What a sad state of affairs.. The government doesnt care about its citizens at all it only cares about growing its GDP so that they can peg higher salaries
The elderly deserve to enjoy the fruits of their labour not work themselves till death for the acheivement of the GOVERNMENT'S goals
and come on lah.
Economic crisis leh.
You put elderly and foriegn talents to work.
Then the general age from 18 to 55 years old work what?
Pensions!!!!
We demand pensions!!!
If not, social welfare supported by the government.
preference to work for the elderly should be something that they choose to do; not brainwashed or shove down their throat by the government. if some prefers to wind down and prefer to pursue personal interests, they should be allowed to do so.
the government's recent mindless rant about how continuing working is the only option to stay alert and productive is crap. there are so many other ways the elderly can contribute to singapore.
however, if a 65 year old choose to tend to his gardening day in and day out, i think it is his right. he earns it after slogging for a large part of his life.
however, the reality in singapore is a large proportion of the baby boomers today and in the near future are ill-prepared for old age and living well. the intent of cpf is now a near farce; everything about it got suck back to you-know-who.
if the government is broke, then i think it is a different discussion altogether. but this chaps here are flushed with cash, so much so that they can `throw' money overseas and yet keep their distance to fulfill their commitment to the elderly citizens who have contributed a HUGE part to singapore's success today is almost criminal.
Poor old thing, do you know that our old singaporeans are being laugh and joked by foreign young workers and talents. One of my PRC gal asked me, why your country so old already still working,,,so funny. Then at a hawker stall, i saw a bangala shouting at a old man collecting plates to work faster. OMG! we are a laughing stock.
The ironic here is most people are HDB or condo dwellers, surrounded by cements and contretes, when they retired, there isn't much things to do, except sitting at the void deck, by the pool or by the park waiting for their funneral. Unlike other countries, whereby you can have a large kampong house, a piece of land you can cultivate plants, garden, vege, rearing animals and enjoy a free and peaceful old age with good natural air, old kampong buddies and atmosphere.
Therefore our oldies tend to carry on working as there is no other way out. And that is where the govt can psycho our old peoples or going to be old people to work longer, if everyone one of us hv a kampong to go to, land to take care, I think at 55 yo, most already retired.
Originally posted by miNty`:sometimes is not a matter of whether these old folks wants to work or not..is whether they have the ability to work?
it is dependable on the employers also..if u are given a choice (i) cheap wages, strong BANGLAS (ii) cheap PRC labour (iii) elderies whose movement might not be as flexible as the above 2 options..who will u choose?..
It is dependable on their abilities too.
Senior citizens working in IT corporation/department because of affirmative actions?
Originally posted by Jianye:
Pensions!!!!
We demand pensions!!!
If not, social welfare supported by the government.
As if we can demand n when demand they ever listen.....
Originally posted by angel7030:Poor old thing, do you know that our old singaporeans are being laugh and joked by foreign young workers and talents. One of my PRC gal asked me, why your country so old already still working,,,so funny. Then at a hawker stall, i saw a bangala shouting at a old man collecting plates to work faster. OMG! we are a laughing stock.
The ironic here is most people are HDB or condo dwellers, surrounded by cements and contretes, when they retired, there isn't much things to do, except sitting at the void deck, by the pool or by the park waiting for their funneral. Unlike other countries, whereby you can have a large kampong house, a piece of land you can cultivate plants, garden, vege, rearing animals and enjoy a free and peaceful old age with good natural air, old kampong buddies and atmosphere.
Therefore our oldies tend to carry on working as there is no other way out. And that is where the govt can psycho our old peoples or going to be old people to work longer, if everyone one of us hv a kampong to go to, land to take care, I think at 55 yo, most already retired.
I think there is two overlapping problem, esp for the future...
one is aging pop and this can lead to under-employment in the job market....
the other is letting the aged retires at the appropriate time....
I not sure why the news keep telling people
that most people WANT to work and not because they have to.
I mean, this thing has been repeating over and over for sometime liao.
Why keep publishing about articles that say people Choose to work and not because they have to? Is that not already known?
for example, ST today got 1 Dr wrote in to forum page saying something like people work because they choose to and not because they have to.
just curious how he knows? Does his words represent the whole country's?
oh, he is doctorate wor.
Unless the unemployed elderly is disciplined and does daily exercise workout and engage in social activities, that person is going to deteriorate physically and mentally. Very few are disciplined. Work is best for them.
