When contacted, the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) would only say that it is possible, under special circumstances, for Singapore citizens to re-enter the country without travel documents.
'Singapore citizens have the right of entry into Singapore. The ICA will first establish the citizenship status of the person and if we are satisfied he or she has not lost the status, we will accord the necessary clearance for entry,' said an ICA spokesman.
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs also declined to say much, but said it was helping the family on the matter.
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_326402.html
The Star Online did not include this part when they repost the news from Straits Time. So technically, it is possible for the granny to come home without the passport.
Imagine a Singaporean granny with dementia turns up at the customs and Singaporean customs simply turn her away because she does not have the documents, I am sure that will send even more tongues wagging about the dogmatism of Custom officials.
Maybe this is also how Mas Selamat escape to malaysia leh.
When you enter malaysia custom, you will see a big sign saying "Selamat Datang".
It means Mas Selamat has come.
Originally posted by Display Name:Maybe this is also how Mas Selamat escape to malaysia leh.
When you enter malaysia custom, you will see a big sign saying "Selamat Datang".
It means Mas Selamat has come.
ha ha ha, funny
Getting past singapore without passport is one thing; but how the hell did she get past Malaysian customs before entering singapore? I mean some people may find our neighbour's ICA procedures lacking behind SG's but they are definately not stupid enough to let her past without showing some documentation.
Selamat Datang! LOL!

Liang Po Po movie II - how liang po po lost her passport in malaysia and manage to sneak back into singapore.
wong kan seng !!! Zzz !!! again Wake up !!! sign extra !!!
Selamat - cripple guy, now old lady ..... hello very shameful !!!
maybe the old lady - not that simple she go there to be train in the malaysia jungle !!!
taken from
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_326402.html
Police called her family at 9 am on Thursday morning to ask them to pick up Madam Voon Chot Yin from the Tanglin police station.
A member of the public found her wandering in a daze along Kim Yam Road at 3.30am on Thursday and alerted the police.
But her family says the immigration authorities' arrival records indicate that she had somehow made her way back here on Sunday - without her bus ticket or her passport and with less than $20 on her.
UNQUOTE
so...
this old granny came to the sg customs without her passport (let's not speculate how she manage to get pass the my customs. Customs officers are usually more concerned with ppl coming INTO their country than with ppl LEAVING their country)
our customs officers somehow managed to verify that she's one of ours and decide to let her through even though she doesn't have her travel documents with her.
AND THEN, they decide to simply let her loose on the streets? None of them felt the need to find out why or how she's there without her passport?
We need to increase population in singapore, so anybody can just come in.
Going out is another matter.
It's like Hotel California.
You can't leave. ![]()
Wong Kan Seng got alibi this time and it is called 'UFO abduction'
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Wong Kan Seng got alibi this time and it is called 'UFO abduction'
Can use the same excuse for MS escape then.
Claim aliens helped MS scale over a wall to escape. ![]()
Hey,What happened to the Mas Selamat prison break story? Like it never happened at all.I remember we were all here making conspiracy theories about his escape day in day out for months on ends but now it is like.... who the furk is Mas Selamat??? leaving only the two Hari Raya each year to remember his name
Originally posted by wisefool83:When contacted, the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) would only say that it is possible, under special circumstances, for Singapore citizens to re-enter the country without travel documents.
'Singapore citizens have the right of entry into Singapore. The ICA will first establish the citizenship status of the person and if we are satisfied he or she has not lost the status, we will accord the necessary clearance for entry,' said an ICA spokesman.
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs also declined to say much, but said it was helping the family on the matter.
The Star Online did not include this part when they repost the news from Straits Time. So technically, it is possible for the granny to come home without the passport.
Imagine a Singaporean granny with dementia turns up at the customs and Singaporean customs simply turn her away because she does not have the documents, I am sure that will send even more tongues wagging about the dogmatism of Custom officials.
Wait a sec.....
Maybe they were desperately trying to increase the Singapore population by other means. ![]()
Those without travel documents will be granted citizenship. ![]()
Originally posted by pearlie27:
So is it possible for Sg citizens to also leave Sg without travel document?
Only if your first name is 'Mas'.Like they say, " If you mas go then go"
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
Only if your first name is 'Mas'.Like they say, " If you mas go then go"
Originally posted by pearlie27:
So is it possible for Sg citizens to also leave Sg without travel document?
