Hi all,
I have this teething question on my current job status and I would like to seek any geninue advices. I am working with this IT company for 10+ years and would consider as one of the seniors. At the moment, my boss has owed us 3 months of salary, to date. He cited that the economy is not doing well ( which I agree ) and the sales is not picking up at all. In a single month, our sales would sometimes be as low as 1k. However, I checked my CPF regularly and he did make a contribution to my CPF every month.Currently, I am single and supporting my parent.
My question to all is, should I leave the firm and look for a new job now or should I hang on til the economy picks up?
sorry if i am skewing from the main topic.
juz like to share that
I heard a rumor
that there is a advantage when financial meltdown.
big companies which always report strong growth
can suddenly have the chance to 'balance' things by
using this chance to show they lose money when their competitors also doing the same.
i hope u get wtf i mean.
point for consideration.
You really need to take care of yourself and your family; Start looking for a new job immediately. Talk to your boss and if he doesn't cough up his dues then bring the case up with MOM.
It does not sound like this company can lasts.
Have you and your collegues sat down with the HR department and the Bozzes regarding this?
If you still wishes to stay with the company, then at least talk to them to release you for other kind of work to keep you going. If not, then at least a retrenchment benefit.
Economy is not good all world wide. Even if you leave this current job, you might not be able to find one out there.
Also, there is a term of termination if the company has not been paying salary for a month. So you best be on the lookout for some other job on standby just in case.
Talk to your bozzes, have the HR department involved and make it a mass project instead of HR dept talk to you one by one on the sly.
Originally posted by Ericwch:Hi all,
I have this teething question on my current job status and I would like to seek any geninue advices. I am working with this IT company for 10+ years and would consider as one of the seniors. At the moment, my boss has owed us 3 months of salary, to date. He cited that the economy is not doing well ( which I agree ) and the sales is not picking up at all. In a single month, our sales would sometimes be as low as 1k. However, I checked my CPF regularly and he did make a contribution to my CPF every month.Currently, I am single and supporting my parent.
My question to all is, should I leave the firm and look for a new job now or should I hang on til the economy picks up?
1. If this is not a problem your UNION should help you solve, what then is the purpose of your union's existence? did you pay annual fees to UNION? demand service.
2. You should not accept this. If everyone accept this and becomes a common practice, in this crisis, all companies can also do this - withhold salary.
Check your employment contract, if you still keep it. Salary withholding is morally wrong.
3. If i were you, I would discuss with all employees whose pay get withheld and use Collective Bargaining Agreement.
4. last resort is to SUE your company. You have not done wrong and the company owes you salary. to me, you cannot lose. Charge them interest as well.
5. find a new company asap. loyalty depends on how good is your employer. does he deserve your loyalty?
regards
Sackem
if a company goes to the point of owning workers $$$$
its as good as closing down. cause the company does not have extra cash anymore
if u drag longer its might declare bankrupt and u will end up lanlan
when its declare bankrupt . u cant get anything from it anymore. u also cant chase back the salary they own u.
if its a pte ltd. its can just declare bankrupt and restart another company .
These are my view it is a survivor guide i think it does not involved in burning your bridge.
first of all talk to your companies employees are you the only person not get paid? or everyone?
Second. Start a negociation process with your boss. establish partial payment terms on bimonthly.
personally i don;t think u r going to get a new jobs in these market. So work out a part time term and start working part time to compensate your income.
nobody knows when the economy will recover.
it will get worst before it gets better. a few months later he would be owing you many months of salary. what if the company cannot last until the economy recovers?
go look for another job. go to the MOM immediately after you leave the company. if i remember correctly according to labour law your company has to pay you all your salary 7 days after your last day.
if i were u i wld start looking for new jobs.
and since u have already 10yrs exp..there will always be coy who will wanna hire exp pple..
u can pm me if u need help in looking for it jobs.
Which company? care to share?
wah, such injustice to workers
happening in singapore!
what to do, lets move on?
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:if a company goes to the point of owning workers $$$$
its as good as closing down. cause the company does not have extra cash anymore
if u drag longer its might declare bankrupt and u will end up lanlan
when its declare bankrupt . u cant get anything from it anymore. u also cant chase back the salary they own u.
if its a pte ltd. its can just declare bankrupt and restart another company .
in any case he is already on the loosing end. So u want the company to stay afloat and not to go bankrupt forcing the company thru MOM would just lead to bankrupt.
The key strategy is how do u minimizes the lost. like i say start negociation process take leave to cover part salary and start working part time else where.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:
in any case he is already on the loosing end. So u want the company to stay afloat and not to go bankrupt forcing the company thru MOM would just lead to bankrupt.The key strategy is how do u minimizes the lost. like i say start negociation process take leave to cover part salary and start working part time else where.
any unpaid salary after 7 days from the date of paid is liable for the employers to get a fine of max. $100000.
with no $$$, what are you negiotating??? in the end you will only get a paper worth of nothing.
When company is on the brink of collapse, even the watchdog also left....why u still around...no more fish liao..
Originally posted by Arapahoe:
in any case he is already on the loosing end. So u want the company to stay afloat and not to go bankrupt forcing the company thru MOM would just lead to bankrupt.The key strategy is how do u minimizes the lost. like i say start negociation process take leave to cover part salary and start working part time else where.
i never ask him to do anything leh read carefully (- -)
just tell him the facts his company is facing right now. no 1 is to decided wat he should do next. he himself have to do it.
you should not leave. there are many other MNCs in jurong which have shut down production due to no demand and asked all its staff to go on no pay leave, and hope demand comes back soon.
to TS, emigrate out of sg.
or start selling fishballs to bluff people
Ericwch, why start a topic asking for advice and never return? Wasting our time trying to advise you.
Originally posted by webben:Ericwch, why start a topic asking for advice and never return? Wasting our time trying to advise you.
aiya, typical singaporean mah, no courtesy one lah, know how to take advantage only, but dunno how to say thank you or acknowledge one lah. Learn ya.