hmm..
the old man where got money to survive sia $159 dollar me 2 day spend finish liao lor lols
Originally posted by huzane89:i have no sympathy for this old man. it's good enough that he received $150. Rather than nothing. It's his own fault that he didn't make plan for his old age. And now when he is in this predicament, he wants free stuff. People give him job, complain about bus fare, which is not that much since he can use his senior citizen card. All complains but no effort.
huzane89? so that mean u are born in the 1989? meaning u are 19yrs this year? how much was ur pocket money? are u working yet? are you born without a chance to go to school? have you tried looking for job but got rejected?
Read carefully! he was reject work coz of his age. At his age, 69yrs old, he still have to work. that alone is wrong!!! Even if he is just a cleaner his entire life, dun u think he should atleast get to retire after spending 6 decade of his life working labour job?
It isnt just about wanting free stuffs. It is about repaying the elders for their part in making what singapore is today. Be it labour job or elite job. Itis a god eat dog workd out there and if the gov dun even care abt it citzen, what does tell you of it? What's the point of collecting another 2% gst?
"If we were to increase this old guy's and similar old folks' charity payout to $300 a month, it's only possible if Singaporeans are willing to pay an extra 2% GST."
cleaner job is $300. Actually that's very little.
Originally posted by wonderamazement:that was the old generation. most of which do not plan for the future. sure enough he may have made a mistake by not planning, who can blame him? giving him a choice he wouldn't wanna end up in this state would he?
Agreed. If given a chance, who don't want to plan for old age ... but sometime it is not as simple as that ... the recession now come more often and many have to dig deep into the pocket. other are forced to use up their saving ... by which time, age have catches up with you and you find yourself in a situation where saving is gone and too old to work... so is he really at fault for not planning ... really can't balme at all right ?.
I am fifty now ... the last recession wipe out my whole saving and I am still in debt.. although now got a job that pay quite ok, I am still paying debts ... trying hard to save some money, just in case ... but what if something happen and I am back to square one where I have to dig into my saving and friends started to avoid me, will I not fall into this situation ? there are reasons people is reduced to such state ... no one want it ok ?
The stupid idiot that say people can choose how to live have not experience what life is all about.. just hope he doesn't fall into this trap. . .. si gin na
the gin na nowadays too free ... and life too good.
The other time the tissue paper thing. If they work in the city and they stand around 30-45 mins and wait for one table just to have lunch because no one will ever give way. Then they know what it is like before that start all those stupid nonsense.
Originally posted by eagle:"If we were to increase this old guy's and similar old folks' charity payout to $300 a month, it's only possible if Singaporeans are willing to pay an extra 2% GST."
btw, we are getting gst refund, coz gov over estimate the supposely need!!!
and how many such case do we have in sg? does adding another $150 gona cost us another 2% gst? Does paying gov million dollars salary help the old men improve his daily life with a mere $150 increase?
hate school holiday...
sigina posting really make us worried abt the furture of sg...
if they can b so cruel and heartless.... i wonder what our sg furture will b like....
if govt is to add 2% gst, and this amount of money is ONLY using to help these people i wont mind...
but if the money is to go elsewhere, i will mind ALOT
i think people tend to be more understanding when they grow older, so i hope ginas will be more understanding in the future... hope at least...
don't depend on the kids. look at what the parents are teaching some of them and look at their behaviour in public and web spaces. They are more likely to come back when they are broke to take their inheritance and squeeze money from the old people.
is that our gin na going to be ? then they are worst than animal !!!
then back to topic proper, how in the world did PAP come out with $150 monthly and expecting a family to be fed and clothed??
i read from some newspaper that some of the cleaning company are bidding like $7/hr for a towncouncil job. maybe it aint that difficult to realise how much they are paying for the cleaner.
the sheer competition that allow malaysian cleaning company to compete against local one for towncouncil cleaning project.that just pave the way to put salary pressure on the cleaners.
the towncouncil then save the money and lose it on lehman minibonds and etc and tell us that is small amount of money!!
fair, transparent, humanitarian kind of govt? you be the judge!
not gonna be a bitch in this forum but den again i can't seem to symphatize with this old man because he was offered a job but at the same time if he was smart he would noe tat for awhile he could use a shot gun interest gain from a simple interest bank account or ask around because i have seen people doubling 100 dollars within 2 weeks and some others even earning 10k in 2 weeks starting with just 100 dolllars so its seriously not impossible for anything for the old man he THINKS he has no choice but the fact that he has creativity means he can work like a normal man age is of no problem to someone with creativity
Originally posted by huzane89:
if ppl always think that live is a no.s game, then it shall be a no. s game to that person. In this case, you. People have options in life. There is no way that one live life without options. And if you choose the right options and work really hard. You wont be in such a sorry state.The most pathetic part is him trying to get more money from the govt. My grandmother is 79, have half of her children asking money from her. Yet she still manage to survive. She may not live well, but she is able to at least sustain herself. And it's because she works hard and make good choices. Not like that old bum who wants 'free lunch'.
