Originally posted by GHoST_18:wat a joke
if i can delivery my idealogy in a joke, i dun mind.![]()
I don't consider people who take my call for pizza as FT. I would usually refer to them as people who are willing to take up a job for a lower wages. When they convert their lower wages to their country's currencies, they will be earning a much higher wages in their homeland.
Unlike, singaporean, we have to pay the government taxes and support our family here. The costs are getting tremendous, especially getting an education and upgrading ourselves to stay relevant to the market. This is why many singaporen does not want to get married. They can't take the pressure of working to barely making a living.. with flat and car loans to pay.. to nuture their children to become professional etc.
There are also much social costs which are not very visible now. How about the emerging graying population who have to fight for their rice bowl with the healthy young foreign workers who are willing to take their job at a lower wage?
Bear in mind that FTs are not long employees, for those Foreign labour, bosses hv to pay their levies and housing fees, these are converted into taxes for our country, they are paid lower than a singaporeans. A singaporean is expected to work as leader/supervisor to earn higher income, therefore e2i under SPUR solely for singaporeans and PRs is an intiative created by the govt to upgrade the skill of our people at no cost. Singaporeans who face structural unemployment should seek such insitution whereby govt pour millions into it to upgrade singaporeans. This will enhance your take home pay, and bear in mind, you still got the 13% CPF contribution by employers.
As far as i know, a normal foreign labour starting paid is btw $380 to $500 with an incremental of $20 per years, a middle age singaporean labour paid is at least $900 and above.
Nobody in the right mind will leave their homeland to work for others, but unfortuntely, these countries condition do not provide them with opportunity to growth and make a living. They are willing to work hard becos they have gone thru suffering and hunger, unlike our people, who had been depend on spoon feeding too much that even NSmen are asking their maid to carry their army bag for them, what a shame at Tampines MRT.
So, my direction for singaporeans, those who are having structural unemployment or those waiting for durian to drop ones, to wake up, take up courses and be ready for the next upturn. Make yourself marketable and flexible in the society rather than keep mumbling about FTs and all those low paid, long distance, shift work, bunny suit shit jobs and govt policies. And if you keep on mumbling and complaining, the opportunity just go by, learn to embrace longlife learning and upgrading. Instead of blaming the road, ride carefully
Consider this, if the pizza huts are not taking in "Foreign Workers" for the lower wages what's going to stop them from hiking up the prices? Same goes for food prices for food courts and restaurants, which i remind you has been relatively stable even during the oil crisis. There were increases, but no spikes.
I'm not saying i like the current arrangement with how FTs are taking over, when i walk in the streets half of what i see are foreigners. But before we blame the government for letting them in, let's consider what prompt the businesses to hire them in the first place. Our hands are equally as dirty as theirs.
While i agree that the graying population is going to be an issue, shouldn't our desire to pay the same or less prices for the same product also be responsible for the problem ?
You say that singapore is like very evolved and stuff, but think of this. Most of my family members are in the US, and there American Citizens are 1st priority in jobs followed by the African Americans followed by Hispanics and then finally others (Asians mostly).
This is what a country should do. Why do you think US soldiers wear their uniforms to ceremonies proudly? Its the way the country shows its care and concern to its people. Seen all those taxi drivers pissed off recently. Take a cab one day talk to any one of them all of them will say the same thing, "Uncle if singapore one day get attack ah will u stay and fight?" From almost 10 taxi drivers i asked this before ALL 10 replied NO.
From what i can foresee singapore becoming in the future is, Poor people going to be helped by government with minimal amounts of course, middle class going to suffer most will leave (which is almost 75% of singaporeans) and the rich will be able to get richer by starting businesses and employing FT's.
Bottom line is if you wanna stay in singapore? Either be somebody or be nobody. Cause theres no place for you if you wanna strive in the middle.
Angel no matter what you say imagine to how much extent can we market ourselves? In terms of education i get a diploma an FT gets a diploma both of us flamboyant and outstanding in characteristics at the end of the day, the FT still gets the job i've seen this so many many many times personally happen to me thats why i'm almost done with my diploma. After seeing more and more of this i'm totally losing hope (No sympathy needed by some mofo). And FT's are paid the same or MORE then us why do you think they can live such lavish lives good phones great working hours great stuff? Tonnes of them walk by my house everyday and i see them happy and fully satisfied.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:Consider this, if the pizza huts are not taking in "Foreign Workers" for the lower wages what's going to stop them from hiking up the prices? Same goes for food prices for food courts and restaurants, which i remind you has been relatively stable even during the oil crisis. There were increases, but no spikes.
