SINGAPORE (AFP) - - The leader of a Singapore opposition party, jailed numerous times for defying local protest laws and for other offences, has posted a video message asking for US President Barack Obama's support.
Chee Soon Juan, secretary general of the Singapore Democratic Party, posted his "message to President Obama" on the video sharing website YouTube, where he called Obama's Tuesday inauguration "an occasion of great moment."
Chee expressed hope that the United States "will pay more attention to the human rights abuses of the Singapore government and take positive steps to help Singapore join the community of democracies."
Chee, dressed in a dark suit and a tie, sat at a desk to deliver the message lasting more than five minutes.
He said his party was especially encouraged by what Obama, the first black president of the United States, has said about human rights.
"Under your leadership I look forward to a world that is freer, more democratic and more just," said Chee.
He is one of the few Singaporeans who have publicly spoken against Singapore's People's Action Party, which has ruled since 1959.
Since independence in 1965, Singapore has grown from a Third World country to an Asian economic powerhouse. But critics say this has come at a price, in the form of restrictions on freedom of speech and political activity.
The ruling party has all but two of the 84 elected seats in parliament, and the opposition's complaints include a lack of access to mainstream media in the country.
Except for a park that serves as a designated area for limited free speech, it is illegal to hold a public gathering of five or more people in Singapore without a police permit.
Singapore's leaders say tough laws against dissent and other political activity are necessary to ensure the stability which has helped the city-state achieve economic success.
The government has said allegations that Singapore fails to meet international standards for political and human rights are without substance.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yNhfIexncdc
An appeal to pay attention to 'human rights abuses'.....
.... on Youtube?
U think Obama going to care about the little red dot meh???
you think CSJ cares about Singapore?
Why should he make a video appealing to Obama...?
Is Obama some sort of superman, hero...?
Looks like there is so much hype about Obama.
I understand him very well, he just can make good speeches, thats all. His politics is the same with anybody else's.
Originally posted by PicsCollector:SINGAPORE (AFP) - - The leader of a Singapore opposition party, jailed numerous times for defying local protest laws and for other offences, has posted a video message asking for US President Barack Obama's support.
Chee Soon Juan, secretary general of the Singapore Democratic Party, posted his "message to President Obama" on the video sharing website YouTube, where he called Obama's Tuesday inauguration "an occasion of great moment."
Chee expressed hope that the United States "will pay more attention to the human rights abuses of the Singapore government and take positive steps to help Singapore join the community of democracies."
Chee, dressed in a dark suit and a tie, sat at a desk to deliver the message lasting more than five minutes.
He said his party was especially encouraged by what Obama, the first black president of the United States, has said about human rights.
"Under your leadership I look forward to a world that is freer, more democratic and more just," said Chee.
He is one of the few Singaporeans who have publicly spoken against Singapore's People's Action Party, which has ruled since 1959.
Since independence in 1965, Singapore has grown from a Third World country to an Asian economic powerhouse. But critics say this has come at a price, in the form of restrictions on freedom of speech and political activity.
The ruling party has all but two of the 84 elected seats in parliament, and the opposition's complaints include a lack of access to mainstream media in the country.
Except for a park that serves as a designated area for limited free speech, it is illegal to hold a public gathering of five or more people in Singapore without a police permit.
Singapore's leaders say tough laws against dissent and other political activity are necessary to ensure the stability which has helped the city-state achieve economic success.
The government has said allegations that Singapore fails to meet international standards for political and human rights are without substance.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yNhfIexncdc
Singapore really have no talented people around......even our opposition MP have to restorted to do silly things like this.
I don't know which part of the education system educated him to have such a vivid imagination that Obama might (<1%) want to give CSJ his attention.
So CSJ got money to buy a suit and tie and a videocam, he thinks he can get attention from Obama?
Then how about those dying people in Africa? They got no money to eat, and no tailor to make them suit and no money to buy a tie and videocam. Even no money to charge the batteries of the videocam, then how are they supposed to save themselves and their countries? Who is going to help and save them???
This world is so full of retarded people, I hope if the world really need to end one day, it will end in a smartest way at the hands of the smartest beings. ![]()
steady lah, csj, but wait, should allow obama to settle down on his new job before sending any such message.
sending message is one thing whether obama will reply or help is another
Any way, good try.
Dr.Chee have my support
youtube?
..... srsly wtf
a bunch of dudes making a home video of themselves starting a car with a potato in the exhaust pipe will get more views than CSJ's!
This thread is a good example that singaporeans like getting kicked in the balls. Repeatedly.
i like the way he said "rights before riches, people before profits.."
anyway.. i don't think obama will be able to do anything also. he'll be too busy trying to run america
Actually, US had already practically guaranteed human rights to Singapore.
Why are you able now to talk crap about the ruling party here on the internet?
Why is Hong lim park now open to demostrations?
Why do you think political films are now allowed?
