Originally posted by Midlusionz:In the past, life was simple and i do agree ppl are easily contented with things .... I am 25 this yr and hey i have my fair share of poverty too .. But those who are born like 1990 and above yeah is having pretty good life now .. But u need to put into consideration how technology has improve and how fast pace is the working life nowadays compare to the past.
About the fact that someoen banging the keys on the keyboard is an indication of being good life ? Ok, let compare the past and now .. How many shops are there for rent in the past (i mean during our parents generation) Not much i will said .. Econmy is not realli that good then.
Its almost impossible to see streets hawker nowadays .. Cos there's much more employment compare in the past and now .. Having a shop now also doesnt mean u are having a good life too .. Who know that person is making a loss for all u know.
Thru out the years life has improve for us but it has reach a point whereby the ERP and stuff are getting from bad to worst.
my point is merely: compared to our forefathers, kids have it really really good. So good that many do not even know what real hardship is.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:
I'm actually the same age as you but i don't see why technology has anything to do with it besides making us less tolerant of discomforts. In the end it really depends on your perspective on what is fast paced or not, but i'm sure it's not going to beat my grandfather carrying ricebags everyday under the hot sun and heavy rain.The problem is we are going have to face the fact that we're not going to be able to make the kind of jump from poverty to fortune the way our grandparents did. It's a physical fact rather than the incompetence of the PAP government.
It's just like doing Pull ups in NS, in BMT the amount of pull ups you can do will greatly increase but once you pass out you will start to realise each additional pull up is going to take more training and effort than the previous one.
Right now we are already close to our limit, where each % of growth is taking vastly more effort than the previous. There is no such thing as unlimited growth.
Whether something is bad or worse is a matter of perspective. I enjoy taking walks and i feel cars are hardly a neccessity in Singapore so the ERP hardly affects me. I like my job and my colleagues, and i enjoy being able to treat my relatives to the occasional lunch.
I control my spending and make sure there is a clear line between need and want. I don't have problems getting food or drinks and my water and electricity is uninterrupted. I don't just live within my means, i live below my means.
When you think something is bad, you make it easier for you to accept information to support the belief that it is bad giving the impression that it is worse. So whether you feel life in Singapore is getting harder or not is whether you want to believe that it is
That's my take on it.
Different ppl will always have different PoV.
So u mean our working society is not fast-paced enough for u? As in average.. Not comparing with other countries.
The defination of average household in the past is having 3 meals per day, having a roof over their head, clothes to wear, having no TV blah blah blah and its a common sight or maybe u can said its above average. How bout now? It's like almost a 99% for ppl to have TV at home .. and let said about 50% have PCs at home shall we? Its a pretty low amt tbh but of cos there are sure poor household ard .. compare that with the "In-the-past-average" household.
This is the comparsion we have now .. In the future, there will or might be a higher lvl of comparsion of us and with our next generation between rich and average, therefore i will said at least for my generation we are not those born with the golden spoon in our mouths .. Its just average.
As for the technology part, technology as already become the part of our life.. It's more than about making "discomfort" more comfortable. We simply cannot live without it .. MRT is a technology, how many ppl can live without it? Ok maybe a few percentage .. Majority still need it .. Televison is also a technology, how many ppl can live without it? Ok maybe some don't. Usining remote control to switch channels? controlling the volume? Computers? We are in the IT age now .. Everything u ask .. Ppl dun knwo the answer to it they will just said "Google is your best friend" .. It's like almost a need too nowadays, i do understand some household do not have computers at home, how bout visiting the lilbrary? Lilbrary in the past do not have such things as internet services IIRC. I remember in the past how i dial-up to the net with snaill-slow spd .. Nowadays how many ppl are still using dial-up? The prices of 56k and 256k is pretty obvious which u will take. So all in all .. Wat i wanna said is that, technology is not just about being making us less tolerant of discomforts. It's more than that.
And as for the improvment part of Singapore, yeah we sorta hit the limits considering the size of SG to other countries so yeah gl to all the increasing prices and stuff.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:my point is merely: compared to our forefathers, kids have it really really good. So good that many do not even know what real hardship is.
True.. The golden spoon thingy just too "big" to descibe that. Kids just need to grow up and learn to appreciate stuff.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
childish and ba dao! ha ha ha.
whahah watever
owwwww im so angry that my head busting ................
ooooop i fall for yr words .....
