SINGAPORE: No playgrounds or covered walkways in new HDB estates. Nor any barbecue pits. New flats should have very basic floor tiles, meanwhile.
It is hardly the usual call from Members of Parliament (MPs), who tend to push for upgrading in their constituencies. But two among their ranks are making the call for “no—frills” housing.
According to Dr Lim Wee Kiak and Ms Lee Bee Wah, this should be an option for home buyers and one way to provide more affordable housing.
Dr Lim’s residents in Sembawang, for example, have told him HDB flat prices are high and younger residents who want to move out of their parents’ homes after marriage find it hard to do so.
“Many of them have just started work and may not have so much cash,” he told TODAY. “You’re giving them a chance to build something simple, and over the years when their salaries increase, they may want to improve their homes.”
When he first raised this in Parliament on Friday, Dr Lim gave the example of flat prices in the 1970s: S$15,000 and S$20,000 for a three—room and four—room flat respectively. A graduate with a starting salary of S$1,000 could pay off his apartment with 15 to 25 months of his pay, he said.
But today, though their starting salaries are three to five times higher, the prices of new flats have shot up “10 to 30 times”, he added.
“A high cost of housing has many repercussions as it results in higher costs of living, reduction of resources for other pursuits such as education and investment,” he said.
His solution, he envisions, would lower construction costs and allow flats to be sold for “well below S$100,000”.
But covered link—ways, playgrounds and other upgrading works can be done later when the estate is more mature, he added.
Echoing his views, Ms Lee (Ang Mo Kio) said HDB “should avoid building flats with too many value—added features”, which should be left to private developers.
When contacted, other MPs had mixed feelings, however, about whether there is a place for no—frills flats in Singapore’s public housing spectrum.
Mr Teo Ser Luck (Pasir Ris—Punggol) said the biggest gripe, instead, among couples he has spoken to is the long waiting time for a new flat.
The no—frills idea may also not appeal to younger buyers, who aspire more and are more demanding. “They’re more well informed and have specific demands for the quality of life they want,” said Mr Teo.
Mr Zaqy Mohamad (Hong Kah) was concerned that owners who do not like having the bare minimum might “start hacking and doing it up all over again”.
“I don’t think people are saying 'give me no—frills’, but they’re asking for cheaper alternatives,” he said, and suggested that three—room flats — with quality — would be good for younger couples.
“I think we should create more supply in that segment,” he said. “They can always look at upgrading options later.”
In his Parliamentary reply on Friday, National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan said HDB will launch about 3,000 flats for sale in the first half of this year, of which 1,400 will be studio apartments, two— and three—room flats. There will be 4,000 of such flats launched over the next two years.
“We’ll increase the supply of smaller and lower—priced flats further if necessary to meet the demand from the lower income group,” he said.
Dr Lim had other suggestions as well: Price homes based on cost rather than matching them to market conditions, and shorten the lease from the current 99 years.
Some home hunters welcomed his call for no—frills flats.
Technician Chen Yi, 29, got married in November and is staying in a Woodlands executive flat with his wife, parents and two siblings.
Mr Chen has been looking for a matrimonial home but has been unsuccessful because prices of resale flats have been out of reach, and he does not want to wait several years for a new flat.
“I don’t mind if my home has just one bedroom and a hall,” he said. “Even if it’s cramped like those apartments in Hong Kong, I don’t care. I just want a place where I can have privacy.” — TODAY/yb
i think there'll be much more inconveniences later when the upgrading begins.
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:i think there'll be much more inconveniences later when the upgrading begins.
there will be no more upgrading, just a buy back scheme to shorten the lease.
Originally posted by fireice rox:SINGAPORE: No playgrounds or covered walkways in new HDB estates. Nor any barbecue pits. New flats should have very basic floor tiles, meanwhile.
It is hardly the usual call from Members of Parliament (MPs), who tend to push for upgrading in their constituencies. But two among their ranks are making the call for “no—frills” housing.
According to Dr Lim Wee Kiak and Ms Lee Bee Wah, this should be an option for home buyers and one way to provide more affordable housing.
Dr Lim’s residents in Sembawang, for example, have told him HDB flat prices are high and younger residents who want to move out of their parents’ homes after marriage find it hard to do so.
“Many of them have just started work and may not have so much cash,” he told TODAY. “You’re giving them a chance to build something simple, and over the years when their salaries increase, they may want to improve their homes.”
