WASHINGTON - President George W. Bush expressed remorse that the global financial crisis has cost jobs and harmed retirement accounts and said he'll back more government intervention if needed to ease the recession
"I'm sorry it's happening, of course," Bush said in a wide-ranging interview with ABC's "World News," which was airing Monday. "Obviously I don't like the idea of people losing jobs, or being worried about their 401(k)s. On the other hand, the American people got to know that we will safeguard the system. I mean, we're in. And if we need to be in more, we will."
The U.S. economy fell into a recession in December 2007, the National Bureau of Economic Research reported on Monday. Many economists believe the current downturn will last until the middle of 2009 and will be the most severe slump since the 1981-82 recession.
On the war in Iraq, Bush said the biggest regret of his presidency was the "intelligence failure" regarding the extent of the Saddam Hussein threat to the United States. With the support of Congress, Bush ordered the U.S.-led invasion of Iraq in March 2003 _ a decision largely justified on grounds _ later proved false _ that Saddam was building weapons of mass destruction.
Asked if he would have ordered the U.S.-led invasion if intelligence reports had accurately indicated that Saddam did not have the weapons, Bush replied: "You know, that's an interesting question. That is a do-over that I can't do. It's hard for me to speculate."
During a discussion about what Americans should know about what it is like to be president, Bush was asked what he was most unprepared for going into the office.
"I think I was unprepared for war," he said. "In other words, I didn't campaign and say, `Please vote for me, I'll be able to handle an attack.' In other words, I didn't anticipate war. Presidents _ one of the things about the modern presidency is that the unexpected will happen."
On the presidential election, Bush called Barack Obama's victory a "repudiation of Republicans."
"I'm sure some people voted for Barack Obama because of me," said Bush, who leaves office with low approval ratings. "I think most people voted for Barack Obama because they decided they wanted him to be in their living room for the next four years explaining policy. In other words, they made a conscious choice to put him in as president."
As he leaves office, Bush said he felt responsible for the economic downturn because it's occurring on his watch, but he added: "I think when the history of this period is written, people will realize a lot of the decisions that were made on Wall Street took place over a decade or so" before he became president.
He said he would like to see "instant liquidity" in the markets given the extent of the financial rescue plan, yet he understands that fear has paralyzed the markets.
"It is hard for the average citizen to understand how frozen the system became and how over-leveraged the system became," Bush said. "And so what we're watching is the de-leveraging of our financial markets, which is obviously affecting the growth of the economy."
Last week, the Bush administration and the Federal Reserve pledged $800 billion to break through blockades on credit cards, auto loans, mortgages and other borrowing. The latest moves raised U.S. commitments to contain the financial crisis to nearly $7 trillion _ though no one thinks the government will actually spend that much.
The figures include loans that are expected to be repaid, loan authorities to back mortgages, purchases of stock in banks, guarantees to support loans among banks and pledges backing other transactions.
"This economy will recover," Bush said in the interview conducted last Wednesday at the Camp David, Md., presidential retreat. "And when it recovers, many of the assets backed by the government now will be redeemed, and we will _ could conceivably _ make money off of some of the holdings."
Later in the interview, he said: "I can't guarantee that we'll get all our money back, but it's conceivable we could."
It's a ticking time bomb for super duper inflation...
one word sorry can liao
LoL
Originally posted by noahnoah:
one word sorry can liao
LoL
Singapore is "Let's move on".
No sorry even. ![]()
No sorry even.
Very true.
They are the high and mightly elite, how can say sorry to us?
Did Wong Kan Seng say sorry after the Mas Selamat debacle?
Anyhow...its always the higher ups that screw up and the lower ends have to pick up, tolerate and continue to support and clear the mess...
yep damm it
but the upper class elite forcess
screw up liao
they still drawing high pay
then the lower end one have to suffer
due to their stupid management
in this world...its save your ass and forget about the rest ma
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Very true.
Very true.
he did say sorry lah...mr Poh Ah Pak
if only u care to google back or conveniently ignore it to suit yr agenda ....tsk tsk
“This should never have happened…. I am sorry that it had.....", mr wong kan seng apologises for mas selamat's escape.
But he didn't say that he was in error.
He said he was sorry that the incident happened.
There has been a security lapse at the Whitley Road Detention Centre, which allowed Mas Selamat to escape. He was taken out of his cell to go to the family visitation room to wait for his family. He requested to go to the toilet and escaped. This should never have happened. I am sorry that it has.
Compare with:
An official inquiry into the death showed that Ceber, 29, had died of "ill treatment", Sahin told Turkish television. "I apologise to the relatives of [Ceber] on behalf of my government and the state," he said. "I am pushing this ahead with a high sensitivity. The number [of suspensions] could rise as the investigation widens. I am very sorry that such an incident was allowed to happen in Turkey at such a time."
Bush's sorry and WKS's sorry cannot compare one.It would be like comparing Long Beach Califorina to Pasir Panjang but if you must compare I think George Bush is really sorry.
being an sorryass dun atone for the mistakes make......
Originally posted by TemplarKnight:being an sorryass dun atone for the mistakes make......
keep inside heart too long become kee siow.......
I hate to say this but 'Quitting/Resigning is the most appropriate thing to do when face with a problem of such magnitude.Do it the Japanese style and not the Singapore rodeo style when the cowboy would cling on to the horse (job) until it dies of exaustion.
But their minister pay is the highest in the entire world.
Will be hard to let go since the pay is so high.
It is the highest in the world.
killing onself is never an option... to stuff up people's mouth is not to kill yourself rite? better kill those KPKB and problem solve.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:But he didn't say that he was in error.
He said he was sorry that the incident happened.
