This voluntary post is to help fellow citizens to make an informed decision on what courses they should upgrade towards, espacially for those who are not employed, and using the public fund assistances. You only have one chance to get it right. Here goes:-
A. Industries that are critical, neccessary and will survive even in a crisis:-
1. Medical and Healthcare industries.
2. Civil Service: govt, education, defense, home affairs, environment, etc.
3. Essential Items production/manafacturing/logistics industry - food, water, energy, sanitation, physical effects, clothing, etc, by cheap but well known and marketed brands/companies.
4. Mass transportation services - buses, MRT, low budget air travel.
5. Social services - charities, community development, NGOs.
6. Security
7. Cleaning services.
8. Advertising industry:- design, production, events.
9. Media services
10. Legal services
11. Accountancy.
12. Postal services
13. Research and developement
14. Euducation/office supplies
15. Household repairs - sanitation and electrical
B. Industries that will face a slowdown in a crisis:-
1. Banking:- but will revert to its traditional role and deal less in exotic financial products.
2. Logistic services including private transportation
3. Standard Aviation services
4. Marine and Port services.
5. Entertainment services
6. Construction
7. Engineering
C. Industries that will remain stagnant
1. Property
2. Insurance
3. Vehicle trade inclusive of repairs.
4. Retail
5. Non-essential item production - snack foods, restaurants, foodcourt, etc
6. Electronic manufacturing industry
7. Tourism
8. Investments
D. Industries to watch out for:-
These industries will be the ones which will lift economies out of the crisis and will be tech-driven, but still under development, underwraps and yet to be mass marketed.
1. Products ( Scientific ) that will improve our health
2. Products that will be energy efficient, that are cheap and readily adopted by masses.
3. Products (Gadgets) that will improve our productivity
4. Exploration with emphasis on finding raw resources, inclusive of planetary bodies.
This list is by no means exhaustive, but the point is - ensure you go for courses which will enhance your employablity in this current crisis.
While I am thankful that our elected representatives had thrown open the door to our treasury, this gift from our forefathers who had supported and squirrelled their hardearned money is meant for the next generation in social spending.
Personally, I feel guilty and ashamed using it, for these money is meant for our new baby citizens, their education, their needs, and for our aged, our old, and our sick.
The only way i can assuge this guilt is to ensure that what i had received, I will make sure it will help me during this crisis and be able to quadraple the amount given and give it back to the treasury to ensure our young and old are protected.
I hope everyone of us citizens will do this. We are no longer animals of the wild where the strongest survive, but live in a civilised society where the strong must and will protect the weak.
We are weak now, and are being protected by the savings and contributions of our forefathers, and when we are strong again, we must remember the debt we owe, regardless of whoever administers the nation.
It is our society, the majority, that is paramount and where our allegience lay.
We are an import dependant nation. You will have realized that whatever purchases we made, it is for products manufactured elsewhere, eg- cars from Japan, textile from India, bags from China, etc.
Effectively, when we apply the Keynesian methods to save our domestic economy, we not only save our importers and traders, we also helped save other countries' citizens, a mere drop, but a drop nevertheless.
Thus, in order that we save our exporting industry, we must spread the word to them, to tell them to spend rationally as well, explain the reasons to them too.
Then no one there needs to be retrenched. You only need to tell this to one friend, and ask them for a promise to tell to another the same, be him/her a fellow citizen, malaysian, american or congolese.
In this manner, theoratically, within months, all humans on our planet would have understood and the financial crisis will be over. Some companies will fold, as a recession will show up the excesses and failures of managements.
The workers will be laid off, but they will be able to find alternative employment with more efficient companies as the market recovers.
Individual govt actions can only do so much to stimulate their economies. But it will be the citizens, who must have confidence, must rationally spend, circulate their money and not hoard it, that will save our world.
Please do not believe that you are insignificant, a mere speck in the air, and can't help. You are vital and important to our race - the human race. Had always been. Saving the world begins with you if you do this.
If you don't this, then...our spending...and our funds....would have been...... in .....vain...........
from the states ?
sure anot? I will say not applicable here.
maybe Intercourse will be more appropriate in here. Yeah
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:maybe Intercourse will be more appropriate in here. Yeah
Why all making fun? The infomation can be useful.
not making fun lah... i think all the courses thing is an international joke. try upgrading loh and see if employer will want you anot.... later become over qualified then maybe more jia lak. no one dares to take you?
or maybe consider taking another downgrade skill and become a road sweeper?
all crap lah.. in this economy where companies are all closing down and retrenching, upgrading wont get anyone anywhere at this point in time. maybe can go other country and see if got job anot?
You don't have to show all of your qualifications. Just show those that are necessary.
Please lah.
In singapore when they say upgrading it actually means lowering your expectations and taking on lower paying jobs for those with no paper qualifications.
Only that the word "upgrading" makes it sound better. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Please lah.
In singapore when they say upgrading it actually means lowering your expectations and taking on lower paying jobs for those with no paper qualifications.
Only that the word "upgrading" makes it sound better.
Oh really?
"UPGRADING" u mean like those MUP in HDB? pls lah.... always twisting the words trying to fool a 3yr old kid.
Incompetency become complacent. Lower expectation is called UPGRADING. What's next?
Tax increase called "BLESSING fm ghamen???"
Originally posted by charlize:Please lah.
Only that the word "upgrading" makes it sound better.
You know the way they work so well. Some who go for the upgrading still cannot find jobs gave feedback that jobs given to foreigners.
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:"UPGRADING" u mean like those MUP in HDB? pls lah.... always twisting the words trying to fool a 3yr old kid.
Incompetency become complacent. Lower expectation is called UPGRADING. What's next?
Weird
new singlish terms...........
left pocket to right pocket.
want people to study upgrade at their centre, them claim S$4/hr
who benifi, GLC
learn UK GST down by 2.5% from 17.5% to 15%
increase income tax.
learn Taiwan give money direct to people, do not direct people how to spend money, just spend
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:"UPGRADING" u mean like those MUP in HDB? pls lah.... always twisting the words trying to fool a 3yr old kid.
They have to be that way to bluff their way thru if not how to get people to vote them.
Originally posted by zaxis:left pocket to right pocket.
want people to study upgrade at their centre, them claim S$4/hr
who benifi, GLC
learn UK GST down by 2.5% from 17.5% to 15%
increase income tax.
learn Taiwan give money direct to people, do not direct people how to spend money, just spend
the taiwan govt very generous, they are also giving the consumer vouches to foreign spouses who have no ID in taiwan. They give but never expect the people to show them their money first. Over here to receive the money from the incompetent lee hsien loong there must be money in the CPF account. Same goes to when they give baby bonus. IN sg, the govt want you to show them your money first, no money no talk.
"We the sillizens of sillypor"
"Screw ourselves up as one united pple"
Some1 continue pls................
Its easy to say just switch line after get retrenched.
Why should companies hire someone who is new to a line that he just switched to?
Older than younger FTs?
How much they require for salary compare to FT?
Why should companies hire ?
Need to time-off annually for some 'nobel sacrifice'?
Got family, kids and house to pay off?
Is it pro-biz environment?
Why why why ? Tell me why would companies not hire FTs who can do contract, are cheaper and younger and endless in supply? why why why
hokkien say: Chui Gong Lan Pa Song.......
FT need not direct family problem, as their family is far back home, they expect us to stay inside jurong island, shop eat shit there, when in need ,can go woodlands safari jungle settle , can do can smell fresh grass, need not book value, hit and walk away.
with pocket more money can settle geylang, lower grade Joo chait, even lower Takka serangoon back lane where lady recently murdered.
welcome to the jungle