I'm not saying i like the current arrangement with how FTs are taking over, when i walk in the streets half of what i see are foreigners. But before we blame the government for letting them in, let's consider what prompt the businesses to hire them in the first place. Our hands are equally as dirty as theirs.
While i agree that the graying population is going to be an issue, shouldn't our desire to pay the same or less prices for the same product also be responsible for the problem ?
Sure hiring lower cost labour is definitely better for the business and this entails boasting the economy as a whole. I’m definitely alright with hiring workers to replace jobs that most of Singaporean detests doing and hiring foreign professional who can provide great solution to the corporation. I’m more than welcoming them because both parties stand to gain.
However, the Singapore government has been anyhow giving away our citizenship; even people without education can easily apply for Singaporean citizenship. The huge influx of foreign workers are replacing a lot of jobs that ordinary Singaporean can do- Those ordinary Singaporean without much education who are working in factory, fast-food restaurant and even IT professional, especially those middle-income family who are struggling to make means. Even those blue-collars professional have difficulties keeping up with the pace in Singapore.
Don’t you think the government should take care of Singaporean? But of course not being over-protective but allowing such huge influx of foreign workers ( where their loyalty lies?? ) is another form of extreme. There are already many social costs that are surfacing.
Originally posted by LetsUnite:You focused on the wrong part.
I am feeling rather sore about the fact that they come here and get jobs more freely then we do yes..... We serve 2 years of sweat, tears and pain in National Service and, some DIE DURING NS, and also getting paid mere peanuts for?? The least the government can do to show they CARE and APPRECIATE how 2 years or more some of us suffered is to give us a job.
Maybe perhaps if you ladies knew then you'd feel the pain alright. It was abit harsh of me i agree i was acting on my "Angry mode" but it is just purely unfair and senile of the government to keep this up.
Big deal about NS......I sweat and cried and bled too what....
And of course you're paid pittance! It's a fulfillment of what you owe the country.....
Sure.....NS was a long 1 year 10 months but I'm more than willing to fulfill my obligations to my home.
No point feeling bitter. In fact I feel NS gave me some of the life-skills I might apply in the future. Like fucking spiders.
It's very simple.
S'porean Vs FT from ASEAN or Indian/China.
Who can afford a lower pay, who gets the job.
Why Singaporean decline a lower pay, cos they are staying in Spore!
Why FTs don't mind a lower pay? Cos they don't stay in Spore!
Singaporean, paid avg $2000, with family and other commitments to Spore. Can he/she compete with FTs, willing to take $1200 to $1500, who can buy a house, land, cars, support family back in their home country?
Upgrade yourself? Take course? Got money in the first place to support?
Take course by government, train to become customer service, toilet cleaners, technicians.
C'mon, why companies bother to pay S'porean pay to customer servicers, cleaners and technicians, when I can get all of them from ASEAN,India & China at half a Sporean price?
Angel7030, you claimed you will be proud of your son who died during NS. Have you thought of the feelings of your "son"??
Will you seriously be "proud" of your son who died for S'pore?
You speak like a child.
People who serves the country in a military, serves for an ideal, a faith and die for their brothers/sisters and homeland.
If a country does not have ideal, a character or a set of faith its people can relate to, how can people be proud to die for it?
The current policies this group of highly-paid leaders, in my opinion, does nothing to ingrain ideals, character or faith in this country.
Thus how can boys and men, girls and womans serve proudly for the country?
Ordinary Singaporeans, pillarstones of our society.
Perhaps, more appropriately, stepping stones of our society for foreigners.
i like wat u said...
esp the 18th line...
Originally posted by dotaro:Angel7030, you claimed you will be proud of your son who died during NS. Have you thought of the feelings of your "son"??
Will you seriously be "proud" of your son who died for S'pore?
You speak like a child.
People who serves the country in a military, serves for an ideal, a faith and die for their brothers/sisters and homeland.
If a country does not have ideal, a character or a set of faith its people can relate to, how can people be proud to die for it?
The current policies this group of highly-paid leaders, in my opinion, does nothing to ingrain ideals, character or faith in this country.
Thus how can boys and men, girls and womans serve proudly for the country?
Ordinary Singaporeans, pillarstones of our society.
Perhaps, more appropriately, stepping stones of our society for foreigners.
frankly, if i still cannot watch RA movie and cannot enter a casino, do you still qualify me as a child?? the problem with singapore adults and older peoples are they alway look themselves as knowing the whole world and we kids are just punks, please lah, be smart enough to accept your younger generation comments, new ideas and new mindset rather than keep on using the old mindset and still think of the 80s and 90s stuff.
