Originally posted by freedomclub:Yes, control over all the peasants in a feudal system. There is a better system. Technology was supposed to liberate us, but it seems that it has been developed to enslave us even further. If money was abolished, and the resources of the world is geared towards creating a humane society, where human concerns are addressed instead of profits, then we'll be much better off. However, its not in the rulers' interests to give us that lifestyle. After all, when people are too comfortable and start thinking, the purpose of an elite will start to vanish, posing a threat to their monopoly over power.
I'm not promoting any other -isms, because capitalism, communism etc all function in the same way. Always a pyramidal structure where exploitation and suffering will plague the people while the elites leech off them.
Socialist such as the communist hv not fare well either, so, in a nutshell, humans are at faults no matter what system was implemented, because humans are greedy, self protect and selfish.
In a marco level, one fight for his group benefits, in a micro level one fight for his own self interest. It will never end, our instinct is an carnivores animal, just that we are civilised and smarter and also called ourselve ominvores. We kill each other in way of power and $$. Whether there are monarchs, kings, emperors or communist leaders, all wanted to be on the top to control others, same goes to capitalism, or ur so call technology, someone will control over it and most likely they are called the elites. It been there for century or since the beginning of mankind, a leader will rule over others, he/she will create a system to gain from it and protect himself thru laws and orders. Like it or not, we hv to accept it, there is no way out, unless armegeldon arrive.
Originally posted by noahnoah:
not easy to govern a country one de
sometimes i really admire our Mr Lee~~
can make so many of his "people" like being so sayang de
I also want to learn sia
i thot u admire Mrs Lee...why u like man??
Originally posted by angel7030:
Socialist such as the communist hv not fare well either, so, in a nutshell, humans are at faults no matter what system was implemented, because humans are greedy, self protect and selfish.
In a marco level, one fight for his group benefits, in a micro level one fight for his own self interest. It will never end, our instinct is an carnivores animal, just that we are civilised and smarter and also called ourselve ominvores. We kill each other in way of power and $$. Whether there are monarchs, kings, emperors or communist leaders, all wanted to be on the top to control others, same goes to capitalism, or ur so call technology, someone will control over it and most likely they are called the elites. It been there for century or since the beginning of mankind, a leader will rule over others, he/she will create a system to gain from it and protect himself thru laws and orders. Like it or not, we hv to accept it, there is no way out, unless armegeldon arrive.
Then Humanity is doomed. However, I still retain some hope that there will be a better world in the future.
Originally posted by freedomclub:Then Humanity is doomed. However, I still retain some hope that there will be a better world in the future.
ALL things must begin and end in a certain time. Nothing is permanent forever..the human world shall become extinct one day, a matter of time, and with current abuse of our world by humans thru wars, industrialisation, power struggling, man made sickness, technologies consumption etc etc..it help to expedite the process of extinction. Since all these are beyong our control, why not party now and enjoy life.
Ignorance is bliss? Thats just another way to rationalise those hedonistic consumer lifestyles that is being promoted as a thing to strive for. Because it would threaten your so-called "party" and its related pleasures, people like you prefer to maintain the status quo, even if you are aware of the malfeasance taking place everywhere.
Funny thing, i don't understand why our ministers can't be paid that much. If u'd ask me, not everything has to be based on performace althought truth be told, i think they are doing splendid.
Incidents do happen and because of that this extremely stupid trend of constant bombardment of why ministers 'pay are so high is starting to piss me off.
Why can't our ministers' pay be the highest in the world? Why must we NOT be the highest? Its not like our ministers suck. They might not be the best, but to me, a high salary simply means throwing the ministers one whole truck load of responsibility.
It simply means their job costs this much responsibility. I doubt anyone can handle such immense responsibility. For instance the recent Mas selamat crap. Do u think u can handle the pressure the ones under fire face? Not exactly. And with all the opposition chewing down on that matter and taking the opportunity to get u out of the competition for the major ruling party, i really do think that that amount of responsibility can cost that much.
Its also because that they are being paid so much that we can throw every shit at them. I really mean everything. The responsibility they have is simply immense! Any thing that happens, these ministers will have to take the blame. Not you.
I don't think it's right to blame the government for this. The reason for the poor growth rate is due to the world wide financial crisis triggered recession. This is something they have no control over. Due to the nature of our economy, we are naturally one of the hardest hit thus ranking us 9th in this report.
