Originally posted by rokkie:50 years later, the world start warm, the ice in north pole , south pole melting, or, people start nuclear war, we all gonna to die
really??? hmmm..thinking of opening a funneral parlour business..
Originally posted by rokkie:50 years later, the world start warm, the ice in north pole , south pole melting, or, people start nuclear war, we all gonna to die
I heard from the BBC news that the German and British scientists are proposing some reversed engr works to the atmosphere..... rate of success, not sure yet.
Besides the global warming, crisis, food shortage etc, the real long-term, lasting problem of the future is the global population explosion.
The current pop of 6 billions is fast becoming 12 billions and many of us we will see it in our lifetime.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:Hrm, i thought the greatest fear was that our population comprises too much Chinese and if we're added to the Federation it would threaten the racial balance?
Communist sympathetic is something i don't remember reading about.
Yes you are right. The fear of the influencial Chinese was the greater fear of the day. But the fear of the communist was also there, albeit at the background. You can find some books in the library on this.
You know, the Tungku and the British, among other reasons, supported LHK because they thought that Lee, a British educated lawyer, would be more pro-British, more pro-federation. In other words, more pro-Malaya and less communist.
Lee, if you remember, said he "ride on a tiger". That tiger was the vehicle of communism.
The words Chin Peng, the Plenn will ring like ghosts of the past to this older generation.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Oei! me hv to show low cut and legs inorder to sell, of course demand higher return lah, without risk and sacrification, where got profits??? money drop from the sky ar??
At night somemore must dress up like a beer bottle to serve heinken beers to those drunkards...yak!!! stink like shit!!!
gd one angie
Originally posted by 4sg:I heard from the BBC news that the German and British scientists are proposing some reversed engr works to the atmosphere..... rate of success, not sure yet.
Besides the global warming, crisis, food shortage etc, the real long-term, lasting problem of the future is the global population explosion.
The current pop of 6 billions is fast becoming 12 billions and many of us we will see it in our lifetime.
Dun worry lah, the world will fit by itself, humans are good in adaptation, last time farming said industrialisation no good, now also industrialised liao also nothing wrong, look at today, pples are more worry about financial crisis than global warming.
smlj poverty? Not happening in Singapore.
The rumours you heard are nothing but bullshit.
Singapore is doing just fine. It might not be progressing positively for the next couple of years, or maybe just only next year, but im super sure it will bounce right back up to where it was initially planned for.
I trust LKY, i trust LHL.
Sometimes i don't even bother watching the news about all the economic crisis what bullshit. I ain't feeling a single pinch of it. None of anybody i know is feeling it too. In fact, judging from the ang pow $$ i collected from visiting, its either everyone won lottery, or this economic crisis is bullshit.
Originally posted by lookslikegod:smlj poverty? Not happening in Singapore.
The rumours you heard are nothing but bullshit.
Singapore is doing just fine. It might not be progressing positively for the next couple of years, or maybe just only next year, but im super sure it will bounce right back up to where it was initially planned for.
I trust LKY, i trust LHL.
Sometimes i don't even bother watching the news about all the economic crisis what bullshit. I ain't feeling a single pinch of it. None of anybody i know is feeling it too. In fact, judging from the ang pow $$ i collected from visiting, its either everyone won lottery, or this economic crisis is bullshit.
of course lah, in the year of the bull, there will be bullshit mah, so u hv to take it, some got the right bullshit, some got the worst bullshit...so i would say about 40% well to do peoples are standing on your bullshit side, whereas 60% of those not well to do or went jobless or lost heavily in investment will be cursing and worrying. They have their rights to worry unlike you and make who only shake legs and money come in...understand!!
Originally posted by angel7030:Dun worry lah, the world will fit by itself, humans are good in adaptation, last time farming said industrialisation no good, now also industrialised liao also nothing wrong, look at today, pples are more worry about financial crisis than global warming.
more worry about u not going to yr pub...so free?
if UK is doing very well and Singapore very badly, then i start to worry. Now, please get your prportion right.
Originally posted by Daddy!!:if UK is doing very well and Singapore very badly, then i start to worry. Now, please get your prportion right.
who said UK is doing well, they are in recession for the first time after 18 years of progress.
Originally posted by 4sg:more worry about u not going to yr pub...so free?
Dun worry lah, recession mah, not much pple come, me assistant will work for me.
precisely my point. we could also be talking about whether London/ UK ship is sinking, it is just an island afterall.
So what the fuss of Singapore sinking, heh?
who said UK is doing well, they are in recession for the first time after 18 years of progress.
yes, they are having recession now. at least theirs is after 18 years, ours is like recession once in 5 or several years. toopid pay and pay
Originally posted by Daddy!!:precisely my point. we could also be talking about whether London/ UK ship is sinking, it is just an island afterall.