The amount of death for our handsome boys in SAF is minor compare to boys in civilian lifes, no big deal about it, every organisation, everywhere, everyplace, there are accidents, death and mistakes made. What happen if your son die accidentally in a factory, are you going to shit the govt out??? Anyway, dying is not a good news, my heart goes to those parent whose boys died while serving our country, no offence.
For every 3 foreign workers you employed, you need to employ 1 singaporean to qualify except those in shipyard and construction why they needs more workers. For them is 5 is to 1 singaporean. So during 2007 to 2008, almost a quarter million jobs was created, where are the singaporeans??? do we have the amount of workers to do it??? how to get those alway complaining men and young smooth faced handsome boys to work in our shipyards, marine, oil rigs constructions and road works.
My house outside and at geyland, there are many men sitting with PRC gals, happily drinking, smoking, sociliating and always complaining about the govt policies and cost of living. Why are they there and not go find work? I ever asked some of them in my research, and the answers from these uncles is
"Get Out!!"
Ok make it quick simple and easy for everyone to view ok.
SG - Serve NS suffer 2 years to defend "Homeland" paid peanuts. (Suffer but learn good skills like keng and working together with blur sotongs)
FT - Come from poor country or some farming ass village. (Suffer)
SG - Finish NS find job but no job. (Suffer)
FT - Move over to singapore find job with below average pay. (Can rent room and send money home for family which = alot to their poor country - Happy)
SG - Try counter attack FT only way, go study but no money. (Suffer)
FT - Get new mobile phone, go to clubs and are everywhere on new year countdown (Happy)
SG - Got a cert from before NS days and gets a job way lower then what he studies for (Suffer)
FT - Enjoying life (Asked one of them, told me when he goes back in 4 years time he will be rich can buy house and 2 cars)
SG - Frustration sets in complains to other SG's (Backfire most sg with jobs spew out crap about improvements - Suffer)
FT - Content and happy still.
End of the day SG suffer for nuts?
Pride is not forced just because we're born here, but instilled into the hearts of young men. Only then can we say Defend our country till we die.
Respect is earned not forced.
you have my respect, as i said, changi airport is 24/7 open, since you never understand what is home, it is of no use of staying here, you are consider homeless.
How many countdown can all these foreign pples go to, do they have a warmth home where they can see their wifeys , parents or chidlrens. If we keep thinking that FL or FT are here to take away to our jobs and enjoy life, then forever you will not be enlighted of their pressence here, and instead, jealousy crepted in on you for no reason. Sad for sing guys.
A true singapore guy must alway hv the guts to take on whatever challenge, perhap our guys are too sissy and overly fed that cannot take the hardship of life. Even our groups of gals are noticing an increase of gays or lame sissy guys in our country. God bless us
Originally posted by angel7030:A true singapore guy must alway hv the guts to take on whatever challenge, perhap our guys are too sissy and overly fed that cannot take the hardship of life. Even our groups of gals are noticing an increase of gays or lame sissy guys in our country. God bless us
This i agree, alot of my friends seem to want to spend their NS time as clerks and drivers.
Letsunite can i ask you one thing? Have you served NS? Or do you plain just want to ignore the fact that NS is one of the real factors that turn our kids into men? I'm still a student but hey, even i know i should be doing what I can for my country. Why? Not for the government or for a job even, but for my family and friends.
In times of conflict do you think i would really care about my job? My first priority would be to ensure the safety of my family and friends. Your ignorance is astounding. Do you think the boys of Singapore are able to fight a war without proper training?Accidents happen, accept that, but also know, even if you dislike the country you were brought up in, remember what forged you, and that would be your community. In times of hardship who will defend them? FT?
As for your job issues, always remember every company would strive to maximize output with minimal input. Who should i hire the Singaporean who does the job for 1.8k a month or the FT who does the same job for $900 i month? when Lakshmi Mittlel bought over his first steel firm he immediately replaced the top management of Germans with Indians who did the same job better for 10 times less the cost. Yes he gave the jobs to his own people, but remember he paid them much less as well.
Bottomline is, no one can force your out of your mentality that Singapore is a bad place to live in, but hey, like what Angel said, changi airport is open 24/7. No insult meant, but a spineless coward who would'nt defend his country would'nt be welcome anywhere
Yes i have served NS and i have felt what its like. And yes i will move off one fine day.
Thanks for all your contributions and insults. But there is no way a girl will ever know the true nature of being mentally and physically pushed like what we did. Call me spineless or coward, but i will not stand for a country who doesn't stand up for its own people.
But no matter what i must admit one thing, Home is where the heart will always be and i will miss this place very much all the bad and good all together.