Originally posted by Midlusionz:True.. The golden spoon thingy just too "big" to descibe that. Kids just need to grow up and learn to appreciate stuff.
very hard already. now a days even adult also cant take hardship
and they look at narrow spect.
more important they look at $$$ 1st
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:
very hard already. now a days even adult also cant take hardshipand they look at narrow spect.
more important they look at $$$ 1st
Money > almost everything atm.
Originally posted by noob321:hahaha...lucky I never go to PAP de kindergarden...
not brainwashed yet...hahaha
lol. how abt pri n sec sch leh? teacher make u sing national anthem n plege.
so u have not been brainwashed by PAP issit?
I have a strong mind, they didn’t get me.
Their greatest protected weapon the brainwash machine, free-air TV. Most SBS buses have one too, also known as noisy box.
I have stopped watching mediacorp for about 9 years. I don’t like the commercial advertisements interruption and the one-sided story talks.
Although, I am in Cao, my heart is at Han.
Don’t get demoralised, I still believe one day a new empire will emerge.
Originally posted by Midlusionz:
Different ppl will always have different PoV.So u mean our working society is not fast-paced enough for u? As in average.. Not comparing with other countries.
The defination of average household in the past is having 3 meals per day, having a roof over their head, clothes to wear, having no TV blah blah blah and its a common sight or maybe u can said its above average. How bout now? It's like almost a 99% for ppl to have TV at home .. and let said about 50% have PCs at home shall we? Its a pretty low amt tbh but of cos there are sure poor household ard .. compare that with the "In-the-past-average" household.
This is the comparsion we have now .. In the future, there will or might be a higher lvl of comparsion of us and with our next generation between rich and average, therefore i will said at least for my generation we are not those born with the golden spoon in our mouths .. Its just average.
As for the technology part, technology as already become the part of our life.. It's more than about making "discomfort" more comfortable. We simply cannot live without it .. MRT is a technology, how many ppl can live without it? Ok maybe a few percentage .. Majority still need it .. Televison is also a technology, how many ppl can live without it? Ok maybe some don't. Usining remote control to switch channels? controlling the volume? Computers? We are in the IT age now .. Everything u ask .. Ppl dun knwo the answer to it they will just said "Google is your best friend" .. It's like almost a need too nowadays, i do understand some household do not have computers at home, how bout visiting the lilbrary? Lilbrary in the past do not have such things as internet services IIRC. I remember in the past how i dial-up to the net with snaill-slow spd .. Nowadays how many ppl are still using dial-up? The prices of 56k and 256k is pretty obvious which u will take. So all in all .. Wat i wanna said is that, technology is not just about being making us less tolerant of discomforts. It's more than that.
And as for the improvment part of Singapore, yeah we sorta hit the limits considering the size of SG to other countries so yeah gl to all the increasing prices and stuff.
Well i've done a variety of part time jobs including cleaning up after wedding dinners (Having rotting prawns burst out of a rubbish bag = very unpleasant cleanup) and selling computer games. Right now i work in the games industry.
I just never gave much thought to whether my life is fast paced or not. I just know there are always going to be something else i need to do after i've finished with something, when you keep occupying yourself like that you just never think about whether it's fast paced or not. I dread having nothing to do more than having too much to do.
I just read alot, it makes me more appreciative of what i'm getting in Singapore when i compare to what poorer countries have to go through.
I never said technology was bad.
But because everything works so fast now and how easy it is for us to get information from the internet we lost the ability to appreciate how much effort our grandparents, our parents, LKY and the PAP took to create everything we are now taking for granted. What we are enjoying now, is due to their efforts not of the current generation's.
Do i believe LKY and the PAP can do no wrong and will continue to be like this? Of course not, i'm not stupid enough to believe that. But if we do not appreciate fully the effort it took for us to enjoy what we have now, we would squander it all and then wonder why the death of LKY didn't liberate us after all.
Well i've done a variety of part time jobs including cleaning up after wedding dinners (Having rotting prawns burst out of a rubbish bag = very unpleasant cleanup) and selling computer games. Right now i work in the games industry.I just never gave much thought to whether my life is fast paced or not. I just know there are always going to be something else i need to do after i've finished with something, when you keep occupying yourself like that you just never think about whether it's fast paced or not. I dread having nothing to do more than having too much to do.
I just read alot, it makes me more appreciative of what i'm getting in Singapore when i compare to what poorer countries have to go through.
I never said technology was bad.
But because everything works so fast now and how easy it is for us to get information from the internet we lost the ability to appreciate how much effort our grandparents, our parents, LKY and the PAP took to create everything we are now taking for granted. What we are enjoying now, is due to their efforts not of the current generation's.
