Originally posted by Joachimchen:Geez.. so much pessimism.
Why would it be wrong to pay the top executives of a country 2/3 what they would earn if they had gone into the private sector as similar level executives?
Why should it be right to pay anyone on a scale which is grossly excessive by any rational standards adopted by their counterparts anywhere else on this planet (including countries whose GDP significantly dwarfs your beloved regime's)?
More pertinently, on what basis are you assuming these "top executives" are every bit as capable as the "similar level executives" (whose achievements are perfectly transparent and mandates completely accountable to their boards) in the "private sector" when their mandate is effectively self-given?
Imagine telling your boss, "I can get paid more in another company than working in your company." ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Imagine telling your boss, "I can get paid more in another company than working in your company."
...or the CEO telling the shareholders... you don't pay up (GST, ERP) we will send to police to your house and get the court to issue you a warrant of arrest.
...and persecuting other candidates for his (CEO) post...
Originally posted by de_middle:u know why i'm
Even AFTER a 19% pay cut, our PM is STILL the highest paid minister of the world as compared to the salaries of 7 world leaders COMBINED.
Singapore officials claimed that high salaries to retain talented (really?) individuals and to prevent corruption.
How does the government of other countries retain talented individuals and prevent corruption then?
|
Country
|
osition
|
Name
|
Salary (US dollars)
|
|
US
|
President
|
Barack Obama
|
$400,000
|
|
Australia
|
Prime Minister
|
Kevin Rudd
|
$330,300
|
|
France
|
President
|
Nicolas Sarkozy
|
$320,000
|
|
Germany
|
Chancellor
|
Angela Merkel
|
$320,000
|
|
Canada
|
Prime Minister
|
Stephen Harper
|
$280,000
|
|
UK
|
Prime Minister
|
Gordon Brown
|
$260,000
|
|
Russia
|
Prime Minister
|
Vladimir Putin
|
$81,190
|
|
Total salary of 7 world leaders:
|
$1,671,490
|
||
|
Singapore
|
Prime Minister
|
Lee Hsien Loong
|
$2,000,000
|
Originally posted by Starseven:Even AFTER a 19% pay cut, our PM is STILL the highest paid minister of the world as compared to the salaries of 7 world leaders COMBINED.
Singapore officials claimed that high salaries to retain talented (really?) individuals and to prevent corruption.
How does the government of other countries retain talented individuals and prevent corruption then?
CountryositionNameSalary (US dollars)USPresidentBarack Obama$400,000AustraliaPrime MinisterKevin Rudd$330,300FrancePresidentNicolas Sarkozy$320,000GermanyChancellorAngela Merkel$320,000CanadaPrime MinisterStephen Harper$280,000UKPrime MinisterGordon Brown$260,000RussiaPrime MinisterVladimir Putin$81,190Total salary of 7 world leaders:$1,671,490SingaporePrime MinisterLee Hsien Loong$2,000,000
Ermmm.....all these renowned leaders from the western world are all corrupt. ![]()
Singapore Ministers are not corrupt, they don't work for money, they work for the people. ![]()
I wonder if any of the foreign PMs or Presidents have asked our PM in private how come he earns so much more than them. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:I wonder if any of the foreign PMs or Presidents have asked our PM in private how come he earns so much more than them.
Don't think they dare ask, I mean won't they feel humiliated, I certainly would. ![]()
I can betcha that the Junta in Myanmar makes more than those western democratic leaders too.
Originally posted by eagle:Adam Khoo claims he earn $2000 per hour just by speaking
but our PM dun even need to speak 4 hrs per day leh..
Singapore's highest paid comedian. ![]()
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ka6bxFw4pSY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ka6bxFw4pSY&feature=related
Live to afew million people in the UK. ![]()
I don't know how will UK folks look at Singaporeans after this. ![]()
Originally posted by Starseven:Even AFTER a 19% pay cut, our PM is STILL the highest paid minister of the world as compared to the salaries of 7 world leaders COMBINED.
CountryositionNameSalary (US dollars)USPresidentBarack Obama$400,000AustraliaPrime MinisterKevin Rudd$330,300FrancePresidentNicolas Sarkozy$320,000GermanyChancellorAngela Merkel$320,000CanadaPrime MinisterStephen Harper$280,000UKPrime MinisterGordon Brown$260,000RussiaPrime MinisterVladimir Putin$81,190Total salary of 7 world leaders:$1,671,490SingaporePrime MinisterLee Hsien Loong$2,000,000
for politician in other country, they don't get very high pay, but they are still very rich...
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
but our PM dun even need to speak 4 hrs per day leh..
Apparently he doesn't comment on anything.
From MS escape to Minibonds fiasco, the absence was deafening. ![]()
The less he speaks, the less comedy he makes of himself, less mee siam mai hum and chilies & onions. ![]()
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Singapore's highest paid comedian.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ka6bxFw4pSY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ka6bxFw4pSY&feature=related
Live to afew million people in the UK.
I don't know how will UK folks look at Singaporeans after this.
Some of the comments claim that there is such a thing.
Maybe planted by incumbent party to add legitimacy to his comments? ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Some of the comments claim that there is such a thing.
Maybe planted by incumbent party to add legitimacy to his comments?
These days, with a compliant press and media, you can get away with murder. ![]()
chatting with my hk staff few days ago...... was telling them our PM got higher pay than US president.. then they ask mi... ur MP and PM not suppose to be serving the nation one meh??.. i also dunno how to answer them...
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):chatting with my hk staff few days ago...... was telling them our PM got higher pay than US president.. then they ask mi... ur MP and PM not suppose to be serving the nation one meh??.. i also dunno how to answer them...
You tell them if we didn't have a PM and ministers with million dollar salaries, you would be working as a maid in HK cleaning your staffs' apartments. ![]()
Judging from the disparity in paychecks, Barack Obama with his presidency in Harvard Law Review, magna cum laude and professorship in law would seem subservient to LHL. ![]()
I wonder with LHL intellectual prowess.
Did he give any insightful advice to Barack Obama on how to solve the financial crisis?
Also
Would Barack Obama ROTFLHFBAO thereafter?
i bet the other PMs of the world are writing to our gahmen's HR dept. to look for a new job. :D
Obama says "Yes, we can"
Our PM says, "Sure, but those are just words you utter in America. In Singapore, Yes, we can really means yes, we can" ![]()
Originally posted by deathmaster:i bet the other PMs of the world are writing to our gahmen's HR dept. to look for a new job. :D
sorry hor .. only foreigners can work in singapore and snatch singapore jobs .. but foreigners cannot work for government hor .. by lee family
Originally posted by charlize:Obama says "Yes, we can"
Our PM says, "Sure, but those are just words you utter in America. In Singapore, Yes, we can really means yes, we can"
LHL thinking too mind bogglingly confusing for me liao. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:You tell them if we didn't have a PM and ministers with million dollar salaries, you would be working as a maid in HK cleaning your staffs' apartments.
nabei... dun see the link leh.... come come.. let mi see how u can link this..![]()
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
nabei... dun see the link leh.... come come.. let mi see how u can link this..
Tsk tsk, you don't know who came up with this line of thinking?
I let other people point you in the right direction.
Or you can google it. ![]()