Originally posted by cherrycola:Why not?
Just asking.
I am be speculating but is the parents controlling too much liao? I mean 15 years old, 15! he can't even make decision on his own CCA? I remember myself totally dun give a sh*t to what my parents say and quit all my CCA by end of Sec 3 and this kid can't even change his CCA? ![]()
stupid boy.... rebel so what.... cannot even enjoy the "rebellion"
hmm. i realise that.. parents who wants to run their kids lives the way they want it, never seems to go well.
i don't really like how parents have this idealistic view of how their kids are going to grow up, using them to realise their own unfulfilled dreams etc..
sigh. they never learn, do they
Originally posted by anonymous_dickhead:btw.. CCA counts for admission to JC.
I remember that something was changed though.
Kids do not owe their parents or their school a living, glory or medals. The latter two have a responsibility to him and to society though to nurture them properly...they didn't let him explore his interest in theatre, for fear of not gaining more medals, and resilience was obviously lacking in him.
Originally posted by octega:I am be speculating but is the parents controlling too much liao? I mean 15 years old, 15! he can't even make decision on his own CCA? I remember myself totally dun give a sh*t to what my parents say and quit all my CCA by end of Sec 3 and this kid can't even change his CCA?
u'll be surprised that there are some parents who have this "my way or the highway mentality". at best, the kids grow up without learning how to make decisions or have an opinion, at worst, suicide.
so my advice to all parents are, "if you think that so long as your intentions are good and that's all that matters, the ends justifies the means, i hope that mentality comforts you when you're hosting your kids' funeral"
Originally posted by Beautiful951:
You would let him change if your the parent?
My son asked to change from scout to computer to don't know what la... imagine uniform bought, now not using .. wasting of money but that's not his interest what... so let him change lor .. until he find something that he really like lor... why not ? I don't why the parent would listen to the teacher instead of the son ....
this incident has shown two things:
1) there are an increasing group of people who are weak in the mind, who cannot face obstacles, difficulties without putting on a brave front. he should sit down and discuss with his parents properly. i fully understand why his parents want him to join track and field. even if they insist on their way, there are other ways to release the stress like listening to music, taking up drama as "merit cca" or doing it as a hobby and stlil continue with track. he has shown himself to be mentally weak in making decisions and even took his own life over a trivial matter. whether the cca case is an isolated incident has no relation.
2) to take his own life is an extremely selfish act to his parents. his parents worked hard to nurture him and pinned expectations on him to become a fine young athlete. he is not considering his parent's well-being and feelings when he commits suicide. the fault should not be put on his parents, maybe his parents have their own reasoning and beliefs as to why he should join track and field.
there are many more things to life than just choosing your cca. his priorities in life are not right and he cannot expect everything in life to go his way.
i have no cca and i am living fine
Originally posted by mrvictor:2) to take his own life is an extremely selfish act to his parents. his parents worked hard to nurture him and pinned expectations on him to become a fine young athlete. he is not considering his parent's well-being and feelings when he commits suicide. the fault should not be put on his parents, maybe his parents have their own reasoning and beliefs as to why he should join track and field.
He didn't ask to be born. He's just the side effect of one night of unprotected pleasure.
They reap what they sow and bear the fruit of raising him up their way.
CCAs may be useful to get into some particular faculties. It helps for medicine and law.
This story is so sad - it's almost exactly like Dead Poets Society. I don't know how the parents are going to live with themselves from now. That's going to be really tough for them too.
Originally posted by First Five-Eights:CCAs may be useful to get into some particular faculties. It helps for medicine and law.
This story is so sad - it's almost exactly like Dead Poets Society. I don't know how the parents are going to live with themselves from now. That's going to be really tough for them too.
hmm, atone by treating the daughter better, and learn when to be strict, and when to let the child make their own decisions?
I guess its not just the CCA. I would gather that he is a troubled boy and unfortunately took the wrong way to make a statement about his troubles. When he said he wanted to commit a crime to show the world, he's crying out for attention but getting none of the kind he wants. I am rebellious to a certain extent in which I would go do certain things just to get a point across if I find that talking doesnt help but I guess this boy just did not know where to draw the line. Its sad.
He died over CCA.. So sad..
Originally posted by Ms.shells:He died over CCA.. So sad..
he didn't die over CCA.. i think he died because he was sick of having no opinions of his own, and doing everything because his parents want it so
it is sad... and fr the article which says tt they live in a "stevens road condo", they are definitely a well off family.
usually, when kids fr such a gd background rebel, it's cos their parents or other authority figures were too conservative or were nt ard for them when the child needed them.
definitely, parents need to let their kids make their own choices... i tink a lot of parents today, especially those who are busy wif their own lives, jus wan the "convenient" way out... instant obedience... and fail to see tt to get their child to listen to them, they, too, must listen to the child.
even if they tink it's a mistake, must still let the kid make the mistake and experience the consequences for himself or herself.
bloody parents shd jump also
I wonder what was going on in his head when he was free falling down. Was he regretting his actions ? Was his life flashing before him ? Was he cursing his parents ? Was he hoping to to scar his parents for life smiling about it while head first unto the ground ?
mmmm... but anyways, guess we wont find out.
Firstly, why is the window grill not locked? If it is locked, this guy can just go emo in his room. Than after a few hours shd be ok already...-i think lahh
Wow... so who's gonna jump if they got detention?
Originally posted by BadzMaro:I wonder what was going on in his head when he was free falling down. Was he regretting his actions ? Was his life flashing before him ? Was he cursing his parents ? Was he hoping to to scar his parents for life smiling about it while head first unto the ground ?
mmmm... but anyways, guess we wont find out.
hmm, maybe he wasn't thinking anything.. too shocked to think? do u think of anything when u bungee jump?
he didn't die over CCA.. i think he died because he was sick of having no opinions of his own, and doing everything because his parents want it so
Yeah, you're right. I also got a friend who is so fed up with his parents. He can not go out, only can go out for tutoring or with his sister follows him. Go Library also can not!! He told me he hates his parents. Poor thing..
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hmm, maybe he wasn't thinking anything.. too shocked to think? do u think of anything when u bungee jump?
Well.. it depends how fast i am free falling,,
Originally posted by BadzMaro:Well.. it depends how fast i am free falling,,
free falling.. quite fast la. haha. 15 floors nia. take you the most 30 seconds?
we all hate our parents at one stage especially when they are extremely controlling. only solution for me that time was to do what they say, and produce the best results. After that try to wiggle free. lol. but then again, it worked for me cause my parents are working parents. i got smarter n started to exploit the loopholes. lol.. but still producing results. n overtime... =D
but i am sure parents mean well for the kids. just that sometimes while trying to teach us to be independant they try to control us at the same time. So its kinda fuked up.