Why do you think the political space is more open today than 2 years ago?
Make a guess. Without prejudice, it certainly wasn't Dr. Chee's antics or Seelan Pillay's stab at film making.
The reality for our political freedom or its gradual form was due to the much coverted FTA with USA. There was a human rights provision that the govt must agree before it could be signed. And signed we did.
So I guess dramatics are really not necessary. Solutions to our economic woes would be more pratical.
OMG since when did Dr CSJ want to be another Obama-girl?
The congratulations are okay and there's nothing wrong with it.
What's wrong is that he actually expected Obama to do something about Singapore.
He already has enough to clean up in USA, much less care about a country whose GDP is less than 1% of his.
Besides, the fact that he was able to tape the message is an implicit demostration on the part of the regime that they do not clamp down (fully) on dissenting views.
Kinda ironic, isn't it?
Once again, the correct intentions but wrong course of action.
Uniquely Dr CSJ.
Originally posted by the Bear:you think CSJ cares about Singapore?
Yes he does. If he didnt, why would he still remain a singaporean and continue to fight on?
Wait for Obama to stabalise in his new seat first.
Originally posted by teraexa:Once again, the correct intentions but wrong course of action.
Uniquely Dr CSJ.
you have just perfectly summarised his life in these few words ![]()
"
International Herald Tribune, France - 7 hours ago
AP SINGAPORE: A Singapore opposition leader has called on President Barack Obama to take steps to encourage the island nation's government to stop ...
AFP - 17 hours ago
SINGAPORE (AFP) — The leader of a Singapore opposition party, jailed numerous times for defying local protest laws and for other offences, ...
istockAnalyst.com (press release), OR - 3 hours ago
AP is reporting Obama to freeze all wages for anyone over $100K in federal government. Wait... under CEO logic this means we will lose all our top talent to ...

BBC News, UK - 16 hours ago
The leader of a Singapore opposition party has posted a video message asking for US President Obama's support. Chee Soon Juan, secretary general of the ...
"
International Herald Tribune
AFP
BBC News
The International News Organisations are certainly paying attention to Dr Chee Soon Juan... the Singapore martyr against the dishonorable public money grabing despots...
Don't forget the despots arrested him and friends for protesting the high costs of doing business (the very high costs that are crippling the economy at the moment) instead of addressing the issue....
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
"
Dissident urges Obama to push Singapore on rights
International Herald Tribune, France - 7 hours ago
AP SINGAPORE: A Singapore opposition leader has called on President Barack Obama to take steps to encourage the island nation's government to stop ...Singapore opposition leader appeals to Obama on rights
AFP - 17 hours ago
SINGAPORE (AFP) — The leader of a Singapore opposition party, jailed numerous times for defying local protest laws and for other offences, ...We're Not Singapore But it's a First Step
istockAnalyst.com (press release), OR - 3 hours ago
AP is reporting Obama to freeze all wages for anyone over $100K in federal government. Wait... under CEO logic this means we will lose all our top talent to ...Obama to receive Singapore plea
BBC News, UK - 16 hours ago
The leader of a Singapore opposition party has posted a video message asking for US President Obama's support. Chee Soon Juan, secretary general of the ..."
International Herald Tribune
AFP
BBC News
The International News Organisations are certainly paying attention to Dr Chee Soon Juan... the Singapore martyr against the dishonorable public money grabing despots...
Don't forget the despots arrested him and friends for protesting the high costs of doing business (the very high costs that are crippling the economy at the moment) instead of addressing the issue....
I am glad the western foreign media bothered to post this. Let the world see and know how tyrannical the ruling party is.
haha... CSJ appeal to the US BLACK PRESIDENT because our own black president don't care about him.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:haha... CSJ appeal to the US BLACK PRESIDENT because our own black president don't care about him.
the black president cannot care, he has got the father and son getting him to continue to work as President. He has got to be accountable to them, you know.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:haha... CSJ appeal to the US BLACK PRESIDENT because our own black president don't care about him.
aiya, dun be racist lah, black in USA is call Africa American, u dun call them black, that is just a nick, our president is call Indian Singaporean, not black president lah. Have some respect for the first ladies ya
Originally posted by Agenda:This thread is a good example that singaporeans like getting kicked in the balls. Repeatedly.
oh ya, singaporean guys getting kicked in the balls hor, nothing to do with we gals ya. Kick singapore guys balls, wear kicker stud and kick kick kick till they bend down.
Originally posted by [J]erry:
Dr.Chee have my support
u support Dr.Chee??? how come i never see you visiting him at the meet the prisoner session leh??
Originally posted by angel7030:
aiya, dun be racist lah, black in USA is call Africa American, u dun call them black, that is just a nick, our president is call Indian Singaporean, not black president lah. Have some respect for the first ladies ya
you mean like, if i call them black ladies??? well, michelle looks really fine....
I rather... Men In Black