Do i believe LKY and the PAP can do no wrong and will continue to be like this? Of course not, i'm not stupid enough to believe that. But if we do not appreciate fully the effort it took for us to enjoy what we have now, we would squander it all and then wonder why the death of LKY didn't liberate us after all.
Hmm.. let mi see wat jobs i have done b4 .. Banquet (like wat u mention and boy, i know how does it feel), waiter in a bar, sending newspaper, working in fast food outlet, work in factory from like 7pm to 7am, selling games. right now i am in IT line in a bank.
The worst thing about LKY is that he never let go of reins, let said one day he die and i am pretty sure sg will go down together with him. He pretty much wan SG to be in control under the Lee's wing.
I'm actually the same age as you but i don't see why technology has anything to do with it besides making us less tolerant of discomforts. In the end it really depends on your perspective on what is fast paced or not, but i'm sure it's not going to beat my grandfather carrying ricebags everyday under the hot sun and heavy rain.The problem is we are going have to face the fact that we're not going to be able to make the kind of jump from poverty to fortune the way our grandparents did. It's a physical fact rather than the incompetence of the PAP government.
It's just like doing Pull ups in NS, in BMT the amount of pull ups you can do will greatly increase but once you pass out you will start to realise each additional pull up is going to take more training and effort than the previous one.
Right now we are already close to our limit, where each % of growth is taking vastly more effort than the previous. There is no such thing as unlimited growth.
Whether something is bad or worse is a matter of perspective. I enjoy taking walks and i feel cars are hardly a neccessity in Singapore so the ERP hardly affects me. I like my job and my colleagues, and i enjoy being able to treat my relatives to the occasional lunch.
I control my spending and make sure there is a clear line between need and want. I don't have problems getting food or drinks and my water and electricity is uninterrupted. I don't just live within my means, i live below my means.
When you think something is bad, you make it easier for you to accept information to support the belief that it is bad giving the impression that it is worse. So whether you feel life in Singapore is getting harder or not is whether you want to believe that it is
That's my take on it.
Why focus on the small stuff? Step back and look at the big picture. Have you ever noticed that almost everyone works their entire life while a few rich fucks, who have it all anyway, never get tired of exploiting their peasants?
While technology was supposed to liberate us, it has ended up enslaving us. Why? Because since the feudal age, the kind of elites that have ruled over us have not changed. In addition, our economic and monetary system is also designed to enslave and to solidify control and distraction of the population.
You may say we have the freedom to buy this and that. The freedom to go where we want. The freedom to do what we want. The sad truth is that we're in a farm. However, we can choose the type of conditions that are prevalent in a farm. We can even choose the farmer that rears us. Heck, we can even emigrate to another farm. But at the end of the day, we're still in a farm. And what does a farm do? Our time, energy and life is sucked out of us by the farmers, like batteries, just like eggs and milk are from chickens and cows. Farmers learnt that caged animals, for instance, cows in pens are less productive than their free-range counterparts, which are given a little more space. In the same way, we have what minute amounts of freedom. Free-range livestock (humans) tend to be more productive than caged animals.
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:whahah watever
owwwww im so angry that my head busting ................
ooooop i fall for yr words .....
eh, u are so very mean, I am just standing firm not to let you be so mean to me. We are all here to voice out the truth and facts about PAP, nothing fierce or whatsoever. If their good points are so overwhelming - more than the bad ones then hardly will there be people bother to talk about them. We feed them, they owe us a living, we don't owe them a living. Right or not? I fierce or not when I say this?
Originally posted by Midlusionz:I always got this debate with my mum .. Why older generation support LKY so much.. Cos they see how he build up Singapore .. As for my generation .. We only get to see him increasing price of this and that ..
You will be surprised that NOT all older generation support LKY.
Don't depend on the cheerful old folks that CNA feature receiving 'ang pows' from the MPs and Ministers during special occassions.
Try talking to the same old folks after you gain their trust that your white shirt and white pants are just your school uniform.
Many older generation have not forgotten the skewed REFERENDUM that LKY forcefully pushed through despite the concerns from a far greater number of Singaporeans that were doubtful of our position in a merger with the Federation of Malaya.
