As a singaporean, when i go around the places .
i find it amusing in how singaporeans act .
whether it's on the train, bus or public transports .
eg . when on the MRT platform, we can see the yellow lines are being drawn in an organised way clearly stating the directions and positions we should stand in order to have maximum efficiency of moving either in or out the train . but singaporeans tends to be "blind" or overlook the yellow line . then they stand infront of the train doors and when passenger alighting came knocking into them , they gave a stern look as in they are not in any wrong . and i find it amusing . because they like to make things difficult for themselves .
Or when in City Hall Mrt Interchange , when as usual people alight there in order to change their route in order to reach Jurong east . and you see people standing so near to the train doors as if they were in love with it .
Is this "Kiasu-ness" which people believe is a unique identification for singaporeans. or just a joke for people to make fun with . because i myself as a singaporean . can't help but laugh at this situation . if i, a singaporean is laughing at my fellow countrymates . i wonder how the foreigners would think and how would they spread the reputation of singapore in their homeland.
i may be wrong in my views or comments made , i am open to receive and discuss any worthy points :)
When it comes to teaching and instilling children proper social ethics and some common sense when sharing the environment... and other social graces...
The parents leave it up to the teachers.
The teachers leave it up to the parents.
And when the children grows up ... they become parents.. and the cycle continues.
Originally posted by jojobeach:The parents leave it up to the teachers.
And when the children grows up ... they become parents.. and the cycle continues.
That's a very trenchant observation.
Could it be that parents are too busy pursuing their careers and can't afford the time to nurture the proper social graces in their children, and teachers already have their hands full handling the academic curricula for their students?
Not all also... those are the bad sheeps....
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:Not all also... those are the bad sheeps....
these bad sheep are enough to cause a lot of inconvenience to others...
Originally posted by sena-kun:As a singaporean, when i go around the places .
i find it amusing in how singaporeans act .
whether it's on the train, bus or public transports .
eg . when on the MRT platform, we can see the yellow lines are being drawn in an organised way clearly stating the directions and positions we should stand in order to have maximum efficiency of moving either in or out the train . but singaporeans tends to be "blind" or overlook the yellow line . then they stand infront of the train doors and when passenger alighting came knocking into them , they gave a stern look as in they are not in any wrong . and i find it amusing . because they like to make things difficult for themselves .
Or when in City Hall Mrt Interchange , when as usual people alight there in order to change their route in order to reach Jurong east . and you see people standing so near to the train doors as if they were in love with it .
Is this "Kiasu-ness" which people believe is a unique identification for singaporeans. or just a joke for people to make fun with . because i myself as a singaporean . can't help but laugh at this situation . if i, a singaporean is laughing at my fellow countrymates . i wonder how the foreigners would think and how would they spread the reputation of singapore in their homeland.
i may be wrong in my views or comments made , i am open to receive and discuss any worthy points :)
u need to be used to it ya?
These bad sheeps are probably doing it to fight for the few available seats on the train. But, if your stop is way on the other end of the line, wouldn't you do the same?
Originally posted by Buaga:These bad sheeps are probably doing it to fight for the few available seats on the train. But, if your stop is way on the other end of the line, wouldn't you do the same?
These days, some MRT carriages come with NO seats even. ![]()
as a non-singaporean, i find it very amusing how there are some singaporeans who like to group singaporeans into 'myself and a few other pple' and 'singaporeans who do bad things and disgrace the country'. i am sometimes very disgusted by how some people like to diss their own country/people.
shit happens in every country. just because you have not seen it does not mean it doesn't happen.
and visitors generally have a good impression of singapore. stop fucking worrying about what 'outsiders' think. if you're not happy, do something. don't fucking whine.
the one thing people complain/love the most is the weather. too bad you guys can't do anything about this one. and the stupid arguments people like to have about the different coloured skin/country of origin foreigners.
and no, im not talking about the TS...
Originally posted by jojobeach:When it comes to teaching and instilling children proper social ethics and some common sense when sharing the environment... and other social graces...
Some parents/grandparents teach uncivil values - such as shoving people out of the way, jumping queue, grabbing seats and not giving up when there is a person who needs the seat more and worse of all: entitlement attitude
Originally posted by Buaga:These bad sheeps are probably doing it to fight for the few available seats on the train. But, if your stop is way on the other end of the line, wouldn't you do the same?
be like me!
tamp > pasir ris > boon lay. ![]()
if i'm the "good citizen" who gives up his seat for the elderly/pregnant, i'll probably find myself having a seat at tg pagar, give up my seat again at outram park, get back my seat at clementi, give up again at jurong east & stand till boon lay.
to avoid too much movement, i just get a seat and sit down quietly. ![]()
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:
That's a very trenchant observation.Could it be that parents are too busy pursuing their careers and can't afford the time to nurture the proper social graces in their children, and teachers already have their hands full handling the academic curricula for their students?