Not that i wish to leave but circumstances is as such, i dont want a job on a silver platter all i want is to have some fairness among these FT's and SG's. I mean the word CITIZEN should have some weight in the working world.
Just imagine how its like for me, i finished NS searched for a job for a year and a half, non came through. Decided to work AT A FACTORY with my Computer Technologies cert as a production line worker.
Then later on left saved some money and applied for a diploma. Now finishing had a job offer recently, they said "Do not worry we'll wait for you to complete it." Then call them recently "Oh sorry la your job taken by phillipino" As i'm just about to finish school during these recession time.
Looks like its going to be jobless or work as cleaner for a year or so.......
Not wanting sympathy just telling you whats my vision of the future for me.
Only when a person is mentally and physically pushed to his limits will his true nature be known. Pressurizing situations will often bring out the best, or worst in a man. The measure of a man is not how he behaves when life is smooth sailing, but when he has tough decisions to make.
You want a country to blindly stand up for its own people? Would you like a Fidel Castro, an Adolf Hitler to rule Singapore? Welcome to the 21st century, here pragmatism rules. If Singapore gave job priorities to it citizens, which company would want to do business in Singapore? It strikes me that you fail to understand that what the government is doing is for the greater good. Why hire expensive locals when you can have cheaper foreigners doing the job cheaper or sometimes better? And if no companies want to do business in Singapore, where would our economy be?
Originally posted by Chris88110:Only when a person is mentally and physically pushed to his limits will his true nature be known. Pressurizing situations will often bring out the best, or worst in a man. The measure of a man is not how he behaves when life is smooth sailing, but when he has tough decisions to make.
You want a country to blindly stand up for its own people? Would you like a Fidel Castro, an Adolf Hitler to rule Singapore? Welcome to the 21st century, here pragmatism rules. If Singapore gave job priorities to it citizens, which company would want to do business in Singapore? It strikes me that you fail to understand that what the government is doing is for the greater good. Why hire expensive locals when you can have cheaper foreigners doing the job cheaper or sometimes better? And if no companies want to do business in Singapore, where would our economy be?
LOL might as well call ourselves a Hub rather then a country then. Blindly stand up?? what are you talking about LOL Those dictators ruled with an iron fist and wanted to conquer LOL.
No use being called a singaporean when it has no meaning whatsoever.
Originally posted by LetsUnite:LOL might as well call ourselves a Hub rather then a country then. Blindly stand up?? what are you talking about LOL Those dictators ruled with an iron fist and wanted to conquer LOL.
No use being called a singaporean when it has no meaning whatsoever.
Thats where you're wrong, Hitler and Castro both gave their citizens enormous national pride, but at what cost? Think about it. . . . . .
A competitive job market will definitely set the standard of the job market higher. Therefore you might have to keep on upgrading and work yourself to your grave,ts ![]()
The point that i want to make is " Don't u guys think something is very wrong here? "
Originally posted by Chris88110:
Thats where you're wrong, Hitler and Castro both gave their citizens enormous national pride, but at what cost? Think about it. . . . . .
They scammed their own citizens.
You think PAP is an honest PAP hur?
Originally posted by LetsUnite:Yes i have served NS and i have felt what its like. And yes i will move off one fine day.
Thanks for all your contributions and insults. But there is no way a girl will ever know the true nature of being mentally and physically pushed like what we did. Call me spineless or coward, but i will not stand for a country who doesn't stand up for its own people.
But no matter what i must admit one thing, Home is where the heart will always be and i will miss this place very much all the bad and good all together.
Not that i wish to leave but circumstances is as such, i dont want a job on a silver platter all i want is to have some fairness among these FT's and SG's. I mean the word CITIZEN should have some weight in the working world.
Just imagine how its like for me, i finished NS searched for a job for a year and a half, non came through. Decided to work AT A FACTORY with my Computer Technologies cert as a production line worker.
Then later on left saved some money and applied for a diploma. Now finishing had a job offer recently, they said "Do not worry we'll wait for you to complete it." Then call them recently "Oh sorry la your job taken by phillipino" As i'm just about to finish school during these recession time.
I can understand your plight but don't let the job taken by somebody else brings you down. Chin up, smile and be postive in finding another job. You don't have to get a job that pay well, get something that you can learn a skill or something you are interested. Many successful people also don't have degree and they also start out humble.
frankly, if i still cannot watch RA movie and cannot enter a casino, do you still qualify me as a child?? the problem with singapore adults and older peoples are they alway look themselves as knowing the whole world and we kids are just punks, please lah, be smart enough to accept your younger generation comments, new ideas and new mindset rather than keep on using the old mindset and still think of the 80s and 90s stuff.