So what the fuss of Singapore sinking, heh?
the fuss here is that we got no natural resources, no makers, no solid creator and inventor, we depend very much on MNCs, foreign investors and the global markets, we are vulunerable to external forces, unlike Uk and the west.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
yes, they are having recession now. at least theirs is after 18 years, ours is like recession once in 5 or several years. toopid pay and pay
what fuss do they have when they got welfare paid for being jobless in comparing to us??
ya lor, the best is we pay for their pension and they in turn make us pay for our own pension by forcing us to buy annuity compulsorily from 2013. Shitty pay and pay.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
ya lor, the best is we pay for their pension and they in turn make us pay for our own pension by forcing us to buy annuity compulsorily from 2013. Shitty pay and pay.
in britain, a jobless man problem is the govt problem, they fail to create job for him, in singapore, a jobless man is his own problem, by crooks or by whatever meant, u need money, there is not kampong left nor front pouch for u to plant veges
angel, we have to understand how this ruling party functions. They exist as businessmen to run the country. Anyone not working to them is negative. They believe that if one has the capability, one should not have problem working, they choose not to be understanding. They have to behave such to protect their own interest, meet their selfish agenda. If they care too much, they have to come out with $ to help people, and if they do so means they may have less money to go to their pockets.
In Britain is different, they care about the welfare of the people. You know in England, when someone picks up a ATM card and return to the person they will be rewarded in monetary term.
Originally posted by 4sg:Correction, if you don't mind.
The Malaysian government in the 60s did not kicked Singapore out of the federation because it thought Singapore would never survive.Rather Singapore was viewed as communist sympathetic and Chinese dominated. We were viewed with fear and distained. These the reasons for kicking us out.
Singapore in the 60s was already anti communist, the central malaysian government did not fear singapore for being communist sympathetic, but rather the idea of Malaysian Malaysia, equal right for all races, that was gaining popularity and threatened the bumiputra's right.
I believe the central government thought Singapore was too small to survive on its own. It was easier to just take over Singapore when it was any kind of trouble, then to use any other means.
If LKY was in johore, then the central government would have sent in the Malay regiments and got rid of the problem.
These are just my speculations, but it was true that nobody thought Singapore could survive, especially so when the british pulled out in the early 70.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Singapore in the 60s was already anti communist, the central malaysian government did not fear singapore for being communist sympathetic, but rather the idea of Malaysian Malaysia, equal right for all races, that was gaining popularity and threatened the bumiputra's right.
I believe the central government thought Singapore was too small to survive on its own. It was easier to just take over Singapore when it was any kind of trouble, then to use any other means.
If LKY was in johore, then the central government would have sent in the Malay regiments and got rid of the problem.
These are just my speculations, but it was true that nobody thought Singapore could survive, especially so when the british pulled out in the early 70.
You are also right. There were many factors contributing to the separation, and it is hard to pin them all down.
Maybe, I should correct myself. The Tungku was afraid of Singapore aiding or being sympathetic to the insurgents conducted by Communist Party Of Malaya. The activities of the CPM, if you remember, went on, only to surrender in the 80s or 90s.
With the racial riot, the situation was very tensed. In released classified paper, the Malaysia govt did sent a contingent of soldiers to "calm" matters back then. Had they crossed the causeway, the history of Singapore would have been different.
Then again, the elites are so far up that when the Singapore ship is sinking, they will probably be on their private jets high up in the sky going, " Sinking? No way, I don't see ANYTHING sinking."
Originally posted by charlize:Then again, the elites are so far up that when the Singapore ship is sinking, they will probably be on their private jets high up in the sky going, " Sinking? No way, I don't see ANYTHING sinking."
now i know the true agenda of building a space port.
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:now i know the true agenda of building a space port.
You have a very creative mind.
Really.
Originally posted by charlize:You have a very creative mind.
Really.
all thanks to peee a peeeee.
Originally posted by F-22A Raptor:I was told by some of my friends in overseas, that singapore is going down. The Government is finding very difficult to manage. They said singapore will be flop within 5 to 10 yrs. Singapore looks rich only from the outside poor on the inside. Because many people are suffering under poverty. You better rethink of migrating to another country like canada, Australia, UK etc because this singaporeship is sinking. Here afterwards you can find future both in china and India. And if you belong to the minority group either Malay or Indian your future is in deep trouble as you do not know mandrin.
Is Singapore really going down? will we not see economic success as in the past? Are we going backwards? Can singapore survive for next 50 yrs? Can singapore government efficiently manage singapore after LKY? Is singapore a future " Bankok" or even future "Malaysia or Indonesia".
Pardon me, I am not good in either economics and business so can some knowledgable person educate me in good english because my singlish is very poor.