That 1000 that fails. Do you have facts to back up with your claim? Of course many people go through hardship in life, in this case, being monetarily poor. Yet I don't see them doing the same thing like that old bum. Seeking free lunch and sympathy from ppl.
Si gin na - your grandma is 79 and her children is still asking money from her? What kind of children they are .. speak volumne on your behaviour here ... Like you, I didn't pity those who beg for money especially those that were younger than my father. I used to think, if my father at the age of 70 plus can still work, why can't these people take a proper job and earn themselve some pride. Many of these were much younger than my father.
I was wrong. Everyone got their own story. We must understand before we comment. I was not 100% wrong then, but then I was not right too .. Then I lost my job and need cash very badly, like the old man, I was only offered cleaner job. How to support family and take care of my parents.. I used all my saving and all the help I can get ... I only managed to get a job many years later but which time, I am a pauper owning many many people money. What pride do I have then ?
Originally posted by Rhythm Gate:not gonna be a bitch in this forum but den again i can't seem to symphatize with this old man because he was offered a job but at the same time if he was smart he would noe tat for awhile he could use a shot gun interest gain from a simple interest bank account or ask around because i have seen people doubling 100 dollars within 2 weeks and some others even earning 10k in 2 weeks starting with just 100 dolllars so its seriously not impossible for anything for the old man he THINKS he has no choice but the fact that he has creativity means he can work like a normal man age is of no problem to someone with creativity
cannot agree with you .. the cleaning job pay $300. Bus fare alone take more than 50% of his income. The balance $100+ ... how is he going to feed his family even if he do not eat ?
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:
cannot agree with you .. the cleaning job pay $300. Bus fare alone take more than 50% of his income. The balance $100+ ... how is he going to feed his family even if he do not eat ?
I think the old man could seek for a flyer distribution job, but bring a chair to sit down... Maybe take less pay cuz he will be less active, but overall, he would still likely earn >$300 per month...
Originally posted by Rhythm Gate:not gonna be a bitch in this forum but den again i can't seem to symphatize with this old man because he was offered a job but at the same time if he was smart he would noe tat for awhile he could use a shot gun interest gain from a simple interest bank account or ask around because i have seen people doubling 100 dollars within 2 weeks and some others even earning 10k in 2 weeks starting with just 100 dolllars so its seriously not impossible for anything for the old man he THINKS he has no choice but the fact that he has creativity means he can work like a normal man age is of no problem to someone with creativity
if he is that good, u think he will end up still working at his age???
how many bill gate type of person do u know still sweep the floor or work as cleaner?
Originally posted by eagle:I think the old man could seek for a flyer distribution job, but bring a chair to sit down... Maybe take less pay cuz he will be less active, but overall, he would still likely earn >$300 per month...
still very tough right? sigh ...
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:
still very tough right? sigh ...
most spoilt brat have pocket money 5 x more then wat he will b geting after a long hard day of work...
Originally posted by EarlNeo:most spoilt brat have pocket money 5 x more then wat he will b geting after a long hard day of work...
ya... I pity the guy ...
lmfao .... R u a Kid or a investment agent? Asking someone who earn $300+ a month to invest the only $100 left and make it to $200 in 2 week? Hahaha..tell me more...im so interested and believe me i will give u 50% of wat u can earn for me provided u can 100% assure me dat i still can get my $$$ no matter wat the hell happen to this world...U r so lucky u r not my fren, i will give u a tigh slap for saying something so stupid..
If u really got anything better to said, u better use the time to hope u wont end up in this state or else i will be the first one who give all the shit u have said above...making $100 to 10K!!!! Hahahaha....i have many $100 so pls..tell me which bank offer this kinda of interest.! pls PM me if possible...the bank i mean or which product u think can give me such interest rate...kaoz..
Originally posted by eagle:"If we were to increase this old guy's and similar old folks' charity payout to $300 a month, it's only possible if Singaporeans are willing to pay an extra 2% GST."
Oh yeah.
Increasing GST is to help the poor. ![]()