The failure of Singapore to be part of Malaysia is a failure of LKY efforts to ensure that Singapore will be an equal member despite all his assurances given to Singapore simply to see to the success of his wilfull insistence that Singapore must be part of a Federation of Malaysia.
eh, u are so very mean, I am just standing firm not to let you be so mean to me. We are all here to voice out the truth and facts about PAP, nothing fierce or whatsoever. If their good points are so overwhelming - more than the bad ones then hardly will there be people bother to talk about them. We feed them, they owe us a living, we don't owe them a living. Right or not? I fierce or not when I say this?
ok lah sorry , pai sei . zan'nenna , Entschuldigung, DeSOLe, Apenado, Yukamsuroun, Sia Jai, TiEC, Menyesal, 对�起
so many sorry at least u should understand at least 1 of them ^^
never mind about the past lah
we hate PAP and we shall be UNITED to overthrow them~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Originally posted by Midlusionz:Hmm.. let mi see wat jobs i have done b4 .. Banquet (like wat u mention and boy, i know how does it feel), waiter in a bar, sending newspaper, working in fast food outlet, work in factory from like 7pm to 7am, selling games. right now i am in IT line in a bank.
The worst thing about LKY is that he never let go of reins, let said one day he die and i am pretty sure sg will go down together with him. He pretty much wan SG to be in control under the Lee's wing.
Heh, funny the jobs that life brings us.
I do agree that Singapore will probably go down badly when LKY dies but not for the same reasons.
Too much people here believe that LKY and the PAP is the cause for all our problems. As long as he dies or PAP breaks up we'd all be better off. How many times already have humanity thought the same thing when they overthrown dynasties and empires?
I am eagerly waiting for him to die, just so i can see people celebrate and rejoice at the death of the tyrant/dictator/sociopath for about a week and then realise horribly we now have to solve the problems the previous government was actually solving for us. We have to be actually responsible for our choices good or bad and not be able to blame someone else for it.
What a joyful surprise that would be.
We won't need LKY to ruin Singapore for us, i'm sure the hundreds of people who think they can do better than him would do it in a far more efficient manner.
Originally posted by freedomclub:Why focus on the small stuff? Step back and look at the big picture. Have you ever noticed that almost everyone works their entire life while a few rich fucks, who have it all anyway, never get tired of exploiting their peasants?
While technology was supposed to liberate us, it has ended up enslaving us. Why? Because since the feudal age, the kind of elites that have ruled over us have not changed. In addition, our economic and monetary system is also designed to enslave and to solidify control and distraction of the population.
You may say we have the freedom to buy this and that. The freedom to go where we want. The freedom to do what we want. The sad truth is that we're in a farm. However, we can choose the type of conditions that are prevalent in a farm. We can even choose the farmer that rears us. Heck, we can even emigrate to another farm. But at the end of the day, we're still in a farm. And what does a farm do? Our time, energy and life is sucked out of us by the farmers, like batteries, just like eggs and milk are from chickens and cows. Farmers learnt that caged animals, for instance, cows in pens are less productive than their free-range counterparts, which are given a little more space. In the same way, we have what minute amounts of freedom. Free-range livestock (humans) tend to be more productive than caged animals.
Because the big picture is ultimately comprised of small stuff. If you ignore the small stuff, why would you be shocked when you realise you keep getting the same big picture over and over again?
Where do you think the rich fucks get their money from in the first place? Their ancestors worked harder than everyone else and got the fruits of their labour. The problem has always been us ignoring the small things that make up the big picture.
You keep blaming the elites over and over again, they climbed to their position supplying us with what we wanted. I'm not going to blame Macdonalds for being fat because they know how to satisfy our tastebuds.
This monetary system is what WE wanted, because the majority of us are able to get a fair trade of our labours under this system, we don't want to carry heavy sacks of gold and silver in order to purchase stuff. It is a birth of convenience, hardly intentionally designed as a tool of control but there will always be opportunistic individuals who know how to use it to manipulate others.
Surprise, surprise. We ARE animals, we are still governed by instincts that are relevant in our ancestors' times. There's no point pretending we are not.
I recognise that i've got instinctive needs i got to satisfy from time to time and i satisfy them. What we understand as happiness is merely triggering the chemical release from our brains to give us that buzz.
The problem is the more buzz we get, the lesser the high we obtain each time. That is the source where all the constant dissatisfaction that is prevalent in ALL mature societies come from.
We crave so much that high we can get from striking the lottery but the feeling after you've spent it could be the worse thing you would ever experience.
People owe it to themselves to exercise their choice wisely. It is the people that have given PAP the opportunity to reign for 40 years.
