Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:how come my becomes double post ?? I only key once ..
you have also auction off your feel on ebay already?
Geesh... it's about time I raise my own salary.
When the ministerial wage increase was announced in the first quarter of 2007, it was also mentioned that by end-2008 - there will be a second increase to be implemented.
Surely, the Government will not dare to implement the second step to their ministerial wage increase plans that have been cleverly immersed into the Civil Servants pay scheme ?
Starting salaries in civil service to increase by 16%
By Dominique Loh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 09 April 2007 2215 hrs
SINGAPORE : Starting salaries for fresh graduates in the civil service will go up by 10 percent for those under the Management Executive Scheme.
For those already in policy development, corporate services and operations work, salaries will be adjusted up by 16 percent.
Wages for uniformed officers in the Home Affairs Ministry will go up by between 4 percent and 5 percent
SAF personnel will also see similar income adjustments, while those in the Foreign Service will get an 8 percent pay rise.
These salaries are all benchmarked against the private sector.
The salaries of most senior permanent secretaries are based on the top eight earners from six professions.
Their incomes are then sorted accordingly. The median income earner is picked out, and that income is multiplied by two-thirds.
Just after the September 11 attacks in the US, ministers and senior civil servants took a 10 percent pay cut.
After the SARS outbreak, they took another 10 percent cut. But these pay cuts were completely restored by 2005. Since then, there were no pay adjustments.
In the MR4 grade for a minister's salary, the benchmark of 55 percent in 2006 has now inched up to 73 percent at $1.59 million.
"Given the large gap, it is not realistic to close the gap fully in one go. Instead, we will close half of the current gap, that is, from 55% of the benchmark to 77% of the benchmark by the end of this year. This will be effected in two steps - one step now, and another step at the end of this year," said Teo Chee Hean, Minister-in-Charge of Civil Service and Defence Minister.
"Next year, we aim to close half of the remaining gap, bringing salaries to 88% of the benchmark by end 2008."
Another benchmark is for the lowest superscale grade - for those entering the senior ranks.
Six professions are first chosen. Their incomes are also sorted and the 15th income is picked.
For this SR9 grade or superscale, the 2006 salary of $371,900 benchmarked at 103 percent is now pegged at 106 percent.
"There is no perfect method for doing this benchmarking. The methodology of establishing these two market benchmarks at SR9 and MR4 was set out in the White Paper on 'Competitive Salaries for Competent and Honest Government' in 1994," said Mr Teo.
"We have looked carefully at the benchmarks again, and have found that they remain sound. They follow economic and employment market conditions. After calculating the benchmark figure, we also do a check against private sector income earners. The ranking of the benchmark against the private sector earners is stable and does not fluctuate widely."
The wage revisions will cost the government $214 million. - CNA /ls
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/269384/1/.html
Our gahmen's pay is a peanut compared to the rest of the world.
Our gahmen reveals their salary, unlike other gahmen in the world who doesnt reveal their own salary.
$8000.00 per day = $333/- per hr
Breakdown figures for doing the following in a day:
Sleeping at night 6.5 hrs $2000/-
Morning toilet 20 mins 110/-
Breakfast 30 mins 160/-
Lunch 1 hr 320/-
Dinner 1.5 hr 480/-
Working hrs (9-5) 8 hrs 2660/-
Sub total $5730/-
Bull sh...t here & there 6 hrs 2270/-
Grand total $8000/-
I only passed my arithmetic - correct me if the Nos are incorrect. Thank you.
I believe our PM works for longer than 8 hours.
At least that was what happened for LKY. I heard that he slept very very little each night to work while being PM. My source is from an old lady whose dad was once a secretary to LKY, and whose name was mentioned in LKY's memoirs.
Originally posted by eagle:I believe our PM works for longer than 8 hours.
At least that was what happened for LKY. I heard that he slept very very little each night to work while being PM. My source is from an old lady whose dad was once a secretary to LKY, and whose name was mentioned in LKY's memoirs.
I supposed those were the times of the old guards who join politic for the sake of the people and not the money !!!
He was busy drafting laws to propagate his dynasty, after he is a lawyer? ![]()
The kind of "work" he does is also questionable, he could be doing his own reading to increase his own knowledge. I don't know, I sleep very little too, but does it mean I am working for my boss.
Most of the work are delegated to the high level folks in the different Ministries, these folks will probably submit their proposal and he reviews it, maybe he was reviewing their proposal. ![]()
It is difficult for anyone to be a master of all trade, this statement stands for even Einstein & Feynman.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
He was busy drafting laws to propagate his dynasty, after he is a lawyer?
The kind of "work" he does is also questionable, he could be doing his own reading to increase his own knowledge. I don't know, I sleep very little too, but does it mean I am working for my boss.
Most of the work are delegated to the high level folks in the different Ministries, these folks will probably submit their proposal and he reviews it, maybe he was reviewing their proposal.
It is difficult for anyone to be a master of all trade, this statement stands for even Einstein & Feynman.
I think at that time, they were really for the country. I read the memoirs written by that old lady about her dad. Damn inspiring.
I pm you the name... Don't want to say it out, cuz that kind old lady (60 odd) and her mum (90 odd) still around...
Originally posted by eagle:I believe our PM works for longer than 8 hours.
Thanks for the info but if u were to add in the 6 hrs under 'Bull ........here & there' there will be a total of 14 hrs out of 24 hrs.
