Originally posted by Subaru WRX:this place sucks.
at least this place dun sucks your money dry, unlike the govt who suck you dry n done.
Originally posted by Joachimchen:Wow!
So many responses in less than a 12 hours, many disagreements to a few personal attacks. Geez, you guys really have alot of resentment.
Let's try to tackle the responses one at a time.
My previous post is not a joke nor am I making a mistake- I am serious and clear headed when I say I am proud of Singapore.
Not too sure of the government's popularity currently, but if votes are anything to go by, the majority of Singaporeans are at the very least confident that the current administration can deliver a better Singapore.
When I say Confucian, I refer generally more to the culture values that the majority of Chinese Singaporeans (which make up almost 76% of the local population) hold to. As you will know, though there are more and more western minded people in Singapore, the majority of heartlanders do still adhere more to Confucian values like community mindedness, respect for elders etc.
I'm not working for the government nor am I am monitoring the forum for them, trust me, they have smarter people than me analysing the forums and are aware of the anti-establisment sentiments here.
Rude of me to not have intro myself further. I'm
a mole...
Originally posted by skythewood:how do you check the popularity level?
Lest you think I am pulling your leg, you might want to try exploring other internet forums to guage the ground sentiment. ( I won't specify the forums because people might think I am trying to advertise for them)
Or you might to visit some kopitiams and listen to the casual conversations among the people there.
If you can find more people praising the government than lambasting them for these recent fiascos, then I stand corrected. ![]()
this place dun suck your money dry of coz.... most of us still have cpf right? Only cant get it only mah.... retirement age getting higher and higher.... maybe if the unholy trinity live up to a 100 years then the retirement age will be that as a benchmark.....
Originally posted by charlize:Lest you think I am pulling your leg, you might want to try exploring other internet forums to guage the ground sentiment. ( I won't specify the forums because people might think I am trying to advertise for them)
Or you might to visit some kopitiams and listen to the casual conversations among the people there.
If you can find more people praising the government than lambasting them for these recent fiascos, then I stand corrected.
you find me a forum where people actually praise government for anything, let's say... winning olympics... or SMRT win some awards.
all the forums will lambast everything, and complain everything, and praise nothing.
and as a comparison, how to use it? 5 years ago, people complain, now also people complain....
Originally posted by Joachimchen:Hey all
I'm new to SG forums! Great to see an active community posting their thoughts and opinions so candidly! Who said freedom of speech is dead in Singapore?
Just though I'd post some thoughts that have been burning in my mind the past few years.
I'm a Singaporean, born and bred and I'm damn proud of Singapore. Politically, I am happy with the way the government has tried to raise the quality of life for its citizens and create a sustainable economy. Is it a perfect government? Definitely not! Has it made mistakes? Of course! Can it go easier on the opposition? Maybe.
But I'd question the views of some who would like Singapore to be a democracy more like the US and similar western countries. Does a Confucian culture like ours really suit a western style democracy?
One only has to look at Taiwan and maybe the Philippines to see that a western democracy may not work in Singapore. Can a small country and resource-less country like S'pore really prosper without the ability to plan ahead due to ever changing governments? Can it attract FDI with a unstable political climate?
Why not focus on the good the government has done for Singapore? We have transformed ourselves from a third world nation to a first in a lifetime. With the majority of country having themselves and their offspring alleviated in their quality of life. Do we actually understand the enormity of that accomplishment?
Why not focus on the bigger picture when there is a policy you disagree with? ERP went up? Yes, but road tax went down. So the government does not charge you for ownership, but for usage instead. Sounds wise for a country with small land size and increasing car ownership.
Whew! I do think Singaporeans do sometimes forget how blessed we are to have a government that tries its best. I look forward to hearing your replies.
NB: the author does not work in the civil service and is not propogating a biased view of the Singapore government. He just really is proud of Singapore. : )
Good to know that somebody who is proud of Singapore, and who dare announce it in this forum.
While you are entitled to your feeling, your statement "Does a Confucian culture like ours really suit a western style democracy?" shows your little knowledge about our culture and politics, and your ignorance about Confucianism. Never mind if you don't know what is western style democracy, because most of those who advocate "western style democracy" also don't know, and they think democracy = freedom of speech.
