Procreation 'not our forte,' says Singapore MP
A Singapore lawmaker has a simple explanation for the city-state's lack of babies: procreation, he says, is "not our forte."
Loo
Choon Yong also suggested that because more free time did not
necessarily result in more babies, people should work on Saturdays, a
report in The Straits Times said.
"We should accept that as a people, our procreation talent is not our
forte -- nothing to crow about," Loo told the legislature on Wednesday.
The
government announced last year that it would double spending on
incentives to address a baby shortage that threatens the city-state's
future.
Previous efforts by authorities in the fast-paced,
money-oriented and high-stress society failed to significantly raise
the number of children.
Government figures say Singapore had a
fertility rate of 1.29 babies per woman in 2007, well below the 2.1
children per woman needed for the population to replace itself
naturally.
While failing to boost the population, working only
five days a week may also have affected Singapore's work ethic, the
report quoted Loo as saying.
"I urge the government to take
steps to determine whether our productivity and competitiveness have
been affected by the five-day week," he said.
Most companies in Singapore work five days a week.
"I
have nothing against our young Singaporeans having fun and partying.
But I hope they will work as hard as they play," the MP was quoted as
saying.
Loo was back in parliament on Thursday and could not be reached.
http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/article/ALeqM5jtGqK1Osk7n1O0SuVINIyR0c74tA
|
|||||
|
|||||
|
|||||
|
|||||
|
||
|
|
||
http://www.yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/1876-procreation-not-our-forte-says-singapore-mp
What sort of mother fucking cock sucking logic is that?
This MP really something wrong with the fucking brain.
PAP fuckers create stressful place to live, stressful education system, everything must fucking pay and pay and then come and talk cock tell us procreation not our forte.
Please lah, stop your mother fucking cock sucking bullshit lah PAP.
Really feel like spitting into your mother fucking face.
Your fucking fault want to come and blame Singaporeans.
FUCK you lah fucking bastard,
THis type of MP really fucking worthless.
Dunno who the fuck go and vote for this bastard.
I feel deeply ashamed to have this type of politician in our parliament.
No brain.
After PAP regime "stop at 2" population control program in 1970s backfired, this fucker come and tell us procreation not our fucking forte.
Politics really not the fucking forte of this bastard.
Propaganda posters - "Stop at 2" :

http://www.a2o.com.sg/a2o/public/html/e
Do you know …
On average, a baby was born in Singapore every 11 minutes in 1965!1
The high birth rates stretched facilities at the Kandang Kerbau Hospital (KKH). Lee Suk Ting, a Nursing Officer, recounted the situation in 1962: “The number of deliveries in KKH was at its peak, with an average of 100 deliveries per day. The number of beds available then fell far short of demand, and many deliveries were conducted with patients lying on the floor on mackintoshes or on transport trolleys. Patients in the early stages of labour sat for long hours on hard wooden benches waiting for a bed.” 2
Nearly all mothers with normal deliveries had to be discharged within 24 hours. In 1966, the number of deliveries reached a record high of 39,835 and won KKH a place in the Guinness Book of Records for the largest number of births in a single maternity facility – a record it held for 10 years.3
Recognising the potential impact of the high
birth rates on the Republic's limited resources,
Minister for Health, Mr. Yong Nyuk Lin, tabled
a White Paper in Parliament in September 1965
and outlined a Five-year Mass Family
Planning programme aimed at reducing the birth rate
from 29.9 per thousand in 1965 to 20 per thousand
in 1970.4 The Family Planning and Population
Board (FPPB) was subsequently established in
January 1966 to implement the recommendations
in the White Paper. 5
The national policy then was to provide family
planning facilities to all eligible married
women in the 15-44 years age group, numbering
about 180,000. A sum of S$1 million was allocated
for the entire programme.6 Although
the programme met with initial resistance,
more than 156,000
eventually received family planning services.7 By the end of its third cycle in 1980, fertility
rate had declined to 1.7 children per female
population.8 By then, however, Singapore’s
economic growth and aging population meant that
it needed to maintain a sizeable workforce.
The family planning programme was revised
in 1986 to encourage Singaporeans to have
more children.
Does he even know what he's talking about?
Kids are viewed as a liability these days, especially in our kind of society, and this echoes the gabrament's utilitarian view of the people. Lengthening the work week will affect mainly the public sector only, but that's a lot of families that'll have less potential time spent together.
Gentle reminder... the cursed despots arrested Dr Chee Soon Juan for protesting against the High Costs of Living and doing business... and they rather tell you crapz propaganda like this than to acknowledge that people choose not to have babies because the costs are too high...
The peanuts that these poodles are getting must be from USA - poisoned.
This is the kind of talents that the old man mentioned from paying them high pay.
This simpleton have only related having children with step one - making love.
Having children is a lifelong commitment with financial contributions.
So, it is something complex that he cannot understand since he received more than enough peanuts every month.
At the same time, he wanted to re-visit the issue of five day week as he mentioned that singaporeans are not working hard enough.
With more hours spent on working, who is going to take care and nurtured the next generations of singapore ? The couple will no time to have any romance ? The singles will be too tired to settle down ?
That will create another negative situation.