Your comments justify so, therefore I commented that "You speak like a Child".
I never disagreed with what you said, this is a debate, an airing of views, remember.
If you keep thinking your adults don't accept, don't agree and knows the whole world, you will keep thinking so and disgress, disagree, disapprove whatever your adults say. Sometimes, your adults been through, seen it and felt it, which made them say how they say, speak what think and act how they feel.
I appreciate you have read till far, let's get on with the TS thread.
LOL might as well call ourselves a Hub rather then a country then.
I cannot agree more, it's a Hub, for other companies to do business here, other people as a jumping board here and for our leaders to get highly paid here.
This is not a country 'cos everything is quantified and measured by dollars, education, bottomline.
This is not a country 'cos its talents from foreign lands are placed before pride of our people.
And This is not a country 'cos our people are thinking about the livelihoods of themselves and of their children and that our people are thinking of getting a better life in foreign lands rather than this place we call HOME.
A true singapore guy must alway hv the guts to take on whatever challenge, perhap our guys are too sissy and overly fed that cannot take the hardship of life. Even our groups of gals are noticing an increase of gays or lame sissy guys in our country. God bless us
In times of war, a soldier will place his/her family away from war and stay on to defend and sacrifice for his/her country.
In times of war, a man will LEAVE with his/her family away from war, 'cos there's no point in staying on to defend or even die for a "Hub".
It does not matter if a man is gay, sissy or lame, the man will stay to defend A COUNTRY as a soldier.
I ask for God's blessings not for a us, but for this "hub" we Singaporeans would like to call a country.
And God Bless if a country needs a law in place to persecute her citizens for leaving his/her post as soldier in times of war.
To persecute her citizens for wanting to stay alive to see his/her children grow.
Originally posted by LetsUnite:Yes i have served NS and i have felt what its like. And yes i will move off one fine day.
Let tell you the truth of a girl feeling toward NS in Singapore, when i see a guy in army uniform, i feel so secure, so proud, and envied the uniform (me not fetish about uniform guy hor), just that i/we never said it out does not mean that we girls do not understand or appreciate NS. We will prefer to marry a man who serve NS and help to build a family for him, love him and support him whenever he go for his reservist (but i heard most bluffed their gfs or wifeys and instead gone thailand or indonesia to hv a good time or be with their mistress).
Do you know that when a guy enlisted in NS, the most painful feeling is not the guy, but the mother, a woman. She is so worry, so love, so heart pain to see her baby boy growth up and given away to serve the country. But on the hindsight, she is proud to said that MY SON IS IN NS to her relatives, frens and all. The feeling of camp visit after a fortnight or so, is so tense and happy.
You should NS as a hinder for the progress of our career, instead you should apply your discipline, endurance, tolerance and passion learned during NS into daily life. Guys at 18 to 22yo are easily to mix with the bad, NS provide the parents security that they are in good hands, and that you yourself begin to mature better and stronger both mentally and physically. If you look at our neighbour countries, at 18 to 25yo, most are strayed to become gangster, addict, weak with no plan for the future, the like of malaysians, indonesian, thais, philipinos, etc etc have never really nutured their youth guys to great potential and be social responsible.
Be graduate with a recession is better than taking the recession later, Universities and whatever education insitution teaches only knowledges and perhap well being, but they never teach you on how to deal with recession. Recession is a cycle, sooner or later, in our lifetime we will meet it, i heard before i am born, 1975, oil crisis recession, 1985, another recession, and after I am born, 1998 asian financial recession, 2000, 911 recession, 2002/3 Sars recession and now, so we are looking at so many recession in a lifetime. You experienced it now and learn from it, when graduate from recession course, you will be ready for the next one rather those who still hv to struggle to coup with it.
Most singapore businessmen gone thru NS, recession and difficulties in life before becoming successful, look at creative CEO, a poly drop out, JackNeo only sec 4, Bengawan solo ah soh, polar cakes business aunty, Breadtalk bosses, street 77th aunty, jeanyip saloon poly graduate boss, old chang kee ah pek boss, etc etc...7 out of 10 business boss peoples in singapore are not even graduates, but they never look down and said life is difficult and that it, subject to fate and faith, we are history.
And if a gal like me at 20yo can speak to you while handling a business down here in joo chiat pub cum motel, you better wake up your bloody idea and get your butt moving. When there is a downturn, there will be a upturn, God is fair, there are hell and heaven, it up to you to choose. Look for opportunity in the recession, new millionaires used to pop up after the recession, because they bear the recession, take the opportunity and surface where all are still sleeping, complaining and insulting.