First of all, Singapore culture is not Confucian culture! We have Tamil, and Malay cultures. Among the Chinese, there are more western culture than Chinese cullture.
Many of the forumites in this forum came from the english educated families. Their parents went to the English schools, their studies examined by people half the globe away, they learned history of the colonial master of Singapore, and their literature was written by the man who shakes his spear. How can this ever be the cultures of the Chinese in Singapore?
LKY, GCT all educated in this way. Has anyone of them studies confucianism?? how many Singaporean studied confucianism? Do you think PAP embrace confucianism?
To Chinese outside of Singapore, Singaporean Chinese are very westernized! and the fact is, some who are westernized embrace everything from the west wholesale, some recognized the bad and evil aspects of things from the west and they reject it. Nothing to do with confucianism.
So many responses in less than a 12 hours, many disagreements to a few personal attacks. Geez, you guys really have alot of resentment.
My previous post is not a joke nor am I making a mistake- I am serious and clear headed when I say I am proud of Singapore.
Not too sure of the government's popularity currently, but if votes are anything to go by, the majority of Singaporeans are at the very least confident that the current administration can deliver a better Singapore.
When I say Confucian, I refer generally more to the culture values that the majority of Chinese Singaporeans (which make up almost 76% of the local population) hold to. As you will know, though there are more and more western minded people in Singapore, the majority of heartlanders do still adhere more to Confucian values like community mindedness, respect for elders etc.
I'm not working for the government nor am I am monitoring the forum for them, trust me, they have smarter people than me analysing the forums and are aware of the anti-establisment sentiments here.
I am pround to be a Singaporean too only for the good reasons.
Would you be proud of Singapore when you flip the newspapers and headlining that more Singaporeans are commiting crimes outside Singapore, one desperado is trying to rob a bank and old folks are sleeping in the streets?
76% are adhere to Johnny Kong values only when the people on the top are practicing them - as the saying goes "like father like son"
If the fathers are not adhere to that teaching, will the children too?
Originally posted by fishbuff1:confucianism also believe in this
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slow_slicing
What has this got to do with Confucianism???
From the lead you posted, it was clearly stated that "According to the Confucian principle of filial piety or xiao to alter one's body or to cut the body is a form of unfilial practice. Lingchi therefore contravenes the demands of xiao. "
Did you read what you post?? do you know what you post? pathetic...
Originally posted by seyKai:I am pround to be a Singaporean too only for the good reasons.
Would you be proud of Singapore when you flip the newspapers and headlining that more Singaporeans are commiting crimes outside Singapore, one desperado is trying to rob a bank and old folks are sleeping in the streets?
76% are adhere to Johnny Kong values only when the people on the top are practicing them - as the saying goes "like father like son"
If the fathers are not adhere to that teaching, will the children too?
the reality is, there are more among the 76% who adhere to the values of willian who shakes his spear, than to johnny kong.
Singapore's weather is good. Although humid, not as bad as it gets in say HK or Shanghai. The lack of four seasons could be boring though, but if you are poor and need to face cold winter, here is a lot better I think. Air quality I think is also better than HK or say Beijing/Shanghai, although it can never beat say Perth.
The educational infrastructure is good. We got good school facilities and libraries. Public transport infrastructure such as MRT is good as far as I can see.
that kid duno what he toking........ ![]()
Originally posted by sgdiehard:What has this got to do with Confucianism???
From the lead you posted, it was clearly stated that "According to the Confucian principle of filial piety or xiao to alter one's body or to cut the body is a form of unfilial practice. Lingchi therefore contravenes the demands of xiao. "
Did you read what you post?? do you know what you post? pathetic...
sorry he studied too much confucianism, so now he get confused liao. sori sori..hor.
very good place indeed ![]()
Sorry- clumsy fingers. Here's the full post.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Wow!
Joke or mistaken post?
Government's popularity
Confucius and Politics
That said, just being an Asian who has Confucian values does not mean I cannot live in a democracy. Tell that to the millions of Chinese living in US, UK and Australia.
Is Singapore a democracy? Hmm... It would be hard for me to define that since I may not truly understand the true definition of a democracy, I'll do some research. Does Singapore have a constitution? Yes. Do its people vote? Yes. Do its people have opportunities to vote out its current government if they feels that government is corrupt and not doing a good job? Yes. Its seems to me there is a basic structure of a democracy.
