the retirement age is on the upward trend, and people is retiring later and later... what will be the age you expect to retire?
PARIS - THE French parliament adopted a law on Thursday that will allow people to work until 70 despite criticism from unions and the opposition Socialists that it opens the way to push back the official retirement age.
The government denies the law would force anyone to work beyond the age of 65, the age at which French workers have hitherto been obliged to retire, but says it will allow greater flexibility to those who want to keep working.
The law, which was passed in the lower house earlier this month, was passed by the Senate on Thursday.
Like other industrialised countries, France faces growing pressure on its pension system and has been forced to increase the period for which retirees pay pension contributions to 41 years despite strong opposition from unions.
Under the current system, French workers can retire at the age of 60 if they have paid contributions for a certain number of years. The contribution period is set to rise from 40 to 41 years by 2012. --
Originally posted by eagle:35
let's say everyone in the world study til 20, work for 15 years, than live til 60.
not a bad deal.
I aim to retire by 30 and striving hard toget there!!
In Singapore, you can never retire.
Just like you can never leave Hotel California.![]()
Originally posted by Ageleon:I aim to retire by 30 and striving hard toget there!!
funny, that's what most MLM people says... and almost all of them have to settle for 60, while working in another job.
Originally posted by charlize:In Singapore, you can never retire.
Just like you can never leave Hotel California.
Remember someone said that retirement will lead to death. If possible, he is going to disallow retirement in Singapore but not possible because it is international that countries practise to have retirement. It is no surprise that such words are from the popular tyrant of our country.
prob work till an age tt i feel i can't work anymore... and always make sure got savings in the bank. no specific age one la. who knows what will happen in the future?
actually lots of pple feel sad when they retire. especially guys... like my dad... cos career is a big part of their lives... so there is some truth in what the mm says...
retire at 30, hmm, then what u gonna do for the rest of your life ah?
with such high cost of living, not till you step into coffin.
Originally posted by skythewood:funny, that's what most MLM people says... and almost all of them have to settle for 60, while working in another job.
well it's a dream, a goal with a deadline, and planning what to do with my life right now, maybe read some books from robert t kiyosaki, i'm in mlm not 100% for the money, but if you could remove the money problem wouldn't you have removed a lot of your problems?
Originally posted by Ageleon:well it's a dream, a goal with a deadline, and planning what to do with my life right now, maybe read some books from robert t kiyosaki, i'm in mlm not 100% for the money, but if you could remove the money problem wouldn't you have removed a lot of your problems?
Do not work until you die reserve the last quarter of your life for a good retirement,as a human being you deserve one.From your family genes estimate your own longetivity..For me it is 70 so I want to stop all work at about 55.
can retire meh? the ghamen make you work and next time use the age of the first man Adam as a benchmark for retirement. there you are.. break the statement of retirement will lead to death.
got money can retire
no money cant retire
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:with such high cost of living, not till you step into coffin.
before u actually step into the coffin, be sure to leave some money behind for clearing up ![]()
wah lau..... clearing up after funeral also must be paid by the dead ya? si pei jia lak... die aso not in peace
Originally posted by de_middle:before u actually step into the coffin, be sure to leave some money behind for clearing up
Isn't that what CPF is for?
when the last nail of your coffin gets driven in...
in my case, i will not retire. maybe around 55 or 60, after i have saved up enough for "retirement", i will switch career to something that has always interest me since young, a dream job that i always wanted to pursue but was unable to because its pay or maybe social prestige was lower. this is to maximize my sense of achievement and accomplishment in life. i cannot imagine it but i know it would definitely be good when i finally get to pursue and do what i like to do as a job.
Cheat People's Fund?
Originally posted by gunner77:got money can retire
no money cant retire
I would like to agree with you on this but the fact is that when people make unusually a lot of money they just dont know when to quit
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
I would like to agree with you on this but the fact is that when people make unusually a lot of money they just dont know when to quit
greed got no boundary... just like a snake trying to swallow an elephant.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
if they enjoy the job, why not. if you hate your job, why are you working?
I am working to feed my family.