Originally posted by eagle:I think at that time, they were really for the country. I read the memoirs written by that old lady about her dad. Damn inspiring.
I pm you the name... Don't want to say it out, cuz that kind old lady (60 odd) and her mum (90 odd) still around...
can you pm me the names too ? me want to read also .
The memoirs is private la... pm name, but there's nothing much online to see
Originally posted by eagle:The memoirs is private la... pm name, but there's nothing much online to see
you cannot buy ??
Originally posted by jay_rocks:Our gahmen's pay is a peanut compared to the rest of the world.
Our gahmen reveals their salary, unlike other gahmen in the world who doesnt reveal their own salary.
u know why i'm ![]()
only $8,000 per day - cheap pay lah
1 fortnight COE already collect about $40m on average $10K each
$40m /14 days = S$2.85m per day, still got plenty of change
let us pay him to think of more avenues to make money out from us
We are rich enough to let him keep the change
well well well
Salary of SG is always a hot topics.
May i draw your attention to the bailout prices just in USA.
Chee Soon Juan said in his SDP web site students from USA
uni can think.Those from SG uni cannot think.
Yes,Yankees U grad can think,leading to the current messy situation.
The bail out cost in USA is estimated from US 7 trillion to 25 trillion,
ie from 56% to 200% of USA GDP.This is equal to US$23,000
to 83,000 per capita.
UK---how much for the bailout for North Rock Bank?
2.SG high salary is less than 1 % of GDP
U have seen the consequences of a lot of past and current
regional leaders's low paid!!We all are human.
We will be greedy if u or i in the position.
Taiwan Chen is the latest example!!
Our neighbours.....u read yourself lah....
GOOD THING IS NOT CHEAP.
CHEAP IS NOT GOOD.
oh no!!!!
lion attacks forumer in sgForums!!! ![]()
got chased out of one forum then come into another forum to create havoc. ![]()
If cheap is not good, then the government should stop importing those FTs en masse. ![]()
Another self defeating statement.
Originally posted by maurizio13:
If cheap is not good, then the government should stop importing those FTs en masse.
Another self defeating statement.
Wah you damn power leh.
You bother to read and still can understand.
Geez.. so much pessimism.
Why would it be wrong to pay the top executives of a country 2/3 what they would earn if they had gone into the private sector as similar level executives?
Why all the negativity when the system has served us well?- we are consistently the top five least corrupted nation in the world. Especially when nations in our region who do not pay their leaders well have many top level ministers in the midst of corruption and graft?
It seems it is always easier to be cynical and think that top level execs and ministers dun deserve their pay. But on the other hand, we dun see the long hours, the loss of privacy, the loss of time w family and spouse etc. In addition, if a company goes bust, people lose jobs, when a country goes bust, people lose lives. Let's be fair and consider this.
Originally posted by eagle:Wah you damn power leh.
You bother to read and still can understand.
I swear on my life I didn't read everything, it's just his capitalised words caught my eye. ![]()
GOOD THING IS NOT CHEAP.
CHEAP IS NOT GOOD.
Pay the price for a Ferrari and get a Toyota, according to the lion that would be good. ![]()
In that case, for the last month I should be happy paying for $0.30 per kwh electricity, as compared to lesser charges in other Asian and Australasia countries.
Originally posted by Joachimchen:Geez.. so much pessimism.
Why would it be wrong to pay the top executives of a country 2/3 what they would earn if they had gone into the private sector as similar level executives?
Why all the negativity when the system has served us well?- we are consistently the top five least corrupted nation in the world. Especially when nations in our region who do not pay their leaders well have many top level ministers in the midst of corruption and graft?
It seems it is always easier to be cynical and think that top level execs and ministers dun deserve their pay. But on the other hand, we dun see the long hours, the loss of privacy, the loss of time w family and spouse etc. In addition, if a company goes bust, people lose jobs, when a country goes bust, people lose lives. Let's be fair and consider this.
Served us well? Really? Care to elaborate?
With them earning this much, might as well just let us stay as fishing villages rite? No stress.
KNNCCB.
And for some strange reason, I find the part about being least corrupt funny for some reason. No idea why.
hey hey Pentaxdudue90...chill on e swearing. Hard to do balanced debates when passion overwhelms logic.
The salary package for ministers has been part of the of a system that has helped us stay as the top five least corrupted govts (rated by independent international agencies) for many years. High salary attracts talent, talent that could have gone into the private sector for a job that has more pay, less responsibility and less intrusion of privacy. Does this automatically mean that the ministers we get are only money hungry? Of course not! It means it levels the playing field when these talents are deciding if they want to go into public life. Also, with the succession system of the govt, from grassroot to cabinet, there is a filtering system in place to try to ensure we have good people in place as ministers.
High salary, harsh grafts punishments, a leadership filtering system are but a few of the mechanisms that have helped us stay almost corruption free for so long. Look at the govts of our regional neighbours- philippines, malaysia, taiwan, indoneasia (most corrupted cty in the world by the way) and thailand and how volatile their country's fortunes have been due to ineffective govt. Compare them to s'pore which had managed to consistently put forth a steady, matured and stable govt that sets and implements foresighted policies. So I am not sure how one can say this system has not served us well?
No wonder Dr. Chee Soon Juan tries so hard to get into politics.. that 8K a day would cover the defamation suits in no time.