Originally posted by sgdiehard:Tanjung Pelepas didn't cost much to build, or Malaysia didn't mind paying for white elephant. Kra Canal is of total different scale, and it is not something economically viable for Thailand to push on. That's why talk for so long.
Today Tanjung Pelepas is not a white elephant, but it falls short, very short of the orginal intention of replacing the PSA, or PSA would collapse because of PSA. Pelepas is just a local port, shuttling shipments from Malaysia to PSA, instead going via the causeway or second links, along the way, they take business away from Port Klang.
Mersk Lines retains most part of their business via PSA, Evergreen too.
During the last seminar on regional cooperation on oil spill management, the people from Pelepas were actually counting on Singapore to provide the service in case of emergency, instead of looking for help from KL, or do it themselves.
They can't laugh at us, but they did give a good shake up to the PSA management, led by Yeo Ning Hong.
i dun tin malaysia intention of using Tanjung Pelepas to replace our port but to have a slice of the business if all the neighbouring countries are taking a slice of whatever we are doing, WHAT IS LEFT? only left over? and we are very expensive incomparison.
Tanjung Pelepas is an example, our neighbours are improving overtime. they have every resources and we have nothing.
can we still survive the next 50 years or another century?
its not a question of just whether our leaders can lead us aflot for the next 50years, they can come up with a genius masterplan, but it will only be successfully rendered when every single one of us are willing to support it...the government can do anything but ultimately we must support....i.e they can build how many casinos they like, but if we simply dont support it by boycotting those jobs, can it continue??
so this is a question of the singapore spirit, will we endure the waves??
firstly, wat is "Singapore Spirit"
A goverment that dun wan to listen to the people and didnt come with all the data of the pros n cons of building casinos here?
My best bet is to change the education system n teach them to be equal instead of our children competing "who is No. 1" n my name is "Ima Winner".
ever heard that a mother reprimanded her child for scoring 90 marks?
My belieive is "unity is strength" like wat a japanese said
"1 chinese is a team, 2 chinese is a pig. 1 japanese is a pig, 2 japanese is a team"
well maybe this is wat u call "Singapore PIG Spirit" and the only "spirits" you can find are in the graveyards.
sg is sinking?crazy lah.Even if it is sinking,we can abandon the ship
years later---we are a CV!!
We still have lot of ammo to play--
The Best is yet to be,men!!

Global ranking---
one of Top GDP per capita
The only slum free city in the world
crime rate only 10% as comapred with western first world--eg Vic in Oz.
one of the Top fiscal reserve per capita (SWF--not many countries get this!!)
LOWEST Infant mortality rate in the world
sss
u can see the growth rate in long run that SG already anchor
in a strong foundation in economy!

just in case u cant figure out the compound growth rate,
i can tell u in simple maths term.
thats ,from1996 to end 2008,
SG economy grew by 80%(181 in index)
HK by 56%
Oz grew by about 46% . u read fr above table that oz grew 3.2 %pa
annually fr 1996 to 2005,source RBA!!the following table
shows GDP in SG and Oz.
u wil know SG grew much faster!!
Dunt tell me Oz is a mature country in economy,while
SG is a developing all these non sense.
pl look at the table from CIA i quote above.
SG GDP per capita is one third higher than Oz!!
i cant see SG is sinking!!
http://www.tradingeconomics.com/Economics/GDP-Growth.aspx?Symbol=SGY

nnn
http://www.tradingeconomics.com/Economics/GDP-Growth.aspx?Symbol=AUD
http://www.tradingeconomics.com/Economics/GDP-Growth.aspx?Symbol=SGY
CIA give BUSH the wrong information when attacking Iraq
and statistics are done to one advantages, better bet is to take your calculator n calculate yrself
if Temasek/GIC lost 100B, what about others, add all that up and see where u r
Originally posted by seyKai:CIA give BUSH the wrong information when attacking Iraq
and statistics are done to one advantages, better bet is to take your calculator n calculate yrself
CIA also base on info from each countries.
U jus look at recnt loss,but forget the long term gain in the past.
Is it a balanced view?
Originally posted by lionnoisy:CIA also base on info from each countries.
U jus look at recnt loss,but forget the long term gain in the past.
Is it a balanced view?
is'nt your data is based on the past?
or your data is for the future?
Originally posted by seyKai:CIA give BUSH the wrong information when attacking Iraq
yes we lost some,still get a lot in the vautls.pl read on

i dun thin u know how much is left in the vault
or r u going to say its just paper losses, if we dun sell, we didnt lose a cent?
Originally posted by seyKai:i dun thin u know how much is left in the vault
or r u going to say its just paper losses, if we dun sell, we didnt lose a cent?
no investment ,no risk then no loss.
all investment come with risk.
Loss then u blame.
