Why Taipei’s MRT trumps Singapore’s
Since February this year, SMRT has added about 900 extra train trips each week. According to the company, on average, its train frequency during peak hours is between two and five minutes. During off-peak hours, it is now between 3.5 and seven minutes. Given the existing signalling system and infrastructure, its average peak-hour frequency puts it among the top 20% of the world’s major metro operators, SMRT adds.

Sunita Sue Leng, previously an associate editor at The Edge
Singapore, is now based in Taipei and writes on Greater China issues
is TRTC run as privately listed company??
abt 30% of singapore commuters on SMRT are foreigners, are they train to queue behind yellow lines before the door open? i dont taipei has that much foreigners by comparison.
anyway, i am not a supporters of SMRT either.
Basically I have only one point to reply to.
Originally posted by kilua:As a result, even during the morning rush hour, the trains are never as packed as they are in Singapore.
Thats why i take bus.
bus better lah
Originally posted by yourmotherrr:i hate it when people barge in without letting the others exit first. fucking irritating for me.
maybe need police at all mrt station then they will learn. Thats the sad truth about life.
Originally posted by yourmotherrr:i hate it when people barge in without letting the others exit first. fucking irritating for me.
then you go piak those ppl lor..
Originally posted by xstryker:then you go piak those ppl lor..
piak piak at mrt station?
Originally posted by reyes:is TRTC run as privately listed company??
abt 30% of singapore commuters on SMRT are foreigners, are they train to queue behind yellow lines before the door open? i dont taipei has that much foreigners by comparison.
anyway, i am not a supporters of SMRT either.
TRTC is 73.75% owned by the Taipei City Government. The Ministry of Transportation and Communications owns a further 17.14% while the Taipei County Government owns 8.75%.
SMRT is 54.4% own by the Singapore government. Singapore Government is smarter because if they sell off some of their the shares they can pack the passengers like sardines to make profits.
The prime minister pretends to be concerned about the morning hour overcrowding when they own and can control the SMRT board and management.
Then you have to hear to lies from the transport minister that if the MRT is not publicly listed, it would be inefficient when so many countries have proved otherwise. Maybe what the Transport minister really meant was SMRT would not be efficient in making profits and packing passengers like sardines.
Originally posted by NG QIBO AARON AUBREY:piak piak at mrt station?
yeah
we need to have a upgrade in the mrt system!!!!!
TRTC is 73.75% owned by the Taipei City Government. The Ministry of Transportation and Communications owns a further 17.14% while the Taipei County Government owns 8.75%.
SMRT is 54.4% own by the Singapore government. Singapore Government is smarter because if they sell off some of their the shares they can pack the passengers like sardines to make profits.
The prime minister pretends to be concerned about the morning hour overcrowding when they own and can control the SMRT board and management.
Then you have to hear to lies from the transport minister that if the MRT is not publicly listed, it would be inefficient when so many countries have proved otherwise. Maybe what the Transport minister really meant was SMRT would not be efficient in making profits and packing passengers like sardines.
Edited by kilua 27 Dec `08, 3:57PM
yup u already reply what i want to hear. it does not need to public transport company to get listed to get run smooth, efficient, and at the same time earn a decent profits. too bad our govt are just in here for the profits as their major concern!!!
Nonsense.
SMRT is the best transport company in the whole wide world.
Maximum sardine packing into carriages translate to maximum profits.
Yes, take away more chairs.
Sooner or later, you don't even need signs (more savings for company) to tell you to give up your seats to the elderly because there won't be any seats to begin with.![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Nonsense.
SMRT is the best transport company in the whole wide world.
Maximum sardine packing into carriages translate to maximum profits.
Yes, take away more chairs.
Sooner or later, you don't even need signs (more savings for company) to tell you to give up your seats to the elderly because there won't be any seats to begin with.
Cool.. take away all seats and bring our own chairs. Now this way, we no nd to give our seats to anyone... kekekekeke...![]()
Next time, MRT carriages will have "first class", "economy class" and "budget class" . ![]()
PAP shall be fully ashamed of themselves.
WORLD CLASS TRANSPORT? World class when they compare themselves to vietnam and thailand...
When compare to advance countries/cities like germany or taipei. They will suck their thumb. Drawn world class salaries and can only make us slightly better than 3rd world countries???
I'll tell you when our MRT system will top theirs. When all members of PTC, SMRT, and LTA take the MRT to work during peak hours.![]()
on the otherhand, our MRT is also much better than tokyo subway.
they are super compact sardines! but most men dont mind lor coz sometimes they can to get super close to chio chics. but in certain times, these chio chics get to squeese together in trains specially for women only! haiz!!