Originally posted by Fantagf:
that is what you see in the useless heartless toad hor, I don't find him charming.
I not saying he is good looking or whatsoever, he is like a daddy to me liao, but the ability to charm peoples into contributing more in taxes is not simple, so far he did it.
strong academically doesnt mean strong mentally ma when come to relationship. scholars are not superhuman too la. leave this matter to fate
Originally posted by reyes:strong academically doesnt mean strong mentally ma when come to relationship. scholars are not superhuman too la. leave this matter to fate
my dear fuhrer, u mean to leave our tax money to fate ar??? OMG!!
next time, before giving out scholarship to potential candidates, they must pass at least a B+ in relationship psychology, human relationship and sexology
Originally posted by angel7030:
I not saying he is good looking or whatsoever, he is like a daddy to me liao, but the ability to charm peoples into contributing more in taxes is not simple, so far he did it.
hello, he, papa and the PAP make the decision to get people to contribute more in taxes. Nobody is charmed to give more. They have profit making as their top priority so what to do
Originally posted by reyes:strong academically doesnt mean strong mentally ma when come to relationship. scholars are not superhuman too la. leave this matter to fate
true.
Scholars should go for psychological testing before they are accepted into important positions in the civil service. As this case clearly demonstrates, IQ =/= EQ. In a war, in times of crisis and when facing long term challenges, we need someone who won't crack under pressure and sell everybody out.
Originally posted by frakfrakfrak:Scholars should go for psychological testing before they are accepted into important positions in the civil service. As this case clearly demonstrates, IQ =/= EQ. In a war, in times of crisis and when facing long term challenges, we need someone who won't crack under pressure and sell everybody out.
and you think the people like you will not cry blue murder?
I'm sure other people have their own opinions on the matter. I'm pretty sure I have nothing against it. At the end of the day, everything comes down to intent.
"Suicide of A*Star scholar" becomes "angmo very pain ...".
But I love it. lol.
Scholar cannot commit suicide ma. And what so great about A*Star scholar, no Nobel Prize winner leh. NTU and NUS also don’t have leh. Some Australia Universities have Nobel Prize winners.
A*Scholars are paid by Singapore tax payers so they are OUR scholars. That's what so great about them and that's why they have to BE great as opposed to being only *appearing* to be great. As for Nobel Prize well, it's not as great as it once was going by the people who are receiving it nowsadays.
Originally posted by frakfrakfrak:A*Scholars are paid by Singapore tax payers so they are OUR scholars. That's what so great about them and that's why they have to BE great as opposed to being only *appearing* to be great. As for Nobel Prize well, it's not as great as it once was going by the people who are receiving it nowsadays.
Norway's selection of Arafat for a Nobel Peace Prize is the biggest joke in the world.
Originally posted by frakfrakfrak:Scholars should go for psychological testing before they are accepted into important positions in the civil service. As this case clearly demonstrates, IQ =/= EQ. In a war, in times of crisis and when facing long term challenges, we need someone who won't crack under pressure and sell everybody out.
The problem is psychological testing is still a dubious science. You just can't measure whether how much a person can take before he or she cracks. Even if you could measure it, it can also mean the person is inflexible to accept another way of thinking.
IQ =/= EQ is a nice phrase to toss around, but only applicable in hindsight. How sure are you that the person next to you wouldn't sell you out given the correct incentives?
Though i agree with you that Nobel Prizes don't seemed to be a good gauge of intellectual competency of a country.
Is it necessary to politicize a tragic personal event like this...?
A suicide can happen to anyone. It depends on personal circumstances.
If a bank executive commit suicide, I hope I wont be reading topics talking about the need to raise selection process of bank executives. Or lawyer, teacher, civil servant, construction worker, hawker, accountant, doctor.
Originally posted by Meat Pao:Is it necessary to politicize a tragic personal event like this...?
A suicide can happen to anyone. It depends on personal circumstances.
If a bank executive commit suicide, I hope I wont be reading topics talking about the need to raise selection process of bank executives. Or lawyer, teacher, civil servant, construction worker, hawker, accountant, doctor.
Because got PRC mei involved, that's why.
Originally posted by rachelboey:The unfortunate suicide of A*Star scholar Mr Lin Zhi Qiang purportedly over rejection of love by a China woman has shocked not only his family and friends who are still going to terms with his unexpected demise, but also ordinary Singaporeans from all walks of life.
A*Star stands for the Agency for Science, Technology and Research, a premier research company which is started and funded by the Singapore government in its ambition to make Singapore the research hub of Asia.
The Singapore government has a long history of awarding scholarships to the creme la crop of junior college students for them to pursue their tertiary education either overseas or at local universitites. Most of them are awarded on the basis of their academic grades in the GCE ‘A’ levels examinations though there have been a shift of late towards non-academic attributes such as creativity and leadership skills.