When he first raised this in Parliament on Friday, Dr Lim gave the example of flat prices in the 1970s: S$15,000 and S$20,000 for a three—room and four—room flat respectively. A graduate with a starting salary of S$1,000 could pay off his apartment with 15 to 25 months of his pay, he said.
But today, though their starting salaries are three to five times higher, the prices of new flats have shot up “10 to 30 times”, he added.
“A high cost of housing has many repercussions as it results in higher costs of living, reduction of resources for other pursuits such as education and investment,” he said.
His solution, he envisions, would lower construction costs and allow flats to be sold for “well below S$100,000”.
But covered link—ways, playgrounds and other upgrading works can be done later when the estate is more mature, he added.
Echoing his views, Ms Lee (Ang Mo Kio) said HDB “should avoid building flats with too many value—added features”, which should be left to private developers.
When contacted, other MPs had mixed feelings, however, about whether there is a place for no—frills flats in Singapore’s public housing spectrum.
Mr Teo Ser Luck (Pasir Ris—Punggol) said the biggest gripe, instead, among couples he has spoken to is the long waiting time for a new flat.
The no—frills idea may also not appeal to younger buyers, who aspire more and are more demanding. “They’re more well informed and have specific demands for the quality of life they want,” said Mr Teo.
Mr Zaqy Mohamad (Hong Kah) was concerned that owners who do not like having the bare minimum might “start hacking and doing it up all over again”.
“I don’t think people are saying 'give me no—frills’, but they’re asking for cheaper alternatives,” he said, and suggested that three—room flats — with quality — would be good for younger couples.
“I think we should create more supply in that segment,” he said. “They can always look at upgrading options later.”
In his Parliamentary reply on Friday, National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan said HDB will launch about 3,000 flats for sale in the first half of this year, of which 1,400 will be studio apartments, two— and three—room flats. There will be 4,000 of such flats launched over the next two years.
“We’ll increase the supply of smaller and lower—priced flats further if necessary to meet the demand from the lower income group,” he said.
Dr Lim had other suggestions as well: Price homes based on cost rather than matching them to market conditions, and shorten the lease from the current 99 years.
Technician Chen Yi, 29, got married in November and is staying in a Woodlands executive flat with his wife, parents and two siblings.
Mr Chen has been looking for a matrimonial home but has been unsuccessful because prices of resale flats have been out of reach, and he does not want to wait several years for a new flat.
“I don’t mind if my home has just one bedroom and a hall,” he said. “Even if it’s cramped like those apartments in Hong Kong, I don’t care. I just want a place where I can have privacy.” — TODAY/yb
wtf? where got 3 to 5 times higher?
good idea actually. no playground, no study corner, no places for pple to hold weddings and make noise or disturb pple. although maybe covered-walkway is good. I mean how much do the walkways cost anyway? they don't even need upkeep.....
sounds very good.
i dont mind no frills housing ... as long is my 4 room become 100k or less .... :)
yeah, singapore would turn into an eastern bloc country - drab similar looking flats which will look run down after a few years and without character...no go on this one...the feckers making the call dont even live in flats - so what gives?
Originally posted by Man!x:yeah, singapore would turn into an eastern bloc country - drab similar looking flats which will look run down after a few years and without character...no go on this one...the feckers making the call dont even live in flats - so what gives?
EXACTLY ! how much were we contributing to their hefty paychecks again ?
Originally posted by hisoka:good idea actually. no playground, no study corner, no places for pple to hold weddings and make noise or disturb pple. although maybe covered-walkway is good. I mean how much do the walkways cost anyway? they don't even need upkeep.....
sounds very good.
then funneral put where???
Originally posted by BJK:Yes, HDB’s policies should change to basic like those in 1970s. The flooring of the flats had no tiles. There were children playground with just swings and seesaw. Most tenants laid mosaic tiles in the kitchen and vinyl tiles in the living and bed rooms. Tenants were not allowed to change the main doors, iron grilles which were already provided by HDB. They were other restrictions too. These flats were heavily subsidized according to HDB and meant only for Singaporeans. Every few years, the prices would increase and only after the approval of parliament. Newly married couples like me in 1970s were happy to own the flats.
Fulltime National Servicemen were given priority in the allocation of flats.
I urge HDB to seriously reverse their policies back to basic.