No idea, report didn't say. But I guess it makes sense for custom to let her in if they some how know she is Singaporean. I mean if my grandma somehow turn up at custom, then the custom refuse to let her in and just let her wander off back into Malaysia even though they knew she is Singaporean, I will be damn angry at the customs lor.
Originally posted by wisefool83:No idea, report didn't say. But I guess it makes sense for custom to let her in if they some how know she is Singaporean. I mean if my grandma somehow turn up at custom, then the custom refuse to let her in and just let her wander off back into Malaysia even though they knew she is Singaporean, I will be damn angry at the customs lor.
this has to be a rare exception.
imagine ppl coming in claiming to be singaporeans and insists to come into sunny sgp. how do they handle this? even if they let ol' grandma in, they have to get written details from her to confirm. it is gonna be tedious. grandma got dementia some more, probably disorientated and confused.
i think there is some cover up somewhere.
postnote: huang na's killer, that MYsian guy, have demonstrated it is not difficult walking past sgp immigration undetected. i guess coming into singapore has the same flaws.
the other day, as i came in thru 2nd link, i saw a male ICA cop wearing make up and walk like a lady, i asked the counter officer why ICA can employ guy like this??? he told me, ICA is shorthanded, they need at least 1000 more officers, but at the moment, no choice, ladyboy also take.
I guess internally, ICA at immigration checkpoint have some working problem, most of them are doing multi tasking, they look gloomy and unhealthy maybe this is due to short handed and long hours of working, these may result in heckcare attitude, therefore in the situation like a demantia old ah ma, nobody want to care about it.
Something must be done by the management to look into the problem.
And as the ladyboy cop walked past the Guhka soldier with automatic gun, the Gukka also laughed at him, poor thing, got gun but cannot fire
Originally posted by angel7030:the other day, as i came in thru 2nd link, i saw a male ICA cop wearing make up and walk like a lady, i asked the counter officer why ICA can employ guy like this??? he told me, ICA is shorthanded, they need at least 1000 more officers, but at the moment, no choice, ladyboy also take.
I guess internally, ICA at immigration checkpoint have some working problem, most of them are doing multi tasking, they look gloomy and unhealthy maybe this is due to short handed and long hours of working, these may result in heckcare attitude, therefore in the situation like a demantia old ah ma, nobody want to care about it.
Something must be done by the management to look into the problem.
And as the ladyboy cop walked past the Guhka soldier with automatic gun, the Gukka also laughed at him, poor thing, got gun but cannot fire
which gun ar?
Originally posted by 4sg:
which gun ar?
the gun by the waist lah, u dirty minded!!!
Anyway, just to add on to this Mr. Wong Kan Seng misery, recently i heard that there is a corruption at ICA whereby one high post officer was caught committing corruption of $75,000 and maybe excepting free sex just to extend PRC gals' visas so that sg uncles can enjoy further.
So maybe hor, Ah ma gives some money to the ICA officer and was let thru by them, wonder if the ICA office asked for free sex or not??
Originally posted by angel7030:
the gun by the waist lah, u dirty minded!!!
Anyway, just to add on to this Mr. Wong Kan Seng misery, recently i heard that there is a corruption at ICA whereby one high post officer was caught committing corruption of $75,000 and maybe excepting free sex just to extend PRC gals' visas so that sg uncles can enjoy further.
So maybe hor, Ah ma gives some money to the ICA officer and was let thru by them, wonder if the ICA office asked for free sex or not??
ah ma...free sex?
seems like I not the only one dirty minded....
Originally posted by 4sg:ah ma...free sex?
seems like I not the only one dirty minded....
If ICA had a senior high post officer practicing corruption and sex, u should know better than me about the culture there.
Originally posted by angel7030:
If ICA had a senior high post officer practicing corruption and sex, u should know better than me about the culture there.
Culture? yeah right....
In fact, I would say the culture here in Singapore is this "Do anything you like but don't get caught".
So the ICA officer main concerns are double portion. If he is corrupt and screw the FT lady as bribe, he has to be sure that he do it right so that he will not be framed.
And talking about doing it right.....you not off to your pub yet?