Simply shows how efficient and effective they are in handling the welfare of the aged.
Originally posted by Rhythm Gate:not gonna be a bitch in this forum but den again i can't seem to symphatize with this old man because he was offered a job but at the same time if he was smart he would noe tat for awhile he could use a shot gun interest gain from a simple interest bank account or ask around because i have seen people doubling 100 dollars within 2 weeks and some others even earning 10k in 2 weeks starting with just 100 dolllars so its seriously not impossible for anything for the old man he THINKS he has no choice but the fact that he has creativity means he can work like a normal man age is of no problem to someone with creativity
~Hokkien~
Nan gong kua bin jiu zhai.
Nan ziak gu bark, le ziak gu chee bye.
whoa dudes. I not pro gahmen but in this case really gotta say some of you lack balance in your opinions.
i previously worked as a temp at one of the MCYS community development centres. and i handled data processing for these kinda social worker case.
suffice to say, it works both ways. sometimes its the problem with the individual sometimes within the system
system problems :
1) welfare scheme YES, complicated, confusing and multiple schemes YES. public awareness of schemes POOR
to top things off, social workers are overworked and handle a huge mulitude of cases per individual. how to provide quality care and concern when they are outnumbered and overworked ?
2) abuse of system :
i m not saying this old man is an abuser of the system but do observe that, he get P.A (criteria 65 and above, proven medical disability / condition that impairs him from working and no known support group, i.e relatives or friends)
and he gets offered a Job. but what happens ? he complains about it and the transport fare ?
he dosent make mention of the fact that there are schemes like PAYU and utilities and town council conservancy fees waiver arranged by social workers.
3) government policy :
from my experience working and temping there and government rhethoric, it is my humble opinion that government dosent want to move towards a welfare model.
the bedrock behind the government's stance and policy still lies with community and family help. government action should only occur in the case where the individual involved has no family , cannot be helped by community then the government step in.
it is a final safety net. not a welfare state. i know i m probably going to get flamed for saying this but most people cannot differentiate between them and see the government's intent.
which is to actually create a system where people rely on their own initiative. i.e you dont have money, u need a job, you look for a job, government agencies help you find, pay for education and training and give you a small amount to help you while you find a job.
it is not meant to replicate social welfare systems like in europe where you get single parent benefits, unemployment benefits and social security. we wont have that. we probably cant afford that.
a welfare state is 'earned' by having high taxes isnt it?
Originally posted by sgstars:whoa dudes. I not pro gahmen but in this case really gotta say some of you lack balance in your opinions.
i previously worked as a temp at one of the MCYS community development centres. and i handled data processing for these kinda social worker case.
suffice to say, it works both ways. sometimes its the problem with the individual sometimes within the system
system problems :
1) welfare scheme YES, complicated, confusing and multiple schemes YES. public awareness of schemes POOR
to top things off, social workers are overworked and handle a huge mulitude of cases per individual. how to provide quality care and concern when they are outnumbered and overworked ?
2) abuse of system :
i m not saying this old man is an abuser of the system but do observe that, he get P.A (criteria 65 and above, proven medical disability / condition that impairs him from working and no known support group, i.e relatives or friends)
and he gets offered a Job. but what happens ? he complains about it and the transport fare ?
he dosent make mention of the fact that there are schemes like PAYU and utilities and town council conservancy fees waiver arranged by social workers.
3) government policy :
from my experience working and temping there and government rhethoric, it is my humble opinion that government dosent want to move towards a welfare model.
the bedrock behind the government's stance and policy still lies with community and family help. government action should only occur in the case where the individual involved has no family , cannot be helped by community then the government step in.
it is a final safety net. not a welfare state. i know i m probably going to get flamed for saying this but most people cannot differentiate between them and see the government's intent.
which is to actually create a system where people rely on their own initiative. i.e you dont have money, u need a job, you look for a job, government agencies help you find, pay for education and training and give you a small amount to help you while you find a job.
it is not meant to replicate social welfare systems like in europe where you get single parent benefits, unemployment benefits and social security. we wont have that. we probably cant afford that.
while i'm not fond of the idea of a welfare state, i really do hope someone does something about situations like these. maybe at least make sure they get basic necessities instead of money?