Singaporeans with higher expectations can book private condos. HDB flats should be meant for the masses with lower expectations.
Uncle, u want me to wear bell bottom pant or not?? Please lah, what era liao, u guai guai retire lah, let we 3Y generation take over hor. Do you know HDB flats carpark are full of Mercedes and BMW +++ other luxurious car or not?? People here only act poor, and those in condo are struggling to pay off their loan till their death bed arrive, some cannot even finish paying off. The best is buy landed property, forever yours.
Originally posted by angel7030:
other places lor or only for funerals. at leas funerals not that noisy.
Originally posted by hisoka:other places lor or only for funerals. at leas funerals not that noisy.
no funneral place, funneral in house lor. so everyday, sure got funneral one, cos all ah peks and ah ma alot like to live in budget housing
Originally posted by fireice rox:SINGAPORE: No playgrounds or covered walkways in new HDB estates. Nor any barbecue pits. New flats should have very basic floor tiles, meanwhile.
Frankly times are bad and people do not have the money. What is so hard for them to understand that people have no money for roof over their head and food to eat . Why are they still thinking that people want more then basic flats !!!
I think it is time to re-consider our housing - everyone stay and grow up in old estate before, what wrong with it ? It is cheap and good. Over the years HDB have try to add a lot of unneeded to jack up the price. What the use if the price goes way up ... when people have to work their asses off to pay for it, if they are working their asses off - they are not at home to enjoy it - so those nices extra would be wasted.
Think the call for lower budget housing like the good old days- plain, simple is good.
Originally posted by angel7030:
no money to have a roof and food, you still worry about funneral ? Carry the body and put it into MP office !!!
Sooner or later they will introduce "means testing" for such low costs housing.... they want people to PAYandPAY... that is how they make so much profits from Singaporeans to lose to foreigners!
Originally posted by storywolf:no money to have a roof and food, you still worry about funneral ? Carry the body and put it into MP office !!!
dun worry, we propose to hv funnerals and buried ground at Istana, afterall, the ah neh president got so much space for what?? It is the people land.
What's the point of having basic flats if the prices of those flats are still going to be aligned with market rates...
Originally posted by storywolf:Frankly times are bad and people do not have the money. What is so hard for them to understand that people have no money for roof over their head and food to eat . Why are they still thinking that people want more then basic flats !!!
I think it is time to re-consider our housing - everyone stay and grow up in old estate before, what wrong with it ? It is cheap and good. Over the years HDB have try to add a lot of unneeded to jack up the price. What the use if the price goes way up ... when people have to work their asses off to pay for it, if they are working their asses off - they are not at home to enjoy it - so those nices extra would be wasted.
Think the call for lower budget housing like the good old days- plain, simple is good.
u want us to live in plain simple HDB ar?? no face lor.
Foreign workers already live in luxurious dormitories with basketball court, amenities and security guards, some even live in sophiscated HDB flats and you ask singaporeans to live in plain HDB ar// wha lau, uncle mai lah, no face ok.
we must strive for excellence and improvement, die die also cannot go back to your good old days whereby me also not born yet.
Originally posted by gerrykoh:Good idea! Some people like simplicity. Use your creativity to decorate the place.
No frills means cheaper. Can pay housing loan faster so more savings for old age, more money for babies etc. If one’s income increases, then upgrade later.
ya, upgrade again and govt earn again, save all money to go with you into yr coffer. After more babies, upgrade again, then govt earn again...might as well be more daring and buy one landed property, stay there and hv decendents, price will go up and can sell at good prices, and when old, decendents will look up to you as a wise old rich papa or grandpa with asset and cash in hand to give away.
Look at those poor ah peks, most got childrens, but all neglected them, cos he no saving, no asset, childrens also dun care, no money, no daddy.
Originally posted by BJK:Some people are against reversing back to basics like in 1970s. But most of us,then, did not have debts except the mortages with HDB flats. Before we retired, all the loans with HDBs were settled. Most of us, have extra cash to withdraw when we reached retirement.
Look now, HDB flats are so expensive that most of you cannot even retire. The mortages will eat up all your CPF moneys. Is this is what you want? Work until you died just because you want bigger HDB flats with frills, etc.
Think my dear young people. Live according to your means and walk with pride. Retire gracefully with no money problem.
Why blame the "young people"? Blame those doing social engineering. Pity the Singapore Youths and curse the despots.