Originally posted by charlize:GST is the Greatest Singapore Tax.
Singaporeans generally want GST increases.
Just like they generally want transport fare hikes.
66.6% hor.. dun pray pray

goes to the dog...
Originally posted by lowkks:I'm kind of curious where does all the GST goes to.. The government says it went to the needys and how many needys are there in Singapore? Is there any charts and figures to show the total amount of GST collected and redistrubted to these needys? Just curious to find out cause paying quite a bit on GST already.
nope, GST don't go to the needy. where did you hear that? it is suppose to help by taxing the needy less, since they spend less, and taxing the rich more as they spend more. a self adjusting tax collecting mechanism based on how much each person spends.
everytime the gahmen rise the GST and give an estimate of gst revenue and each time the actual revenue is much more than the estimate
I wonder
Originally posted by seyKai:everytime the gahmen rise the GST and give an estimate of gst revenue and each time the actual revenue is much more than the estimate
I wonder
how accurate you want them to be?
they have only two options since they not accurate. under estimate or over estimate, on a case by case basis. how much time you need to complete a building? over estimate. how much revenue from GST? under estimate.
difference is in billion
It is being prudent.
they have only two options since they not accurate. under estimate or over estimate, on a case by case basis. how much time you need to complete a building? over estimate. how much revenue from GST? under estimate.
Originally posted by seyKai:difference is in billion
billion so what?
is it like 100% underestimate? 50% underestimate? 10% underestimate?
Originally posted by skythewood:billion so what?
is it like 100% underestimate? 50% underestimate? 10% underestimate?
tell me how accurate will u be when doing an estimate?
Originally posted by seyKai:
tell me how accurate will u be when doing an estimate?
how come become my problem?
skythewood, you should pose a question to seyKai and see how he answers.
This seyKai don't know what he want and don't know what he's talking about most of the time so far.
Keep throwing questions at his one-liner comments and soon he will be a dead seyKai. ![]()
Nothing wrong to ask question, I hope :)
Originally posted by skythewood:how come become my problem?
you asked how accurate should be so I am asking u
Originally posted by parn:skythewood, you should pose a question to seyKai and see how he answers.
This seyKai don't know what he want and don't know what he's talking about most of the time so far.
Keep throwing questions at his one-liner comments and soon he will be a dead seyKai.
sorry, no comment on hopeless people who cannot talk and think rationally
Originally posted by seyKai:
sorry, no comment on hopeless people who cannot talk and think rationally
okok, I don't know why you are saying such things about yourself.
but I will okok. ![]()
Originally posted by eagle:if my company earns more than 1 million in sales
therefore GST registered
I sell my item S$0.80 to NTUC with GST
you buy the item from NTUC S$1.00 , and you need to pay 7% GST
NTUC can claim back the $0.80 * 7% from the govt because NTUC has already paid for that GST through my company. Means in the end, the government still collects $1 *7% GST.
I think this post has already answered the question on where a lot of GST money goes... and don't forget: domestic consumption is pretty small compared to domestic exports / re-exports. Taxable persons also claim back GST when they export.
So I think a lot of the GST money that is paid by taxable persons is quite simply refunded.
The only time there was a major budget surplus directly arising from GST was when they upped the GST rate from 5% to 7%... additional money come in, but govt haven't budget to spend yet.
I think subsequently, its always been nicely budgeted and disbursed as:
I think the main issue is the efficiency of the tax rather than whether there are any "conspiracy theories" to take the money and do funny things with them.
Personally, I think that its leading to a lot of paperwork and why are they collecting money that they have to refund eventually anyway?
Makes me wonder if a direct import tax would be more efficient: collect once upon import, no refund unless exported (similar to existing GST rules).
Then u just collect once and leave it alone! why sweat about input tax and output tax? the pple who make the most money from GST are the accountants and consultants i tell u...

Somebody still dare to claim Spore is good. PAP is better. Who is the idiot?
TS, the proper channel, the best person to answer your question is LEE HSIEN LOONG, the ah loong! Ah loong loves $$$! ha ha ha ha!!
Mind you people, the auditing firm already has the future GST rates programmed in their system. Be prepared to pay more, ha ha ha, thank you sillyporeans for voting Pay and Pay, and you shall pay until you die! Ha ha ha!
Originally posted by zenden9:Somebody still dare to claim Spore is good. PAP is better. Who is the idiot?
Cause by blind, bias judgement. Frog in the well???? ha ha ha ha ha ha! This is sillyporean mah!
Originally posted by CX:I think this post has already answered the question on where a lot of GST money goes... and don't forget: domestic consumption is pretty small compared to domestic exports / re-exports. Taxable persons also claim back GST when they export.
So I think a lot of the GST money that is paid by taxable persons is quite simply refunded.
The only time there was a major budget surplus directly arising from GST was when they upped the GST rate from 5% to 7%... additional money come in, but govt haven't budget to spend yet.
I think subsequently, its always been nicely budgeted and disbursed as:
- salaries (both obscene ones to ministers and peanuts to the civil servants)
- operating budget for dept and stat board (which includes the money to build social safety nets, as they claimed when they raised the GST to 7%)
- infrastructures (new roads, mrt, etc)
I think the main issue is the efficiency of the tax rather than whether there are any "conspiracy theories" to take the money and do funny things with them.
Personally, I think that its leading to a lot of paperwork and why are they collecting money that they have to refund eventually anyway?
Makes me wonder if a direct import tax would be more efficient: collect once upon import, no refund unless exported (similar to existing GST rules).
Then u just collect once and leave it alone! why sweat about input tax and output tax? the pple who make the most money from GST are the accountants and consultants i tell u...
All the rebates you receive during the rainy days, the tax relief, the help for the poor, to build roads, buildings, schools, feed important people of the garment, clean the garment's house.. What else? Are we actually even accounted for? We don't seem to receive any form of bank statements regarding our contribution to the GST-fund mailed directly to our homes, do we? So, I can only assume the garment does more good than harm with the money taxpayers give.
Not sure, but I've heard every time GST goes up, a mysterious POSB joint account under the names of Lee and Ho grows even faster. ![]()
go to my pocket~~
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):u guys havent given up yet???
please vote carefully in future.. dun be the joke of the world ok??