigarettes cost $10+ on average..
How to be a good place to stay?
i like going out at 3am knowing i won't get mugged.
i like the amount of tuition subsidies i get when i am getting even though i wasted a good 4semester worth of it when i was a kid
i like what NS did to me, i taught me responsibility and gave me directions to what i am studying now.
i like how there is no idiots screaming in the street for change in the goverment when they themselve would definately do worst.
I like this country, its a great place to live. Singapore rocks.
ps: they could do better to raise the pay of healthcare workers thou.
Found this pic in a forum.
Knowing LKY's fondness for money, can anyone imagine his home furnishing ideas?
The living room, bedroom, the study and other rooms probably look like this ![]()

Originally posted by googoomuck:Found this pic in a forum.
Knowing LKY's fondness for money, can anyone imagine his home furnishing ideas?
The living room, bedroom, the study and other rooms probably look like this
Probably he uses these as base of his bed, ha ha ha, just kidding. eh, LKY, why you love money so much? Is it because you can bring money over to hell with you?
Originally posted by Fantagf:Probably he uses these as base of his bed, ha ha ha, just kidding. eh, LKY, why you love money so much? Is it because you can bring money over to hell with you?
No la... he probably loves the smell.
TS is right lah.. singapore so good.. where else in the world they will pay PM and president 3M per yr??? and 1/3 of a peanuts per yr for MP.....
There is an article on local migrating to other countries and it seemed many of them reluctant to return back.
http://www.littlespeck.com/content/people/CTrendsPeople-080906.htm
Tis is wat i think la...
ther r people who think PAP did a good job while there r people who think they do not. I try to classify them into categories
Hate PAP
1) Believe in democracy. Hate gov in their dealing on freedom of speech and dealing with opposition
2) Hate the salary of ministers and connections of a certain family
3) Felt life is getting worse than before and blame on gov
4) Believe gov r genuinely incapable
Love PAP
1) Respect figures, statistic and results showing singapore achieving a lot despite many limitations
2) do not believe in democracy as it does not work in many areas while singapore model is getting popular among emerging countries. Democratic countries seems to face problems with model of democracy
3) genuine believe gov is helping citizen in many areas using scientific and logical ways
If i am not wrong, u will see arguments going about these few points above.
My personal belief is tat democracy is not working as well as others thought it should. It has nothing to do with confucious etc but by seeing news and how good the governance these countries r doing. In democratic countries, people r spoilt and no matter who become gov, the popularity drops like crazy over silly small things. People r no longer united and seems to split into different sides of the fence. Gov to please the people start to do ridiculous and short term decisions. People just wanted change as though it is some miracles and they just keeping changing gov while life simply becomes worse and worse because no one wanna lose out for the greater good.
I just do not see why people think democracy is good. I think it is just western propanganda
Somehow stupidissmart is starting to sound a bit like DeerHunter.
Anyone thinks so as well?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Tis is wat i think la...
1) Respect figures, statistic and results showing singapore achieving a lot despite many limitations
2) do not believe in democracy as it does not work in many areas while singapore model is getting popular among emerging countries. Democratic countries seems to face problems with model of democracy
3) genuine believe gov is helping citizen in many areas using scientific and logical ways
Good morning,
Do you have examples for your point 1 to 3?