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:
ok lah sorry , pai sei . zan'nenna , Entschuldigung, DeSOLe, Apenado, Yukamsuroun, Sia Jai, TiEC, Menyesal, 对�起
so many sorry at least u should understand at least 1 of them ^^
never mind about the past lah
we hate PAP and we shall be UNITED to overthrow them~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
OK lah, meng meng, me basically don't hold grudge. Make sure you and I don't vote for them lor, right??
please note that voting is confidential and cannot be force or influenced by others. Any lay offender caught trying to manipulate other their voting right shall be fine max $3000 and jail 1 year unless under ISD
Originally posted by angel7030:please note that voting is confidential and cannot be force or influenced by others. Any lay offender caught trying to manipulate other their voting right shall be fine max $3000 and jail 1 year unless under ISD
If you have a chance to vote, you will notice that there is serial numbers on each voting slip. Not confidential lah.
it's confidential, only PAP will know, the rest will not know.
Becareful hor.
Originally posted by angel7030:it's confidential, only PAP will know, the rest will not know.
Becareful hor.
Then it is not confidential liao. Serial nos are meant for them to track the votes. End of the day they will know who we vote. They claim that voting is secret. In reality, it is not secret lah.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:Because the big picture is ultimately comprised of small stuff. If you ignore the small stuff, why would you be shocked when you realise you keep getting the same big picture over and over again?
Where do you think the rich fucks get their money from in the first place? Their ancestors worked harder than everyone else and got the fruits of their labour. The problem has always been us ignoring the small things that make up the big picture.
You keep blaming the elites over and over again, they climbed to their position supplying us with what we wanted. I'm not going to blame Macdonalds for being fat because they know how to satisfy our tastebuds.
This monetary system is what WE wanted, because the majority of us are able to get a fair trade of our labours under this system, we don't want to carry heavy sacks of gold and silver in order to purchase stuff. It is a birth of convenience, hardly intentionally designed as a tool of control but there will always be opportunistic individuals who know how to use it to manipulate others.
Surprise, surprise. We ARE animals, we are still governed by instincts that are relevant in our ancestors' times. There's no point pretending we are not.
I recognise that i've got instinctive needs i got to satisfy from time to time and i satisfy them. What we understand as happiness is merely triggering the chemical release from our brains to give us that buzz.
The problem is the more buzz we get, the lesser the high we obtain each time. That is the source where all the constant dissatisfaction that is prevalent in ALL mature societies come from.
We crave so much that high we can get from striking the lottery but the feeling after you've spent it could be the worse thing you would ever experience.
Because the big picture is ultimately comprised of small stuff. If you ignore the small stuff, why would you be shocked when you realise you keep getting the same big picture over and over again?
True, but is anyone looking at the big picture in the first place, even though they can go on and on about the little things in life?
That was in the past, when the people who created their wealth was not subservient to the people who created the money to represent the wealth. We didn't choose the fractional reserve system, not as if we had a choice or even knew how it works. Be honest, do you really think that the average person is interested in how the system works when that is the only thing he knows, and takes it as a given? The intent to enslave is there. If not, then why is money being created as debt in a seemingly never-ending cycle, while no one dares to bring up the subject in the mainstream? What we dont know cant hurt them? Why arent governments creating their own national currency as value instead of debt? Why are governments letting rich central banker fucks, whom do not contribute one bit to the real wealth of the world (unlike farmers), create the money to represent that real wealth and then make life hell for that farmer?
They're elites because they can manipulate us to desire what they want. Want to get more power? Stage a crisis, the people will desire more security and give up their liberty. Old story. If you want to condemn that line of thought as "conspiracy theories", then just look in the fashion world. If a particular designer wants people to buy his clothes, then he'll market his goods with Hollywood, at fashion shows, in advertisements in order to condition people to want them, even if it doesnt do them one bit of good. People are more malleable than we think. Thats why we have concepts like impulsive buying, consumerism and materialism. Its the same thing really, social engineering.
Do you deny the existence of the farm?
Then it is not confidential liao. Serial nos are meant for them to track the votes. End of the day they will know who we vote. They claim that voting is secret. In reality, it is not secret lah.
Will we ever know what the government wants us to know? Is there an independent monitor that tracks the policies of the government in Singapore?
Originally posted by freedomclub:Will we ever know what the government wants us to know? Is there an independent monitor that tracks the policies of the government in Singapore?
I believe the oppositions are tracking and recording the policies of the ruling party. All the ruling party want us to know is from their controlled media, TV, press, radio, PAP website, schools, public places. They have control in many areas.