Nov 30, 2008
MINISTER Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, 85, had a minor surgery on Saturday to implant a cardiac pacemaker, said a statement from the Prime Minister's Office on Sunday. �
The surgery was performed because MM Lee has been experiencing symptoms of cardiac arrhythmia - irregular heart rhythm - which showed up with his atrial flutter on Sept 14.
'He is recovering from the surgery and is expected to be discharged from the hospital on Monday,' said the statement.
MM Lee will still go ahead with his trip to Hong Kong from Monday to Wednesday to have a dialogue session with former President Bill Clinton at his Clinton Global Initiative (CGI) Asia Meeting, accompanied by his doctors.
Atrial flutter is not uncommon among people of his age.
Even when he was warded for an abnormal heart rhythm in September, MM Lee still kept his date with the Global UBS Philanthropy on Forum on Sept 13 night , addressing the 200 participants at the Arts House via video link.
He was discharged a day later.
Mr Lee, who had two operations in 1996 to clear a blocked heart artery, is known to exercise regularly.

I would like to beseech Mr AndrewPKYap to stop his cursing, it appears to be working
[no comment]
Lee Kuan Yew, 85, had a minor surgery on Saturday to implant a cardiac pacemaker, said a statement from the Prime Minister's Office on Sunday.
The surgery was performed because MM Lee has been experiencing symptoms of cardiac arrhythmia - irregular heart rhythm - which showed up with his atrial flutter on Sept 14.
So, Lee Kuan Yew, when are you going to die?
85 years can die already, old enough.
Sorry hor, this one came first....
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Singapore's Lee Kuan Yew in hospital for heart problem - 2 hours ago
30 (Xinhua) -- Singapore's Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew is now in hospital after being implanted a cardiac pacemaker, said a statement by the Prime ...Xinhua - 10 related articles »
The despot is still going to meet Clinton (with doctors in tow) anyway... what an idiot... such a dishonorable and sad figure.
...continue in current thread....
I dont know if the pacemaker is going to slow him down or speed him up.

Dying soon!! lol......cant wait for more public holidays and a better election!
MM Lee will still go ahead with his trip to Hong Kong from Monday to Wednesday to have a dialogue session with former President Bill Clinton at his Clinton Global Initiative (CGI) Asia Meeting, accompanied by his doctors.
I think Lee Kuan Yew should had gone to a dialogue session with God rather than Bill Clinton.
God is more wise also.
... hehehee.. I won't be surprised if he has already planned for a
bionic heart to be implanted when his old one gives up...
.. then what? Kidneys? Liver?
Problem with him is he thinks Death by Nature is stoppable...
and you all are so worried..
I already said it won't be long since early this year... the signs are all there!
With his kind of temperaments, it is hard to stay on longer...
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:So, Lee Kuan Yew, when are you going to die?
85 years can die already, old enough.
You die already he still won't die.
pacemaker now.
bionic heart in the future.
think MM lee is one step closer towards immortality.
what happens to his wife?
has he got a heart?
install pacemaker small thing lah
me dad oso got
i heard iPods can disrupt pacemakers.....
why now-a-day doctor do not go to the roots cause of the problem
heart beat irregular install regulator
it is the blockage of some arcu point of the body not not able to supply regular to heart
resolve the arcu point should better solve heart problem
lately one man review by NUH, result is prepare for kidney washing, but after chinese physi, treatment, body arcu point released can con't supply to kidney, follow up review, he do not require kidney washing from also NUH
Originally posted by shuiling:You die already he still won't die.
unless you can guarantee that poh dies first if not you will have to slap yourself on your face.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:
Dying soon!! lol......cant wait for more public holidays and a better election!
hallelujah! Minor minor, the previous op was also minor. Minor, minor, minor can add up to major/serious. Be careful hor old man lee! Ha ha ha, congratulations!
Originally posted by FireIce:install pacemaker small thing lah
me dad oso got
His one special one lor.
Keep pace with BeeGees "Staying Alive"
actually... he is just an old man who is probably living out the last years of his life... even if u dun like him... dun need to harm ur own karma by wishing for his sooner death... he will leave this world when his time up. it's as simple and as natural as that...
Originally posted by cathykitty:actually... he is just an old man who is probably living out the last years of his life... even if u dun like him... dun need to harm ur own karma by wishing for his sooner death... he will leave this world when his time up. it's as simple and as natural as that...
you can't stop people on this, death is a natural thing. there are always good and ill wishes, so let it be, no fuss , really.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
you can't stop people on this, death is a natural thing. there are always good and ill wishes, so let it be, no fuss , really.
ya true. :) hehe nt a big fan of his also la. jus feel a bit sorry for him...