There has been a security lapse at the Whitley Road Detention Centre, which allowed Mas Selamat to escape. He was taken out of his cell to go to the family visitation room to wait for his family. He requested to go to the toilet and escaped. This should never have happened. I am sorry that it has.
Compare with:
An official inquiry into the death showed that Ceber, 29, had died of "ill treatment", Sahin told Turkish television. "I apologise to the relatives of [Ceber] on behalf of my government and the state," he said. "I am pushing this ahead with a high sensitivity. The number [of suspensions] could rise as the investigation widens. I am very sorry that such an incident was allowed to happen in Turkey at such a time."
aiyoh....ah pak....first of all...u asked if wks did apologies..i showed u that he did from records...
now u change tack without admitting that u proven wrong...tsk tsk ...after being shown he apologised to nation
from yr quote on turkey's case...i dont see any apology stating that it is the government's error too...he did not link it up...and despite that after an official inquiry into the death........
whereas wks apologises immediately after mas selamat's escape...which was graceful of him.
wow...ah pak...after shown u wrong..u just like to play with words hor...n snake out...tsk tsk....
Originally posted by Bentsb05:
aiyoh....ah pak....first of all...u asked if wks did apologies..i showed u that he did from records...now u change tack without admitting that u proven wrong...tsk tsk ...after being shown he apologised to nation
from yr quote on turkey's case...i dont see any apology stating that it is the government's error too...he did not link it up...and despite that after an official inquiry into the death........
whereas wks apologises immediately after mas selamat's escape...which was graceful of him.
wow...ah pak...after shown u wrong..u just like to play with words hor...n snake out...tsk tsk....
How would you interpret below statement, Bentsb05? :
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:How would you interpret below statement, Bentsb05? :
Escape Of JI Detainee Mas Selamat From Detention - Comments by Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Home Affairs Wong Kan Seng in Parliament, 28 February 2008There has been a security lapse at the Whitley Road Detention Centre, which allowed Mas Selamat to escape. He was taken out of his cell to go to the family visitation room to wait for his family. He requested to go to the toilet and escaped. This should never have happened. I am sorry that it has.An independent investigation is underway. We should not speculate now. Security at the centre has been stepped up.Mas Selamat is a security threat which is why he was placed under preventive detention. However, there is no information that he has any plans that threaten public safety. Nevertheless, we are not taking any chances.Our security agencies assessed that he was of no imminent danger to the public. The focus then was to lockdown the immediate vicinity of the detention centre and start a systematic search. The priority is to find and arrest Mas Selamat. No efforts will be spared to track him down. Security at our land, sea and air checkpoints have been tightened, including areas where there may be a possibility that he may leave from places which are not the normal checkpoints.In the meantime, I urge the public to stay calm and to report any suspicious sightings to the Police immediately. Anyone who renders assistance to him is committing a grave offence.MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS28 February 2008
did i see the word sorry in there?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:How would you interpret below statement, Bentsb05? :
Escape Of JI Detainee Mas Selamat From Detention - Comments by Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Home Affairs Wong Kan Seng in Parliament, 28 February 2008There has been a security lapse at the Whitley Road Detention Centre, which allowed Mas Selamat to escape. He was taken out of his cell to go to the family visitation room to wait for his family. He requested to go to the toilet and escaped. This should never have happened. I am sorry that it has.An independent investigation is underway. We should not speculate now. Security at the centre has been stepped up.Mas Selamat is a security threat which is why he was placed under preventive detention. However, there is no information that he has any plans that threaten public safety. Nevertheless, we are not taking any chances.Our security agencies assessed that he was of no imminent danger to the public. The focus then was to lockdown the immediate vicinity of the detention centre and start a systematic search. The priority is to find and arrest Mas Selamat. No efforts will be spared to track him down. Security at our land, sea and air checkpoints have been tightened, including areas where there may be a possibility that he may leave from places which are not the normal checkpoints.In the meantime, I urge the public to stay calm and to report any suspicious sightings to the Police immediately. Anyone who renders assistance to him is committing a grave offence.MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS28 February 2008
thanks poh ah pak, for letting everyone see that i am correct....he did say sorry before even the independent investigation is finished.....haha....now that u proven wrong....well?
I am asking how you would interpret the statement.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Bush's sorry and WKS's sorry cannot compare one.It would be like comparing Long Beach Califorina to Pasir Panjang but if you must compare I think George Bush is really sorry.
In my opinion, nowadays when people make so-called-public-apology is more to like a part of their "Public Relations" tactics. A part of their hidden agenda to create "mutual understanding" about the situation that is happening and to avoid people blaming them cos people's heart will feel touched by their "sincere" apology . So for me ya, i don't bother when they make public apology heh :p
He requested to go to the toilet and escaped. This should never have happened. I am sorry that it has.
This apology is a bit vague in my opinion.
It could be interpreted as Wong Kan Seng giving his opinion on the incident.
He felt sorry that the incident occured.
It is a bit vague and unclear.
I think the apology should be stronger and more clear, for example:
During a heated prime minister's questions session, Mr Brown said: "I profoundly regret and apologise for the inconvenience and worries that have been caused to millions of families who receive child benefits.
"We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience and unhappiness caused to the tourists," Au King-chi, Hong Kong commissioner for tourism, told reporters.
http://www.theage.com.au/travel/travel-news
He said: "I've apologised to Academi, I've also apologised to all the authors involved and I've written to them today again to apologise. A genuine mistake, a misunderstanding and as a minister I take full responsibility for that."
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/poli
In a letter to shadow secretary of state for children, schools and families Michael Gove, David Bell wrote: "The individuals concerned have crossed the boundary of what would be expected of them under the Civil Service Code. For that, as permanent secretary of this department, I apologise."
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/11
Do you agree with my view Bentsb05, that the apology is a bit vague?