This topic should be discussed at more appropriate time, and not in the time of major world recession.
i think he is right, in ang moh countries, even though they higher pay, less working days , they still did not produce babies..
kaoz.. i was just thinking the other day.. is it ever possible for us to have a 4 day week.. LOL.. slog 5 day to enjoy 2 day not fun in life lols..
Originally posted by dinky1409:kaoz.. i was just thinking the other day.. is it ever possible for us to have a 4 day week.. LOL.. slog 5 day to enjoy 2 day not fun in life lols..
How about the other way: slog 2 days to enjoy 5 days off. Lol.
Simple solution, migrate loh. If you think other countries so much better. Why stay here and complain?
Indeed, more free time do not necessarily mean more babies but less free time will definitely result in less babies being born.
Ya la, Singaporeans are not working hard enough. Only elites like them are working their ass off, coming up with stupid and senseless ideas that will probably backfire in a few years time. Then coming up with more stupid ideas to cover up their earlier mistakes, which again in a few years time, will backfire. Its like a cycle you see. Pity them working so hard for the future of Singapore. Kudos to them! ![]()
Originally posted by Chris88110:Simple solution, migrate loh. If you think other countries so much better. Why stay here and complain?
Ditto. It's amazing how some people rant and rant and rant against the regime but are fucking lazy to do anything about it like running for parliament, migrating etc.
Another bunch of idiots paying lip-service. So akin to the regime they are ranting against.
Lip-service gets us nowhere. It's sad that both the regime and the opposition are using it.
Originally posted by Chris88110:Simple solution, migrate loh. If you think other countries so much better. Why stay here and complain?
likewise if you don't like what it is said, don't read loh, simple!
Originally posted by Fantagf:
likewise if you don't like what it is said, don't read loh, simple!
Too bad, your words are so annoyingly obtrusive that we can't help but sight it and read it.
It's amazing how the Green Card is a few clicks away yet you people choose to come here and rant against the regime.
This is information obtained from http://flagcounter.com. Available by typing the country + birth rate on google.
I used Japan, Taiwan and Hong Kong as they are often used to compare with Singapore and also because they practice more liberal democracy compared to Singapore and are roughly in the same region.
Admid the PAP and LKY bashing going on, i think it was better for me to just put out the numbers.
I still think it was a bad attempt at elliciting humour.
It is undeniable that the stupid senile despot produced these campaigns and Taiwan, Japan and Hong Kong did not...

Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:PAP fuckers create stressful place to live, stressful education system, everything must fucking pay and pay and then come and talk cock tell us procreation not our forte.
Please lah, stop your mother fucking cock sucking bullshit lah PAP.
Really feel like spitting into your mother fucking face.
Your fucking fault want to come and blame Singaporeans.
FUCK you lah fucking bastard,
THis type of MP really fucking worthless.
Dunno who the fuck go and vote for this bastard.
wha! every sentence also got F words, must be damn angry...na..pass you an AK 47 assault rifle, you know what to do hor.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Do you know …
On average, a baby was born in Singapore every 11 minutes in 1965!1
The high birth rates stretched facilities at the Kandang Kerbau Hospital (KKH). Lee Suk Ting, a Nursing Officer, recounted the situation in 1962: “The number of deliveries in KKH was at its peak, with an average of 100 deliveries per day. The number of beds available then fell far short of demand, and many deliveries were conducted with patients lying on the floor on mackintoshes or on transport trolleys. Patients in the early stages of labour sat for long hours on hard wooden benches waiting for a bed.” 2
Nearly all mothers with normal deliveries had to be discharged within 24 hours. In 1966, the number of deliveries reached a record high of 39,835 and won KKH a place in the Guinness Book of Records for the largest number of births in a single maternity facility – a record it held for 10 years.3
Recognising the potential impact of the high birth rates on the Republic's limited resources, Minister for Health, Mr. Yong Nyuk Lin, tabled a White Paper in Parliament in September 1965 and outlined a Five-year Mass Family Planning programme aimed at reducing the birth rate from 29.9 per thousand in 1965 to 20 per thousand in 1970.4 The Family Planning and Population Board (FPPB) was subsequently established in January 1966 to implement the recommendations in the White Paper. 5
The national policy then was to provide family planning facilities to all eligible married women in the 15-44 years age group, numbering about 180,000. A sum of S$1 million was allocated for the entire programme.6 Although the programme met with initial resistance, more than 156,000 eventually received family planning services.7 By the end of its third cycle in 1980, fertility rate had declined to 1.7 children per female population.8 By then, however, Singapore’s economic growth and aging population meant that it needed to maintain a sizeable workforce. The family planning programme was revised in 1986 to encourage Singaporeans to have more children.
aiya, Uncle Poh, u alway like to say about last time, last time, last time, please look to the future mah, last time hor, no LCD TV, no Computers, no PS4, no iPhone, no hphone, no MP4, no games, not much nightlife...so those olden people got nothing to do, have sex lor, and due to lack of sex education, thinking that the more the merrier with no birth control. Sure babies alot lah.
Me Primary 4 learned about rubber and birth control pills liao, so what you expect. Today gal like us also want to stay slim and nice, give birth already fat fat and wrinkles all over, boobs big big and sagged...better dun give birth lah.