The unfortunate suicide of A*Star scholar Mr Lin Zhi Qiang purportedly over rejection of love by a China woman has shocked not only his family and friends who are still going to terms with his unexpected demise, but also ordinary Singaporeans from all walks of life.
A*Star stands for the Agency for Science, Technology and Research, a premier research company which is started and funded by the Singapore government in its ambition to make Singapore the research hub of Asia.
The Singapore government has a long history of awarding scholarships to the creme la crop of junior college students for them to pursue their tertiary education either overseas or at local universitites. Most of them are awarded on the basis of their academic grades in the GCE ‘A’ levels examinations though there have been a shift of late towards non-academic attributes such as creativity and leadership skills.
XXX
The present “scholar system” has done grave injustices to both the scholars themselves and those who have failed to qualify for it. To the former, the artifically cloistered environment in which they are put in deprives them of a chance to fulfill their full potential in the outside world. To the latter group, the limits placed on their career advancement does little to recognize or reward their hard work, talents and contributions.
It is time for the government to relook into its policy of giving out scholarships funded by taxpayers to the most academically gifted students regardless of their socio-economic backgrounds. Only by levelling the playing field between the scholars and the non-scholars will there be real meritocracy in the state bureaucracy instead of a half-baked segmented meritocracy for the two different groups which is the reality on the ground now.
Read rest of article here:
aiya, sad for singapore men, old one also go for chinagal, young one also go for chinagal, me no hope here liao, hv to look for bangala and india men
haha, how about PRC guys ?
Its shows that EQ and IQ is different ... A scholar with high IQ may not survive outside when EQ is more important.
Of all people must fall in love with PRC. Phui!
Originally posted by rachelboey:The unfortunate suicide of A*Star scholar Mr Lin Zhi Qiang purportedly over rejection of love by a China woman has shocked not only his family and friends who are still going to terms with his unexpected demise, but also ordinary Singaporeans from all walks of life.
A*Star stands for the Agency for Science, Technology and Research, a premier research company which is started and funded by the Singapore government in its ambition to make Singapore the research hub of Asia.
The Singapore government has a long history of awarding scholarships to the creme la crop of junior college students for them to pursue their tertiary education either overseas or at local universitites. Most of them are awarded on the basis of their academic grades in the GCE ‘A’ levels examinations though there have been a shift of late towards non-academic attributes such as creativity and leadership skills.
XXX
The present “scholar system” has done grave injustices to both the scholars themselves and those who have failed to qualify for it. To the former, the artifically cloistered environment in which they are put in deprives them of a chance to fulfill their full potential in the outside world. To the latter group, the limits placed on their career advancement does little to recognize or reward their hard work, talents and contributions.
It is time for the government to relook into its policy of giving out scholarships funded by taxpayers to the most academically gifted students regardless of their socio-economic backgrounds. Only by levelling the playing field between the scholars and the non-scholars will there be real meritocracy in the state bureaucracy instead of a half-baked segmented meritocracy for the two different groups which is the reality on the ground now.
Read rest of article here:
http://wayangparty.com/2009/01/19/scholar-suicide-raises-serious-questions-about-selection-process/
imo, there is nothing any estd. can do if a lovelorn guy wants to end it all, genius or not.
he may be brilliant in books, but definitely not a*star in relationship.
may he rest in peace.
when IQ =/= EQ
Originally posted by rachelboey:haha, how about PRC guys ?
PRC guys no brush teeth and like to smoke and talk big, me dun like. Even their own PRC gals are looking for Sg uncles, so PRC guys better kick up their images.
Originally posted by iveco:Of all people must fall in love with PRC. Phui!
Fine u $500 for Phui! in public
i don't see the link between a suicide case and scholarship award by govt.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i don't see the link between a suicide case and scholarship award by govt.
scholarship awarded by govt uses tax payer's money, my money and your money, and because of one PRC gal (also not pretty and defintely far far in comparing to me) he committed suicide, a crime not forgiven by all religion in concern. As a scholar, he must uphold his dignity and intergrity in judging between to be or not to be, he should hv finished all his studies to repay the faith we, the taxpayers given to him, he should then serve the society with gracefulness and well. But then, he jumped, causing not only troubled the society and police to clean up the mess, but our investment on him.
frankly what kind of selection do you propose?
i bet if the asshats in A-Star do a psychological test on the applicants, you morons would be screaming blue murder too...
Originally posted by angel7030:
scholarship awarded by govt uses tax payer's money, my money and your money, and because of one PRC gal (also not pretty and defintely far far in comparing to me) he committed suicide, a crime not forgiven by all religion in concern. As a scholar, he must uphold his dignity and intergrity in judging between to be or not to be, he should hv finished all his studies to repay the faith we, the taxpayers given to him, he should then serve the society with gracefulness and well. But then, he jumped, causing not only troubled the society and police to clean up the mess, but our investment on him.
oh.....
now i see the link.
hmm, but they won't know who's gg to jump mah
Originally posted by the Bear:frankly what kind of selection do you propose?
i bet if the asshats in A-Star do a psychological test on the applicants, you morons would be screaming blue murder too...
Pretty much agree here.
Competing to get the highest results to qualify is already brutal enough as it is, how would you like it when you work so hard to get top marks and be told you don't qualify because you failed the EQ test?
EQ itself is already a very subjective term, a person who is not likeable may not neccesarily be incapable.
can study but should also can accept rejection.
else next time they hold big positions how?
study is not everything.
it is merely just 1 thing out of a million things.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:oh.....
now i see the link.
hmm, but they won't know who's gg to jump mah
true, so scholars must discipline themselves, this clearly shown our sg guys are weak and lame guya, young ones subdue and die for PRC gals, old ones give away money and neglected own family for the sake of PRC gals. Something is very wrong leh??
Originally posted by likedatosocan:can study but should also can accept rejection.
else next time they hold big positions how?
study is not everything.
it is merely just 1 thing out of a million things.
too much study create sissy and weakness in guy. I notice a lots of singapore guys today are very sissy and girlie, no machoism at all!!!
PRC guys sure got work to do but pay very "HIGH"
too much study create sissy and weakness in guy. I notice a lots of singapore guys today are very sissy and girlie, no machoism at all!!!
then u go for angmo lor!
Originally posted by Fantagf:then u go for angmo lor!
angmo very pain..
Originally posted by angel7030:angmo very pain..
how you know angmo very pain. U give them painkiller lah.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
how you know angmo very pain. U give them painkiller lah.
wa lau, hv u ever see an ang mo one or not?? very big ok, me see already also scare, me will get pain, not them!!!!!
see what? they either have blue, brown, or green eyes. some angmo men very charming, irresistible.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
see what? they either have blue, brown, or green eyes. some angmo men very charming, irresistible.
but still lose to LHL, he is so charming than ang mo, imagine using his charming, he can convince the public to depart their hardsaving money for him. Very Clever.
that is what you see in the useless heartless toad hor, I don't find him charming.