If their career is more important than their own children, then they deserved to be abandoned when they are old cause their kids also feel that they do not have time of their pratents.
As a non-singaporean, i too find it amusing how Singaporeans react in everyday life situations. Sometimes it's good to laugh at but sometimes it's not. I notice that whenever I am on an mrt talking to a mate, people stare at me probably because the aussie accent I have.
But one thing I have noticed that some singaporeans hate being "Singaporeans". Actually you should be proud of where your from, just because other people make a bad name for your country, it doesn't mean you gotta hate your country or your parents.
From what you said: "if i, a singaporean is laughing at my fellow countrymates . i wonder how the foreigners would think and how would they spread the reputation of singapore in their homeland." Well I guess foreigners have already spread the rumours about singapore that it is a decent place to stay in, good working environment, good money and others. Most of the feedback you get from foreigners is good, so why worry about singapore's reputation?
Originally posted by sinicker:
to avoid too much movement, i just get a seat and sit down quietly.
and don't forget to close your eyes and pretend to drool a little too ... and maybe lean your head to the cutie next to you ![]()
I know who are the ones who stand near the doors. It is mostly those aunties. The senior citizens. I cannot wait for them to pass away. While we are talking about this, does anyone know what was the purpose of removing seats in some cabins?
because some smart ass wrote in to complain that the trains are too packed during hours...
so the mrt ppl removed the seats to accommodate more ppl per train...
but when they did tat, other smart ass wrote in to complain asking why should they pay to stand in the train...
damn...
u cant please singaporeans...
Originally posted by jojobeach:When it comes to teaching and instilling children proper social ethics and some common sense when sharing the environment... and other social graces...
Then what the principals do, shake leg ar??
Originally posted by GHoST_18:because some smart ass wrote in to complain that the trains are too packed during hours...
but when they did tat, other smart ass wrote in to complain asking why should they pay to stand in the train...
damn...
And because Singaporeans cannot be pleased forever, the PAP take advantage of it by offered goodies once a while, especially near election time.
----------
kiasuism is not unique to singapore lah
If u do read the news or been to other countries, u will know ppl stampede one another during sales, with casualties reported.... yes, even in your "high class" ang moh countries
ours is the tip of the tip of the iceberg oni
Originally posted by Uraniumfish:I know who are the ones who stand near the doors. It is mostly those aunties. The senior citizens. I cannot wait for them to pass away. While we are talking about this, does anyone know what was the purpose of removing seats in some cabins?
They removed the seat so that those uncles and boys sitting opposite have less chances to peek at our below and between legs when we young gals are wearing skirt.
Originally posted by FireIce:kiasuism is not unique to singapore lah
If u do read the news or been to other countries, u will know ppl stampede one another during sales, with casualties reported.... yes, even in your "high class" ang moh countries
ours is the tip of the tip of the iceberg oni
But unlike high class ang mo or other countries pples, they show their kiasu openly, ours is different, pples here are kiasu but still act like not kaisu, then talk big about other being kaisu but actually when sales or free goodies come by, they are the one who are there first, ours is truly unique, kiasee of being known as kiasu, but actually damn kaisu.
same
when got sale in other countries, ppl queue and camp outside the store
When door open, all rush in like going for 投胎
and ppl die
ours no report got ppl die yet.
the most is squeeze until glass windows break
ppl lose their shoes
who more kiasu?
in the news not long ago, a NY store having thanksgiving sale and it was a huge stampede
i think i read it in some wanbao when doing pedicure
i dun understand why we need to amplify our own kiasuism, which is like.... nothing compared to the scale of those happening elsewhere
Originally posted by GHoST_18:because some smart ass wrote in to complain that the trains are too packed during hours...
damn...
Next time.. just bring your own portable seat lor....
Those made in china one very cheap only mah...
Originally posted by udontknowme:as a non-singaporean, i find it very amusing how there are some singaporeans who like to group singaporeans into 'myself and a few other pple' and 'singaporeans who do bad things and disgrace the country'. i am sometimes very disgusted by how some people like to diss their own country/people.
shit happens in every country. just because you have not seen it does not mean it doesn't happen.
and visitors generally have a good impression of singapore. stop fucking worrying about what 'outsiders' think. if you're not happy, do something. don't fucking whine.
the one thing people complain/love the most is the weather. too bad you guys can't do anything about this one. and the stupid arguments people like to have about the different coloured skin/country of origin foreigners.
and no, im not talking about the TS...
Correct, every country has its peculiarities.