Originally posted by Rhythm Gate:not gonna be a bitch in this forum but den again i can't seem to symphatize with this old man because he was offered a job but at the same time if he was smart he would noe tat for awhile he could use a shot gun interest gain from a simple interest bank account or ask around because i have seen people doubling 100 dollars within 2 weeks and some others even earning 10k in 2 weeks starting with just 100 dolllars so its seriously not impossible for anything for the old man he THINKS he has no choice but the fact that he has creativity means he can work like a normal man age is of no problem to someone with creativity
if its as simple as you said companies would not pay people higher for creative products. while it is true your perception of reality affects your life there's a limit to it. not everyone's borned the same, why do you think there are such things like upper and lower classes of people.
aiya these kind of problem also partly human nature problem
policies and scheme too simple -- people will exploit
in the end also nt sure who is in real need, who chaokeng and get the aid
so the aid become so c***b** must fulfil this criteria that criteria, de aid also like peanuts liddat
case studies like these abound... hard to make sure these cases are addressed bah . but for sure ithink those PR speak shld stop. (no one will go hungry? my ass)
Originally posted by crimsontactics:Simply shows how efficient and effective they are in handling the welfare of the aged.
Welfare ? What welfare ? Got welfare ? Where ?
?????????????
ok la... i dont know much abt the story however i guess the ah pek could at least pick cans and find a mcdonalds/kfc job to supplement his income. kfc and mac shd be able to hire him one..
hougang so many lau ah pek y no one got money from pap?
Originally posted by mistyblue:the gin na nowadays too free ... and life too good.
The other time the tissue paper thing. If they work in the city and they stand around 30-45 mins and wait for one table just to have lunch because no one will ever give way. Then they know what it is like before that start all those stupid nonsense.
x2 agree...
Originally posted by lifeisgood9989:hougang so many lau ah pek y no one got money from pap?
coz hougang belongs to worker party? lol....
Originally posted by sgstars:whoa dudes. I not pro gahmen but in this case really gotta say some of you lack balance in your opinions.
system problems :
2) abuse of system :
3) government policy :
Since you worked in the agency, there is no argument .. but you mentioned that there are scheme to help destitude like him, question was this bought to him or it is expected that he knows about. I for one do not know that there are such scheme. The government's intention is clear. You are able, work for a living. If you are not, then they help. then again, what kind of help and how much can they really help? It is because of the fear of abuse that we often read the amount they gave it pittance... can bearly tie over lor ...
I had approached government agencies too when I lost my job some 10 years ago.. guess what, all they can give me is cleaner job. I would had accepted it if it is not for the fact I managed to find a construction site job. As I am considered old, I had to work extra hard to show these employer that I am just a good if not better.
I asked for re-training programme and I was pushed from one agency to another and end of the day, got none. Finally, on my own, I managed to find my own job with a decent salary. Am I sore ? Yes I am, why ? Because as a Singaporean, completing NSF etc, my government did not help me. Instead, it cut off my electricity and reduced my water supply ! My MP told me SP being privatised must run on it own and government cannot interfer. He just advise me to pay up as much as I can ... . . . .. .
Welfare ? I pui !!!!
Ministers millions, old man 150 dollars.
Nice, very nice.
People's Action party indeed.
They really know how to "action".
this is singapore mah
Originally posted by huzane89:
Oh please. that old man didnt even think of his future. And now, when he have nothing, he wants others to sympathize and give him 'free lunch'. He's just another bum who didnt make plans for his future. Why should i sympathize for such a man.
Another idiot who live a comfortable live.
That old man was working as a construction laborer in the past which mean he has very little education and earn very little. Most probably only earning enough to survive with nothing left. So how you expect him to make plan for his future with no saving?
system problems :
2) abuse of system :
3) government policy :
1) You said the welfare scheme do exists but is confusing. So is this the people fault? Did the gov do anything to make it easier so the really poor have access to these scheme?
So if the social workers are overworked, shouldn't the gov do anything abt it? The gov has billion of reserve every year but it can't afford to hire more social workers?
2) If the cleaner job is $300 and the transport is $100++, is it enough to even survive in Singapore?