Whether the government has done a good job of running the economy is more apparent when examined over a longer period of time like a decade or two. Frankly, I feel that they've done a good job during the 70s to the early 90s. However, after the early 90s, they seemed to have lost the ability to create anymore solid economic plans for the future and we continue to be stuck between first world and third because of that.
Just my 2cents worth.
Originally posted by lookslikegod:Funny thing, i don't understand why our ministers can't be paid that much. If u'd ask me, not everything has to be based on performace althought truth be told, i think they are doing splendid.
Incidents do happen and because of that this extremely stupid trend of constant bombardment of why ministers 'pay are so high is starting to piss me off.
Why can't our ministers' pay be the highest in the world? Why must we NOT be the highest? Its not like our ministers suck. They might not be the best, but to me, a high salary simply means throwing the ministers one whole truck load of responsibility.
It simply means their job costs this much responsibility. I doubt anyone can handle such immense responsibility. For instance the recent Mas selamat crap. Do u think u can handle the pressure the ones under fire face? Not exactly. And with all the opposition chewing down on that matter and taking the opportunity to get u out of the competition for the major ruling party, i really do think that that amount of responsibility can cost that much.
Its also because that they are being paid so much that we can throw every shit at them. I really mean everything. The responsibility they have is simply immense! Any thing that happens, these ministers will have to take the blame. Not you.
how do you quantity their worth? nothing against good pay but obscene pay like what cabinet ministers here command is against the grain of servitude (to the nation). you reckon frontline singapore army who defend the sovereignty of the country need to be paid a hell lot more as well? i think so. why is this not so then?
why is the president of the united states not demanding more pay for himself? pegged it against the top 5% of high earners there?
when the singapore government skew the rationale to justify paying themselves silly and can do so; there's nothing left to discuss.
just grin and bear it. after a while, you will be numbed to it.
just like you have......
By most international standards and observers, I would say the SG govt has definitely performed well over the years. But if the SG govt is so arrogant to think they are the world's best government and justifies that claim by paying themselves obscene million dollar salaries, then I think they are pretty mediocre for their claims and boasts. Just look at what happened after they raised their pay, are Singaporeans getting better governance after they raised their pay astronomically?
Are we still not affected by retrenchments, high inflation, unaffordable homes, top fugitive limping away to freedom, ordinary people losing life savings to investment products that should have been regulated by MAS and the ineffectiveness of the ERP gantry system?
The extra millions saved from their high salaries could be better spent elsewhere in education, healthcare, helping the poor or builidng up budget surpluses. Do we need ministers to feel more disconnected from the general public because of their increased wealth and unable to emphatize with the very people they are supposed to design policies for?
Bottomline, if I am paying them such improved salaries, as a taxpayer I want to see genuine improvements and better leadership, not maintainence of the status quo and definitely not a deprovement in general standard of living. If they're the best and truly world class, nobody would doubt their standing and abilities, but I suspect they have more doubters than believers on this aspect.
If they liked to pay themselves so much, i'd certainly like to see them take responsibility during an actual screwup (Mas*cough* Selamat *cough*) and not push the blame to someone lower down the ladder.
Originally posted by redDUST:
how do you quantity their worth? nothing against good pay but obscene pay like what cabinet ministers here command is against the grain of servitude (to the nation). you reckon frontline singapore army who defend the sovereignty of the country need to be paid a hell lot more as well? i think so. why is this not so then?why is the president of the united states not demanding more pay for himself? pegged it against the top 5% of high earners there?
when the singapore government skew the rationale to justify paying themselves silly and can do so; there's nothing left to discuss.
just grin and bear it. after a while, you will be numbed to it.
just like you have......
Wise words redDust
Originally posted by freedomclub:Ignorance is bliss? Thats just another way to rationalise those hedonistic consumer lifestyles that is being promoted as a thing to strive for. Because it would threaten your so-called "party" and its related pleasures, people like you prefer to maintain the status quo, even if you are aware of the malfeasance taking place everywhere.
look dude, in term of singapore what more can you do than enjoy the party and peace here, before u speak or take action, the govt lawyers, ISD, police and those eat too full got nothing to do people will be at your doorstep asking for your IC.
so are you going to change the laws here and be a hero, in singapore, hero die first hor
Originally posted by ShitSandwich:By most international standards and observers, I would say the SG govt has definitely performed well over the years. But if the SG govt is so arrogant to think they are the world's best government and justifies that claim by paying themselves obscene million dollar salaries, then I think they are pretty mediocre for their claims and boasts. Just look at what happened after they raised their pay, are Singaporeans getting better governance after they raised their pay astronomically?