The government creates the opportunity for them to work, it is up to the the elderly to decide what to take up.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:I not sure why the news keep telling people
Why keep publishing about articles that say people Choose to work and not because they have to? Is that not already known?
for example, ST today got 1 Dr wrote in to forum page saying something like people work because they choose to and not because they have to.
oh, he is doctorate wor.
I think the govt very scare now....
Our replacement rate is around 1.2 for every 2 ppl. Even at this rate of 1.2, half of it is made up of foreigners married sgs or foreigners become PR.
LHL in his N Day speech blamed this on culture and the phenomenal event across asia.
Even when this this true...I wish he had the guts to admit that the policies of the PAP govt has a great role in causing our birth rate to be the lowest in the world....
if old people are allowed to work till 65 means that PAP will have more money in CPF for their Temasek to invest. Seems they are really hard up for more money these days, they encourage transfer of fund to CPF special account by giving higher interest, NTUC Income now provides fixed deposit.
WE have a ruling party who cares for profit making as the top priority, the welfare of the people who feed them are not on their top priority list. We really don't need businessmen to run this country. Want to make lots of money, go into business and not politics, PAP. Lee hsien loong is as heartless as ever. Almost everything is $$$ to him. What a shitty pee m!
'Retirement means death'
Clarissa Oon - The Straits Times, Mon, Jan 14, 2008
THE three words 'retirement means death' reverberated around the Suntec Convention Centre theatre yesterday as Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew addressed the problem of an ageing society at a dialogue.
'We've got to educate those about to retire: Don't retire, work. Retirement means death,' said MM Lee with a laugh.
And he meant every word of what he said to participants at the Silver Industry Conference and Exhibition (Sicex).
'I would not be able to speak to you in this way if I had not led a very active life, connected with many people throughout the world and tried to interpret it to make sense for Singapore,' said the elder statesman, who turns 85 this year.
Like many developed and fast developing countries around the world, Singapore has an ageing population due to longer lifespans and declining birth rates.
'Maybe if we had not started family planning, it would not have been so bad. But then we would not have (economic) growth,' quipped Mr Lee to much laughter from conference participants.
Earlier in the 70-minute dialogue, which revealed a light-hearted and more personal side of the MM, he said that Singaporeans who believed they could stop work at 55 to drink wine and play golf were 'done for'.
'If the mindset is that 'I'll reach retirement age at 62, I'm old, I can't work anymore, now is the time I enjoy life,' I think you're making the biggest mistake of your life.'
Research has shown that those who retire and lead sedentary lives 'die off very quickly', said the man who started jogging regularly in his 50s and now also keeps fit by swimming and cycling.
'With nothing to do, no purpose in life, you'll just degrade, go to seed. The human being needs a challenge.'
He maintains a packed schedule of international travel, including official trips every year to regional powerhouses China and India.
MM Lee was sharing his experiences of active ageing with Sicex participants.
The four-day conference, which ends tomorrow, explores ways to grow the seniors' market in Singapore and the region.
Asked by Dr Kanwaljit Soin, who runs a non-profit organisation for older women to age successfully, if Singapore could do away with its retirement age of 62, Mr Lee said he personally did not believe in such a concept.
However, he said it was very difficult to deviate from international practice.
He suggested that a senior citizen 'go on working for as long as he can, but changing the nature or the intensity of the work as he ages'.
Mr Lee also defended Singapore's Central Provident Fund (CPF) scheme and argued against pensions for the elderly, which have to be supported by tax revenues.
The CPF scheme, he said, helps Singapore to remain competitive, saying it aims for 'minimum tax rates and maximum self-sufficiency'.
'This way you are not passing the burden (of caring for the elderly) to the next generation,' he added.
(ha ha, more like won't pass burden to PAP so they can continue to draw obscene world class super high pay. That is why they make buying of annuity compulsory.)
Originally posted by likedatosocan:I not sure why the news keep telling people
oh, he is doctorate wor.
This is propaganda. Reason enough for the senile lee kuan yew to control the press.
Originally posted by mancha:It is dependable on their abilities too.
Senior citizens working in IT corporation/department because of affirmative actions?
but still..companies prefer to hire young chaps..much more cheaper in terms of salary wise..
& can be "controlled" easier..cuz some of the elderies have some kind of mentality that goes something like this >> i am older..u shouldn't order me around..should be the other way round even though u are my boss..
There are many ways to contribute to a country. And its not always the narrow way that the propaganda is making it out to be. remember that we always have a choice.