What I am concern with is not wheter Singapore's poltical system is like the US or other western countries. What I as a Singporean am concern with is if the current system works. I believe it does. Is it perfect? No. Is there room for more openess and transparency? Yes. But I still think we should balance our resentment and unhappiness towards the government with apprecitation for what it has achieved. So lets not always get caught up on what is the perfect democracy for Singapore and focus on what political system works in Singapore.
Who am I?
Probably should intro myself abit furhter. I'm not working for the government nor am I am monitoring the forum for them, trust me, they have smarter people than me analysing the forums and are aware of the anti-establisment sentiments here.
I am from the middle class of Singapore. My residence is in a HDB flat. I am a degree holder and I have been blessed to have been able to live and study in Australia, I mention this because I have observed their politics over there and therefore I can say that a westernized democracy is not always the best. I've lived and worked in Beijing where even though there is political restrictions unheard of in Singapore, one gets a sense the communist government is essentially trying to ensure growth and well being of its country.
I am aware of the plights of many Singaporeans, I have done much voluntary work locally and abroad. I also see that there are many government backed NGOs and initiatives that support the less fortunate. However, one also has to understand that personal decisions can also lead to one living a very hard life, no matter how much support you give them. With show like Life Transformers- what you dont always see is the decisions that the families have made throughout their life time that get them to where they are at. Yes I sympathise with the less fortunate, but at times it is up to themselves to pull themselves out of the their current circumstances, and help is avaliable.
Singapore=Hitler regime? And Singapore sucks?
Are you serious? I hope not. You should have another (and much closer) look at the political conditions that the people of Germany lived in that time. Your viewpoint is rather extreme.
As mentioned is Singapore perfect? No. Does it suck? Hmmm... Well, it has one of the highest income per capita in the world. One of the least corrupted governments in the world. 96% home ownership- another highest in the world. Seems to me its not too bad a place to live in. Try living overseas for a while and maybe you'll appreciate S'pore abit more.
we have some hard core ghamen supporters here in our midst........praising the ghamen policies now and then...
so that makes a balance aint it..... supporters praise and non supporters KPKB....
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:we have some hard core ghamen supporters here in our midst........praising the ghamen policies now and then...
so that makes a balance aint it..... supporters praise and non supporters KPKB....
i still dunno which side i'm on ![]()
try backside...![]()
Originally posted by Joachimchen:
Hey all
I'm new to SG forums! Great to see an active community posting their thoughts and opinions so candidly! Who said freedom of speech is dead in Singapore?
NB: the author does not work in the civil service and is not propogating a biased view of the Singapore government. He just really is proud of Singapore. : )
To the TS,
Forummers are right, your post serves to humor people for a wonderful friday.
I shall reciprocate and humor you with some of my comments, by spending some of my precious friday time on it.
You-Said in Green. I-Reply in Blue.
Hey all
>>> You are new? Are you not Gazelle? ok lah, i act blur also to play the game with you. and it starts now!
Just though I'd post some thoughts that have been burning in my mind the past few years.
>>> "Just though I'd post some thoughts" what talking you?
I'm a Singaporean, born and bred and I'm damn proud of Singapore. Politically, I am happy with the way the government has tried to raise the quality of life for its citizens and create a sustainable economy. Is it a perfect government? Definitely not! Has it made mistakes? Of course! Can it go easier on the opposition? Maybe.
>>> Who is not a singaporean here? You only is singaporean ? Are you sure you understand politics to be happy with the way things are?
But I'd question the views of some who would like Singapore to be a democracy more like the US and similar western countries. Does a Confucian culture like ours really suit a western style democracy?
>>> What prove are you basing to say that some would like that specific kind of democracy? People are just begging for more freedom. More does not mean all hell break lose. More like what happen to the monies. Even if so, don't democratic citizens have the right choose the system they want? Must all think the same and say the same as you? Even loving couples can have different party of choice and disagree on many things. Who are you to demand that we become like you? You do not want to live in a democracy? Even if you go to IRAQ, they have a democracy there also and their alternative party is strong and alive.