Are we still not affected by retrenchments, high inflation, unaffordable homes, top fugitive limping away to freedom, ordinary people losing life savings to investment products that should have been regulated by MAS and the ineffectiveness of the ERP gantry system?
The extra millions saved from their high salaries could be better spent elsewhere in education, healthcare, helping the poor or builidng up budget surpluses. Do we need ministers to feel more disconnected from the general public because of their increased wealth and unable to emphatize with the very people they are supposed to design policies for?
Bottomline, if I am paying them such improved salaries, as a taxpayer I want to see genuine improvements and better leadership, not maintainence of the status quo and definitely not a deprovement in general standard of living. If they're the best and truly world class, nobody would doubt their standing and abilities, but I suspect they have more doubters than believers on this aspect.
Shit!, is it wrong to be arrogant so as to pursue excellency, do you think that other countries govt are really getting less than our govt. do? So far, beside the high cost of a cosmospolitan life in singapore, haven't you enjoyed the peace and harmony in this country.
Originally posted by lookslikegod:U gotta understand how our economy works. Read up on why our economy is so badly hit at this time before writing this kind of crap.
I think you are the one who has got to corelate what our ministers say and how our economy works before posting this kind of crap.
high growth, slow growth, fast growth, does not matter as it does not affect the PAP from drawing super high obscene pay. They make sure they are adequately or more than adequately paid before the nation interest. Vote the PAP out.
Shit!, is it wrong to be arrogant so as to pursue excellency, do you think that other countries govt are really getting less than our govt. do? So far, beside the high cost of a cosmospolitan life in singapore, haven't you enjoyed the peace and harmony in this country.
Miss, Mr Ma the Taiwan President is getting so much lesser than the shitty lee hsien loong but he is much more committed to provide good life for his people in Taiwan. He travels to the south to find out the needs of the people there. I rather have Mr Ma become our PM. There are also peace and harmony in other countries whereby PAP are no government there.
Originally posted by Fantagf:high growth, slow growth, fast growth, does not matter as it does not affect the PAP from drawing super high obscene pay. They make sure they are adequately or more than adequately paid before the nation interest. Vote the PAP out.
ok, i go out and vote the PAP
U half taiwanese, any way for you to get Ma to be our PM?
Hahaha......
Makes you wonder how these PAP supporters think.
1) When growth was good, they attribute the successes to the planning and foresight of the PAP cadres.
2) When growth is bad, they attribute it to the failure of the global economy.
Heads I Win, Tails You Lose. ![]()
As an addendum, one also has to take note that the past successes was due to planning of the old guards and not the current noobs who flagrantly plagiarize the old guards successes.
umm, the supporters sound like LKY, ha ha ha.
Originally posted by Fantagf:umm, the supporters sound like LKY, ha ha ha.
What makes you think you sound any different from LKY?
Hi All,
I got a doubt leh.
If economic depression or recession is due to world economic factors,
then bad economic figure is attributed to poor economic conditions. so we should move on.
If economic boom , what attribute to the success?
Also,
TW , HK , SG very different political systems but sama sama economic performance as in generally regarded as healthy economy. last time, you remember they called the asian tigers? economic miracles? ah , thats what i mean.
so , my 2nd doubt is how the come different political still sama sama miracle?
so, any thing can we deduce from ?
Similarly, the public transport hike afew months ago was attributed to the rising cost of crude oil (US$ 140), subsequently when the price of crude oil fell to US$ 40, all Raymond Lim could muster was, the pricing of public transport fares is not based on the price level of crude oil. ![]()
Heads I Win, Tails You Lose. ![]()
Originally posted by maurizio13:
Similarly, the public transport hike afew months ago was attributed to the rising cost of crude oil (US$ 140), subsequently when the price of crude oil fell to US$ 40, all Raymond Lim could muster was, the pricing of public transport fares is not based on the price level of crude oil.
Heads I Win, Tails You Lose.
if no head, no tail, i win!!