Channel NewsAsia - Monday, January 12
SINGAPORE : Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Sunday gave Singaporeans the assurance that the government will do its part to help, as the country grapples with the current recession.
He however added that an important part of the country’s response will also be how the community itself reaches out to make extra help and support available to fellow citizens when things are tough.
Giving out hong bao to needy residents in his constituency is an annual ritual for Mr Lee.
This time, at least 275 needy residents received S$100 in cash and a S$50 NTUC voucher each.
Still, things have not been easy for some residents he spoke to.
While Mr Lee was giving out hong bao to residents in his constituency on Sunday, there was also attention about a possibly bigger hong bao to be given out to all Singaporeans on Budget Day at the end of the month.
One resident said: "I was retrenched. So was my husband last month. Although we should not solely rely on the government for assistance, we still hope we can find a job through their help."
Another added: "Give money to people to buy things, then businesses, (and) the economy can go up."
And while help will be given, Mr Lee cautioned against over—reliance on handouts.
He said: "We are in this together...not as individuals or even just as each family on its own, but as one big family which is the Singapore family. But if everything depends on government schemes and it becomes a matter of bureaucratic organisation and entitlement, I think we will make this impersonal and we will weaken ourselves as a society.
"And instead of having a sense of mutual support and warmth and comradeship, we will cultivate a sense of reliance and ultimately a society that will not be as strong as it should be."
And so, as the Year of the Ox approaches, the animal’s characteristics — which Mr Lee described as strong but not aggressive and completely dependable — will be the way that Singapore hopes to get through this tough year. — CNA/ms
Thank you lee hsien loong for help in increasing the rental of residential telephone line and call charges with effect from January 2009 during recession. Read that they are increasing the ERP to $1. Lee Hsien Loong, indeed you and your PAP govt really "provide good help" to us Singaporeans during this recession.
REading his article is as good as he did not say anything on helping Singaporeans cope with the recession. Heartless, arrogant, incomptent, selfish bloody pee M we have in Singapore. Without the dad he will not get to where he is now.
Nobody will be left behind.
Yes, nobody.
Really. ![]()
they will help by increasing ministerial pay to help them through the hard times? ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:they will help by increasing ministerial pay to help them through the hard times?
exactly, when time is tough,..the tough get going...nevermind lah, ah pek now can burn MP liao...see how lor
they better not help lah...
everytime they say help, prices somewhere will go up...
Originally posted by GHoST_18:they better not help lah...
ya, help to give us $100 ang baos, but take back $1000, lugi
Originally posted by GHoST_18:they better not help lah...
Then we must express more disappointment. ![]()
Originally posted by Pentaxdude90:Then we must express more disappointment.
then they help again..
If these guys really sincere to help........they should volunteer pay cut of 50% and the proceedings go into a special fund to help those jobless to pay PUB bills, food and medical needs....
I must be dreaming.... LOL
can can..
i meeting lee for coffee later
i will let him know all your concerns and worries for 2009
he might give every one ang pao ya inside how
much i not sure
he help everyone to tide over 2009 only ok
but 2010 have to pay back double or triple ya
which lee?
the "bleached zombie of Ah Meng" Lee or the "man who married another ugly man" Lee
Give us hope is also help mah. then we all hope to migrate out and lead better lives loh.
their help = Gah-Men showing care & concern for rendering help to the poorer families on TV, news etc..
In actual fact..$$ comes from the slightly better (compared to the poor) S'poreans..becuz somehow or another..Gah-Men will "take back" the $$ they invested on the poor families from us =((
Increase in Utilities Bill etc.. =((
They are clever loh..They get to receive the "我是好人" image..while using our $$..
Later God also thought that the Gah-Men are the ones who did good deeds only..& give them good karma
Originally posted by dalim1966sg:If these guys really sincere to help........they should volunteer pay cut of 50% and the proceedings go into a special fund to help those jobless to pay PUB bills, food and medical needs....
I must be dreaming.... LOL
I second your suggestion. There again it is really impossible because profit making is their top priority, so it is "you die your business" as long as they can continue to earn money out of us to allow them to draw obscene super high remuneration.
REading the article just reminds me that lee hsien loong is only "drama drama". He "mao hao lo shu kah ci pei", in Mandarin "mao ku lao su (shu) jia ci bei".
$100 can help someone in financial trouble?
i guess someone who earn a million will never understand.
the more he give, the more he will take back!
I saw a piece of notice on my HDB notice board saying if you need help to find a job, email to [email protected].
the Mail Delivery subsystem error message is :
This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification
Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:
I mailed and it bounced.
The email was wrong.
Such notice are pasted in many blocks of HDB flats.
Till now, I no see this problem rectified and same email is shown in the flats notice board.
I got taken picture liao.
i wonder why like this?
Originally posted by miNty`:their help = Gah-Men showing care & concern for rendering help to the poorer families on TV, news etc..
In actual fact..$$ comes from the slightly better (compared to the poor) S'poreans..becuz somehow or another..Gah-Men will "take back" the $$ they invested on the poor families from us =((
Increase in Utilities Bill etc.. =((
They are clever loh..They get to receive the "我是好人" image..while using our $$..
Later God also thought that the Gah-Men are the ones who did good deeds only..& give them good karma
...what give them good karma? Don't forget he had cancer of the anus...
Originally posted by Sinkapooooo:I saw a piece of notice on my HDB notice board saying if you need help to find a job, email to [email protected].
I mailed and it bounced.
The email was wrong.
Till now, I no see this problem rectified and same email is shown in the flats notice board.
i wonder why like this?
Gmail? ![]()
Who started this 'handout' culture in the first place when times were still relatively good just a few years back? Now he's telling Singaporeans to refrain from having this mindset of handouts from the government? Gimme a break.
Increase GST to help the poor. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Increase GST to help the poor.
ya help them so that the poor can buy kerosene and lighter
Originally posted by Sinkapooooo:I saw a piece of notice on my HDB notice board saying if you need help to find a job, email to [email protected].
I mailed and it bounced.
The email was wrong.
i wonder why like this?
This is proof that PAP is insincere, only wayang wayang
Originally posted by Skiranger:Who started this 'handout' culture in the first place when times were still relatively good just a few years back? Now he's telling Singaporeans to refrain from having this mindset of handouts from the government? Gimme a break.
This bloody pee M cannot be trusted and relied upon. Whatever, he will say and do what benefits him. He is into public service to serve himself much more than the public.