>>>Confucian culture? My friend is singapore indian leh. You cannot say like that. This system may and can change if my friend an indian singaporean runs and wins election. So, should not say Confucian now means forever.
One only has to look at Taiwan and maybe the Philippines to see that a western democracy may not work in Singapore. Can a small country and resource-less country like S'pore really prosper without the ability to plan ahead due to ever changing governments? Can it attract FDI with a unstable political climate?
>>>You have made several sweeping statements and this is one big one. Despite TW's style and culture , it is one of the 4 Tigers of Asia remember? That proves its economy was booming with the kind of system TW has. It proves that different flavors of democracy can also experience economic boom. Thus, your statement is fundamentally flawed. TW's size, culture, economies, markets and demographics is different than singapore. They have farmers in the south and middle. There are many who do not need education to survive as farmers. Many uneducated are manipulated to even support leaders who have committed crimes. Many could have accepted bribes. Sg is different than TW. Most of us are educated. For their ricebowl, they can will say anything and do anything. So, though manipulatable potentially, SG and TW are different. Its sweeping statement to blame it on democracy. singapore is also based on democracy. There are commonalities in all forms of democracies. Democracy is a concept. A system that is based on one form of democracy may be altered and implemented in a way that not all will not want change to it. No one is asking for fights in the parl. No one is asking for riots. These are not democracy. These are brawls and riots to be handled by the police, law and order.
"Can it attract FDI with a unstable political climate" <-- another big sweeping statement . Why you like to come from behind? Tell me is USA a democracy having strong Alternative and Ruling party? do they debate a lot and strongly?
Is USA politically unstable? Please admit that you are making a sweeping statement. Only a child will believe you.
Why not focus on the good the government has done for Singapore? We have transformed ourselves from a third world nation to a first in a lifetime. With the majority of country having themselves and their offspring alleviated in their quality of life. Do we actually understand the enormity of that accomplishment?
>>>> who is not focussing on the good that is done? Are we not told to EXCEL? To aim higher , better, more? Constant improvement! Never be Complacent! No one owes you a living! Many simply have expected that as minimum expectations due to highest renumeration reasons. singaporeans expect value for money. Is that dirty words? Is that wrong? In private sector, or any sector, if you cannot perform, you are out. No One Owes You a Living. Btw, while you sweep across your statements, I like to remind you : Without the cooperation of the people .... fill up the blanks. Fortunately, singaporeans are so unique that regardless of which and how many countries have opted for CHANGE, it may never change due to the majority and I suspect you ....r ....very....mee....siam...also...
Whew! I do think Singaporeans do sometimes forget how blessed we are to have a government that tries its best. I look forward to hearing your replies.
>>> Can they try harder to disclose the TC investments? We only know the few percent that sank into Lehman. What about the rest investments? What is the hum to disclose? TC got competitor to anticipate moves? I never forget how we the people have contributed to the growth.
>>> whether you are biased or not, everyone knows, including yourself.
Btw, people in a democracy who agree to disagree may or maynot also be patriots. Again, you are sweeping. But I shall respect your views, whatever it is...I believe singaporeans simply have not experienced revolutionary changes and other freedoms of democracy for them to understand what real world is all about. Real world = Different Opinions = not illegal but educational and honesty and no bias.
whew.. patriots? Glad i am still consider a patriot... and not a rebel.
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:whew.. patriots? Glad i am still consider a patriot... and not a rebel.
no no, u not a patriot, u r a parrot
">>> You are new? Are you not Gazelle? ok lah, i act blur also to play the game with you. and it starts now!"
!!!
TS, you post in the wrong forum, should just go PAP's website to post this thread. May be PAP will give you reduction of tax for your thread, ha ha ha!!!
hey mei mei...there is no parrot here. u want parrot go petshop or birdpark.
U a volunteer spokesperson from pap??
Originally posted by Fantagf:TS, you post in the wrong forum, should just go PAP's website to post this thread. May be PAP will give you reduction of tax for your thread, ha ha ha!!!
why not post your threads at the SDP website: http://yoursdp.org/index.php/component/content/frontpage
may i politely ask why is it that others cannot do the things you are doing?
and you cannot answer my questions?
is speaker's corner a opposition run forum?