Gain then u dunt say ''Good job''.
is it fair?
irrelevant to the topic
Originally posted by F-22A Raptor:I was told by some of my friends in overseas, that singapore is going down. The Government is finding very difficult to manage. They said singapore will be flop within 5 to 10 yrs. Singapore looks rich only from the outside poor on the inside. Because many people are suffering under poverty. You better rethink of migrating to another country like canada, Australia, UK etc because this singaporeship is sinking. Here afterwards you can find future both in china and India. And if you belong to the minority group either Malay or Indian your future is in deep trouble as you do not know mandrin.
Imagine : people who not happy here all migrate. what is left? happy people?
the reserves took about 3 or 4 decades to accumulate? anyone can confirm since when reserves accumulated?
and based on current investment, i got some clues about the future.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:
Imagine : people who not happy here all migrate. what is left? happy people?the reserves took about 3 or 4 decades to accumulate? anyone can confirm since when reserves accumulated?
and based on current investment, i got some clues about the future.
How many are not happy AND migrate?
How many can ,want,and really take the flight leave the country?
@@@@@@@@@@@@
Originally posted by F-22A Raptor:I was told by some of my friends in overseas, that singapore is going down. The Government is finding very difficult to manage. They said singapore will be flop within 5 to 10 yrs. Singapore looks rich only from the outside poor on the inside. Because many people are suffering under poverty. You better rethink of migrating to another country like canada, Australia, UK etc because this singaporeship is sinking. Here afterwards you can find future both in china and India. And if you belong to the minority group either Malay or Indian your future is in deep trouble as you do not know mandrin.
Is Singapore really going down? will we not see economic success as in the past? Are we going backwards? Can singapore survive for next 50 yrs? Can singapore government efficiently manage singapore after LKY? Is singapore a future " Bankok" or even future "Malaysia or Indonesia".
Pardon me, I am not good in either economics and business so can some knowledgable person educate me in good english because my singlish is very poor.
your english is good.even poor english like me is not an excuse.
Just your logic.can u put more solid info and agruments.
Dunt jus quote he says she says all these rubbish.
SG can chz from a O level kid who was kicked out
from family in 1965, into a middle income guy in 2009.
This guy dunt gamble,invest foolflishly,drink and womanizing.
Do u think he will go broke,like uncle SAM?
Come on!
Originally posted by lionnoisy:How many are not happy AND migrate?
How many can ,want,and really take the flight leave the country?
@@@@@@@@@@@@
the good thing is not many can afford to migrate in terms of money, capability, qualification, mental, aptitude, ability to leave their comfort zone, adaptability, gutsiness etc.
if all these unhappy ones leave, not so good right? we would lose ........ singaporeans lah. ;)
Originally posted by seyKai:i dun tin malaysia intention of using Tanjung Pelepas to replace our port but to have a slice of the business if all the neighbouring countries are taking a slice of whatever we are doing, WHAT IS LEFT? only left over? and we are very expensive incomparison.
Tanjung Pelepas is an example, our neighbours are improving overtime. they have every resources and we have nothing.
can we still survive the next 50 years or another century?
Only a slice of the business? if they can take all you think they don't want?
for years all the neighbouring countries, and the countries around the world have all wanted to progress, improve...you think we never had any competitors?
we had competitors before, now and we will have competitors in the future. our neighbours had resources in the past, now and they still have, so what made the difference?
of course we are expensive, if your father works so hard to give you university education, do you think he wants you to work as a nurse in foreign land like the philippino graduates? are you prepared to take lower salary so that we are not expensive in comparison?
I am sure Singapore will progress for the next 50 years, will you survive the next 10 years when there are more people who can do your job at a lower cost?
Originally posted by likedatosocan:the good thing is not many can afford to migrate in terms of money, capability, qualification, mental, aptitude, ability to leave their comfort zone, adaptability, gutsiness etc.
if all these unhappy ones leave, not so good right? we would lose ........ singaporeans lah. ;)
"if all these unhappy ones leave, not so good right? " why? don't understand your logic.
if all these unhappy ones leave, then those left behind are happy ones, no good meh?
problem is many who are unhappy but cannot leave, like you said, no money, not capable, no qualification, can't leave their comfort zone, cannot adapt, no gut....with these people around in Singapore, we would lose leh!
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Only a slice of the business? if they can take all you think they don't want?
for years all the neighbouring countries, and the countries around the world have all wanted to progress, improve...you think we never had any competitors?
we had competitors before, now and we will have competitors in the future. our neighbours had resources in the past, now and they still have, so what made the difference?
of course we are expensive, if your father works so hard to give you university education, do you think he wants you to work as a nurse in foreign land like the philippino graduates? are you prepared to take lower salary so that we are not expensive in comparison?
