Hallelujah! This is the best news I've heard since this financial crisis started! Singapore has hope now!
Interesting that the 'replacement' is previously a head of a 'mining' company?? And also a "FT". How come there isn't anyone fitting from the Party?
Or was it because the party is trying to distance itself from Temasek? I got a premonition that Temasek is going to annouce huge losses....
Interesting that the 'replacement' is previously a head of a 'mining' company?? And also a "FT". How come there isn't anyone fitting from the Party?
Or was it because the party is trying to distance itself from Temasek? I got a premonition that Temasek is going to annouce huge losses....
Finally, Ho Ching has decided enough is enough. It's good that she has enough sense to step down after realizing she's terrible at her job. All we hear the investments done under her are high profile losses that stir political tension with neighbouring countries (Shin Corp and Indonesia's telkomsel or terrible bets on the financial markets. I am glad a new CEO with no direct link to the ruling party or family is in charge. At least this will diffuse the concentration of power in Singapore from a single family and allow Singaporeans to breathe easier ...
Why should public money be concentrated at all - in a single family or with a single party?
It should be invested in as many individuals, businesses, if not Singaporeans, then those based in Singapore.
next, people within Temasek would be chopped.
the potential consequences of her high profile losses are
(a) branding Singapore along with investment bankers who are undergoing backlash from American public and President Obama,
(b) remove the belief that scholars are always better (this shakes the very foundation of the PAP and Singapore as a whole),
(c) potentially splits the consolidarity of the PAP members,
(d) damaging the solid reputation of Temasek.
the main positive outcomes of her stepping down are
(a) there is accountability at the top and she has moral integrity.
(b) Singapore's system of governance and PM Lee are impartial. (we all know that if she wants to stay on, she could)
she resigned because the shit is about to hit the fan. the new ceo will be the new fall guy. hoching is not dumb u know.
$3.0 Billion lost on Shin Corp
$2.0 Billion lost on Merryl-Lynch
$2.0 Billion lost on Stan-Chart (estimated)
$5.0 Billion lost on list of miscellaneous investments (estimated)
She certainly has graduated with a "PhD in Financial Management" since her debut from her "Primary School education" with the $500 million loss at Micropolis in the 1990s - which saw Finance Minister Dr Richard Hu standing up in Parliament to defend the daughter-in-law's good name on behalf of a famed Father-in-Law.
If that known amount of $5 Billion loss - (from Shin Corp and Merryl-Lynch) - had been distributed amongst the 2.5 million Singaporean adults, each of us would have pocketed $2,500.
This would have been a tremendous economic catalyst to give a recovery jab into our economy.
What a pity that all our hard earned money has been pocketed by foreigners instead.
After night and nights of discussion and advices from LHL at bedtime, finally she gives in. If she dun resign now, the consequences may even pull LHL and PAP down, therefore for all concern, she took the bow step to resign and save all, she is indeed a heroine, a savior and a wonderful wife who says "if i dun go to hell, who will go?". I proclaimed her "the mother of Singapore", an example for we young gals to follow except the looks and the hairstyle...yak!
Originally posted by Atobe:
She certainly has graduated with a "PhD in Financial Management" since her debut from her "Primary School education" with the $500 million loss at Micropolis in the 1990s - which saw Finance Minister Dr Richard Hu standing up in Parliament to defend the daughter-in-law's good name on behalf of a famed Father-in-Law.
If that known amount of $5 Billion loss - (from Shin Corp and Merryl-Lynch) - had been distributed amongst the 2.5 million Singaporean adults, each of us would have pocketed $2,500.
This would have been a tremendous economic catalyst to give a recovery jab into our economy.
What a pity that all our hard earned money has been pocketed by foreigners instead.
If foreigners dun take, PAP also won't give us lah, they keep it to increase their pays, poshing lifestyle and expensive oversea tours.
Give u $2,500, u wait long long
Originally posted by spencer99:Interesting that the 'replacement' is previously a head of a 'mining' company?? And also a "FT". How come there isn't anyone fitting from the Party?
Ha ha ha, obviously PAP have no talents to do the job.
Originally posted by angel7030:
If foreigners dun take, PAP also won't give us lah, they keep it to increase their pays, poshing lifestyle and expensive oversea tours.
Give u $2,500, u wait long long
Good morning, angel. U woke up early, what time you stopped work last night?
Originally posted by fishbuff1:she resigned because the shit is about to hit the fan. the new ceo will be the new fall guy. hoching is not dumb u know.
yeah, likely there is temaske tsunami announced after her departure. she is leaving behind all the shit she created for the new CEO to pick them up.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Good morning, angel. U woke up early, what time you stopped work last night?
3 am, then sleep, then now wake up, later sleep again.
Me now in Ho Ching Road
3 am, then sleep, then now wake up, later sleep again.
Me now in Ho Ching Road
you hv weird sleeping pattern.
weird sleeping pattern is one of the condition for staying slim and sexy, keep sleeping can become a piggy, u want me to be a piggy ar?? after nobody want me..
according to expert lack of sleep can cause one to put on weight
Originally posted by Atobe:
Yeah, it is kind of interesting that she has is a key decision maker in Temasek, yet whenever there are issues Temasek has to defend she is never up there to explain. It is usually Dhanabalan, PM or the Finance Minister who have to face the press.