You mention that there are schemes like PAYU and utilities and town council conservancy fees waiver arranged by social workers, but could it be these scheme are not even made know to the old man which is why he never mention it? So again, whose fault is it?
The old man did mentioned that "Not enough. The water bills is already a couple of dollars…..in 2, 3 or at most 4 days, the money is gone." which mean he is still required to pay utilities bill, So obviously, he is not aware of the so-call PAYU schemes or whatever so it doesn't apply to him.
3) Is it very clear that in this case, the gov was helping the old man half heartedly. Just give him $150 per mth and throw him any cleaner job, and that's it. The old man did said he wanted to work, but of course, it must be reasonable too. At least the gov should find him a job and somehow work out the sum so that he can survive. What's the point of finding him a job which a large portion goes to transport.
And even if he take up the cleaner job, and that's $200 + $150, is that enough? -> Yes, if the gov waive the utitities and whatever bill which I stronger believe didn't happen in this case!
And having worked as a temp at one of the MCYS community development centres, you really think that there's no room for improvement in the current system?
LOL, so can you kindly teach me how to "double 100 dollars within 2 weeks"? Or "earning 10k in 2 weeks starting with just 100 dollars"? If it is so easy, everyone will be millionaire, if not, billionaire!
So if like what you said it is that easy to earn money, are you a millionaire (if not, should be billionaire)? If not, why? ![]()
Originally posted by 333225520:LOL, so can you kindly teach me how to "double 100 dollars within 2 weeks"? Or "earning 10k in 2 weeks starting with just 100 dollars"? If it is so easy, everyone will be millionaire, if not, billionaire!
So if like what you said it is that easy to earn money, are you a millionaire (if not, should be billionaire)? If not, why?
LOL.. Ask our great Temasek Holding for investing scheme tips.
Originally posted by huzane89:i have no sympathy for this old man. it's good enough that he received $150. Rather than nothing. It's his own fault that he didn't make plan for his old age. And now when he is in this predicament, he wants free stuff. People give him job, complain about bus fare, which is not that much since he can use his senior citizen card. All complains but no effort.
Very obvious. U are a pay PAP cyber agent coming in trying to distort FACTS and push every blame into the old man. While clearly, PAP gov have to share a huge amount of blame for his plight.
sgstars, what u said is contridicting leh.
you mention singapore has welfare is all means to collecting from its immediate family dries up, isnt that as good as no welfare!
common sense, the jobs given was $300 and you blame him for declining it. even ah pek maths is better than you. after deducting transport to and fro work, what left? why dont you challenge why the work only pay $300 a mth?
did you know a cleaner job in shenzhen also pay RMB1000/mth. do the exchange rate n tell me whether we are in third world wage living in first class society for this helpless elderly.
if the MCYS cant do much, they are not doing a good job!
they should be given more funds to run. stop kbkb to us, go to the top of the chain and ask for more money!
i dont mind paying more taxes if we can have a good run decent welfare system n at the sametime make sure we dont pay millions to the ministers!!
there is no excellent welfare country that paid millions to their ministers!!
Originally posted by reyes:sgstars, what u said is contridicting leh.
you mention singapore has welfare is all means to collecting from its immediate family dries up, isnt that as good as no welfare!
common sense, the jobs given was $300 and you blame him for declining it. even ah pek maths is better than you. after deducting transport to and fro work, what left? why dont you challenge why the work only pay $300 a mth?
did you know a cleaner job in shenzhen also pay RMB1000/mth. do the exchange rate n tell me whether we are in third world wage living in first class society for this helpless elderly.
Sgstars is just another PAP cyber agent.
why he dont want the $300 job? if he can cycle from geylang to whompoa, why cant he cycle to work?
Originally posted by 333225520:
So if the social workers are overworked, shouldn't the gov do anything abt it? The gov has billion of reserve every year but it can't afford to hire more social workers?
its not easy being a social worker cos of the workload you get and of course the pay. imagine yourself getting a degree from nus only to earn like 1.9k a month. also the cases that you face everyday will take a toll on you, not everyone can split a clear line btw smypathy and empahty, so not everyone can be a social worker.
talking about reserves, there is a reason why its called "reserve"