I am sure Singapore will progress for the next 50 years, will you survive the next 10 years when there are more people who can do your job at a lower cost?
if u think we can progress like we did, why do we need FT n why r we building casinos? coz many industries have been taken away from us
The going is getting tougher and whether we r going the right dirrection building the casinos is yet to b proven
please dun take things for granted that our neighbours are stupid, if we can do it n given the time they can be just as good
wat LKY said maybe 1 day we might join malaysia - the possiblity is there
Originally posted by seyKai:if u think we can progress like we did, why do we need FT n why r we building casinos? coz many industries have been taken away from us
The going is getting tougher and whether we r going the right dirrection building the casinos is yet to b proven
please dun take things for granted that our neighbours are stupid, if we can do it n given the time they can be just as good
wat LKY said maybe 1 day we might join malaysia - the possiblity is there
the world is changing, we need to change the way we do things to meet the changes. Cannot stick to the rule. What make us succeed the last time may not make us succeed the next time. We are interested in the success, not the way things were done.
industries taken from us? those industries were not ours in the first place. the only industries we had was a trading port and her majesty service, which has disappeared, like some other industries such as timber industries, back to the producing countries.
Industries such as electronic industry, many have gone to our neighbours, but we still have the industries, probably depended too much on it. The difference is that now we make the high tech, more expensive components, they assemble the components, what we did before. We also have new industries, such as pharmaceutical....and of course, the water industries, thank to our neighbour for encouraging us to get into this industry.
I never said our neighbours are stupid. They have their problem, we have ours, they have their strength, we have ours. they had casino don't know for how many years already, now we are just starting ours. When it comes to competition, you win some, you lose some.
do you believe in what LKY said? not many people here do.
but if we bacome part of malaysia at our terms, why not?
Originally posted by sgdiehard:the world is changing, we need to change the way we do things to meet the changes. Cannot stick to the rule. What make us succeed the last time may not make us succeed the next time. We are interested in the success, not the way things were done.
industries taken from us? those industries were not ours in the first place. the only industries we had was a trading port and her majesty service, which has disappeared, like some other industries such as timber industries, back to the producing countries.
Industries such as electronic industry, many have gone to our neighbours, but we still have the industries, probably depended too much on it. The difference is that now we make the high tech, more expensive components, they assemble the components, what we did before. We also have new industries, such as pharmaceutical....and of course, the water industries, thank to our neighbour for encouraging us to get into this industry.
I never said our neighbours are stupid. They have their problem, we have ours, they have their strength, we have ours. they had casino don't know for how many years already, now we are just starting ours. When it comes to competition, you win some, you lose some.
do you believe in what LKY said? not many people here do.
but if we bacome part of malaysia at our terms, why not?
seems to me that u didnt undrstand how the world functions
industries like pharmaceutical or textile have quotas, that why they set up plants all over
do u think companies with extreme or new high tech will transfer the technology to u, wat u see r those sun-setting know-how and but still some value and taking advantage of the gahmen policies.
Originally posted by seyKai:seems to me that u didnt undrstand how the world functions
industries like pharmaceutical or textile have quotas, that why they set up plants all over
do u think companies with extreme or new high tech will transfer the technology to u, wat u see r those sun-setting know-how and but still some value and taking advantage of the gahmen policies.
some ask "can we survive the next 50 years"? I ask "what should we do to prosper over the next 30 years"? You are saying "we won't survive the next 50 years."
Textile industries left us long time ago, more pharmaceutical companies are investing in their R&D centers here. They may not last forever, but if they stay for the next 30 years, we benefit for the next 30 years.
what are the sun-setting know-how that are taking advantage of the gahment policies, care to share?
don't be too quick to say that others don't understand how the world functions. But if you insist on staying the well, then you will not survive the next 10 years.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:some ask "can we survive the next 50 years"? I ask "what should we do to prosper over the next 30 years"? You are saying "we won't survive the next 50 years."
Textile industries left us long time ago, more pharmaceutical companies are investing in their R&D centers here. They may not last forever, but if they stay for the next 30 years, we benefit for the next 30 years.
what are the sun-setting know-how that are taking advantage of the gahment policies, care to share?
don't be too quick to say that others don't understand how the world functions. But if you insist on staying the well, then you will not survive the next 10 years.
yes, right to the topic and I have no answer to that.
" You are saying "we won't survive the next 50 years." did i say this?
on the sun-setting industries, you have to check with EDB to see how much they have invested and how many have failed or left or remaining
here, if you patent a new product or techno for export, there is a rule that u need to seek approval from the authority. likewise, if a foreign company came up with a new techno, will they keep it in and benefit their own country?
Originally posted by seyKai:yes, right to the topic and I have no answer to that.
" You are saying "we won't survive the next 50 years." did i say this?
on the sun-setting industries, you have to check with EDB to see how much they have invested and how many have failed or left or remaining
here, if you patent a new product or techno for export, there is a rule that u need to seek approval from the authority. likewise, if a foreign company came up with a new techno, will they keep it in and benefit their own country?
don't ask me to check with EDB. do you know how much they invested and how many have failed or left or remaining? or are you assuming that much have been invested, many have failed and nothing or little is left?
how would any companies want to keep their new technology and benefit their own country? in the first place why do they want to go to another place and do research there?
Its a global world, friend, open up your mind, if the presence of MNC does not benefit Singapore, why do we think we need them here?