XXX
The present “scholar system” has done grave injustices to both the scholars themselves and those who have failed to qualify for it. To the former, the artifically cloistered environment in which they are put in deprives them of a chance to fulfill their full potential in the outside world. To the latter group, the limits placed on their career advancement does little to recognize or reward their hard work, talents and contributions.
It is time for the government to relook into its policy of giving out scholarships funded by taxpayers to the most academically gifted students regardless of their socio-economic backgrounds. Only by levelling the playing field between the scholars and the non-scholars will there be real meritocracy in the state bureaucracy instead of a half-baked segmented meritocracy for the two different groups which is the reality on the ground now.
Read rest of article here:
Does it matter anything at all if the victim is a "scholar" and he's from A*Star?
It doesn't matters anything to me at all. To me, he is just as regular as any Singaporean living and walking human beings out there. And it doesn't means because he WAS a "scholar" and from some A*Star-hoo-ha company makes him deserves MORE compassion than anyone else.
Everybody's lives are equally important and valuable, to compare people's death and put them on a scale is completely wrong. How would you feel if your lives were less worthy than him because he's a "scholar"?
If that "scholar" has already chosen DEATH over LIFE, then maybe he wasn't that much of a talent as you had expected.
Flame me if you want, but I have absolutely no mercy nor compassion for cowardly people who simply do not have the will to LIVE. Such people have trampled upon the gift of life bestowed upon him by his parents and it truly disgust me to think that I need to pay my tribute to people who have absolutely no respect for LIFE and the LIVING people who cared, love him and especially brought him upon to the world.
I don't need to tell you, you will also know where he is heading right now. And I don't care, I don't care and I don't care. So please shut up about your compassion plead cos they are absolutely worthless and meaningless to me. ![]()
I CARE ONLY FOR THE LIVING AND THOSE WITH THE WILL TO LIVE.
The only thing i can say to the scholar is RIP.
Even though it is extremely foolish to die for a woman, who doesn't even like him; showing how low EQ he has.
Originally posted by angel7030:
You are truly an idiot.
EQ, IQ, liak boh kew lah. ![]()
EQ's rubbish and the measurement of IQ is a flawed system. In either case it wouldn't have helped this bugger - it was his neuroticism that did him in. What might have helped is his colleagues giving enough of shit to see that he was in strife.
As for thiose asking about the significance of this guy's death, some of the work at A*Star is of a sensitive nature. If he went off the rails, security on these things could have been compromised. It's not so much a case of him offing himself as the fact that the job requires a reasonable amount of security clearance that would justify selection testing.
so... how high is the scholar suicide rate?
Originally posted by Ice Dive:Its shows that EQ and IQ is different ... A scholar with high IQ may not survive outside when EQ is more important.
High EQ people very likely to have a reasonable level of IQ but not always the other way around.
i think it's MOE whom should be blamed for, i remember when my scholarship is terminated, although i got many reason, but the officer in charge, said it's all excuses, i think she failed to understand, and at the end she said, she don't like me,
so i gonna to say, yes, just leave it to fate,
before we come here, the officer in charge of selection, went to china, and picture singapore to be the heavan on earth, if once she mention the suicide rate a bit, i think whose scholar won't be so rushy to come here.
i don't want to raise any conflict, just stating a fact.
my suggestion to it, is to equipped the distorted scholar with free cigarette, and then exam system have to be reformed, if failed, don't have to worry to spend another semester.
Making exam retaking , let's say in three weeks possible
just kidding, i see no hope to change the situation,
the mentoring system sucks,
first of all, the mentors are fool, so don't have to ask them to mentor us, it cannot make the situation any better.
ntu really sucks, the 50 years anniversary is fake, actually it's only 20 sth, needless to say Nanyang technological university doesnot come from Nanyang university, the Nanyang university teach in chinese, the teaching in nanyang university is good.
The graduate from Nanyang university won't recognise Nanyang technological university.
NTU don't have alot tradition, so you don't have to wait for the professor in ntu to enlighten you, except academic, they are worthless in other place.
THere do have some good teacher in NTU, but they are in business faculty, not in engineering, i remember i take a GE about religion study in NTU, and professor is westerner, he is quite good.
Anyway, if you are going to be admitted into NTU, don't expect you are going to have a interesting experience.
I don't get the huge hoo-haa over a single suicide. Just because the guy's a scholar and obviously is too much of a nerd to take rejection, doesn't change anything. There's an obvious undercurrent of "anti-scholars" which is natural because of the way they are venerated by the government, but that does not change the fact that parents and schools and the government value paper qualifications over emotional development. That means, you, me and everyone in Singapore. Until that changes dramatically and across the population, such things won't be unusual at all.
I know of no "selection process" than can predict whether within 4 years a given 18 year old man will fall in unrequited love and not be able to cope with it. Not counting crystal balls of course.