I guess those in power want to shield her from the front-line so that Singaporeans are not reminded about her, as the fact that she is PM's wife and MM's daughter-in-law. They know in most Singaporeans consciousness, Ho Ching is as powerful as she is and got to where she is at Temasek is largely influenced by her status as PM's wife. The whole goverment can keep denying it, but I guess Singaporeans keep refusing to believe it.
It does make Singaporeans wonder what is the meaning of accountability - you can make decision/losses on behalf of Singaporeans money and don't need to explain yourself?
according to expert lack of sleep can cause one to put on weight
why listen to expert who like to sell your soul and brain. example of one such expert group are the PAP.
Originally posted by Maggie.meepok:
It does make Singaporeans wonder what is the meaning of accountability - you can make decision/losses on behalf of Singaporeans money and don't need to explain yourself?
that is why i call it a capitalism default, and by going privatisation, an organisation CEO or MD do not hv to answer for any failure or poor performance once they resigned. In a Capitalism world, a private organisation itself is deem as a living body, it breathe and work thru shareholders and stakeholders, in the end CEO or MD are just wage earners like normal workers, and as a worker, u can resign or choose to work as you like, and the organisation too, hv the right to hire you or fire you.
Ha-Leh-Loo-Yessssss!
the word choice carefully picked by the media & her quotes are most interesting & slightly bemusing (to me at least).
a. `her term ends' - got term one meh? i thot the lee inner circle will `contribute' to the country till death. i have yet to see any of them retire gracefully. why quit when one can get a few million dollar a year irrespective of performance?
b."....has seen its(temasek) value fall in TANDEM with the world market" - another choiced word to soften her departure. of cos, in the unlikely event that temasek did well and ride the waves of global growth, the credit is solely theirs, nothing to do with the external market.
c. "if you want to run life with regrets, you may end up doing very little......i am not a person who try to look back and justify a reason for my living." regrets are a consequence of a event that happened. she's right that no one will do that in general unless one has a cursed life. her comment seems to imply that she is not taking responsibility for the bad investment temasek made. i personally think there is nothing wrong with showing remorse and acknowledging slips so one can learn and be better for it. her comments also smacks on arrogance on her part. it's like saying lke she's not answerable/accountable to anyone here. of course, no one dares lift a finger on her, given her stature as a daughter in law of the emperor of the lee dynasty. who's she trying to kid?
d. "i will adopt the same policy." a comment made in regards to her keeping mum on her next move as what her successor has done. does she mean that she has already a job lined up for her but she's not telling? of course no one will bet against her taking another high profile role in the interest of serving the nation. i will put a `tick' of my dilbert daily calender to await her announcement.
reading from the singapore medias' coverage of her `sack', i think journalism there has reach a new `high'. and meritocracy is (still) alive and kicking, i gather.
Originally posted by redDUST:a. `her term ends' - got term one meh? i thot the lee inner circle will `contribute' to the country till death. i have yet to see any of them retire gracefully. why quit when one can get a few million dollar a year irrespective of performance?
b."....has seen its(temasek) value fall in TANDEM with the world market" - another choiced word to soften her departure. of cos, in the unlikely event that temasek did well and ride the waves of global growth, the credit is solely theirs, nothing to do with the external market.
c. "if you want to run life with regrets, you may end up doing very little......i am not a person who try to look back and justify a reason for my living." regrets are a consequence of a event that happened. she's right that no one will do that in general unless one has a cursed life. her comment seems to imply that she is not taking responsibility for the bad investment temasek made. i personally think there is nothing wrong with showing remorse and acknowledging slips so one can learn and be better for it. her comments also smacks on arrogance on her part. it's like saying lke she's not answerable/accountable to anyone here. of course, no one dares lift a finger on her, given her stature as a daughter in law of the emperor of the lee dynasty. who's she trying to kid?
d. "i will adopt the same policy." a comment made in regards to her keeping mum on her next move as what her successor has done. does she mean that she has already a job lined up for her but she's not telling? of course no one will bet against her taking another high profile role in the interest of serving the nation. i will put a `tick' of my dilbert daily calender to await her announcement.
reading from the singapore medias' coverage of her `sack', i think journalism there has reach a new `high'. and meritocracy is (still) alive and kicking, i gather.
lol - you are so funny.
Yes, in Singapore when it comes to the Lee family, I wonder if there is such a thing as "term". We are the only country in the known democratic world with an SM and then an MM. Kind of makes us laughing stock.
It's true, you need to read between the lines. When the press asked her what is her greatest regret, she says "I am not person who looks back to try to justify a reason for my living," aka "I have no courage to see the the damage I have done and the losses I have made using Singaporean's money."
And when they asked her what is her greatest achievement, she cannot even name one!!! She just said it was the "privilege of working with a wonderful team...". Hmmm... what kind of answer is that? Is that an achievement? Sounds a bit lame to me. Maybe she should just say: "My greatest achievement is having the guts to gamble with Singaporen's money, loose a lot, don't have to answer for it, and yet still able to walk out the casino with my head held high. Can you beat me at this game?"